DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 21 Mar. 2024
Claims 1-8, 11-20, 23 and 24 are pending in this case. Claims 1 and 13 are independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bucior et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0148698 A1; Filed: Nov. 2, 2023) (hereinafter “Bucior”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 13, Bucior disclose a method, comprising:
accessing a two-dimensional (2D) user interface (UI) comprising a plurality of 2D UI
elements (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
generating a plurality of three-dimensional (3D) UI elements of a 3D UI based on each of
the plurality of 2D UI elements (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
identifying a respective location of each of a plurality of geometric shapes in a surrounding
physical environment of an extended reality device using at least one sensor (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132);
determining a priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0060-0062; 0078);
mapping each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements to a respective geometric
shape of the plurality of geometric shapes based on: (a) the respective location of each of the
plurality of geometric shapes in the surrounding physical environment (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132), and (b) the respective priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0060-0062; 0078); and
generating for display, using the extended reality device, each 3D UI element to overlay the
mapped respective geometric shape (0023; 0045; 0047-0049).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 14, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a frequency of interaction with the 3D UI element (0060-0062; 0078).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 15, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a spatial relationship of a respective 2D UI element to other 2D UI elements in the 2D UI (0045; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088).
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 16, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a functionality the 3D UI element (0045-0046; 0085).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 17, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
sorting each 3D UI element into one of a plurality of subsets based on a functionality of the
3D UI element (0078; 0110; 0116); and
sorting each of the plurality of geometric shapes into one of a plurality of subsets based on
the respective location (0046; 0063; 0069; 0078; 0110; 0116), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on
(c) the plurality of subsets of the 3D UI elements, and (d) the plurality of subsets of the geometric
shapes (0045-0046; 0059; 0079-0080; 0095-0096).
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 18, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein mapping each 3D UI element to a respective geometric shape further comprises:
determining an orientation of each of the plurality of geometric shapes (0062; 0064; 0085; 0087; 0091; 0095; 0096); and
adjusting an orientation of each 3D UI element to match the orientation of the respective
geometric shape (0062; 0064; 0085; 0087; 0091; 0095; 0096).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 19, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
determining a prevalent color of each of the plurality of geometric shapes (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111); and
determining a prevalent color of each 3D UI element (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on a
contrast ratio of the prevalent color of the 3D UI elements to the prevalent color of the geometric
shapes exceeding a contrast threshold (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 20, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
identifying an object type and a respective location of each of a plurality of objects in the
surrounding physical environment (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132); and
identifying a functionality of each 3D UI element (0045-0046; 0085), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on
(c) the object type of each of the plurality of objects having a respective location within a proximity
threshold of the respective geometric shape, and (d) the respective functionality of each 3D UI
element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0046; 0060-0062; 0078; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132).
Regarding dependent claims 11 and 23, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
identifying an update to a 2D UI element of the 2D UI (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
generating an updated 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements based on the
updated 2D UI element (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096); and
in response to generating the updated 3D UI element:
re-mapping each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements to a respective
geometric shape of the plurality of geometric shapes based on the respective priority for each 3D UI
element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132); and
generating for display, using the extended reality device, each 3D UI element to
overlay the mapped respective geometric shape (0023; 0045; 0047-0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucior in view of Williams et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0148698 A1; Filed: Nov. 2, 2023) (hereinafter “Williams”).
Regarding dependent claims 12 and 24, Bucior does not expressly disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein:
accessing the 2D UI further comprises accessing a first website of a domain;
generating the plurality of 3D UI elements of the 3D UI based on each of the plurality of 2D
UI elements comprises:
determining whether any of the 3D UI elements are stored in a cache of a non-
transitory memory associated with the domain; and
in response to determining a portion of the 3D UI elements are stored in the cache:
retrieving the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache; and
generating the remaining 3D UI elements; and
the method further comprises:
accessing a second website of the domain; and
retrieving at least one of the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache.
Williams disclose accessing the 2D UI further comprises accessing a first website of a domain (0120; 0133);
generating the plurality of 3D UI elements of the 3D UI based on each of the plurality of 2D
UI elements (0129-0130; 0133) comprises:
determining whether any of the 3D UI elements are stored in a cache of a non-
transitory memory associated with the domain (0123; 0137); and
in response to determining a portion of the 3D UI elements are stored in the cache:
retrieving the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache (0123; 0137); and
generating the remaining 3D UI elements (0123; 0137); and
the method further comprises:
accessing a second website of the domain (0120; 0133); and
retrieving at least one of the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache (0123; 0137).
Therefore Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Williams with Bucior for the benefit of allowing user to access, manipulate, and position 3D virtual objects in environment presented by image display devices
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768