DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0238997 to Sarnoff et al. (Sarnoff) in view of US Patent No. 3,037,677 to Debs, US 2023/0312202 to Mueller et al. (Mueller) and US 2016/0135499 to Sebastian et al. (Sebastian).
Regarding claim 1, 3, Sarnoff discloses a packaged pan and lid (Fig 8) comprising a pan (100) having a well (102) with a bottom surface (104) and single continuous wall surface (106) extending upwardly from the bottom surface (104), a rim (108) extending outwardly from an upper edge of the wall surface and a lip (110) extending upwardly from a terminus of the rim, a recyclable lid (130) having at least one bi-lateral fold line (132) across the lid such that the lid is configurable into a folded configuration (Fig 11), the lid (130) being configured into the folded configuration (Fig 11) and being removably secured within the well (102) of the pan (100) (Fig 9) such that the lid (130) is removable from the well (102) and unfolded to substantially flat configuration (Fig 14), wherein the lip (110) is configured to bend over the edge of the lid (130) when the lid is unfolded to a substantially flat configuration (Fig 14) and positioned such that the perimeter of the lid is positioned on the rim (Fig 14), wherein the lid (130) is made out a recyclable cardboard material (€0008) and includes a first surface being coated with a barrier substrate (aluminum, €0008) defined to provide a water, oil and grease barrier and wherein a second surface which is opposed to the first surface maintains a cardboard finish (€0034, €0038). Sarnoff does not teach the cardboard finish configured with an area of indicia printable on the surface. However, Debs discloses a food package (Fig 1) and in particular discloses a lid (20) configured with area of indicia (22) printable on the surface, the area of indicia allowing a consumer to write directly on the lid since it has the structure as recited. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate area of indicia to the top surface of the Sarnoff lid as suggested by Debs in order to identify content material and advertisement (Debs, col. 2, ll. 8-10). In particular, the area of indicia allows the consumer to write directly on the lid since it has the structure as recited; i.e a label and/or metal foil. Sarnoff does not teach the barrier being repulpable and non-aluminum barrier substrate and and also the recited percentage of barrier substrate in relation to lid. However, Mueller discloses packaging with a pan and lid (Fig 2) and in particular discloses lid (13) comprising a barrier substrate (3-5), the barrier substrate is a non-aluminum barrier substrate (polymer), the barrier substrate represents 10%/5% or less of the total mass of the lid (the lid having a base paper weight of up to 120 g/msup2, the barrier of 1 g/msup2 each). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the material of the barrier of Sarnoff with a functionally equivalent barrier material in the range as recited as suggested by Mueller in order to facilitate packaging of food since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The modified Sarnoff does not teach the barrier material repulpable. However, Sebastian discloses moisture barriers for paper materials and in particular discloses the moisture barriers being repulpable polymers (€0033). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the polymer barriers of the modified Sarnoff out of repulpable polymer as suggested by Sebastian in order to be more environmentally friendly (Sebastian, €0033).
Regarding claim 13, Sarnoff discloses a package pan and lid (Fig 8) comprising a pan (100) having a well (102) with a bottom surface (104), a continuous wall (106) extending upwardly from the bottom surface (104), a rim (108) extending outwardly from the wall (106), a bendable lip (110) extending upwardly from the rim (108), a lid (130) configured to be folded along at least one fold line (132) into a folded configuration (Fig 11) sized to fit within the well of the pan and to be unfolded into a substantially flat configuration (Fig 14) positioned on the rim (108) of the pan, wherein the lid (130) is formed of a paper-based substrate (€0008) and includes a barrier coating (aluminum, €0008) applied to a first surface of the lid, a second surface opposite the first surface (€0034, €0038) maintaining a cardboard finish and bendable lip (110) configured to fold over an outer edge of the lid when the lid is in unfolded configuration to secure the lid to the pan. Sarnoff does not teach the cardboard finish configured with an area of indicia printable on the surface. However, Debs discloses a food package (Fig 1) and in particular discloses a lid (20) configured with area of indicia (22) printable on the surface, the area of indicia allowing a consumer to write directly on the lid since it has the structure as recited. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate area of indicia to the top surface of the Sarnoff lid as suggested by Debs in order to identify content material and advertisement (Debs, col. 2, ll. 8-10). In particular, the area of indicia allows the consumer to write directly on the lid since it has the structure as recited; i.e a label and/or metal foil. Sarnoff does not teach the barrier being repulpable and non-aluminum barrier substrate and and also the recited percentage of barrier substrate in relation to lid. However, Mueller discloses packaging with a pan and lid (Fig 2) and in particular discloses lid (13) comprising a barrier substrate (3-5), the barrier substrate is a non-aluminum barrier substrate (polymer), the barrier substrate represents 10%/5% or less of the total mass of the lid (the lid having a base paper weight of up to 120 g/msup2, the barrier of 1 g/msup2 each). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the material of the barrier of Sarnoff with a functionally equivalent barrier material in the range as recited as suggested by Mueller in order to facilitate packaging of food since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The modified Sarnoff does not teach the barrier material repulpable. However, Sebastian discloses moisture barriers for paper materials and in particular discloses the moisture barriers being repulpable polymers (€0033). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the polymer barriers of the modified Sarnoff out of repulpable polymer as suggested by Sebastian in order to be more environmentally friendly (Sebastian, €0033).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Sarnoff further teaches barrier coating (3-5, Mueller) representing 5 percent of less of total mass of lid (the lid having a base paper weight of up to 120 g/msup2, the barrier of 1 g/msup2 each).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach a repulpable barrier substrate in combination with a paper based substrate. This is not persuasive because Sebastian discloses a combination of a paper based substrate that uses a barrier of repulpable polymer such that the package is recyclable and biodegradeable without having to be separated from the paper materials (€0033). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize such materials and replace the aluminum barrier of Sarnoff with a repulpable polymer barrier as suggested by Sebastian in order to have the entire cover be recyclable and environmentally friendly (Sebastian, €0033).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735