Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control device” with accompanying functional limitation in claim 1.
“control device” with structure to execute the function claim limitation can be found in specification para. 0007.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becattini et al. US 2017/0040887 A1.
Becattini teaches:
1. A system comprising:
a microgrid; [Fig. 1 15] and
a control device [Fig. 1 12 – control module], wherein the control device is configured to operate the microgrid in a state where the microgrid has a near-net-zero or net-zero energy exchange with a macrogrid while the microgrid is physically and electrically connected to the macrogrid. [para. 0048, “In general terms, the control module 12 of the apparatus according to the present invention allows adjusting the operation of said DC/AC converter apparatus so that the combination of the value of the active and reactive power produced by said DC/AC converter apparatus and of the value of the active and reactive power exchanged by said DC/AC converter apparatus with the utility grid, is approximately equal to a required value.”]
Becattini teaches:
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the microgrid comprises:
energy loads; [load 14] and
energy sources, [battery 20]
wherein the control device is configured to monitor energy requirements of the energy loads with energy supply of the energy sources while the microgrid is operational. [para. 0069]
Becattini teaches:
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to change to the state of the microgrid from a first state, wherein in the first state, the microgrid is physically and electrically connected to a macrogrid, and the microgrid has energy exchange with a macrogrid. [para. 0003]
Becattini teaches:
6. The system of claim 5, further comprising: wherein the control device is configured to change to a third state of the microgrid from the state, wherein in the third state, the microgrid is physically and electrically disconnected to the macrogrid. [para. 0003]
Becattini teaches:
7. A computerized method of operating a microgrid, comprising:
while the microgrid is operational, and while the microgrid is physically and electrically connected to a macrogrid, changing from a first state of the microgrid to a second state of the microgrid, wherein in the first state, the microgrid has energy exchange with a macrogrid; [para. 0069-0070] and
wherein in the second state, the microgrid has a net-zero energy exchange with the macrogrid. [para. 0069-0070 and para. 0048, “In general terms, the control module 12 of the apparatus according to the present invention allows adjusting the operation of said DC/AC converter apparatus so that the combination of the value of the active and reactive power produced by said DC/AC converter apparatus and of the value of the active and reactive power exchanged by said DC/AC converter apparatus with the utility grid, is approximately equal to a required value.”]
Becattini teaches:
8. The computerized method of claim 7, further comprising: while the microgrid is operational, changing from the second state of the microgrid to a partial virtual island state of the microgrid, wherein in the partial virtual island state, the microgrid has a near-net-zero energy exchange with the macrogrid. [para. 0069-0070 and para. 0048, “In general terms, the control module 12 of the apparatus according to the present invention allows adjusting the operation of said DC/AC converter apparatus so that the combination of the value of the active and reactive power produced by said DC/AC converter apparatus and of the value of the active and reactive power exchanged by said DC/AC converter apparatus with the utility grid, is approximately equal to a required value.”]
Becattini teaches:
10. The computerized method of claim 7, further comprising: while the microgrid is operational, changing from the second state of the microgrid to a third state of the microgrid, wherein in the third state, the microgrid is physically and electrically disconnected to the macrogrid. [para. 0003]
Becattini teaches:
11. A control device comprising:
a processor;[control module 12] a network component, which is in communication with the processor, wherein the processor communicates with a remote system via the network component; [para. 0012] and
a non-transitory computer readable memory, which is in communication with the processor, wherein the non-transitory computer readable memory has stored therein a microgrid control program, wherein when executed by the processor, the processor performs the computerized method of claim 7. [see above]
Becattini teaches:
12. A computerized method of operating a microgrid, comprising:
while the microgrid is operational, and while the microgrid is physically and electrically connected to a macrogrid, changing from a first state of the microgrid to a partial virtual island state of the microgrid, wherein in the first state, the microgrid has energy exchange with a macrogrid; [para. 0069-0070] and
wherein in the partial virtual island state, the microgrid has a near-net-zero energy exchange with the macrogrid. [para. 0069-0070 and para. 0048, “In general terms, the control module 12 of the apparatus according to the present invention allows adjusting the operation of said DC/AC converter apparatus so that the combination of the value of the active and reactive power produced by said DC/AC converter apparatus and of the value of the active and reactive power exchanged by said DC/AC converter apparatus with the utility grid, is approximately equal to a required value.”]
Becattini teaches:
14. The computerized method of claim 12, further comprising: while the microgrid is operational, changing from the partial virtual island state of the microgrid to a second state of the microgrid, wherein in the second state, the microgrid has a net-zero energy exchange with the macrogrid. [para. 0069-0070 and para. 0048, “In general terms, the control module 12 of the apparatus according to the present invention allows adjusting the operation of said DC/AC converter apparatus so that the combination of the value of the active and reactive power produced by said DC/AC converter apparatus and of the value of the active and reactive power exchanged by said DC/AC converter apparatus with the utility grid, is approximately equal to a required value.”]
Becattini teaches:
15. The computerized method of claim 12, further comprising: while the microgrid is operational, changing from the partial virtual island state of the microgrid to a third state of the microgrid, wherein in the third state, the microgrid is physically and electrically disconnected to the macrogrid. [para. 0003]
Becatinni teaches:
16. A control device comprising: a processor; [control module 12] a network component,[para. 0012] which is in communication with the processor, wherein the processor communicates with a remote system via the network component; and a non-transitory computer readable memory, which is in communication with the processor, wherein the non-transitory computer readable memory has stored therein a microgrid control program, wherein when executed by the processor, the processor performs the computerized method of claim 12. [see above.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becattini et al. US 2017/0040887 A1 in view of Cruickshank, III US 2021/0296897 A1.
Becattini does not teach the following limitation, however, Cruickshank teaches:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the near-net-zero energy exchange is in a range of ±0.01 per unit to ±0.4 per unit of rated power of the microgrid. [Table 6.7 “net zero” whole-house energy usage on an annual basis and daily basis.]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Cruickshank III with those of Becattini. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Cruickshank III teaches load shedding to achieve net zero goals. (See para. 0149).
Cruickshank III teaches:
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the control device is configured to:
receive energy data from a remote system and/or the macrogrid; [para. 0198 -internet connected apppliances]
determine requirement by the energy loads of the microgrid; [para. 0198]
determine energy supply by the energy sources of the microgrid; [para. 0198]
compare the requirement and the energy supply; [para. 0198]
and
determine whether shedding at least one of the loads of the microgrid can achieve the near-net-zero or net-zero energy exchange with the macrogrid while the microgrid is physically and electrically connected to the macrogrid. [para. 0198, automatically adding and shedding loads throughout the day]
Regarding method claim 9 and 13, these method claims execute the steps of functions of apparatus above in claim 2 and are rejected on the same grounds and rationale as above.
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115