DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 10/19/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
The recitation of “the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant connection line;
the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant line,” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “… a battery module.” To avoid an antecedent rejection the claim should be amended to recite - - the battery module- - for clarity.
Claims 12-19 are objected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, recites the limitation “a selectively introduced coolant” on pg. 1 in lines 16-17 and on pg. 2 line 6, which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leaves the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed coolant or disclosing a coolant in addition to the previously claimed selectively introduced coolant.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
For examination purposes “a selectively introduced coolant” on pg. 1 in lines 16-17 will be interpreted as an additional coolant.
Regarding Claim 2, it is noted that the conditional step of “a supply portion connected to the second condenser through the refrigerant line such that the refrigerant supplied from the second condenser may be introduced,” may never occur.
In particular, claim 2 does not positively recite the condition precedent (i.e. the supply portion connected to the second condenser being supplied with refrigerant from the second condenser being introduced), actually occurs, or is ever required to occur, within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Since the recited “may” conditions need not be satisfied to meet the claim, the recited steps of determining need not occur to satisfy the claim. As such, the Examiner need not present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional “may” steps of claim 2, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding Claim 9, recites the limitation “the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant connection line; the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant line;” in at least claim 9 renders the claim unclear.
It is unclear how “the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant connection line; the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator through the refrigerant line” when the gas-liquid operator is not being operated (paragraph 0161 of the published specification).
At least claim 6 has the recitation of “a third mode in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated.” Fig. 4 does not show or display such a description as is found in claim 9.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as - - The heat pump system of claim 6, wherein, in the third mode: the first expansion valve stops operating such as to stop the flow of the refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator; the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant connection line; the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant line; and the supply line is closed. - - for clarity.
Claims 3-8 and 10-19 are rejected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US2020/0361275A1) and further in view of Kim et al.(US2021/0039474A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang teaches a heat pump system for a vehicle [0034 “a heat pump loop”], the heat pump system [0034] comprising:
a compressor [210] configured to compress a refrigerant [0031 “compresses and discharges refrigerant”];
a first condenser [220] connected to the compressor through a refrigerant line [fig. 1; 200], and configured to receive and condense the refrigerant supplied from the compressor by exchanging heat between a coolant [0029 “coolant”] and the refrigerant supplied from the compressor [0033 “water-cooling condenser”];
a receiver dryer [260; 0083 “accumulator 260 described in this embodiment may be substituted with a receiver drier arranged between the water-cooling condenser 220, which is a condenser , and a first expander 225”] connected to the first condenser through the refrigerant line [fig. 1];
a second condenser [230] connected to the receiver dryer through the refrigerant line [Fig. 1 as described above (230) is connected to 260 as a receiver dryer];
an evaporator [242] connected to the second condenser [230] through the refrigerant line [fig. 1], and configured to evaporate the refrigerant by exchanging heat between the refrigerant supplied from the second condenser [fig. 1; 0036-0037 “ evaporator 242 serves as an evaporator if the refrigerant circulation line 200”] and a selectively introduced coolant [0037 “may be designed to have a structure of exchanging heat between refrigerant and air supplied into the interior of the vehicle” where the air (coolant) is selectively introduced (temperature adjusting door 151)];
a refrigerant connection line disposed between the compressor [210] and the evaporator [fig. 1 clearly showing a refrigerant connection line between the compressor and the evaporator], and including:
a first end [fig. 1 where a first end is the line connected between the compressor and evaporator] connected to the refrigerant line [fig. 1]; and
a chiller [252] provided in the refrigerant connection line [fig. 1], and configured to adjust a temperature of the coolant by exchanging heat between the refrigerant supplied into the refrigerant connection line [0040 “designed as a structure of exchanging heat between coolant and refrigerant”] and a selectively introduced coolant [0053 “it is determined by the third direction changer 360 whether the fourth heat exchanger 252 is connected or not” where a selectively introduced coolant is determined by (360)];
a gas injection device [240] connected to the refrigerant line [fig. 1] between the second condenser and the evaporator [at least fig. 1], wherein the gas injection device 240 is configured to selectively expand and flow the refrigerant supplied from the second condenser [0036 “to throttle the refrigerant”];
a refrigerant connection line disposed between the compressor and the evaporator [Fig. 1 where there is clearly a refrigerant connection line disposed between the compressor and the evaporator], and including: a first end connected to the refrigerant line [fig. 1], and a second end connected to the gas injection device [fig. 1 where a second end connects to 240];
wherein flow of the refrigerant is controlled according to at least one mode for adjusting a temperature of a vehicle interior [0022-0026 various modes disclosed where someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand the modes would adjust a temperature of a vehicle interior] or adjusting a temperature of a battery module [0008 “in the cooling mode where cooling load is large, the battery is cooled by circulation of the coolant cooled by the chiller” a temperature being a load].
Hwang does not explicitly teach further configured to selectively supply a portion of the supplied refrigerant to the compressor to increase a flow rate of the refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant line.
However, Kim teaches further configured to selectively supply a portion of the supplied refrigerant to the compressor to increase a flow rate of the refrigerant [0016 “to increase a flow rate”] circulating in the refrigerant line [0113-0114 where (55) selectively opens the bypass and supplying a portion of the refrigerant (the gaseous refrigerant ) flows to the compressor and liquid refrigerant is supplied downstream].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang to have further configured to selectively supply a portion of the supplied refrigerant to the compressor to increase a flow rate of the refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant line in view of the teachings of Kim where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a heat pump system with the gas injection device connected to the refrigerant line which selectively expands flow from the second condenser and sends a portion of the refrigerant to the compressor increasing the flow rate of refrigerant in the circulation line and has corresponding structure which improves heating efficiency [Kim; 0015].
Claim(s) 2-5 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US2020/0361275A1) and Kim et al.(US2021/0039474A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2024/0208298A1 herein ’298).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 1 wherein and Kim teaches the gas injection device [50] comprises: a supply portion [fig. 1, at least line 11 from (16)-(51)] connected to the second condenser [34] through the refrigerant line [fig. 1 where there is a supply portion through the refrigerant line connecting (50) and (34)] such that the refrigerant supplied from the second condenser may be introduced [0113 “may selectively open” indicating refrigerant supplied from the second condenser may be introduced];
Kim also teaches a gas-liquid separator [51] configured to separate and selectively discharge a gaseous refrigerant and a liquid refrigerant from the refrigerant supplied by the supply portion [0114 “may supply the gaseous refrigerant to the first compressor 17 through the bypass line 53 which is open through operation of the valve 55. Also, the flash tank 51 may supply the liquid refrigerant to the second evaporator” see also fig. 1 which clearly shows the supply portion];
a first expansion valve [57] provided between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion [fig. 1], the first expansion valve [57] being configured to selectively expand the refrigerant [0118 “electronic expansion valve that selectively expands the refrigerant”] supplied to the supply portion and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator [0166-0168 “in the expanded state through operation of the fifth expansion valve 57” which is then supplied through (34) to the supply portion and supplied to (51) while expanded].
Modified Hwang does not explicitly teach a second expansion valve provided between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, wherein the second expansion valve is configured to either selectively expand the refrigerant supplied to the supply portion and supply the expanded refrigerant to the chiller, or supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator to the chiller; a third expansion valve provided between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, wherein the third expansion valve is configured to either selectively expand the refrigerant supplied to the supply portion and supply the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator, or supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator to the evaporator; a discharge portion connecting the gas-liquid separator, the second expansion valve, and the third expansion valve, wherein the discharge portion is configured to discharge the refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the second expansion valve or the third expansion valve; and a supply line connecting the gas-liquid separator and the compressor, and configured to selectively supply the gaseous refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the compressor.
However, ’298 teaches a second expansion valve [610] provided between the gas-liquid separator [400 corresponding to 51 of Kim] and the supply portion [figs. 5-7 clearly showing (610) between (400) and (the supply portion) the supply portion which supplies refrigerant], wherein the second expansion valve [610] is configured to supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator [400] to the chiller [0067 “perform expansion, flow control, and opening/closing functions of the refrigerant”; 620 corresponding to 252 of Hwang];
a third expansion valve [510] provided between the gas-liquid separator [400] and the supply portion [figs. 5-7 clearly showing (510) and (610) between (400) and (the supply portion) the supply portion which supplies refrigerant], wherein the third expansion valve [510] is configured to supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator [400] to the evaporator [0064 “perform expansion, flow control, and opening/closing functions of the refrigerant”;520 corresponding to 242 of Hwang];
a discharge portion [450 and connecting lines 500 and 600] connecting the gas-liquid separator [400], the second expansion valve [610], and the third expansion valve [fig. 4], wherein the discharge portion [450] is configured to discharge the refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the second expansion valve or the third expansion valve [fig. 4]; and
a supply line [410] connecting the gas-liquid separator [400] and the compressor [100 corresponding to 210 of Hwang], and configured to selectively supply the gaseous refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the compressor [0060 “gas-phase refrigerant separated in the gas-liquid separator 400 is reintroduced into the compressor 100”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Hwang teaching with ‘298 by combining a second expansion valve provided between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, wherein the second expansion valve is configured to supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator to the chiller; a third expansion valve provided between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, wherein the third expansion valve is configured to supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator to the evaporator; a discharge portion connecting the gas-liquid separator, the second expansion valve, and the third expansion valve, wherein the discharge portion is configured to discharge the refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the second expansion valve or the third expansion valve; and a supply line connecting the gas-liquid separator and the compressor, and configured to selectively supply the gaseous refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the compressor where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an heat pump system with a second expansion valve between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, the second expansion valve is configured to supply the refrigerant to the chiller, a third expansion valve between the gas-liquid separator and the supply portion, the third expansion valve is configured to supply the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator to the evaporator; a discharge portion connecting the gas-liquid separator, the second expansion valve, and the third expansion valve, the discharge portion is configured to discharge the refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the second expansion valve or the third expansion valve, and a supply line connecting the gas-liquid separator and the compressor which selectively supplies the gaseous refrigerant from the gas-liquid separator to the compressor which reduces cost and simplifies the systems structure [‘298: 0024-0025].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and ‘298 teaches wherein the second expansion valve [610] and the third expansion valve [510] are disposed in parallel with the first expansion valve [220 or 320 corresponding to 57 of Kim] through the supply portion[see figs. 4-7] and the discharge portion [figs. 5-7].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and ’298 teaches wherein the first [220], second [610], and third [510] expansion valves are selectively operated when air-conditioning the vehicle interior by cooling [0072-0074 where in a cooling mode the valves are operated], heating [0080-0083 where in a heating mode the valves are operated], and dehumidifying [Kim: 0030 “gas injection unit may be simultaneously operated with the sub-CE module in the heating mode or the low temperature dehumidification mode”], and wherein the first [‘298; 220], second [‘298; 610], and third [‘298; 510] expansion valves selectively expand the refrigerant [‘298; 0091 “use various known expansion valve structures for expanding an introduced refrigerant”] via the gas injection device [‘298; 1000] while controlling the flow of the supplied refrigerant [‘298; paragraphs 0051, 0055, 0064 and 0067“perform expansion, flow control, and opening/closing functions of the refrigerant”].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and ‘298 teaches wherein the gas-liquid separator [400] is operated [at least 0072-0073 where it describes(220) expands refrigerant and (400) is operating] when the first expansion valve [220] expands the refrigerant [at least 0072-0073 where it describes(220) expands refrigerant and (400) is operating], and wherein the gas-liquid separator [400] is configured to supply the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor through the supply line to increase the flow rate of the refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant line [0060-0061 “as-phase refrigerant separated in the gas-liquid separator 400 is reintroduced into the compressor 100” which would increase the flow rate of refrigerant in the refrigerant line].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and Hwang teaches further comprising a cooling apparatus [components 302] including a radiator [310] and an electrical component [460], wherein the cooling apparatus [302] is connected to the battery module [350 at least fig. 1], and
wherein the first condenser [220] is connected to the cooling apparatus [302] through a first line [fig. 1 clearly showing (220) is connected to 302 through a first line] through which the coolant circulates [0042 “coolant circulation line”], and connected to a heater core [430] through a second line [301] through which the coolant circulates [0042 “coolant circulation line”].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 12 and Hwang teaches wherein in a cooling mode and a heating mode [abstract “heating and cooling modes”] of the vehicle interior [0081-0082 “an electric vehicle” see also claims 23 and 25], the first line [seen in at least fig. 1] is selectively opened to supply the coolant to the first condenser [0033 “220 receives refrigerant of high temperature and high pressure discharged from the refrigerant circulator 210 and exchanges heat between the refrigerant and coolant”].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 12 and Hwang teaches wherein, in a heating mode of the vehicle interior [0024 “interior heating mode”], the second line [301] is opened to connect the first condenser and the heater core [fig. 4 clearly showing the heater core and first condenser connected].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 12 and Hwang teaches wherein the evaporator [242] is connected to a cabin cooler [150] through a third line [at least fig. 2 or 3 showing a third line (151) being the structure that introduces air into the (150) system see also 0037] through which the coolant circulates [0037 “air supplied”].
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 15 and Hwang teaches wherein, in a cooling mode] of the vehicle interior [0022-0023 “interior cooling mode”], the third line [151] is opened to connect the evaporator and the cabin cooler [0037 “air conditioner 150 may include a temperature adjusting door 151” see also figs. 3 and 4 where it is clear in a cooling mode 151 is opened connecting the evaporator and the cabin cooler whereas in fig. 4 151 is closed and the evaporator is not connected to the cabin cooler].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 12 Hwang teaches wherein the chiller [252] is connected to the cooling apparatus [302] through a fourth line [302-3] through which the coolant circulates [0053 “connected with the chiller 252 in order to cool the coolant”], and connected to the battery module [350] through a fifth line [fig. 1-5 showing a fifth line connecting the chiller] through which the coolant circulates [0053 “coolant”].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 17 and Hwang teaches wherein, in a heating mode of the vehicle interior [0024-0026 “an interior heating mode”], when waste heat of the electrical component [0073 “ a heating source”] and ambient air heat is recollected [0071 “230 evaporates the refrigerant” in other words heats the refrigerant], the fourth line is opened to connect the cooling apparatus and the chiller [0071-0073 which explains where waste heat is collected from (460) and (230) see fig. 4 which shows the flow path].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 17 and Hwang teaches wherein, in cooling the battery module in a cooling mode of the vehicle interior[fig. 3], the fifth line is opened to connect the chiller and the battery module [fig. 3 clearly showing a flow path where the fifth line is opened to connect the chiller and the battery module].
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US2020/0361275A1), Kim et al.(US2021/0039474A1) and Kim et al. (US2024/0208298A1 herein ’298) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0194136A1 herein ’136).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and ‘298 teaches wherein the at least one mode [heating or cooling modes] comprises:
a first mode [cooling mode] in which the gas-liquid separator is operated [0018 “introduced into the gas-liquid separator”], and the battery module is cooled [0068 “cool heat-generating parts such as a battery” see also 0077 “hereby cooling the coolant”] while the vehicle interior is cooled [0075; “the interior of the vehicle is cooled”];
a second mode [heating mode] in which the gas-liquid separator is operated [0022 “introduced into the gas-liquid separator”], and the vehicle interior is heated [0080 “the heated air is supplied to the interior of the vehicle”]; and
a fourth mode [Hwang; interior heating mode; fig. 6] in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated [0076 “the refrigerant does not flow to the refrigerant circulation line 200” the gas-liquid separator of modified Hwang is on the refrigerant circulating line, therefore someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the gas-liquid separator would not be operated in this mode], and the vehicle interior is heated [0076-0079 “interior heating”].
Modified Hwang does not explicitly teach a third mode in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated, and the battery module is cooled while cooling the vehicle interior.
However, ‘136 teaches a third mode [cooling mode] in which the gas-liquid separator [400 corresponding to 400 of ‘298] is not operated [0147 “expansion means 500 prevents the refrigerant flowing along the first line 100 from flowing into the second line 200”; fig. 11 where clearly (400) is not operated], and the battery module is cooled [0140 “coolant circulation line and exchange heat with a high-temperature battery” see also 0149-151 “coolant may be cooled”] while cooling the vehicle interior [0148 “cooled air is supplied to the vehicle interior”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Hwang teaching with ‘136 by combining a third mode in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated, and the battery module is cooled while cooling the vehicle interior where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a heat pump system which has a third mode in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated, and the battery module is cooled while cooling the vehicle interior which improves heating efficiency [‘136; 0008].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 6 and ‘298 teaches wherein in the first mode [cooling mode]:
the first expansion valve [220 or 320] expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion [0072 “expanded while passing through the first expansion valve 220”] and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator [0073 “introduced into the gas-liquid separator”];
the second expansion valve [610] expands the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator through the discharge portion [0077 “refrigerant expanded while passing through the fourth expansion valve”] and flows the expanded refrigerant to the refrigerant connection line connected to the chiller [0077 “evaporate by exchanging heat with the coolant while passing through the chiller 620, thereby cooling the coolant”];
the third expansion valve [510] expands the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator through the discharge portion [0075 “expanded and depressurized while moving along the third expansion valve 510”] and flows the expanded refrigerant to the refrigerant line [0075 “passing through the evaporator 520”];
the supply line [410] is opened [0100 “gas-phase refrigerant separated in the gas-liquid separator 400 moves to the fifth refrigerant line 410”]; and
the gas-liquid separator [400] supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the refrigerant supplied by the supply portion to the compressor through the opened supply line [0100; see also fig. 7].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 6 and ‘298 teaches wherein, in the second mode [heating mode]:
the first expansion valve [320 or 220] expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator [0080 “320, the refrigerant that has been firstly expanded may be introduced into the gas-liquid separator”];
the second expansion valve [610] expands the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator through the discharge portion and flows the expanded refrigerant to the refrigerant connection line connected to the chiller [0084 “expanded while passing through the fourth expansion valve 610 may evaporate by exchanging heat with the coolant while passing through the chiller 620, thereby cooling the coolant”];
the third expansion valve [510] stops operating [0083 “510 is closed”];
the supply line is opened [0099” gas-phase refrigerant separated in the gas-liquid separator 400 moves to the fifth refrigerant line 410”]; and
the gas-liquid separator [400] supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the refrigerant supplied by the supply portion to the compressor through the opened supply line [see fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 6 and ‘136 teaches wherein, in the third mode [cooling mode]:
the first expansion valve [500] stops operating such as to stop the flow of the refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator [0114 “200 connected to the first line 100 is blocked by the first expansion means 500”]; and
the supply line is closed [0147 “expansion means 500 prevents the refrigerant flowing along the first line 100 from flowing into the second line 200”].Modified Hwang does not explicitly teach the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant connection line; the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant line.However, Takeichi the second expansion valve [27 corresponding to 610 of ‘298] expands the refrigerant supplied [0118 “decompressing and expanding the refrigerant”] through the supply portion [26 corresponding to fig. 7 of ‘298] and supplies the expanded refrigerant [0118 “decompressing and expanding the refrigerant”] through the refrigerant connection line [in fig. 8 after (27) and before (28) corresponding to 0077 of ‘298];
the third expansion valve [19 corresponding to 510 of ‘298] expands the refrigerant [0186 “(19) that reduces the pressure and expands the refrigerant”] supplied through the supply portion [26 corresponding to fig. 5-7 of ‘298] and supplies the expanded refrigerant [0186 “(19) that reduces the pressure and expands the refrigerant”] through the refrigerant line [fig. 8 line after 19 and before 20 corresponding to line to 520 of ‘298].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Hwang teaching with Takeichi by combining the second expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant connection line; the third expansion valve expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and supplies the expanded refrigerant through the refrigerant line where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a heat pump system with two expansion valves that expand refrigerant from a supply portion and send expanded refrigerant two a chiller and an evaporator which improves the dryness of refrigerant flowing into the chiller and evaporator [Takeichi; 0186].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 6 and Hwang teaches wherein, in the fourth mode [interior heating mode]:
the first expansion valve [‘298; 220] and the third expansion valve [‘298; 510] stop operating such as to stop the flow of the refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator [‘136; 0147 “first expansion means 500 prevents the refrigerant flowing along the first line 100 from flowing into the second line 200, and the refrigerant is introduced into the third line” ];
the second expansion valve [‘298; 610] expands the refrigerant supplied through the supply portion and flows the expanded refrigerant to the refrigerant connection line connected to the chiller[‘298; fig. 3; 097 “valve 610 may be disposed at an inlet side of the chiller 620 and perform expansion, flow control”]; and
the supply line is closed [0061 “411 disposed in the fifth refrigerant line 410 may control movement of the gas-phase refrigerant moving through the fifth refrigerant line 410 as needed” where 411 is closed closing the supply line].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Hwang teaches the heat pump system of claim 2 and ‘298 teaches the second expansion valve [510] and the third expansion valve [610].
‘298 does not explicitly teach wherein the second expansion valve and the third expansion valve are 3-way electronic expansion valves having two inlets and one outlet, and configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling the flow of the refrigerant.
However,’136 teaches the second expansion valve [600 corresponding to 510 of ‘298] is a 3-way electronic expansion valve [0081 “expansion means 600 are each an electronic expansion valve” see figs. 10-13 showing that the valves are 3-way] having two inlets and one outlet, and configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling the flow of the refrigerant [0131 “600. The 3/2-way expansion valve may determine the flow direction of the introduced refrigerant, determine whether to expand the refrigerant, and control the flow rate” see also figs. 10-13].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Hwang teaching with ‘136 by combining wherein the second expansion valve are 3-way electronic expansion valves having two inlets and one outlet, and configured to selectively expand the refrigerant while controlling the flow of the refrigerant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a heat pump system with a 3-way expansion valve with two inlets and one outlet which selectively expands and controls the flow of refrigerant which improves heating efficiency [‘136; 0008].
Modified Hwang teaches all of the claimed features except for the third expansion valve is a 3-way electronic expansion valve. It is noted that it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI B. Since applicant has not disclosed that having the third expansion valve is a 3-way electronic expansion valve within the system does anything more than produce predictable results (i.e. refrigerant flow control and expansion), the mere duplication of the 3-way electronic expansion valve in the system is not considered to have patentable significance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify, Modified Hwang to include a third 3-way electronic expansion, in order to predictably provide multi-stage refrigerant flow control and expansion in a single system.
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763