DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awdeh (US 2017/0075100) in view of Yang (US 2023/0393409).
Regarding claim 1, Awdeh discloses a beamsplitter (see figure 5, for instance) comprising: a substrate (120A/B) comprising transparent material, the substrate having an axis and a plurality of surfaces comprising: a first surface configured to receive light from a sample (surface adjacent “FROM TUBE”); a second surface configured to transmit light towards oculars (surface adjacent “TO EYE PIECE”); a third surface (adjacent “MICRODISPLAY”) configured to receive light from an overlay projector (110A/110B); and a fourth surface (adjacent “CAMERA”) configured to transmit light towards a camera (118A/118B); and an interior plane within the substrate (where elements 120A/B meet to reflect S-polarized and P-polarized light, respectively), the interior plane comprising: a central partially reflective portion configured to: transmit a portion of light (P1) from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample (“FROM TUBE”) towards the oculars (“TO EYE PIECE”); reflect a remaining portion of light (P2) from the first surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the sample (“FROM TUBE”) towards the camera (“CAMERA”); and reflect light from the third surface to the first surface to direct light (that travels through “POLARIZER” and reflects up “TO EYE PIECE”) from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards the oculars (“TO EYE PIECE”). However, Awdeh does not expressly disclose the interior plane comprising an outer transmissive portion configured to: transmit light from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars; and transmit light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the overlay projector towards an aperture configured to block the light.
Yang discloses a beamsplitter (see figure 2, for instance), wherein the interior plane (202) comprising a central partially reflective portion (204; [0031]-[0032]), and an outer transmissive portion (206; [0031]-[0032]), which transmits light towards an aperture (112) configured to block the light from the camera (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the central partially reflective portion and outer transmissive portion of the interior beamsplitter plane of Yang in the beamsplitter plane of Awdeh, such that, as applied to Awdeh, the interior beamsplitter plane of Awdeh would be configured to: transmit light from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars (“TO THE EYE PIECE”); and transmit light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards an aperture configured to block the light. The motivation for doing so would have been to add extended depth of field for the camera imaging while also additional light may go toward the camera or the oculars for flexibility in optical design, as taught by Yang ([0039).
Regarding claim 2, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the interior plane positioned 40 to 50 degrees relative to the substrate axis (Yang [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204) substantially centered about a center of the outer transmissive portion (See figure 2 of Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the central partially reflective portion (see Yang figure 4, 404) offset from a center of the outer transmissive portion (Yang 406).
Regarding claim 5, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204) having a substantially square shape, as viewed from the third surface (Yang [0014], “comprise at least one polygon”).
Regarding claim 6, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204) having a substantially circular shape, as viewed from the third surface (Yang [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the central partially reflective portion having a polarization filter configured to transmit light having a first polarization (P1) and reflect light having a second polarization (S1; 120A/120B).
Regarding claim 8, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 7, the light from the sample (“FROM TUBE”) having the first polarization and the second polarization (since it is unpolarized input light in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 7, the light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) having the second polarization (S2; [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the aperture (Yang 112) forming an opening having substantially the same shape as the central partially reflective portion (Yang [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the aperture (Yang 112) forming an opening up to 20 percent smaller (Yang [0014]) than the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204).
Regarding claim 12, Awdeh discloses a method for directing light (see figure 5, for instance) comprising: receiving, by a beamsplitter (120A/B), light from a sample (“FROM TUBE”) and an overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”), the beamsplitter having a substrate comprising transparent material (see figure 5), the substrate having an axis and an interior plane with a central partially reflective portion (between 120A/B), the substrate comprising a first surface configured to receive light from the sample (adjacent “FROM TUBE”), a second surface configured to transmit light towards oculars (adjacent “TO EYE PIECE”), a third surface configured to receive light from the overlay projector (adjacent “MICRODISPLAY”), and a fourth surface configured to transmit light towards a camera (adjacent “CAMERA”); transmitting, by the central partially reflective portion, a portion of light (P1) from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars (“TO EYE PIECE”); reflecting, by the central partially reflective portion, a remaining portion of light (P2) from the first surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the sample towards the camera (“CAMERA”); and reflecting, by the central partially reflective portion, light from the third surface to the first surface to direct light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards the oculars (“TO EYE PIECE”). However, Awdeh does not expressly disclose wherein the substrate having an interior plane with an outer transmissive portion, transmitting, by the outer transmissive portion, light from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars, transmitting, by the outer transmissive portion, light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the overlay projector towards an aperture, blocking, by the aperture, light received from the fourth surface.
Yang discloses a beamsplitter (see figure 2, for instance), wherein the interior plane (202) comprising a central partially reflective portion (204; [0031]-[0032]), and an outer transmissive portion (206; [0031]-[0032]), which transmits light towards an aperture (112) configured to block the light from the camera (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the central partially reflective portion and outer transmissive portion of the interior beamsplitter plane of Yang in the beamsplitter plane of Awdeh, such that, as applied to Awdeh, the interior beamsplitter plane of Awdeh transmitting, by the outer transmissive portion, light (P1) from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars (“TO THE EYE PIECE”), transmitting, by the outer transmissive portion, light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light (P2) from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards an aperture, blocking, by the aperture, light received from the fourth surface. The motivation for doing so would have been to add extended depth of field for the camera imaging while also additional light may go toward the camera or the oculars for flexibility in optical design, as taught by Yang ([0039).
Regarding claim 13, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, the interior plane positioned 40 to 50 degrees relative to the substrate axis (Yang [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204) substantially centered about a center of the outer transmissive portion (See figure 2 of Yang).
Regarding claim 15, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, the central partially reflective portion (see Yang figure 4, 404) offset from a center of the outer transmissive portion (Yang 406).
Regarding claim 16, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: transmitting, by a polarization filter of the central partially reflective portion, light having a first polarization (P1); and reflecting, by the polarization filter, light having a second polarization (S1), the light from the sample (“FROM TUBE”) having the first polarization and the second polarization, the light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) having the second polarization.
Regarding claim 17, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, Regarding claim 10, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 1, the aperture (Yang 112) forming an opening having substantially the same shape as the central partially reflective portion (Yang [0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 12, the aperture (Yang 112) forming an opening up to 20 percent smaller (Yang [0014]) than the central partially reflective portion (Yang 204).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses a beamsplitter (see figure 5, for instance) comprising: a substrate (120A/B) comprising transparent material, the substrate having an axis and a plurality of surfaces comprising: a first surface configured to receive light from a sample (surface adjacent “FROM TUBE”); a second surface configured to transmit light towards oculars (surface adjacent “TO EYE PIECE”); a third surface (adjacent “MICRODISPLAY”) configured to receive light from an overlay projector (110A/110B); and a fourth surface (adjacent “CAMERA”) configured to transmit light towards a camera (118A/118B); an interior plane within the substrate (where elements 120A/B meet to reflect S-polarized and P-polarized light, respectively), the interior plane comprising: a central partially reflective portion configured to: transmit a portion of light (P1) from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars (“FROM TUBE”); reflect a remaining portion of light from the first surface to the fourth surface to direct light (S1) from the sample towards (“FROM TUBE”) the camera (“CAMERA”); and reflect light from the third surface to the first surface to direct light (S2) from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards the oculars (“TO EYE PIECE”). However, Awdeh does not expressly disclose the interior plane positioned 40 to 50 degrees relative to the substrate axis, and the interior plane comprising an outer transmissive portion configured to: transmit light from the first surface to the second surface to direct light from the sample towards the oculars; and transmit light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the overlay projector towards an aperture configured to block the light; and the aperture, the aperture forming an opening having substantially the same shape as the central partially reflective portion, the opening up to 20 percent smaller than the central partially reflective portion.
Yang discloses a beamsplitter (see figure 2, for instance), wherein the interior plane (202) comprising a central partially reflective portion (204; [0031]-[0032]), and an outer transmissive portion (206; [0031]-[0032]), configured to: transmit light from the first surface (bottom surface of 200) to the second surface (top surface off 200) to direct light from the sample towards the oculars (108); and transmit light from the third surface (left side of 200) to the fourth surface (right surface of 200) to direct light towards an aperture (112) configured to block the light; and the aperture (112), the aperture forming an opening having substantially the same shape as the central partially reflective portion ([0114]), the opening up to 20 percent smaller than the central partially reflective portion ([0027], “The mechanical diaphragm 112 may be adjustable and is used to cut out off-axis light to increase depth of field.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the central partially reflective portion and outer transmissive portion of the interior beamsplitter plane of Yang in the beamsplitter plane of Awdeh, such that, as applied to Awdeh, the interior beamsplitter plane of Awdeh would be configured to: and transmit light from the third surface to the fourth surface to direct light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) towards an aperture configured to block the light to the camera (“CAMERA”). The motivation for doing so would have been to add extended depth of field for the camera imaging while also additional light may go toward the camera or the oculars for flexibility in optical design, as taught by Yang ([0039).
Regarding claim 20, Awdeh in view of Yang discloses the beamsplitter of claim 19, the central partially reflective portion having a polarization filter configured to transmit light having a first polarization (P1) and reflect light having a second polarization (S1; 120A/120B), the light from the sample (“FROM TUBE”) having the first polarization (P1) and the light from the overlay projector (“MICRODISPLAY”) having the second polarization (S1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamenev (US 2023/0035415) discloses a beamsplitter having four surfaces, a projector, a sample, a camera and an ocular.
Zhou et al. (US 9,678,277) discloses a beamsplitter having four surfaces, a projector and a camera.
Preece et al. (US 12,456,998) discloses a beamsplitter having four surfaces, a projector, a sample, a camera and an ocular.
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 2/10/2026