DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/612,446, “BATTERY PACK”, was filed with the USPTO on 3/21/2024 and has a foreign priority document of JP2023-047934 filed on 3/24/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 3/21/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 4/17/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/2024, 1/31/2025, 7/22/2025 and 10/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamanaka (US 20180345778 A1, provided on IDS filed on 1/31/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Yamanaka teaches a battery pack (10, Fig. 3) comprising:
a stack (40, Fig. 3) including a plurality of battery cells (42, Figs 3, 6 and 7) arranged side by side (42s are side by side, see Figs 3, 6 and 7) in a first direction (LH, Figs 3 and 6);
an end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6; notes: the two 48s in circle form an end plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) disposed at an end portion (one end of 40 close to 24, see Fig. 6) of the stack (40, Fig. 6) in the first direction (LH, Fig. 6);
a housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6) that accommodates the stack (40, Fig. 3) and the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6); and
a strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) disposed inside the housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6) and fitted (40/48 fitted in 56 formed by 24/26, see Fig. 6) to the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6), the strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) bearing at least part of a collision load (collision load, see [0065]) received by the battery pack (10, Fig. 3) at a time of collision (during lateral collision, the collision load transmitted through 26 to 24, absorbed by deformation of 24, see [0065]), wherein
the strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) includes
a first portion (24, Fig. 6) disposed on a side of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) opposite (48 is between 24 and 40, therefore 40 is on one side of 48 and 24 is on opposite side (the other side) of 48 in LH direction, see Fig. 6) to the stack (40, Fig. 3) in the first direction (LH, Fig. 6), and
a second portion (26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) arranged side by side (20/26/48/26/22 are side by side in FR direction, see Fig. 6) with the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) and the housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6) in a second direction (FR, Fig. 6) orthogonal (FR is perpendicular/orthogonal to LH, see Fig. 6) to the first direction (LH, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Yamanaka teaches wherein the second portion (26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is disposed on each of both sides (one side and other side, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6 (claim 2)) beside (interpreted as “by the side of”, see Merriam-Webster) each of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) and the first portion (24, Fig. 6) in the second direction (FR, Fig. 6) (notes: one 26 in circle is placed on one side and the other 26 in circle (in FR) is placed on other side, one side and other side are by the side of 48 and 24 in FR direction).
Regarding claim 3, Yamanaka teaches wherein both sides (one side of 48 and other side of 48, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6 (claim 3)) of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) in the second direction (FR, Fig. 6) are fitted (40/48 fitted in 56 formed by 24/26, see Fig. 6) to the second portion (26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Yamanaka teaches wherein a width (width of 24, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the first portion (24, Fig. 4) is larger than a width (width of 48, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) in the first direction (LH, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Yamanaka teaches wherein a width (width of 24, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the first portion (24, Fig. 4) is larger than a width (width of 48, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) in the first direction (LH, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Yamanaka teaches wherein a width (width of 24, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the first portion (24, Fig. 4) is larger than a width (width of 48, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) in the first direction (LH, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Yamanaka teaches wherein the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is in contact (see Fig. 4; 48 of each cell stack 40 in LH direction is directly in contact with 24, see [0050]) with the first portion (24, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Yamanaka teaches wherein the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is in contact (see Fig. 4; 48 of each cell stack 40 in LH direction is directly in contact with 24, see [0050]) with the first portion (24, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Yamanaka teaches wherein the end plate (48/48 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is in contact (see Fig. 4; 48 of each cell stack 40 in LH direction is directly in contact with 24, see [0050]) with the first portion (24, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Yamanaka teaches wherein the strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is fixed (both ends of 24 in FR direction are coupled to 20 and 22, see [0039]; both ends of 26 located on the left side of the vehicle in LH direction are coupled to 24 and right rocker 18R, see last sentence [0040]) to the housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Yamanaka teaches wherein the strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is fixed (both ends of 24 in FR direction are coupled to 20 and 22, see [0039]; both ends of 26 located on the left side of the vehicle in LH direction are coupled to 24 and right rocker 18R, see last sentence [0040]) to the housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yamanaka teaches wherein the strength member (24 and 26/26 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6) is fixed (both ends of 24 in FR direction are coupled to 20 and 22, see [0039]; both ends of 26 located on the left side of the vehicle in LH direction are coupled to 24 and right rocker 18R, see last sentence [0040]) to the housing (20/22/18L/18R/30, see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka (US 20180345778 A1, provided on IDS filed on 1/31/2025) in view of Fukuda et al. (WO 2021199493 A1, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Yamanaka does not teach wherein the second portion is formed by a pipe having an axial direction in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Fukuda et al. teaches wherein the second portion (26, Fig. 4) is formed by a pipe (hollow body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13) and [0042]; notes: “pipe” has been interpreted as “hollow body for conducting a liquid, gas”, see Merriam-Webster) having an axial direction (axial direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) in a third direction (Z, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) orthogonal to the first direction (X, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) and the second direction (Y, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the intermediate cross member taught by Yamanaka by bending it into a shape protruding toward the back surface taught by Fukuda et al. to improve the strength and to have high strength at low cost (see Fukuda et al. [0042]). When the intermediate cross member is bent into a shape protruding toward the back surface, it has a hollow body and an axial direction in the UP direction, which is orthogonal to LH and FR direction.
Regarding claim 14, Yamanaka does not teach wherein the second portion is formed by a pipe having an axial direction in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Fukuda et al. teaches wherein the second portion (26, Fig. 4) is formed by a pipe (hollow body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13) and [0042]; notes: “pipe” has been interpreted as “hollow body for conducting a liquid, gas”, see Merriam-Webster) having an axial direction (axial direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) in a third direction (Z, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) orthogonal to the first direction (X, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) and the second direction (Y, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the intermediate cross member taught by Yamanaka by bending it into a shape protruding toward the back surface taught by Fukuda et al. to improve the strength and to have high strength at low cost (see Fukuda et al. [0042]). When the intermediate cross member is bent into a shape protruding toward the back surface, it has a hollow body and an axial direction in the UP direction, which is orthogonal to LH and FR direction.
Regarding claim 15, Yamanaka does not teach wherein the second portion is formed by a pipe having an axial direction in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Fukuda et al. teaches wherein the second portion (26, Fig. 4) is formed by a pipe (hollow body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13) and [0042]; notes: “pipe” has been interpreted as “hollow body for conducting a liquid, gas”, see Merriam-Webster) having an axial direction (axial direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) in a third direction (Z, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) orthogonal to the first direction (X, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)) and the second direction (Y, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4 (claim 13)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the intermediate cross member taught by Yamanaka by bending it into a shape protruding toward the back surface taught by Fukuda et al. to improve the strength and to have high strength at low cost (see Fukuda et al. [0042]). When the intermediate cross member is bent into a shape protruding toward the back surface, it has a hollow body and an axial direction in the UP direction, which is orthogonal to LH and FR direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Uemura): US 20210351470 A1, Fig. 2 and Fig. 4;
(Park): US 20250141007 A1, Fig. 3.
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723