DETAILED ACTION
Response to RCE
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of 11, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to New Matter objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. The new matter objection to specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomizawa et al. (US 20220250676 A1; note: EFD 10/20/2020 based on foreign priority to PCT/JP2020/039342) in view of Nakano et al. (U.S. 2004/0148078A1) in further view of Sugitani et al. (U.S. 2006/0090954A1).
Tomizawa discloses “A motor drive system is provided in a steer-by-wire system in which a steering mechanism and a turning mechanism of a vehicle are mechanically separated. The motor drive system includes a reaction force actuator and a turning actuator. The reaction force actuator functions as a motor configured to output a reaction force torque corresponding to a steering torque of a driver and a road surface reaction force. The turning actuator functions as a motor configured to output a turning torque for turning wheels. Each of the reaction force actuator and the turning actuator includes a plurality of control calculation units provided redundantly and each configured to perform a calculation related to a motor drive control, and a plurality of motor drive units provided redundantly and each configured to drive and output the torque based on a drive signal generated by a corresponding control calculation unit.” (Abstract; See Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 1, Tomizawa discloses: A method (Fig. 4) to control a steer-by-wire steering system (Fig. 1, 90) of a road vehicle (¶0004, ‘of a vehicle’), the steer-by-wire steering system including a controller (Fig. 1-2, “a plurality of control calculation units provided redundantly”; Abstract), a feedback actuator (Fig. 1, 10) to apply a feedback torque (“a reaction force torque”; ¶0026) to a steering wheel (Fig. 1, 91) and a road wheel actuator (Fig. 1, 20) to turn steerable road wheels (Fig. 1, 99) with each of the feedback actuator (Fig. 2, item 10) and the road wheel actuator (Fig. 2, 20) respectively including two redundant power packs (Fig. 1-2, 161/71 & 162/172 and 261/271 & 262/272) each, the method comprising: if a failure in the road wheel actuator is detected (Fig. 1, S1; ¶0017; see also ¶0021) maintain the feedback torque provided by the feedback actuator that is normally operating to the steering wheel which is calculated by the controller (¶0021); and if a failure in one of the two redundant power packs of the feedback actuator is detected (Fig. 1, S1; ¶0017; Fig. 5) , maintaining the feedback torque provided by a remaining one of the two redundant power packs of the feedback actuator that is functioning to the steering wheel to a value which is calculated by the controller increasing the feedback torque provided by the power pack of the feedback actuator that is functioning, to a value higher than a calculated feedback torque (Fig. 5, ¶0049-0050; see also ¶0021; responsive to a failure of any of the redundant power packs of the feedback actuator units 161/162/171/172; the torque provided by the remining correctly functioning unit is maintained relative to the amount that the system overall normally provides when there is no failure detected) .
Tomizawa does not explicitly disclose responsive to a detected failure in the road wheel actuator increasing the feedback torque provided by the feedback actuator to a value higher than a calculated feedback torque or responsive to failure in one of the power packs of feedback actuator increasing the feedback torque provided by the remaining one of the two power packs of the feedback actuator to the steering wheel a value higher than a calculated feedback torque
Nakano discloses “in order to provide an operation reaction force to a steering wheel, a reaction force actuator is provided on a steering shaft. The control unit provides the operation reaction force to the steering wheel by driving the reaction force actuator according to the operating angles and so on.” (¶0007); “The vehicle steering apparatus is a so-called steer-by-wire (SBW) system in which mechanical linkage between a steering wheel 1 and a steering mechanism is eliminated” (¶0079); “The steering actuator 32 and the reaction force actuator 40 are adapted to be controlled by a control unit C (ECU: electronic control unit) including a CPU 61, a ROM 62 having a control program and the like stored therein, and a RAM 63 to be used as a work area for computing process. “ (¶0119); “Accordingly, when the analytic solution shows the presence of an abnormality, the actuator is controlled according to the degree of the abnormality, and thus occurrence of abnormalities can be transmitted via the operating member adequately to the driver.” (¶0050); “On the other hand, the vibration frequency of one or predetermined two of the lateral acceleration, the yaw rate, the shock absorber stroke, and the brake fluid pressure is determined to be 2 Hz or below in Step A7, it is determined that there is an abnormality in the steering system or the turning system, (Step A9). In this case, the control unit 14 sets the target reaction force torque for driving the reaction force actuator 9 to a value Ta+Tb, which is the value of the target reaction force torque value Ta in the normal state added with the correction torque value Tb (the correction torque for the case of abnormalities in the steering system or the turning system) (Step A1)” (¶0160, Fig. 12); and “if there is any abnormalities in the steering system, the turning system, and suspension system, it is informed to the driver via the steering wheel 1 by differentiating the steering reaction force applied to the steering wheel 1 from the value in the normal state (Ta)… In this manner, since an adequate transmission route is selected depending on the type of the occurred abnormality, transmission of information to the driver is smoothly performed, and mental and physical stress exerted to the driver during operation of the vehicle may be alleviated, thereby realizing a comfortable driving environment.” (¶0167)
Therefore Nakano teaches responsive to a detected failure in the road wheel actuator (Fig. 8, steering actuator 32) increasing the feedback torque provided by the feedback actuator (Fig. 8, 40) to a value higher than a calculated feedback torque (Fig. 12, ¶0160; normal calculated feedback torque Ta increased by adding correction value Tb) or responsive to failure in one of the power packs (Fig. 8, ¶0127 “steer-by-wire (SBW) type vehicle steering apparatus”, including ECU “C”; ¶0124 abnormalities of steering apparatus by control unit C); of feedback actuator (Fig. 8, 40) increasing the feedback torque (Fig. 12, ¶0160; normal calculated feedback torque Ta increased by adding correction value Tb) provided by the power pack (Fig. 8, ¶0127 “steer-by-wire (SBW) type vehicle steering apparatus”, including ECU “C”; ¶0124 abnormalities of steering apparatus by control unit C)of the feedback actuator to the steering wheel a value higher than a calculated feedback torque (Fig. 12, ¶0160; normal calculated feedback torque Ta increased by adding correction value Tb) in order that “transmission of information to the driver is smoothly performed, and mental and physical stress exerted to the driver during operation of the vehicle may be alleviated, thereby realizing a comfortable driving environment.” and in order that “if there is any abnormalities in the steering system, the turning system, and suspension system, it is informed to the driver via the steering wheel 1 by differentiating the steering reaction force applied to the steering wheel 1 from the value in the normal state (Ta)” (¶0167)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the drive-by-wire steering control system of Tomizawa to incorporate the teachings of Nakano to include responsive to a detected failure in the road wheel actuator increasing the feedback torque provided by the feedback actuator to a value higher than a calculated feedback torque or responsive to failure in one of the power packs of feedback actuator increasing the feedback torque provided by the remaining one of the two power packs of the feedback actuator to the steering wheel a value higher than a calculated feedback torque in order that “transmission of information to the driver is smoothly performed, and mental and physical stress exerted to the driver during operation of the vehicle may be alleviated, thereby realizing a comfortable driving environment.” and in order that “if there is any abnormalities in the steering system, the turning system, and suspension system, it is informed to the driver via the steering wheel 1 by differentiating the steering reaction force applied to the steering wheel 1 from the value in the normal state (Ta)” (¶0167)
Tomizawa does not explicitly teach: ; and if a temperature of the feedback actuator becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined value, the feedback torque is increased for a defined period of time only, after which the feedback torque is reduced back to the calculated feedback torque.
Sugitani discloses “A steering system includes a steering wheel, a steering angle sensor detecting a steering angle, a steering motor steering road-wheels, a reaction motor imparting a reaction force to the steering wheel, an ECU driving the steering motor with respect to a detected steering angle and a temperature detecting unit detecting temperatures of the steering motor, the reaction motor or a constituent member involved in the temperatures of the motors. When the temperature detected is larger than a predetermined value, the ECU performs such that a ratio of the rotating angle to the steering angle is made smaller than one that is to result when the temperature is equal to or smaller than the predetermined value, or a reaction force that is to be imparted to the steering wheel is made larger.” (Abstract) and “in the SBW type steering system 1, in order to prevent overheating of the steering motor 25, the steering motor power drive unit 28, the reaction motor 12 and the reaction motor power drive unit 16, a temperature increase suppressing process is implemented in steps according to temperatures. Namely, when the temperature is higher than the predetermined temperature, in a first-step temperature increase suppressing process, the steering reaction force applied to the steering wheel 11 is made larger than one resulting when the temperature is normal, whereby excessively quick steering by the driver is suppressed, and an increase in load to the steering output unit 20 is suppressed, whereby the increase in the temperatures of the steering motor 25 and the steering motor power drive unit 28 is suppressed.” (¶0046-0047). See also Fig. 2 method and Fig. 5 reaction force compensation map.
Therefore Sugitani teaches: if a temperature of the feedback actuator (Fig. 1, reaction motor 12) becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined value (Fig. 2, S104-105, if temperature T2 of reaction motor 12 is greater than t1 in Fig. 5), the feedback torque is increased (Fig. 2, compensated steering reaction force is made larger according to Fig. 5) for a defined period of time only (e.g. until reaction motor temperature is t1 or less), after which the feedback torque is reduced back to the calculated feedback torque (Fig. 2-3, the control method continually estimates reaction motor temperature and responsive to an estimate T2 of reaction motor temperature less than or equal to t1, then the reaction torque is reduced back to the calculated reaction torque which is less than when temperature is greater than t1.) in order that “excessively quick steering by the driver can be suppressed by increasing the reaction force imparted to the operating element, the increase in the load applied to the steering actuator can be suppressed, and the increase in the temperatures of the steering actuator and the constituent member involved therein can be prevented, thereby making it possible to eliminate the generation of a drawback attributed to heat that would otherwise be generated” (¶0030) and in order that “heat generated in the steering motor 25, the steering motor power drive unit 28, the reaction motor 12 and the reaction motor power drive unit 16 can be reduced without causing the driver to feel a sensation of physical disorder abruptly” (¶0075)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the drive-by-wire steering control system of Tomizawa to incorporate the teachings of Sugitani to include if a temperature of the feedback actuator becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined value, the feedback torque is increased for a defined period of time only, after which the feedback torque is reduced back to the calculated feedback torque in order that “excessively quick steering by the driver can be suppressed by increasing the reaction force imparted to the operating element, the increase in the load applied to the steering actuator can be suppressed, and the increase in the temperatures of the steering actuator and the constituent member involved therein can be prevented, thereby making it possible to eliminate the generation of a drawback attributed to heat that would otherwise be generated” (¶0030) and in order that “heat generated in the steering motor 25, the steering motor power drive unit 28, the reaction motor 12 and the reaction motor power drive unit 16 can be reduced without causing the driver to feel a sensation of physical disorder abruptly” (¶0075)
Regarding Claim 3, Sugitani further teaches: wherein the feedback torque is reduced gradually (Fig. 5, reaction force compensation factor is shown linearly increasing as temperature increases. Therefore the compensation factor similarly decreases linearly, e.g. gradually, as the temperature decreases.) in order that “excessively quick steering by the driver can be suppressed by increasing the reaction force imparted to the operating element, the increase in the load applied to the steering actuator can be suppressed, and the increase in the temperatures of the steering actuator and the constituent member involved therein can be prevented, thereby making it possible to eliminate the generation of a drawback attributed to heat that would otherwise be generated” (¶0030) and in order that “heat generated in the steering motor 25, the steering motor power drive unit 28, the reaction motor 12 and the reaction motor power drive unit 16 can be reduced without causing the driver to feel a sensation of physical disorder abruptly” (¶0075)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have modified the drive-by-wire steering control system of Tomizawa to incorporate the teachings of Sugitani to include wherein the feedback torque is reduced gradually in order that “excessively quick steering by the driver can be suppressed by increasing the reaction force imparted to the operating element, the increase in the load applied to the steering actuator can be suppressed, and the increase in the temperatures of the steering actuator and the constituent member involved therein can be prevented, thereby making it possible to eliminate the generation of a drawback attributed to heat that would otherwise be generated” (¶0030) and in order that “heat generated in the steering motor 25, the steering motor power drive unit 28, the reaction motor 12 and the reaction motor power drive unit 16 can be reduced without causing the driver to feel a sensation of physical disorder abruptly” (¶0075)
Regarding Claim 4, Tomizawa further discloses wherein the two redundant power packs (Fig. 1-2, 161/71 & 162/172 and 261/271 & 262/272), of the road wheel actuator (Fig. 2, 20) are identical (Fig. 2) in design
Regarding Claim 5, Tomizawa further discloses if the failure in or of the wheel actuator (Fig. 3, 20, actuators 271/272) is detected on one side of a redundant road wheel actuator, switching off the one side (Fig. 2, S3) and providing steering functionality with a remaining functioning side (Fig. 2, S4)
Regarding Claim 6, Tomizawa further discloses A steer-by-wire steering system (Fig. 1) for a road vehicle (¶0004, “of a vehicle”) configured to perform the method (Fig. 4) according to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogawa et al. (U.S. 2004/0211618A1) discloses “in the steer-by-wire system under development, the steering reaction force is controlled to be decreased as the drive electric current to the steering actuator is limited or restrained, and it occurs therefore that the vehicle driver turns the steering handle excessively even in the state that the steerable road wheels are unable to steer further. SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION
[0008] Accordingly, in view of the foregoing drawback, it is a primary object of the present invention to provide an improved steer-by-wire system and an improved control program therefor which are capable of preventing a steering handle from being turned excessively.” (¶0007-0008)
/BRIAN R KIRBY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747