DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding to double patenting rejections, the applicant did not argue the double patenting rejection. The applicant requests the double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until a scope of allowable subject matter is identified. Therefore, the examiner maintains the double patenting rejections.
Regarding to claim 1, claim 8, and claim 15, the amended claim limitation “the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc” overcomes the current rejection of 35 U.S.C 103 and 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1). Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claims 1-14 and 16, and 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 15 and 17-20 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in newly applied art.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are not allowable due to newly applied art and the similar reasons as discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11514816 B2 in view of Kindig (US 20120189993 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Application: 18612445
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. US 11514816 B2
Claim 1
1. A weld training system, comprising:
1. A welding training system, comprising:
a display screen configured to display a simulated rendering; and
a display screen configured to display a simulated rendering; and
control circuitry configured to:
control circuitry configured to:
determine whether the simulated rendering includes a simulated arc,
determine whether the simulated rendering includes a simulated arc,
determine a threshold based on a sensitivity setting,
in response to determining the simulated rendering includes the simulated arc,
in response to determining the simulated rendering includes the simulated arc,
determine whether a simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold, in response to determining the simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold,
determine a visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on a shade setting or a helmet model setting, and
determine a visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on a shade setting or a helmet model setting,
determine a size or location of a portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect will be applied based on a realism setting or a difficulty setting, and
apply the visual effect to at least a portion of the simulated rendering having the simulated arc,
apply the visual effect to at least the portion of the simulated rendering.
the visual effect simulating a darkening effect of an auto-darkening welding helmet, and
Claim 6
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the visual effect simulates a darkening effect of an auto- darkening welding helmet.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the visual effect simulates a darkening effect of an auto-darkening welding helmet.
Claims 3, 6-10, and 12-14
Claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, and 13-14
The claims 1, 6-8, 10-11, and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11514816 B2 fail to explicitly disclose “the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc”. In same field of endeavor, Kindig (US 20120189993 A1) teaches “the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc” in paragraphs [0108-0110]. The motivation for doing so would have been to simulate the physics of the spark particles, the arc particles, the flame particles, and smoke particles; to teach a user how to troubleshoot a welding machine as taught by Kindig in paragraphs [0108-0110], and [0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20160260261 A1) in view of Meess (US 20180130376 A1), in view of DeKeuster (US 20160022496 A1), and further in view of Kindig (US 20120189993 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Hsu discloses a weld training system (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head mounted system 20 for welding renders 3D holographic images before, during, and after welding operations; Fig. 1; [0048]: the head mounted system 20 presents a training holographic image or video of the virtual torch 104 welding the workpiece 102; Fig. 4B; [0093]: train operator to practice welding), comprising:
a display screen configured to display a simulated rendering (Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator.); and
control circuitry configured to ([0030]: the augmented reality controller determines a simulated object to be presented in a field of view; Fig. 3; [0081]: machine readable instructions 300 are executed by one or more processors; the processors are control circuitry; [0112]: processors are configured to implement the system):
determine whether the simulated rendering includes a simulated arc (Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays a simulated arc to the operator; Fig. 11; [0133]: the augmented reality controller 210 of FIGS. 2A-2C uses the location of the torch 410 in the scene 1112 to position a simulated arc 1110; [0138]: the augmented reality controller 210 determines, tracks and generates a simulated arc object in the location of the actual arc in the weld scene),
in response to determining the simulated rendering includes the simulated arc:
(i) determine a visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on a shade setting or a helmet model setting (“or” indicates one of elements is optional; [0048]: determine torch angles, speed, and aim; determine welding equipment settings, i.e., voltage, amperage, wire speed of the virtual torch as it performs the virtual weld; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454 and projects them to the near-eye display 222; blend the virtual objects into the real scene to create a visual illusion or simulation of live arc welding; [0095]: if the operator changes the machine settings on the welding equipment on the fly, the augmented reality controller 210 adjusts the rendered virtual objects; Fig. 4B; [0097]: the virtual arc object 464 are rendered densely opaque and used to dim or block the physical arc object to improve visibility of the surrounding areas; Fig. 11; [0138]: the augmented reality controller 210 tracks and generates a simulated arc object in the location of the actual arc in the weld scene; the overlaid simulated arc with visual effect blocks the user's view of the actual arc, which provides partial or complete protection to the user's eyes from arc light), and
(ii) apply the visual effect to at least a portion of the simulated rendering ([0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real work piece in front of the operator; [0094]: blend the virtual objects into the real scene to create a visual illusion or simulation of live arc welding; Fig. 4B; [0097]: the virtual arc object 464 are rendered densely opaque and used to dim or block the physical arc object to improve visibility of the surrounding areas; Fig. 11; [0138]: the augmented reality controller 210 tracks and generates a simulated arc object in the location of the actual arc in the weld scene; the overlaid simulated arc with visual effect blocks the user's view of the actual arc, which provides partial or complete protection to the user's eyes from arc light), the visual effect simulating a darkening effect of an auto-darkening welding helmet (Hsu; Fig. 2A; [0051]: an optional auto-darkening lens 226; [0058]: the augmented reality controller 210 determines one or more simulated objects to be presented in a field of view through the auto-darkening lens 226; [0069]: a photodiode controls the near-eye display 222 directly to create an auto-darkening effect in the near-eye display 222 for the darkening; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the operator configures the welding equipment, i.e. the power source for the welding current; selected welding parameters; [0097]: the darkening effect).
Hsu fails to explicitly disclose:
to apply to the simulated rendering based on a shade setting; and
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc.
In same field of endeavor, Meess teaches to apply to the simulated rendering based on a setting (Fig. 3; Fig. 4; [0043]: generate an image representative of information from the monitoring system based upon the monitored welding parameter, such as current and voltage upon the visual display 2; [0064]: when performing simulated welding in a simulated setting, the simulated objects include the welding arc, the welding puddle, and the welding coupon/workpiece; the simulated objects are then displayed in a simulation setting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu to include to apply to the simulated rendering based on a shade setting or a helmet model setting as taught by Meess. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform simulated welding; to display the welding environment; to practice setting up the welding power supply as taught by Meess in paragraphs [0064], [0065], and [0101].
Hsu in view of Meess fails to explicitly disclose:
a setting is a shade setting; and
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc.
In same field of endeavor, DeKeuster teaches a setting is a shade setting or a helmet model setting ([0005]: adjustable delay controls to lengthen or shorten the amount of time it takes for the helmet to return to a particular shade level following the completion of a weld; a relatively short delay setting of about 0.5 seconds; [0022]: protect a user from sparks and harmful ultraviolet and infrared light during welding; [0030]: the setting level 408 of a shade parameter, a sensitivity parameter and a delay parameter are displayed as a numerical indicator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu in view of Meess to include a setting is a shade setting or a helmet model setting as taught by DeKeuster. The motivation for doing so would have been to protect a user from viewing a larger, hotter weld until it has cooled; to protect a
user from sparks and harmful ultraviolet and infrared light during welding; to display the setting
level of a shade parameter, a sensitivity parameter and a delay parameter as taught by DeKeuster in paragraphs [0005], [0022], and [0030].
Hsu in view of Meess and DeKeuster fails to explicitly disclose:
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc.
In same field of endeavor, Kindig teaches:
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc ([0108]: while these particles do collide with the simulated weld surface, they do not interact with each other; the physics of the spark particles is setup such that the spark particles bounce around and are rendered as glowing dots in virtual reality space; [0109]: the arc particles hit the surface of the simulated welding coupon; the arc particles are rendered as larger dim bluish-white spots in virtual reality space; form any sort of visual image; the end result is a white glowing nimbus with blue edges; [0110]: the physics of the flame particles is modeled to slowly raise upward; the Flame particles are rendered as medium sized dim red-yellow spots; form any sort of visual image; the end result is blobs of orange-red flames with red edges raising upward and fading out; smoke particles are modeled and simulated in a similar manner to flame particles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu in view of Meess and DeKeuster to include the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc as taught by Kindig. The motivation for doing so would have been to simulate the physics of the spark particles, the arc particles, the flame particles, and smoke particles; to teach a user how to troubleshoot a welding machine as taught by Kindig in paragraphs [0108-0110], and [0113].
Regarding to claim 2 (Previously Presented), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster and Kindig discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on a setting (Meess; Fig. 3; Fig. 4; [0043]: generate an image representative of information from the monitoring system based upon the monitored welding parameter, such as current and voltage upon the visual display 2; [0064]: when performing simulated welding in a simulated setting, the simulated objects include the welding arc, the welding puddle, and the welding coupon/workpiece; the simulated objects are then displayed in a simulation setting).
Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuste, and Kindig further discloses a setting is a shade setting (DeKeuster; [0005]: adjustable delay controls to lengthen or shorten the amount of time it takes for the helmet to return to a particular shade level following the completion of a weld; a relatively short delay setting of about 0.5 seconds; [0022]: protect a user from sparks and harmful ultraviolet and infrared light during welding; [0030]: the setting level of a shade parameter, a sensitivity parameter and a delay parameter are displayed as a numerical indicator).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 3 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on the helmet model setting (Hsu; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454 and projects them to the near-eye display 222; blend the virtual objects into the real scene to create a visual illusion or simulation of live arc welding; [0095]: if the operator changes the machine settings on the welding equipment on the fly, the augmented reality controller 210 adjusts the rendered virtual objects; Fig. 4B; [0097]: the virtual arc object 464 are rendered densely opaque and used to dim or block the physical arc object to improve visibility of the surrounding areas; Fig. 11; [0138]: the augmented reality controller 210 tracks and generates a simulated arc object in the location of the actual arc in the weld scene; the overlaid simulated arc with visual effect blocks the user's view of the actual arc, which provides partial or complete protection to the user's eyes from arc light), the helmet model setting comprises a type of welding helmet (Hsu; [0069]: auto-darkening lens; when the welding arc is present, the lens may be darkened to protect the wearer's eyes and when the welding arc is not present, the lens may be lightened so that wearer can see his/her surrounding environment; [0070]: auto-darkening lens 226 are included in a welding helmet).
Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the visual effect to apply to the simulated rendering based on the helmet model setting (Meess; Fig. 3; Fig. 4; [0043]: generate an image representative of information from the monitoring system based upon the monitored welding parameter, such as current and voltage upon the visual display 2; [0066]: depending on the type of welding helmet 440, either the visual cues or both the visual cues and video of the welding environment 480 are sent to the face-mounted display 440A; in the case where the welding helmet includes a see-through lens, e.g., an auto-darkening lens, the video cues are mapped and transmitted to the combiner so as to match the field of view of the user through the face-mounted display 440A.), the helmet model setting comprises a type of welding helmet (Meess; [0066]: depending on the type of welding helmet 440, either the visual cues or both the visual cues and video of the welding environment 480 are sent to the face-mounted display 440A; in the case where the welding helmet includes a see-through lens, e.g., an auto-darkening lens, the video cues are mapped and transmitted to the combiner so as to match the field of view of the user through the face-mounted display 440A.).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 4 (Original), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the weld training system of claim 3, further comprising a simulated welding helmet having the display screen, (Hsu; [0069]: auto-darkening lens; when the welding arc is present, the lens may be darkened to protect the wearer's eyes and when the welding arc is not present, the lens may be lightened so that wearer can see his/her surrounding environment; [0070]: auto-darkening lens 226 are included in a welding helmet; Fig. 3; [0081]: machine readable instructions 300 are executed by one or more processors; the processors are control circuitry; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator; Fig. 4D; [0100]: a simulated object, e.g., one or more lasers used in welding and/or cutting operations, are displayed on the head mounted display; [0103]: the head mounted system 20 project virtual objects simulating the laser output, such as the focal point 470 and the laser envelope 472; [0112]: processors are configured to implement the system), a camera configured to capture an image of a surrounding environment (Hsu; [0039]: time of flight camera, and/or stereo vision cameras; [0051]: cameras; as outward facing 3D depth camera; [0058]: the augmented reality controller 210 also receives one or more images from one or more optical sensors such as the cameras), and the control circuitry, the control circuitry being further configured to generate the simulated rendering based on the image (Hsu; Fig. 4B; [0092]: the view is a mix of real welding scene and a 3D virtual objects or holograms superimposed onto the real scene; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454, and also, projects them to the near-eye display 222).
Regarding to claim 5 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the weld training system of claim 4, wherein the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied includes the entire simulated rendering (Hsu; Fig. 4B; [0092]: the view is a mix of real welding scene and a 3D virtual objects or holograms superimposed onto the real scene; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454, and also, projects them to the near-eye display 222).
Regarding to claim 6 (Original), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
determine a threshold based on a sensitivity setting (Hsu; [0061]: a filter mitigates light at the arc light wavelengths; [0062]: the near infrared spectra of arc shows peak intensity around 914 nm; the peak arc intensity wavelength; [0096]: optical filter receives only the laser wavelength and rejects the others, such as from the intense arc; [0103]: an eye protection lens filter out the wavelength of the specific material processing laser),
in response to determining the simulated rendering includes the simulated arc, determine whether a simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold (Hsu; [0061]: ToF camera may perform well in both low-light and bright-light conditions; [0069]: a photodiode controls the near-eye display 222 directly to create an auto-darkening effect in the near-eye display 222; block intense arc light; [0096]: optical filter receives only the laser wavelength and rejects the others, such as from the intense arc), and
in response to determining the simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold, determine and apply the visual effect (Hsu; [0069]: a photodiode controls the near-eye display 222 directly to create an auto-darkening effect in the near-eye display 222; block ultraviolet and infrared and intense arc light; [0096]: optical filter receives only the laser wavelength and rejects the others, such as from the intense arc; Fig. 4B; [0097]: the virtual arc object 464 can be rendered densely opaque and used to dim or block the physical arc object to improve visibility of the surrounding areas).
Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig further discloses:
in response to determining the simulated rendering includes the simulated arc, determine whether a simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold (DeKeuster; Fig. 1; [0022]: control the shade level of the lens 102; an auto-darkening lens 102 that protects a user from sparks and harmful ultraviolet and infrared light during welding), and
in response to determining the simulated brightness of the simulated arc is greater than the threshold, determine and apply the visual effect (DeKeuster; Fig. 1; [0022]: control the shade level of the lens 102).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7 (Original), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
determine a size or location of the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect will be applied based on a realism setting or a difficulty setting (or is optional; Hsu; [0048]: determine torch angles, speed, and aim; determine welding equipment settings, i.e., voltage, amperage, wire speed of the virtual torch as it performs the virtual weld; [0068]: the virtual objects are blended in the proper locations and orientation of real scene based on the 3D measurement from depth cameras; [0071]: improves the computed accuracy of locations of virtual objects in the display; [0072]: the augmented reality controller 210 generates a simulated object for display that indicates a next weld to be performed at a first location in the weld environment), and
apply the visual effect to at least the portion of the simulated rendering (Hsu; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real work piece in front of the operator; [0094]: blend the virtual objects into the real scene to create a visual illusion or simulation of live arc welding; Fig. 4B; [0097]: the virtual arc object 464 are rendered densely opaque and used to dim or block the physical arc object to improve visibility of the surrounding areas; Fig. 11; [0138]: the augmented reality controller 210 tracks and generates a simulated arc object in the location of the actual arc in the weld scene; the overlaid simulated arc with visual effect blocks the user's view of the actual arc, which provides partial or complete protection to the user's eyes from arc light).
Regarding to claim 8 (Currently Amended), Hsu discloses a method (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head mounted system 20 for welding renders 3D holographic images before, during, and after welding operations; Fig. 1; [0048]: the head mounted system 20 presents a training holographic image or video of the virtual torch 104 welding the workpiece 102; Fig. 4B; [0093]: train operator to practice welding), comprising:
The rest of the claim limitations are similar to claim limitation recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 8.
Regarding to claim 9 (Previously Presented), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 8,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 9.
Regarding to claim 10 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 8,
The rest of the claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 10.
Regarding to claim 11 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 10,
The rest of the claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 11.
Regarding to claim 12 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13 (Original), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
The rest of the claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 14 (Original), Hsu in view of Meess, DeKeuster, and Kindig discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 14.
Claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20160260261 A1) and in view of Kindig (US 20120189993 A1).
Regarding to claim 15 (Currently Amended), Hsu discloses a weld training system (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head mounted system 20 for welding renders 3D holographic images before, during, and after welding operations; Fig. 1; [0048]: the head mounted system 20 presents a training holographic image or video of the virtual torch 104 welding the workpiece 102; Fig. 4B; [0093]: train operator to practice welding), comprising:
a display screen configured to display a simulated rendering of a welding environment (Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator.);
communication circuitry in communication with a welding tool (Fig. 1; [0047]: a head mounted system 20 for welding renders 3D holographic images before, during, and after welding operations; [0054]: transmit control signals for controlling the torch 112; communication interface 206 receives physical layer signals via antenna 202 or port 204; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the communications interface 206 and the port 204); and
control circuitry configured to ([0030]: the augmented reality controller determines a simulated object to be presented in a field of view; Fig. 3; [0081]: machine readable instructions 300 are executed by one or more processors; the processors are control circuitry; [0112]: processors are configured to implement the system):
determine whether the communication circuitry has received a trigger signal representative of a trigger pull from the welding tool (Fig. 4B; [0093]: when the trigger is pulled on the torch by the operator, instead of turning on the power supply output and feeding wire, the trigger sends an augmented reality (AR) arc start signal to the augmented reality controller 210 via the communications interface 206 and the port 204), and
in response to determining the communication circuitry has received the trigger signal:
(i) add a simulated arc to the simulated rendering of the welding environment (Fig. 4B; [0092]: augmented reality; a mix of real welding scene and a 3D virtual objects; holograms are superimposed onto the real scene; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator; add a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld to welding environment; render the virtual arc and the weld based on the selected welding parameters), and
(ii) apply a visual effect to at least a portion of the simulated rendering having the simulated arc (Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece;
; a visual effect is applied around the simulated arc in the rendering as illustrated in Fig. 4B;
; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454, and also, projects them to the near-eye display 222 so that the virtual objects blend into the real scene to create a visual illusion and simulation of live arc welding), the visual effect simulating a darkening effect of an auto-darkening welding helmet (Hsu; Fig. 2A; [0051]: an optional auto-darkening lens 226; [0058]: the augmented reality controller 210 determines one or more simulated objects to be presented in a field of view through the auto-darkening lens 226; [0069]: by using the augmented reality controller 210 and the GPU 218, a photodiode controls the near-eye display 222 directly to create and to simulate an auto-darkening effect in the near-eye display 222 for the darkening ; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the operator configures the welding equipment, i.e. the power source for the welding current; selected welding parameters; [0097]: the darkening effect).
Hsu fails to explicitly disclose:
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc.
In same field of endeavor, Kindig teaches:
the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc ([0108]: while these particles do collide with the simulated weld surface, they do not interact with each other; the physics of the spark particles is setup such that the spark particles bounce around and are rendered as glowing dots in virtual reality space; [0109]: the arc particles hit the surface of the simulated welding coupon; the arc particles are rendered as larger dim bluish-white spots in virtual reality space; form any sort of visual image; the end result is a white glowing nimbus with blue edges; [0110]: the physics of the flame particles is modeled to slowly raise upward; the Flame particles are rendered as medium sized dim red-yellow spots; form any sort of visual image; the end result is blobs of orange-red flames with red edges raising upward and fading out; smoke particles are modeled and simulated in a similar manner to flame particles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu in view of Meess and DeKeuster to include the portion of the simulated rendering to which the visual effect is applied including the simulated arc and an area around the simulated arc as taught by Kindig. The motivation for doing so would have been to simulate the physics of the spark particles, the arc particles, the flame particles, and smoke particles; to teach a user how to troubleshoot a welding machine as taught by Kindig in paragraphs [0108-0110], and [0113].
Regarding to claim 17 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Kindig discloses the system of claim 15, further comprising a simulated welding helmet having the display screen, communication circuitry (Hsu; [0054]: transmit control signals for controlling the torch 112; communication interface 206 receives physical layer signals via antenna 202 or port 204; [0069]: auto-darkening lens; when the welding arc is present, the lens are darkened to protect the wearer's eyes; when the welding arc is not present, the lens are lightened so that wearer can see his/her surrounding environment; [0070]: auto-darkening lens 226 are included in a welding helmet; Fig. 3; [0081]: machine readable instructions 300 are executed by one or more processors; the processors are control circuitry; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the head mounted system 20 displays to the operator a simulated arc, a simulated weld pool, and a simulated weld overlaid onto the real workpiece in front of the operator; the communications interface 206 and the port 204; Fig. 4D; [0100]: a simulated object, e.g., one or more lasers used in welding and/or cutting operations, are displayed on the head mounted display; [0103]: the head mounted system 20 project virtual objects simulating the laser output, such as the focal point 470 and the laser envelope 472; [0112]: processors are configured to implement the system), a camera configured to capture an image of a surrounding environment (Hsu; [0039]: time of flight camera, and/or stereo vision cameras; [0051]: cameras; as outward facing 3D depth camera; [0058]: the augmented reality controller 210 also receives one or more images from one or more optical sensors such as the cameras), and the control circuitry, the control circuitry being further configured to generate the simulated rendering based on the image (Hsu; Fig. 4B; [0092]: the view is a mix of real welding scene and a 3D virtual objects or holograms superimposed onto the real scene; [0094]: in response to receiving the augmented reality arc start signal, the augmented reality controller 210 renders the virtual arc, the virtual weld puddle 456 and virtual weld bead 454, and also, projects them to the near-eye display 222).
Regarding to claim 18 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Kindig discloses the system of claim 17,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 5 is also used to reject claim 18.
Regarding to claim 19 (Currently Amended), Hsu in view of Kindig discloses the system of claim 18, further comprising the welding tool comprising a trigger (Hsu; Fig. 4B; [0093]: the trigger is pulled on the torch by the operator; [0095]: release of the trigger by the weld operator; [0104]: re-enabling the trigger of the torch), wherein the welding tool comprises a welding torch configured for gas metal arc welding (GMAW) (Hsu; [0062]: blend GMAW welding; [0095]: selected shielding gas; [0101]: laser-GMAW hybrid welding; [0103]: the gas envelope for a laser powder process).
Regarding to claim 20 (Original), Hsu in view of Kindig discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the visual effect is not an actual auto-darkening effect of a welding (Kindig; [0108]: while these particles do collide with the simulated weld surface, they do not interact with each other; the physics of the spark particles is setup such that the spark particles bounce around and are rendered as glowing dots in virtual reality space; [0109]: the arc particles hit the surface of the simulated welding coupon; the arc particles are rendered as larger dim bluish-white spots in virtual reality space; a white glowing nimbus with blue edges; form any sort of visual image; the end result is a white glowing nimbus with blue edges; [0110]: the physics of the flame particles is modeled to slowly raise upward; the Flame particles are rendered as medium sized dim red-yellow spots; form any sort of visual image; the end result is blobs of orange-red flames with red edges raising upward and fading out; smoke particles are modeled and simulated in a similar manner to flame particles).
Same motivation of claim 15 is applied here.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 20160260261 A1) in view of Meess (US 20180130376 A1), in view of DeKeuster (US 20160022496 A1), and further in view of Kindig (US 20120189993 A1).
Regarding to claim 16 (Previously Presented), Hsu in view of Kindig discloses the system of claim 15,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, the same rational used to reject clam 2 is also used to reject claim 16.
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616