DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0238997 to Sarnoff et al. (Sarnoff) in view of US Patent No. 3,037,677 to Debs and US 2023/0312202 to Mueller et al. (Mueller).
Regarding claim 1, 3, Sarnoff discloses a packaged pan and lid (Fig 8) comprising a pan (100) having a well (102) with a bottom surface (104) and single continuous wall surface (106) extending upwardly from the bottom surface (104), a rim (108) extending outwardly from an upper edge of the wall surface and a lip (110) extending upwardly from a terminus of the rim, a recyclable lid (130) having at least one bi-lateral fold line (132) across the lid such that the lid is configurable into a folded configuration (Fig 11), the lid (130) being configured into the folded configuration (Fig 11) and being removably secured within the well (102) of the pan (100) (Fig 9) such that the lid (130) is removable from the well (102) and unfolded to substantially flat configuration (Fig 14), wherein the lip (110) is configured to bend over the edge of the lid (130) when the lid is unfolded to a substantially flat configuration (Fig 14) and positioned such that the perimeter of the lid is positioned on the rim (Fig 14), wherein the lid (130) is made out a recyclable cardboard material (€0008) and includes a first surface being coated with a repulpable barrier substrate (aluminum, €0008) defined to provide a water, oil and grease barrier and wherein a second surface which is opposed to the first surface maintains a cardboard finish (€0034, €0038). Sarnoff does not teach the cardboard finish configured with an area of indicia printable on the surface. However, Debs discloses a food package (Fig 1) and in particular discloses a lid (20) configured with area of indicia (22) printable on the surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate area of indicia to the top surface of the Sarnoff lid as suggested by Debs in order to identify content material and advertisement (Debs, col. 2, ll. 8-10). In particular, the area of indicia includes a writable region configured to receive handwritten markings applied therto by a consumer since it has the structure as recited. Sarnoff does not teach the recited percentage of barrier substrate in relation to lid. However, Mueller discloses packaging with a pan and lid (Fig 2) and in particular discloses lid (13) comprising a barrier (3-5) that represents 10%/5% or less of the total mass of the lid (the lid having a base paper weight of up to 120 g/msup2, the barrier of 1 g/msup2 each). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the percentage of the barrier substrate of Sarnoff such that it lied in the range as recited in order to facilitate packaging of food since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach the recited percentage of barrier substrate and an area of indicia that includes a writable region. This is not persuasive because Debs discloses an area of indicia which has a region that can be written on since it is made of paper and furthermore, Mueller discloses lid packaging where the barrier is less than 10/5 percent of the total mass/weight of the lid. Taken as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to change the percentage of the barrier substrate of Sarnoff such that it lied in the range as recited in order to facilitate packaging of food since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735