Status of Application
Claim(s) 1-20 were previously pending and were rejected in the previous office action. Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 were amended. Claim(s) 2-12 and 14-19 were left as previously/originally presented. Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments, on page(s) 9-10, filed on February 18, 2026, has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner, respectfully, does not find the argument persuasive because it does not appear to show the claims are patentably distinct from the reference claims. See MPEP 804(I)(B)(1).
Examiner, also, notes that applicant argues that the limitations has been amended to recite the limitations in Dependent Claim 14, which, in turn would resemble Independent Claim(s) 1 and 20. However, Examiner, respectfully, notes that Independent Claim 13 has been narrowly amended to include such subject matter, see the below rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12 Applicant’s Response, filed February 18, 2026, with respect to 35 USC § 101 rejection of Claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues, on page(s) 12-14, that the amended Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20, do not fall within the revised Step 2A Prong 1 framework under the grouping of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.” Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
As an initial matter, Courts have provided various sub groupings within organizing human activity grouping encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It is also noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping. Instead, the determination should be based on whether the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Examiner, respectfully, notes that the specific limitation(s) that fall within the subject matter groupings of the abstract idea. Independent Claim 1 recites “storing,” “receive credential information of a customer service agent associated with a retailer,” “receive identification data associated with a customer,” “responsive to receiving the identification data and validating the credential information of the customer service agent,” “generate a first option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included within an active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first administrative option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item,” “display,” “a first graphical representation of the active shipping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart,” “a second option selectable by the customer service agent to issue a concession for an order item after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the second option to issue the concession for the order item,” “display,” “a second graphical representation of a customer order information, the customer order information being associated with the identification data, and the second graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to the second customer view of the customer order information,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” function(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 13, recites “prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to an identity of the customer service agent,” “in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer,” “receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent,” “in response to receiving the identification data, providing to the customer service agent,” “a first option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of pre-purchase item that is included within an active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item form the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item,” “display,” “a first graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer eservice agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” step(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 20, recites “storing,” “receive a request, from a customer, directed to a customer service agent representing a retailer, to match a price of an item from the retailer to a competitor price,” “receive identification data associated with the customer form the customer service agent,” “in response to receiving the identification data, provide to the customer service agent,” “a graphical representation as viewed by the customer, the graphical representation including a graphical view of an active shopping cart and the customer order information associated with an account of the customer,” “a first option selectable by the customer service agent for when the item is a pre-purchase item that is included within the active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer,” “a second option selectable by the customer service agent for when the item is an order item that is included within the customer order information of the customer after the customer completes purchasing the order item form the retailer,” “wherein upon selection of the first option, execute instructions to modify the price of the item, a modified price for the item having a value up to the competitor price, including displaying them modified price for the item on the active shopping cart as viewed by the customer, “ “wherein upon selection of the second option, execute instructions to issue a concession for the item, the concession having a value that is up to the difference between the price of the item and the competitor price, including displaying the concession amount for the item on the customer order information as viewed by the customer,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” function(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Similar to, Credit Acceptance Corp v, Westlake Services, where the court found that that processing a credit application between a customer and dealer, where the business relation is the relationship between the customer and the dealer during the vehicle purchase was merely a commercial transaction, which, is a form of certain methods of organizing human activity. In this case, the claim(s) are similar to a business relationship between an entity and customer(s), which, an agent is presented with a user interface for issuing concessions for user orders, which the customer information is not displayed to the agent depending on the agents credentials, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea of a business relation such as issuing concessions for online shopping. Thus, applicant’s claims fall within at least the enumerated grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Second, Applicant argues, on page(s) 10-12, that the invention provides that the application is now integrated into a practical application thus sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner, respectfully, disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
As an initial matter, it is important to note that first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel"), see MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration.
Here, in this case the specification discloses a solution to protect customer’s privacy, see applicant’s specification 0117 and see applicant’s arguments on page(s) 10-11. This is at best is an improvement to the abstract idea itself (e.g., customer privacy) rather than a technological improvement.
First, the step(s) of accomplishing this desired improvement in the specification is made in blanket conclusory manner by merely protecting customer privacy by hiding and uncovering information based on the level of access the customer service agent is granted, is not an improvement in the functioning of a computer system, but more directed to the use of a generic computer to carry out the recited abstract idea of hiding customer information, see applicant’s specification paragraph(s) 0048 and 0117. Thus, when the specification states the improvement in a conclusory manner the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Also, another important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP §2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv., the court has held that the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here, in this case applicant’s limitations merely receiving, receiving, validating, generating, selecting, modifying, selecting, issuing, hiding, prompting, and entering, shopping information using computer components that operate in their ordinary capacity (e.g., a computing system, a processor, a memory, a remote customer service agent device, an agent user interface, a first/second administrative option, a customer service tool, and a customer user interface), which are no more than “applying,” the judicial exception.
Also, similar to, TLI Communications, where the court found that there was no improvement upon computers or technology when mere gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result. Here, in this case a credential and identification data is received (e.g., gathering). The system will then validate the credential information and generate an interface (e.g., analyzing). The system will then modify a price of a pre-purchase item, which the system can issue a concession (e.g., analyzing). The system can then provide a viewable portion of information to an agent (e.g., displaying) thus merely gathering shopping information, analyzing the information, and then presenting the certain information to an agent are not sufficient to show an improvement in computers or technology of determining shopping information for customer’s information.
Furthermore, similar to, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC., the court provided that arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application when the system enables a customer service agent to quickly competitor pricing and determine refund amounts for customers, see paragraph(s) 0031, 0080 and 0132, since the user interface merely provides pricing information to a customer and/or agent to process the information more quickly doesn’t show an improvement in computer-functionally or technology.
Also, see the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Third, Applicant argues, on page(s) 11-12, that the claims are integrated into a practical application since the system is improving the technological field of traffic management and the limitations are similar to Example 37 Claim 1 of the 2019 PEG. Examiner, respectfully disagrees with this analysis
As an initial matter, Example 37 Claim 1 as a whole integrated the mental process into a practical application because “the additional elements recite a specific manner of automatically displaying icons to the user based on usage which provides a specific improvement over prior systems, resulting in an improved user interface for electronic devices.” See 2019 PEG 2–3. Applicants’ claims are not analogous to Example 37 Claim 1 for the fact that the graphical interface provides no other function besides implementing an electronic graphical interface in its ordinary capacity for simply displaying data. Applicant’s limitations are not similar to Example 37 because the graphical interface does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, Example 37 Claim 1 was found that it could not be practically performed in the human mind, at least because it requires electronic devices to reflect an improved user interface and a specific manner of automatically displaying icons to the user based on usage, which is distinguishable from applicant’s limitations.
Furthermore, while applicant provides their limitations are an improvement when they recite a specific manner of evaluating agent credentials, enforcing an access threshold, and dynamically controlling the visibility of customer account-related data within the agent interface thus restricting access to sensitive customer information based on agent credentials, see applicants’ arguments on page(s) 11-12. However, such arguments have been deemed to be not enough to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See, gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48(e.g., 2016.05(a)(II); and claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015)(e.g., MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
Furthermore, unlike, Example 37 of the 2019 PEG but, analogous to, TLI Communications, the court found that there was not a sufficient showing of an improvement in computer-functionality when gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, see MPEP 2106.05(a)(II). Here, applicant’s limitations are not sufficient to show an improvement when the system receives credential and identification data (e.g., gathering). The system will then validate the credential information and generate an interface (e.g., analyzing). The system will then modify a price of a pre-purchase item, which the system can issue a concession (e.g., analyzing). The system can then provide a viewable portion of information to an agent (e.g., displaying). However, merely gathering data and analyzing that data to determine a shopping information and then displaying that information is not sufficient to show of an improvement in computer-functionality.
In fact, applicant doesn’t recite any step(s)/function(s) in the Independent Claim(s) of how the interface uses protection/privacy filters and how that is used to accomplish the result of solving privacy concerns. Furthermore, the claims recite the functional results to be achieved rather than implementation details. Thus “these claims in substance [are] directed to nothing more than the performance of an abstract business practice ... using a conventional computer. Such claims are not patent-eligible." See, the above analysis; also, see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner, respectfully, notes that applicant argues that the limitations has been amended to recite the limitations in Dependent Claim 14, which, in turn would resemble Independent Claim(s) 1 and 20. However, Examiner, respectfully, notes that Independent Claim 13 has been narrowly amended to include such subject matter, see the below rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,042,918 B2 (hereinafter Patent 918) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and further in view of Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1).
Regarding Claim 13, Patent 918, teaches a method comprising:
prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to an identity of the customer service agent. (Claim 20)(Patent 918 et al. teaches prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to the identity of the customer service agent)
in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer. (Claim 20)(Patent 918 et al. teaches in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer)
receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent. (Claim 20)(Patent 918 teaches receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent)
in response to receiving the identification data, providing an agent user interface to the customer service agent. (Claim 20)(Patent 918 teaches in response to receiving the identification data, providing a user interface to the customer service agent)
the agent user interface including:
a fist administrative option selectable by the customer service agent to modify
the agent user interface displays:
a first graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart within a customer user interface. (Claim 20)(Patent 918 teaches a first graphical representation of an active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping store cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a customer view of the active shopping cart)
With respect to the above limitations: while Patent 918 et al. teaches a customer and customer agent interface. The customer agent interface includes an administrative option for executing a function that affects the customers shopping cart. The agent is able to provide credentials and identification data to the system for generating an customer agent interface. Patent 918, also, teaches a first graphical representation of an active shopping cart of the customer that is associated with the identification data and has the appearance corresponding to the customer view of the active shopping cart. However, Patent 918, doesn’t explicitly teach a customer service agent selectable options is able to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included in the customers shopping cart, before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer. The selection of the first administrative option modifies the price of the pre-purchase item. Patent 918, also, doesn’t explicitly teach credential information of the service agent is below a threshold access level, then a portion of customer account related data is hidden within the agent user interface.
But, Saarevirta in the analogous art of modifying pricing plans for items, teaches a fist administrative option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first administrative option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item. (Column 10, Lines 44-54); (Column 31, Lines 6-24); (Column 40, Lines 56-67); and (Column 41, Lines 1-6)(Saarenvirta teaches a retail pricing plan may be implemented by the retailer. The retailer’s computer system can output the retail price plan, which the retailer user can modify the retail pricing plan for the product availability, see Column 31, Lines 6-24. Saarenvirta, also, teaches that the retailer computer interface allows the retailer to interact with the interface to make adjustments to the product pricing. Saarenvirta, also, teaches the retailer interface includes a link/button for editing the pricing/modifying the price points for the products, see Column 40, Lines 56-67 and Column 41, Lines 1-6)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918, by incorporating the teachings of modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve retailers efficiently planning prices for products. (Saarenvirta: Column 1, Lines 14-30)
But, Sampson in the analogous art of masking customer data, teaches wherein the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable at an interface associated with the customer is hidden within the agent user interface. (Abstract); (Column 17, Lines 40-67); (Column 18, Lines 1-10); (Column 22, Lines 52-67); and (Column 23, Lines 1-20)(Sampson teaches a system for data masking. The system can permit access to certain information based on permission-based access level (e.g., credential information). The system can determine an individual with a lower-level access permission level (e.g., below a threshold access level) will not be permitted more information than an individual with high-level access permission level. Sampson, further, teaches the system can determine individuals assigned or associated roles will limit their access to customer information. The system can assign insurance agents and administration assistants different levels of access to customer information. The system will then mask the sensitive customer data through a virtual shutter for masking the sensitive information within the agent interface based on certain individuals having lower access levels (e.g., below a threshold) than other individuals. Examiner, respectfully, notes that based on the BRI of the claim and applicant’s specification paragraph 0117. That the threshold access level is merely the position level of the personnel. Applicant’s specification merely provides “…Such hidden information may be uncovered based on the level of access the customer service agent is granted. For example, a supervisor customer service agent may be granted access to information that is hidden from a staff customer service agent…,” thus the above reference reads on applicant’s limitations)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918 and modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, by incorporating the teachings of masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of the agents and if one individual is lower than another individual then they will not be presented certain information of Sampson, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve a system for protecting information. (Sampson: Column 1, Lines 48-57)
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,042,918 B2 (hereinafter Patent 918) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1) and further in view of Leachman et al. (US 2016/0027130 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Patent 918/Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 13.
However, Patent 198/Saarenvirta,/Sampson do not explicitly teach wherein the customer user interface is presented at a remote customer device.
Leachman et al., in the analogous art of selling products, wherein the customer user interface is presented at a remote customer device. (Paragraph 0160)(Leachman et al. teaches displaying interactive payment interfaces to a user at a remote computer or a buyer computer)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918, modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, and masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of the agents and if one individual is lower than another individual then they will not be presented certain information of Sampson, by incorporating the teachings of proving interfaces to a remote buyer computer of Leachman et al., with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to help buyers evaluate the relative market value of sale groups. (Leachman et al.: Paragraph 0003)
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,042,918 B2 (hereinafter Patent 918) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and further in view of Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1) and further in view of Stack (US 6,076,070 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Patent 918/Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied Claim 13 and
receiving an instruction to
executing the instruction, thereby
With respect to the above limitations: while Patent 918 teaches receiving an instruction to select and perform a function affecting the active shopping cart of the customer based on the user input of a customer agent at the user interface. Patent 918, also, teaches executing the instructions thereby affecting the active shopping cart of the customer. However, Patent 918, doesn’t explicitly teach modifying the price of the pre-purchase item, which will then be displayed to the first customer view of the customer interface.
But, Saarevirta in the analogous art of modifying pricing plans for items, modify the price of the pre-purchase item. (Column 10, Lines 44-54); (Column 31, Lines 6-24); (Column 40, Lines 56-67); and (Column 41, Lines 1-6)(Saarenvirta teaches a retail pricing plan may be implemented by the retailer. The retailer’s computer system can output the retail price plan, which the retailer user can modify the retail pricing plan for the product availability, see Column 31, Lines 6-24. Saarenvirta, also, teaches that the retailer computer interface allows the retailer to interact with the interface to make adjustments to the product pricing. Saarenvirta, also, teaches the retailer interface includes a link/button for editing the pricing/modifying the price points for the products, see Column 40, Lines 56-67 and Column 41, Lines 1-6)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918, by incorporating the teachings of modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve retailers efficiently planning prices for products. (Saarenvirta: Column 1, Lines 14-30)
With respect to the above limitations: while Saarenvirta teaches modifying the price of the pre-purchase item. However, Patent 918/Saarenvirta/Sampson, do not explicitly teach displaying the updated pricing to the first customer view of the customer interface.
But, Stack in the analogous art of reducing item pricing, modifying the price of the item, including displaying a modified price for the pre-purchase item on the first customer view. (Column 4, Lines 1-15)(Stack teaches if the vendors item price is capable of being reduced, the comparison computer program at the vendors site will reduce the price to a value less than or equal to the competitor’s price and the new price will be sent to the customer in the form of a new or revised display screen (e.g., first customer view))
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918, modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, and masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of the agents and if one individual is lower than another individual then they will not be presented certain information of Sampson, by incorporating the teachings of displaying the reduced pricing information for the item to a customer of Stack, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to help compare goods and prices of competitors nearly simultaneously for allowing shoppers to find better pricing for items. (Stack: Column 1, Lines 30-67)
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,042,918 B2 (hereinafter Patent 918) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and further in view of Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1) and further in view of Joseph et al. (US 8,566,170 B1).
Regarding Claim 19, Patent 918/Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 13.
However, Patent 918/Saarevirta/Sampson, do not explicitly teach wherein the concession includes one or more of: a monetary discount amount, a monetary discount percentage, and a credit amount to use at the retailer.
But, Joseph et al. in the analogous art of concessions, teaches wherein the concession includes one or more of: a monetary discount amount, a monetary discount percentage, and a credit amount to use at the retailer. (Column 4, Lines 3-35)(Joseph et al. teaches a concession can be a complimentary or discounted product, price reduction (e.g., monetary discount amount), or other form of concession or discounts are given to the customer. The concession can be for a certain percentage or amount, see Column 15, Lines 38-49)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Patent 918, modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, and masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of the agents and if one individual is lower than another individual then they will not be presented certain information of Sampson, by incorporating the teachings of providing a customer with a concession that includes a discount of Joseph et al., with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve sales that may be lost to customer hesitancy. (Joseph et al.: Column 1, Lines 5-9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A Prong 1: Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 recites a customer service entity is able to log-in to the entities computer. The customer service entity can then modify a price for a customer order, which the customer is able purchase the order based on the modified pricing. The customer service entity is then able to issue a concession to the purchased order. Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20, as a whole recites limitation(s) that are directed to the abstract idea(s) of certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 1 recites “storing,” “receive credential information of a customer service agent associated with a retailer,” “receive identification data associated with a customer,” “responsive to receiving the identification data and validating the credential information of the customer service agent,” “generate a first option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included within an active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first administrative option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item,” “display,” “a first graphical representation of the active shipping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart,” “a second option selectable by the customer service agent to issue a concession for an order item after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the second option to issue the concession for the order item,” “display,” “a second graphical representation of a customer order information, the customer order information being associated with the identification data, and the second graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to the second customer view of the customer order information,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” function(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 13, recites “prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to an identity of the customer service agent,” “in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer,” “receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent,” “in response to receiving the identification data, providing to the customer service agent,” “a first option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of pre-purchase item that is included within an active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item form the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item,” “display,” “a first graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer eservice agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” step(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
Independent Claim 20, recites “storing,” “receive a request, from a customer, directed to a customer service agent representing a retailer, to match a price of an item from the retailer to a competitor price,” “receive identification data associated with the customer form the customer service agent,” “in response to receiving the identification data, provide to the customer service agent,” “a graphical representation as viewed by the customer, the graphical representation including a graphical view of an active shopping cart and the customer order information associated with an account of the customer,” “a first option selectable by the customer service agent for when the item is a pre-purchase item that is included within the active shopping cart of the customer before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer,” “a second option selectable by the customer service agent for when the item is an order item that is included within the customer order information of the customer after the customer completes purchasing the order item form the retailer,” “wherein upon selection of the first option, execute instructions to modify the price of the item, a modified price for the item having a value up to the competitor price, including displaying them modified price for the item on the active shopping cart as viewed by the customer, “ “wherein upon selection of the second option, execute instructions to issue a concession for the item, the concession having a value that is up to the difference between the price of the item and the competitor price, including displaying the concession amount for the item on the customer order information as viewed by the customer,” and “wherein, when the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable associated with the customer is hidden,” function(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: commercial or legal interactions (e.g., behaviors and/or business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., following rules or instructions).
For instance, in this case, Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20, are similar to an customer service agent that can modify item pricing based on competitor pricing, which the customer service agent can then issue a concession for the purchased order. The mere recitation of generic computer components (Claim 1: a computing system, a memory, a processor, a customer service tool, an agent user interface, a remote customer service agent device, a first administrative option, a second administrative option, and a customer user interface; Claim 13: an agent user interface, a first administrative option, and a customer user interface; and Claim 20: a computing system, a processor, a memory, a customer service tool, an agent user interface, a customer user interface, a customer device, a first administrative option, and a second administrative option) do not take the claims out of the enumerated grouping certain methods of organizing human activity. Therefore, Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20, recites the above abstract idea(s).
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole describes how to generally “apply,” the concept(s) of “receiving,” “receiving,” “validating,” “generating,” “selecting,” “modifying,” “displaying,” “selecting,” “issuing,” “displaying,” and “prompting,” respectively, information in a computer environment. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are as follows (Claim 1: a computing system, a memory, a processor, a customer service tool, an agent user interface, a remote customer service agent device, a first administrative option, a second administrative option, and a customer user interface; Claim 13: an agent user interface, a first administrative option, and a customer user interface; and Claim 20: a computing system, a processor, a memory, a customer service tool, an agent user interface, a customer user interface, a customer device, a first administrative option, and a second administrative option). Examiner, notes that the computing system, memory, processor, customer service tool, agent user interface, remote customer service agent device, first administrative option, second administrative option, and customer user interface, respectively, are recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv., the court has held that the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here, in this case applicant’s limitations merely receiving, receiving, validating, generating, selecting, modifying, displaying, selecting, issuing, displaying, and prompting information using computer components that operate in their ordinary capacity (e.g., computing system, memory, processor, customer service tool, agent user interface, remote customer service agent device, first administrative option, second administrative option, and customer user interface), which are no more than using instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components wherein the focus of the claim as a whole is directed to a result or effect that itself is the abstract idea thus merely amounting to “applying,” the judicial exception.
Also, see the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Also, similar to, TLI Communications, where the court found that there was no improvement upon computers or technology when mere gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result. Here, in this case a credential and identification data is received (e.g., gathering). The system will then validate the credential information and generate an interface (e.g., analyzing). The system will then modify a price of a pre-purchase item, which the system can issue a concession (e.g., analyzing). The system can then provide a viewable portion of information to an agent (e.g., displaying) thus merely gathering shopping information, analyzing the information, and then presenting the certain information to an agent are not sufficient to show an improvement in computers or technology of determining shopping information for customer’s information
Furthermore, similar to, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC., the court provided that arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application when the system enables a customer service agent to quickly competitor pricing and determine refund amounts for customers, see paragraph(s) 0031, 0080 and 0132, since the user interface merely provides pricing information to a customer and/or agent to process the information more quickly doesn’t show an improvement in computer-functionally or technology.
Also, similar to, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, the court provided that merely “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer,” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application when the user interface(s) efficiently enables the agent and customer to efficiently and quickly modify/view pricing information, see applicant’s specification paragraph(s) 0030-0031, 0034, 0079-0080, 0115, 0132, and 0141-0142, since the appending generic computer functionality merely lends to speed or efficiency to the performance of an abstract concept doesn’t meaningfully limit the claim(s) thus as a whole applicant’s limitations merely describe how to generally “apply,” the concept(s) of an existing process of modifying and presenting pricing information thus at best are mere instructions to apply the exception. Each of the above limitations simply implement an abstract idea that is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, which, is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Therefore, when viewed in combination these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claims are directed to the above abstract idea(s).
Step 2B: The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as noted previously, the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply,” the abstract idea in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
Claim(s) 10-12, 14, and 19 : The various metrics of Dependent Claim(s) 10-12, 14, and 19, merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For the reasons described above with respect to Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim(s) 2 and 15: The additional limitation(s) of describing “presenting,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1 and 13, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are a customer user interface and a remote customer device. Examiner, notes that the customer user interface and remote customer device, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely presenting, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “presenting,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 2 and 15, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 3 and 16: The additional limitation(s) of describing “receiving,” “modifying,” “executing,” “modifying,” and “displaying,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1 and 13, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are a computing system, a user interface, and a customer user interface. Examiner, notes that the computing system, user interface, and customer user interface, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely receiving, modifying, executing, modifying, and displaying, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “receive an instruction to modify the price of the pre-purchase item from the active shopping cart in response to receipt of user input from the customer service agent,” and “execute the instruction, thereby modifying the price the item, including displaying a modified price for the pre-purchase item on the first customer view of the active shopping cart,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 3 and 16, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 4 and 17: The additional limitation(s) of describing “receiving,” “issuing,” “executing,” issuing,” and “displaying,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1 and 13, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are a computing system, a user interface, and a customer user interface. Examiner, notes that the computing system, user interface, and customer user interface, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely receiving, issuing, executing, issuing, and displaying, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “receive an instruction to issue the concession for the order item in response to receipt of user input from the customer service agent,” and “execute the instruction, thereby issuing the concession for the order item, including displaying a concession amount for the order item on the second customer view of the customer order information,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 4 and 17, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 5: The additional limitation(s) of describing “selecting,” “modifying,” and “receiving,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are a first administrative option. Examiner, notes that the first administrative option, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely selecting, modifying, and receiving, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “customer service agent selecting the first option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item is in response to receiving a request from the customer to match the price of the pre-purchase item to a competitor price,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 5, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 6: The additional limitation(s) of describing “selecting,” “issuing,” and “receiving,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are a second administrative option. Examiner, notes that the first administrative option, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely selecting, modifying, and receiving, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “customer service agent selecting the second option to issue a concession is in response to receiving a request from the customer to match a price of the order item price to a competitor price,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 6, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 7 and 18: The additional limitation(s) of describing “displaying,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1 and 13, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are an agent user interface. Examiner, notes that agent user interface, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely displaying, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “displays a competitor check section that includes information retrieved from a competitor listing of the pre-purchase item or the order item, the information including one or more of: a competitor price for the pre-purchase item or the order item, a data at which the information was retrieved, a time at which the information was retrieved, a stock status for the pre-purchase item or the order item, a name of an entity that stocks the pre-purchase item or the order item, a name of an entity that fulfills the pre-purchase item or the order item, and a uniform resource locator link to the competitor listing of the pre-purchase item or the order item,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 7 and 18, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 8: The additional limitation(s) of describing “displaying,” “modifying,” and “issuing,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are an agent user interface. Examiner, notes that the agent user interface, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely displaying, modifying, and issuing, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “automatically displays a suggestion for a price modification monetary amount or a concession monetary amount,” “the price modification monetary amount is a monetary amount up to which the customer service agent may modify the price of the pre-purchase item,” and “the concession monetary amount is a monetary amount up to which the customer service agent may issue a concession for the order item,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 8, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 9: The additional limitation(s) of describing “entering,” are further directed to a method of organizing human activity, as described above for Independent Claim(s) 1, respectively. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are an agent user interface. Examiner, notes that the agent user interface, are generically claimed that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements is merely displaying, information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. The recitation(s) of “includes an option for the customer service agent to manually enter a concession amount for the order item, wherein the concession amount is up to a price for the order item,” falls within certain methods of organizing human activity. Also, see gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; and arranging transactional information on a graphical user interface in a manner that assists traders in processing information more quickly, Trading Technologies v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). For the reasons described above with respect to Claim(s) 7, the judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
The dependent claim(s) 2-12 and 14-19 above do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) in the dependent claim(s) above are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component(s), which, do not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, Claim(s) 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchant et al. (US 11,042,918 B2) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and further in view of Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1).
Regarding Claim 13, Marchant et al., teaches a method comprising:
prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to an identity of the customer service agent. (Column 2, Lines 7-26); and (Claim 20)(Marchant et al. teaches prompting a customer service agent to input credentials, wherein the credentials correspond to the identity of the customer service agent)
in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer. (Column 2, Lines 7-26); and (Claim 20)(Marchant et al. teaches in response to a positive verification of the credentials, prompting the customer service agent to enter identification data associated with a customer)
receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent. (Column 2, Lines 7-26); and (Claim 20)(Marchant et al. teaches receiving the identification data associated with the customer from the customer service agent)
in response to receiving the identification data, providing an agent user interface to the customer service agent. (Column 2, Lines 7-26); and (Claim 20)(Marchant et al. teaches in response to receiving the identification data, providing a user interface to the customer service agent)
the agent user interface including:
a fist administrative option selectable by the customer service agent to modify
the agent user interface displays:
a first graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a first customer view of the active shopping cart within a customer user interface. (Column 1, Lines 34-53)(Marchant et al. teaches a first graphical representation of an active shopping cart of the customer, the active shopping store cart being associated with the identification data, and the first graphical representation having an appearance corresponding to a customer view of the active shopping cart)
With respect to the above limitations: while Marchant et al. teaches a customer and customer agent interface. The customer agent interface includes an administrative option for executing a function that affects the customers shopping cart. The agent is able to provide credentials and identification data to the system for generating an customer agent interface. Marchant et al., also, teaches a first graphical representation of an active shopping cart of the customer that is associated with the identification data and has the appearance corresponding to the customer view of the active shopping cart. However, Marchant et al., doesn’t explicitly teach a customer service agent selectable options is able to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included in the customers shopping cart, before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer. The selection of the first administrative option modifies the price of the pre-purchase item. Merchant et al., also, doesn’t explicitly teach if the agent is below an access level threshold, then a portion of the customer information is hidden within the agent interface.
But, Saarevirta in the analogous art of modifying pricing plans for items, teaches a fist administrative option selectable by the customer service agent to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer, wherein upon selection of the first administrative option to modify the price of the pre-purchase item. (Column 10, Lines 44-54); (Column 31, Lines 6-24); (Column 40, Lines 56-67); and (Column 41, Lines 1-6)(Saarenvirta teaches a retail pricing plan may be implemented by the retailer. The retailer’s computer system can output the retail price plan, which the retailer user can modify the retail pricing plan for the product availability, see Column 31, Lines 6-24. Saarenvirta, also, teaches that the retailer computer interface allows the retailer to interact with the interface to make adjustments to the product pricing. Saarenvirta, also, teaches the retailer interface includes a link/button for editing the pricing/modifying the price points for the products, see Column 40, Lines 56-67 and Column 41, Lines 1-6)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Marchant et al., by incorporating the teachings of modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve retailers efficiently planning prices for products. (Saarenvirta: Column 1, Lines 14-30)
With respect to the above limitations: while Saarenvirta teaches a customer service agent selectable options is able to modify a price of a pre-purchase item that is included in the customers shopping cart, before the customer completes purchasing the pre-purchase item from the retailer. The selection of the first administrative option modifies the price of the pre-purchase item. However, Merchant et al./Saarenvirta, do not explicitly teach if the agent is below an access level threshold, then a portion of the customer information is hidden within the agent interface.
But, Sampson in the analogous art of masking customer data, teaches wherein the credential information of the customer service agent is below a threshold access level, at least a portion of customer account related data that is viewable at an interface associated with the customer is hidden within the agent user interface. (Abstract); (Column 17, Lines 40-67); (Column 18, Lines 1-10); (Column 22, Lines 52-67); and (Column 23, Lines 1-20)(Sampson teaches a system for data masking. The system can permit access to certain information based on permission-based access level (e.g., credential information). The system can determine an individual with a lower-level access permission level (e.g., below a threshold access level) will not be permitted more information than an individual with high-level access permission level. Sampson, further, teaches the system can determine individuals assigned or associated roles will limit their access to customer information. The system can assign insurance agents and administration assistants different levels of access to customer information. The system will then mask the sensitive customer data through a virtual shutter for masking the sensitive information within the agent interface based on certain individuals having lower access levels (e.g., below a threshold) than other individuals. Examiner, respectfully, notes that based on the BRI of the claim and applicant’s specification paragraph 0117. That the threshold access level is merely the position level of the personnel. Applicant’s specification merely provides “…Such hidden information may be uncovered based on the level of access the customer service agent is granted. For example, a supervisor customer service agent may be granted access to information that is hidden from a staff customer service agent…,” thus the above reference reads on applicant’s limitations)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Marchant et al. and modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, by incorporating the teachings of masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of the agents and if one individual is lower than another individual then they will not be presented certain information of Sampson, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve a system for protecting information. (Sampson: Column 1, Lines 48-57)
Regarding Claim 15, Marchant et al./Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 13 and wherein the customer user interface is presented at a remote customer device. (Column 1, Liens 54-67)(Marchant et al. teaches a user interface is presentable at a remote customer service agent device)
Regarding Claim 19, Marchant et al./Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 13 and wherein the concession includes one or more of: a monetary discount amount, a monetary discount percentage, and a credit amount to use at the retailer. (Column 14, Lines 38-49); and (Column 15, Lines 38-49)(teaches a number of concessions or discounts are given to the customer. The concession can be for a certain percentage or amount, see Column 15, Lines 38-49)
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchant et al. (US 11,042,918 B2) in view of Saarenvirta (US 11,887,138 B2) and Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1), as applied to Claim 13, and further in view of Stack (US 6,076,070 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Marchant et al./Saarevirta/Sampson, teaches all the limitations as applied Claim 13 and
receiving an instruction to in reposone to receipt of user input from the customer service agent at the user interface)
executing the instruction, thereby
With respect to the above limitations: while Marchant et al. teaches receiving an instruction to select and perform a function affecting the active shopping cart of the customer based on the user input of a customer agent at the user interface. Marchant et al., also, teaches executing the instructions thereby affecting the active shopping cart of the customer. However, Marchant et al., do not explicitly teach modifying the price of the pre-purchase item, which will then be displayed to the first customer view of the customer interface.
But, Saarevirta in the analogous art of modifying pricing plans for items, modify the price of the pre-purchase item. (Column 10, Lines 44-54); (Column 31, Lines 6-24); (Column 40, Lines 56-67); and (Column 41, Lines 1-6)(Saarenvirta teaches a retail pricing plan may be implemented by the retailer. The retailer’s computer system can output the retail price plan, which the retailer user can modify the retail pricing plan for the product availability, see Column 31, Lines 6-24. Saarenvirta, also, teaches that the retailer computer interface allows the retailer to interact with the interface to make adjustments to the product pricing. Saarenvirta, also, teaches the retailer interface includes a link/button for editing the pricing/modifying the price points for the products, see Column 40, Lines 56-67 and Column 41, Lines 1-6)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Marchant et al., by incorporating the teachings of modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to improve retailers efficiently planning prices for products. (Saarenvirta: Column 1, Lines 14-30)
With respect to the above limitations: while Saarenvirta teaches modifying the price of the pre-purchase item. However, Marchant et al./Saarenvirta/Sampson, do not explicitly teach displaying the updated pricing to the first customer view of the customer interface.
But, Stack in the analogous art of reducing item pricing, modifying the price of the item, including displaying a modified price for the pre-purchase item on the first customer view. (Column 4, Lines 1-15)(Stack teaches if the vendors item price is capable of being reduced, the comparison computer program at the vendors site will reduce the price to a value less than or equal to the competitor’s price and the new price will be sent to the customer in the form of a new or revised display screen (e.g., first customer view))
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify using an agent user interface for modifying functions of the customers shopping cart order of Marchant et al., modifying a pricing plan for items using interface links of Saarevirta, and masking sensitive customer information in an agent interface based on the access levels of Sampson, by incorporating the teachings of displaying the reduced pricing information for the item to a customer of Stack, with the motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to combine the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention in order to help compare goods and prices of competitors nearly simultaneously for allowing shoppers to find better pricing for items. (Stack: Column 1, Lines 30-67)
Novelty/Non-obviousness
For the reasons outlined below, Independent Claim(s) 1 and 20 and Dependent Claim(s) 14 and 17-18, are distinguished from the art.
Vosseller et al. (US 2023/0108983 A1). Vosseller et al. teaches after the service provider account is permitted access to digital content based on successful verification then the a discount can be applied to a purchase. However, Vosseller et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Singla et al. (US 2023/0103360 A1). Singla et al. teaches an insurance agent interface includes selectable controls. However, Singla et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface. However, Singla et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Megdal (US 2012/0078705 A1). Megdal teaches an advertising system that displays e-tailers offering a product for sale and a price for a product for each e-tailer. The system includes an engine that can aggregate product prices and can generate a coupon/discount for the items prior to the user making a purchase. Megdal, further, teaches that the final price for the item can include the retail price, shipping price, sales tax, and the discount for the product. However, Megdal, doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Belcher et al. (US 2023/0084311 A1). Belcher et al. teaches a customer device includes an interface and an agent device that includes an interface. However, Belcher et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Perrochon et al. (US 7,949,572 B2). Perrochon et al. teaches multiple items can be placed in a customer shopping cart. The merchant can offer discounts to a customer who purchases a full case of wine. The discount can be applied to the customer’s order when the customer purchases both bottles of wine. However, Perrochon et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Joseph et al. (US 8,566,170 B1). Joseph et al. teaches a seller can display a product to a buyer at an initial price. If the customer is hesitant to purchase the item then a concession can be offered to the buyer as incentive to the buyer for purchasing the item. Teaches a seller interface with a button for adding a concession and a button for revising a price of the item. However, Joseph et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Yoshimura et al. (US 2011/0125569 A1). Yoshimura et al. teaches a merchant can apply a discount to a customer purchase. Yoshimura et al., further, teaches the discount is applied prior to the user making the purchase. However, Yoshimura et al., doesn’t explicitly teach receiving credential information from a customer service agent, which the credentials are validated and then an agent interface is generated to present first and second administrative options. The customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface.
Marchant et al. (US 11,042,918 B2). Marchant et al. teaches an agent interface that has the ability to use one or more administrative options to make changes to the user account. Once the customer service agent has completed making changes to the customer’s account then the agent can direct the customer to refresh their customer account to see the changes to the customer’s order. Marchant et al., further, teaches that a customer can select one or more items for purchase and those items are then associated with the user’s account. The customer service application includes an agent interface, which receives customer identification data entered by the customer service agent, which the system will then generate an agent user interface to display customer account information. The agent can also enter credentials into the agent interface to access and generate the agent interface. The agent can also add a concession to the customer’s order. However, Marchant et al., doesn’t explicitly teach the customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface. Examiner, respectfully, notes that this application is by the same Applicant, Assignees, and one or more Inventors.
Sampson (US 10,049,227 B1). Sampson teaches a system for data masking. The system can permit access to certain information based on permission-based access level. The system can determine an individual with a lower-level access permission level will not be permitted more information than an individual with high-level access permission level. Sampson, further, teaches the system can determine individuals assigned or associated roles will limit their access to customer information. The system can assign insurance agents and administration assistants different levels of access to customer information. The system will then mask the sensitive customer data through a virtual shutter for masking the sensitive information within the agent interface based on certain individuals having lower access levels than other individuals. However, Sampson, doesn’t explicitly teach the customer service agent can then select the first administrative option to modify a price pre-purchase, which a fist graphical representation of the active shopping cart of the customer and identification data is presented on the agents interface that has the appearance of the customer interface. The customer service agent can then select to issue a concession for the order only after the customer completes purchasing the order item from the retailer. A second graphical representation of the customer order information and the order identification data that’s associated that has the same appearance of the second customer view of the customer user interface is displayed on the customer service agents interface
Examiner, respectfully, notes that Dependent Claim(s) 17-18 are only considered novel/nonobviousness based on their dependency from Dependent Claim 14. Examiner, also, respectfully, notes that Dependent Claim(s) 2-12 are considered novel/non-obviousness based on their dependency from Independent Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628