Amendments were received from Applicant on 9 June 2026. Claims 1 and 10 are amended. Claim 6 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fu (CN 101481957 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Fu discloses a flow outlet for a pool cleaner, the flow outlet comprising a plurality of flow guides, wherein a height of each flow guide of the flow guides is less than a height of the flow outlet. (See Fig 8.)
Regarding Claim 16, Fu discloses a flow outlet of claim 15, wherein the height of each flow guide of the flow guides is less than half the height of the flow outlet. (Element 144 to Element 141 in Fig. 8 can reasonably be considered to determine the height of the outlet.)
Regarding Claim 17, Fu discloses a flow outlet of claim 15, wherein the plurality of flow guides extend radially outwards from a hub of the flow outlet. (See Fig 8.)
Regarding Claim 18, Fu discloses a flow outlet of claim 15, wherein the flow outlet is a monolithic component. (To the degree a large block of stone has meaning in this context, the flow outlet forms a single unit.)
Regarding Claim 19, Fu discloses a flow outlet of claim 15, wherein the plurality of guides define non-linear flow paths through the flow outlet. (See Fu Fig. 8)
Regarding Claim 20, Fu discloses a pool cleaner for a swimming pool or spa, the pool cleaner comprising a pump, the pump comprising the flow outlet of claim 15, wherein the flow outlet is configured to direct a flow of water from the pump. (See rejection Claim 9 above.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (CN 101481957 A) in view of Norman (US 20050245146 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fu discloses a flow outlet for a pool cleaner, the flow outlet comprising a plurality of flow guides (Element 142, best seen Fig. 8), wherein at least one flow guide of the plurality of flow guides having a first side and a second side, wherein a height of each flow guide of the plurality of flow guides is less than a height of the flow outlet. (Best seen Fu. Fig. 8.) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first side comprises a non-linear curvature.
Norman discloses a flow outlet wherein at least one flow guide of the plurality of flow guides having a first side and a second side wherein the first side comprises a non-linear curvature (Best Seen 4a). It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to substitute the first side comprises a non-linear curvature guide shape of Norman for the flat guide of Fu which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Fu as in paragraph 10 of Norman is increase hydro-flow, decrease drag, would improve performance by increasing the volume and velocity of hydro-flow thrust in a vortex exiting the shroud.
Regarding Claim 2, Fu in view of Norman discloses flow outlet of claim 1, wherein at least one flow guide of the plurality of flow guides comprises a first end and a second end, and wherein at least a portion of the second end is circumferentially offset from the first end. (Best seen Norman fig 4a.)
Regarding Claim 3, Fu in view of Norman discloses the flow outlet of claim 1, wherein a profile of at least one flow guide of the plurality of flow guides is tapered in a radial direction. (Best seen Norman fig 4a.)
Regarding Claim 4, Fu in view of Norman discloses the flow outlet of claim 1, wherein a thickness of at least one flow guide of the plurality of flow guides is tapered in a height direction of the flow guide. (Best seen Norman fig 5a.)
Regarding Claim 5, Fu in view of Norman discloses the flow outlet of claim 1, wherein a height of each flow guide of the plurality of flow guides is less than a height of the flow outlet. (Best seen Norman fig 2.)
Regarding Claim 8, Fu in view of Norman discloses the flow outlet of claim 1, wherein the plurality of guides define non-linear flow paths through the flow outlet. (Best seen Norman Fig. 4a)
Regarding Claim 9, Fu in view of Norman discloses the pool cleaner for a swimming pool or spa, the pool cleaner comprising a pump (Fu, Element 13), the pump comprising the flow outlet of claim 1, wherein the flow outlet is configured to direct a flow of water from the pump. (See Fu Fig. 8.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Fu fails to disclose the feature of "a height of each flow guide of the flow guides is less than a height of the flow outlet." As evidence, Applicant argues that the drawing does not clearly show the height of the flow guide is less than the height of the flow outlet citing MPEP 2145 for the proposition that “patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue." This is true, but it lacks a nexus to the cited evidence. The drawing isn’t being cited for precise proportion or scale. It’s being cited for relative size. "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826. See MPEP 2144.01. In this case, the thick black line radially inside of the leaderline for “143” is illustrated above the flow guide. A person of ordinary skill in the art understands isometric views; it would be clear to them. The Examiner is not persuaded a height of each flow guide of the plurality of flow guides is less than a height of the flow outlet is not disclosed to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
[AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Blade)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 8 of Fu.
Applicant argues that Norman possesses the feature of non-linear curvature “due to” the interior, free end of the vanes, 402 in Fig 4a, and therefore cannot be combined with a hubbed vanes. Examiner’s position is that Norman also has curvature when the vanes are not free and connected in a hub, as in Fig 10b. Norman teaches the benefits of curvature of vanes are not limited to being free or hubless, but can be combined with a hub. The Examiner is not persuaded that benefits of guiding the flow in a vortex existing the shroud as taught by Norman to be limited to hubless vanes. The Examiner maintains the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 are allowed.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 1 Sept 2026