DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Amendment filed 03 Jun. 2026
Claims 1-8, 11-20, 61 and 62 are pending in this case. Claims 1 and 13 are independent claims
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 03 Jun. 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 13 and 18; cancelled claims 23-24; added new claims 61-62; argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 13 Feb. 2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 13-17, 19, 20 and 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bucior et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0148698 A1; Filed: Nov. 2, 2023) (hereinafter “Bucior”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 13, Bucior disclose a method, comprising:
accessing a two-dimensional (2D) user interface (UI) comprising a plurality of 2D UI
elements (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
generating a plurality of three-dimensional (3D) UI elements of a 3D UI based on each of
the plurality of 2D UI elements (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
scanning, using at least one sensor, a surrounding physical environment of an extended reality device to identify a respective location and size of each of a plurality of geometric shapes in the surrounding physical environment of the extended reality device (0046; 0073; 0113; 0119; 0123; 0132);
determining a priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0060-0062; 0078);
mapping each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements to a respective geometric
shape of the plurality of geometric shapes based on: (a) the respective location of each of the
plurality of geometric shapes in the surrounding physical environment (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132), and (b) the respective priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0060-0062; 0078); and
generating for display, using the extended reality device, each 3D UI element to overlay the
mapped respective geometric shape (0023; 0045; 0047-0049).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 14, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a frequency of interaction with the 3D UI element (0060-0062; 0078).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 15, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a spatial relationship of a respective 2D UI element to other 2D UI elements in the 2D UI (0045; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088).
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 16, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the priority for each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements is determined based on a functionality the 3D UI element (0045-0046; 0085).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 17, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
sorting each 3D UI element into one of a plurality of subsets based on a functionality of the
3D UI element (0078; 0110; 0116); and
sorting each of the plurality of geometric shapes into one of a plurality of subsets based on
the respective location (0046; 0063; 0069; 0078; 0110; 0116), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on
(c) the plurality of subsets of the 3D UI elements, and (d) the plurality of subsets of the geometric
shapes (0045-0046; 0059; 0079-0080; 0095-0096).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 19, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
determining a prevalent color of each of the plurality of geometric shapes (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111); and
determining a prevalent color of each 3D UI element (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on a
contrast ratio of the prevalent color of the 3D UI elements to the prevalent color of the geometric
shapes exceeding a contrast threshold (0065; 0071; 0088; 0110-0111).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 20, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
identifying an object type and a respective location of each of a plurality of objects in the
surrounding physical environment (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132); and
identifying a functionality of each 3D UI element (0045-0046; 0085), wherein:
mapping each 3D UI element to the respective geometric shape is further based on
(c) the object type of each of the plurality of objects having a respective location within a proximity
threshold of the respective geometric shape, and (d) the respective functionality of each 3D UI
element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0046; 0060-0062; 0078; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Bucior disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising:
identifying an update to a 2D UI element of the 2D UI (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096);
generating an updated 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements based on the
updated 2D UI element (0045-0046; 0059; 0079; 0087-0088; 0096); and
in response to generating the updated 3D UI element:
re-mapping each 3D UI element of the plurality of 3D UI elements to a respective
geometric shape of the plurality of geometric shapes based on the respective priority for each 3D UI
element of the plurality of 3D UI elements (0046; 0073; 0113; 0123; 0132); and
generating for display, using the extended reality device, each 3D UI element to
overlay the mapped respective geometric shape (0023; 0045; 0047-0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 61 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucior in view of Williams et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0244354 A1; Filed: Feb. 28, 2020) (hereinafter “Williams”).
Regarding dependent claim 12 , Bucior does not expressly disclose the method of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein:
accessing the 2D UI further comprises accessing a first website of a domain;
generating the plurality of 3D UI elements of the 3D UI based on each of the plurality of 2D
UI elements comprises:
determining whether any of the 3D UI elements are stored in a cache of a non-
transitory memory associated with the domain; and
in response to determining a portion of the 3D UI elements are stored in the cache:
retrieving the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache; and
generating the remaining 3D UI elements; and
the method further comprises:
accessing a second website of the domain; and
retrieving at least one of the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache.
Williams disclose accessing the 2D UI further comprises accessing a first website of a domain (0120; 0133);
generating the plurality of 3D UI elements of the 3D UI based on each of the plurality of 2D
UI elements (0129-0130; 0133) comprises:
determining whether any of the 3D UI elements are stored in a cache of a non-
transitory memory associated with the domain (0123; 0137); and
in response to determining a portion of the 3D UI elements are stored in the cache:
retrieving the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache (0123; 0137); and
generating the remaining 3D UI elements (0123; 0137); and
the method further comprises:
accessing a second website of the domain (0120; 0133); and
retrieving at least one of the portion of the 3D UI elements stored in the cache (0123; 0137).
Therefore Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Williams with Bucior for the benefit of allowing user to access, manipulate, and position 3D virtual objects in environment presented by image display devices.
Regarding dependent claim 61, Bucior does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a selection of a 3D UI element overlaid on a mapped respective geometric shape, wherein the selection of the 3D UI element causes an action to be performed.
William teach receiving a selection of a 3D UI element overlaid on a mapped respective geometric shape, wherein the selection of the 3D UI element causes an action to be performed (0017; 0067).
Therefore Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Williams with Bucior for the benefit of allowing user to access, manipulate, and position 3D virtual objects in environment presented by image display devices.
Regarding dependent claim 62, Bucior in view of Williams disclose the method of claim 61, wherein the action comprises controlling output of content (0017; 0067).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768