DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US 20120328050, hereinafter “Bai”), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230268943, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses,
A computing device for use in a wireless network (a central node includes one or more centralized predistortion components that enable predistortion for one or more remote transmit chains in order to compensate for non-linearity of power amplifiers in the one or more remote transmit chains [0007]), the wireless network including a plurality of base stations (FIG. 2 illustrates a centralized adaptive predistortion system 18 according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. The centralized adaptive predistortion system 18 includes a central node 20 and number (M) of remote transmit chains 22-1 through 22-M, which are generally referred to herein collectively as remote transmit chains 22 or individually as remote transmit chain 22 [00037]; The remote transmit chains 22 are generally transmit chains located remotely from the central node 20. In other words, the remote transmit chains 22 are located at different geographic location(s) than the central node 20 [0043]), comprising:
a communications subsystem configured to receive a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations (the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 receive feedback signals from the corresponding remote transmit chains 22. In this embodiment, the feedback signals are output signals y.sub.1(n)K y.sub.M(n)) of the corresponding remote transmit chains 22 [0044]; using the remote transmit chain 22-1 as an example, the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 receive the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.1(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-1 and the feedback signal (y.sub.1(n)) from the remote transmit chain 22-1 [0049]); and
a digital signal processor to generate an updated set of parameters for a predistortion model using the power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal (For example, each of the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 is preferably implemented as a microprocessor that executes corresponding software providing the desired functionality of the centralized predistortion component 24, a Digital Signal Processing (DSP) processor [0037]; generating sets of predistortion parameters based on data signals and feedback signals to compensate for PA nonlinearity [0045]-[0046]; evaluating the parameter set based on comparison of the data signal and feedback signal [0049]), wherein the communications subsystem is further configured to transmit the updated set of parameters to said one of the base stations (the central node provides predistortion parameter sets to corresponding remote transmit chains [0048]; providing the parameter set to remote transmit chain 22-1 over a wired or wireless connections [0049]).
However, Bai does not explicitly disclose, a controller configured to receive a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations; a communications subsystem configured to, in response to the request, send a message to the base station; receive, during a time window, a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, a controller configured to receive a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations (after detecting a nonlinearity error, the transmitter may determine that the model needs updating [0142]- [0143]; that the transmitter may request an NC model update [0144]-[0145]); a communications subsystem configured to, In response to the request, send a message to the base station (after identifying the model-update request, the receiving/network side sends a responsive resource-allocation message. that the base station Identifies the update request and transmits uplink resource allocation Information (e.g., UL grant) for the transmitter to send update data [0143]-[0145]); receive a power amplifier Input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations during a time window (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai by specifically providing a controller configured to receive a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations; a communications subsystem configured to, in response to the request, send a message to the base station; receive, during a time window, a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations, as taught by Lee for the purpose of reducing the processing load by efficiently selecting and using the nonlinearity compensation model without the need for the receiver to relearn the nonlinearity compensation model each time [0018].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lee discloses, wherein the request for distortion model update includes data regarding an operating condition that triggered transmission of the request for distortion model update (the terminal may request an NC model update from the base station. In this case, 1-bit information simply requesting an NC model update may be transmitted, and information indicating NSIs (e.g., NSI #1 and 3) or the number (e.g., 2) of NSIs requiring the NC model update may be transmitted together [0142]-[0144]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition Lee discloses, wherein the data regarding the operating condition includes a measurement at the base station of one of temperature, voltage, power, or operating bandwidth (the receiver must use a different NC model to effectively compensate for the nonlinearity of the transmitter. In addition, one of the representative causes of change in nonlinearity is heat generation, and because the performance of RF devices generally decreases as heat increases [0099]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Bai discloses, wherein the power amplifier output signal is an analog waveform (the feedback signal may be the output signal (y.sub.i(n)). Alternatively, a gain, delay, and/or phase of the output signal (y.sub.i(n)) may be adjusted to provide the feedback signal [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Bai discloses, wherein the analog waveform is an RF waveform at a transmission frequency (Upon receiving the predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)), the remote transmit chain 22-i provides the predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)) to the power amplifier system 26-i for amplification by the power amplifier 28-i. The resulting output signal (y.sub.i(n)) is provided to the antenna 30-i for transmission [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Lee discloses, wherein the message sent to the base station includes data specifying the time window, and wherein the time window begins at a future time (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Bai discloses, wherein the controller is configured to determine the time window in part based upon whether other requests for distortion model update have been received from other base stations, computational workload at the computing device, or severity of the operating condition (during a time-slot allocated for the i-th remote transmit chain 22-i as an example, the shared adaptor 38 evaluates the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)) that defines a predistortion to be applied to the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-i in order to compensate for a non-linearity of the power amplifier 28-i in the remote transmit chain 22-I [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Bai discloses, wherein the request for distortion model update, the message, the power amplifier input signal, and the power amplifier output signal are communicated over fronthaul or backhaul network links (the central node 20 and the remote transmit chains 22 are connected via a wired network (e.g., a fiber backhaul network of a cellular network) [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Bai discloses,
A method of adaptively updating a predistortion model for a power amplifier for a base station (FIG. 2 illustrates a centralized adaptive predistortion system 18 according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. The centralized adaptive predistortion system 18 includes a central node 20 and number (M) of remote transmit chains 22-1 through 22-M, which are generally referred to herein collectively as remote transmit chains 22 or individually as remote transmit chain 22 [00037]; The remote transmit chains 22 are generally transmit chains located remotely from the central node 20. In other words, the remote transmit chains 22 are located at different geographic location(s) than the central node 20 [0043]), the method including
receiving at a remote computing device (a central node includes one or more centralized predistortion components that enable predistortion for one or more remote transmit chains in order to compensate for non-linearity of power amplifiers in the one or more remote transmit chains [0007]), from the base station, a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations (the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 receive feedback signals from the corresponding remote transmit chains 22. In this embodiment, the feedback signals are output signals y.sub.1(n)K y.sub.M(n)) of the corresponding remote transmit chains 22 [0044]; using the remote transmit chain 22-1 as an example, the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 receive the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.1(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-1 and the feedback signal (y.sub.1(n)) from the remote transmit chain 22-1 [0049]); and
generating an updated set of parameters for a predistortion model using the power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal (For example, each of the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 is preferably implemented as a microprocessor that executes corresponding software providing the desired functionality of the centralized predistortion component 24, a Digital Signal Processing (DSP) processor [0037]; generating sets of predistortion parameters based on data signals and feedback signals to compensate for PA nonlinearity [0045]-[0046]; evaluating the parameter set based on comparison of the data signal and feedback signal [0049]), transmitting the updated set of parameters to said one of the base stations (the central node provides predistortion parameter sets to corresponding remote transmit chains [0048]; providing the parameter set to remote transmit chain 22-1 over a wired or wireless connections [0049]).
However, Bai does not explicitly disclose, receiving a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations; in response to the request, sending a message to the base station; receiving, during a time window, a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, receiving a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations (after detecting a nonlinearity error, the transmitter may determine that the model needs updating [0142]- [0143]; that the transmitter may request an NC model update [0144]-[0145]); In response to the request, sending a message to the base station (after identifying the model-update request, the receiving/network side sends a responsive resource-allocation message. that the base station Identifies the update request and transmits uplink resource allocation Information (e.g., UL grant) for the transmitter to send update data [0143]-[0145]); receiving a power amplifier Input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations during a time window (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai by specifically providing receiving a request for distortion model update from one of the base stations; in response to the request, sending a message to the base station; receiving, during a time window, a power amplifier input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations, as taught by Lee for the purpose of reducing the processing load by efficiently selecting and using the nonlinearity compensation model without the need for the receiver to relearn the nonlinearity compensation model each time [0018].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Lee discloses, wherein receiving the request for distortion model update includes receiving data regarding an operating condition that triggered transmission of the request for distortion model update. (the terminal may request an NC model update from the base station. In this case, 1-bit information simply requesting an NC model update may be transmitted, and information indicating NSIs (e.g., NSI #1 and 3) or the number (e.g., 2) of NSIs requiring the NC model update may be transmitted together [0142]-[0144]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Lee discloses, wherein the data regarding the operating condition includes a measurement at the base station of one of temperature, voltage, power, or operating bandwidth (the receiver must use a different NC model to effectively compensate for the nonlinearity of the transmitter. In addition, one of the representative causes of change in nonlinearity is heat generation, and because the performance of RF devices generally decreases as heat increases [0099]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Bai discloses, wherein the power amplifier output signal is an analog waveform (the feedback signal may be the output signal (y.sub.i(n)). Alternatively, a gain, delay, and/or phase of the output signal (y.sub.i(n)) may be adjusted to provide the feedback signal [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), further Bai discloses, wherein the analog waveform is an RF waveform at a transmission frequency (Upon receiving the predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)), the remote transmit chain 22-i provides the predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)) to the power amplifier system 26-i for amplification by the power amplifier 28-i. The resulting output signal (y.sub.i(n)) is provided to the antenna 30-i for transmission [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Lee discloses, wherein the message sent to the base station includes data specifying the time window, and wherein the time window begins at a future time (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Bai discloses, determining the time window in part based upon whether other requests for distortion model update have been received from other base stations, computational workload at the computing device, or severity of the operating condition (during a time-slot allocated for the i-th remote transmit chain 22-i as an example, the shared adaptor 38 evaluates the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)) that defines a predistortion to be applied to the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-i in order to compensate for a non-linearity of the power amplifier 28-i in the remote transmit chain 22-I [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bai and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Bai discloses, wherein the request for distortion model update, the message, the power amplifier input signal, and the power amplifier output signal are communicated over fronthaul or backhaul network links (the central node 20 and the remote transmit chains 22 are connected via a wired network (e.g., a fiber backhaul network of a cellular network) [0043]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai, in view of Li et al. (US 20200169334, hereinafter “Li”), and further in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Bai discloses,
A base station for wireless communications (a central node includes one or more centralized predistortion components that enable predistortion for one or more remote transmit chains in order to compensate for non-linearity of power amplifiers in the one or more remote transmit chains [0007]), comprising:
an RF chain that receives an input signal and produces a power amplifier output signal to drive an antenna array (the remote transmit chain 22-i receives the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-i (step 2002). The remote transmit chain 22-i may receive the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) from, for example, the central node 20 [0051]-[0052]),
the RF chain including a predistortion model, a digital-to-analog converter, an up-converter, and a power amplifier (The remote transmit chain 22-i predistorts the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) based on the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)) to provide a predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)) (step 2004). In other words, using the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)), a predistortion is applied to the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) that compensates for the non-linearity of the power amplifier in the remote transmit chain 22-I [0051]-[0052]);
receive, from the computing device, an updated set of parameters for the predistortion model; and update the predistortion model using the updated set of parameters (For example, each of the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 is preferably implemented as a microprocessor that executes corresponding software providing the desired functionality of the centralized predistortion component 24, a Digital Signal Processing (DSP) processor [0037]; generating sets of predistortion parameters based on data signals and feedback signals to compensate for PA nonlinearity [0045]-[0046]; evaluating the parameter set based on comparison of the data signal and feedback signal [0049]; the process of FIG. 3A is repeated periodically or otherwise such that the sets of predistortion parameters (c.sub.1(n)K c.sub.M(n)) are updated over time, thereby providing adaptive linearization. Preferably, the sets of predistortion parameters (c.sub.1(n)K c.sub.M(n)) are quasi-static in that they are updated infrequently (i.e., they are static for many data samples) [0050]).
However, Bai does not expressly teach, a sensor monitoring an operating condition at the base station; and a controller for receiving a signal from the sensor; wherein the controller is configured to: in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition, transmit a request for distortion model update to a computing device; and receive a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmit a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses, a sensor monitoring an operating condition at the base station; and a controller for receiving a signal from the sensor (the radio unit as a network node, such as a WWAN base station; one or more monitoring sensors that determine system characteristics… a controller ... may be included" and may be operatively coupled to the adjustable digital predistortion and the one or more monitoring sensors [0092]-[0094] and operating variables including "temperature, transmitter power level, supply voltage, frequency band [0062]), in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition (controller is configured to compare at least one of the one or more system characteristics to respective one or more reference values [0094]; corrective action when coefficients or EVM exceed thresholds [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai by specifically providing a sensor monitoring an operating condition at the base station; and a controller for receiving a signal from the sensor, in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition, as taught by Li for the purpose of compensating the nonlinearity of the power amplifier before providing the input signal to the power amplifier, therefore resulting output of the power amplifier is a linear amplification of the input signal with reduced nonlinear distortion [0004].
Further, the combination Bai and Li does not expressly teach, transmit a request for distortion model update to a computing device and receive a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmit a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, transmit a request for distortion model update to a computing device (if nonlinearity error occurs due to internal reasons such as heat generation, the model may need updating…the terminal may request an NC model update from the base station [0141]-[0144]); receiving a power amplifier Input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations during a time window, transmit a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Bai and Li by specifically providing transmit a request for distortion model update to a computing device and receive a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmit a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device, as taught by Lee for the purpose of reducing the processing load by efficiently selecting and using the nonlinearity compensation model without the need for the receiver to relearn the nonlinearity compensation model each time [0018].
Regarding claim 19, Bai discloses,
A method of adaptively updating a predistortion model for a power amplifier in a base station (adaptive predistortion schemes are utilized to compensate for changes in the non-linearity of the power amplifier over time. In these adaptive predistortion schemes, a result of the linearization, i.e., the output of the power amplifier, is monitored, and the predistortion is updated to reflect changes in the non-linearity of the power amplifier [0005]; a central node includes one or more centralized predistortion components that enable predistortion for one or more remote transmit chains in order to compensate for non-linearity of power amplifiers in the one or more remote transmit chains [0007]), the base station including an RF chain that receives an input signal and produces a power amplifier output signal to drive an antenna array (the remote transmit chain 22-i receives the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) to be transmitted by the remote transmit chain 22-i (step 2002). The remote transmit chain 22-i may receive the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) from, for example, the central node 20 [0051]-[0052]), the RF chain including a predistortion model, a digital-to-analog converter, an up-converter, and a power amplifier (The remote transmit chain 22-i predistorts the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) based on the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)) to provide a predistorted data signal ({circumflex over (d)}.sub.i(n)) (step 2004). In other words, using the set of predistortion parameters (c.sub.i(n)), a predistortion is applied to the data signal ({circumflex over (x)}.sub.i(n)) that compensates for the non-linearity of the power amplifier in the remote transmit chain 22-I [0051]-[0052]); receiving, from the computing device, an updated set of parameters for the predistortion model; and update the predistortion model using the updated set of parameters (For example, each of the one or more centralized predistortion components 24 is preferably implemented as a microprocessor that executes corresponding software providing the desired functionality of the centralized predistortion component 24, a Digital Signal Processing (DSP) processor [0037]; generating sets of predistortion parameters based on data signals and feedback signals to compensate for PA nonlinearity [0045]-[0046]; evaluating the parameter set based on comparison of the data signal and feedback signal [0049]; the process of FIG. 3A is repeated periodically or otherwise such that the sets of predistortion parameters (c.sub.1(n)K c.sub.M(n)) are updated over time, thereby providing adaptive linearization. Preferably, the sets of predistortion parameters (c.sub.1(n)K c.sub.M(n)) are quasi-static in that they are updated infrequently (i.e., they are static for many data samples) [0050]).
However, Bai does not expressly teach, monitoring an operating condition using a sensor; and in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition, transmitting a request for distortion model update to a computing device; and receiving a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmit a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses, monitoring an operating condition (the radio unit as a network node, such as a WWAN base station; one or more monitoring sensors that determine system characteristics… a controller ... may be included" and may be operatively coupled to the adjustable digital predistortion and the one or more monitoring sensors [0092]-[0094] and operating variables including "temperature, transmitter power level, supply voltage, frequency band [0062]), in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition (controller is configured to compare at least one of the one or more system characteristics to respective one or more reference values [0094]; corrective action when coefficients or EVM exceed thresholds [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai by specifically providing monitoring an operating condition at the base station; and in response to determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition, as taught by Li for the purpose of compensating the nonlinearity of the power amplifier before providing the input signal to the power amplifier, therefore resulting output of the power amplifier is a linear amplification of the input signal with reduced nonlinear distortion [0004].
Further, the combination Bai and Li does not expressly teach, transmitting a request for distortion model update to a computing device and receiving a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmitting a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, transmitting a request for distortion model update to a computing device (if nonlinearity error occurs due to internal reasons such as heat generation, the model may need updating…the terminal may request an NC model update from the base station [0141]-[0144]); receiving a power amplifier Input signal and a power amplifier output signal from said one of the base stations during a time window, transmitting a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device (model-learning data may be expressed as time-domain I/Q data of Tx Input data and Tx output data Bai already teaches that the relevant predistortion signals are the PA input/reference signal and PA output/feedback signal [0116]; the data necessary for updating the NC model may include time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the entire NSI range supported by the base station, or may include only time domain I/Q data of the terminal for the NSI requiring NC model update [0144]-[0145]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Bai and Li by specifically providing transmitting a request for distortion model update to a computing device and receiving a response and, based on the response, during a time window, transmitting a power amplifier input signal and the power amplifier output signal to the computing device, as taught by Lee for the purpose of reducing the processing load by efficiently selecting and using the nonlinearity compensation model without the need for the receiver to relearn the nonlinearity compensation model each time [0018].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior arts, Bai, Li and Lee, whether taken alone or in combination, does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein the controller is configured to determine that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition by determining that a value measured by the sensor differs from the previously determined operating condition by more than a threshold amount”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the closest prior arts, Bai, Li and Lee, whether taken alone or in combination, does not teach the following novel feature:
“wherein determining that the operating condition varies from a previously determined operating condition by determining that a value measured by the sensor differs from the previously determined operating condition by more than a threshold amount”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 19.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 10931320: Disclosed are digital predistortion implementations, including a method that includes obtaining a first set of digital predistortion (DPD) non-linear functions for controlling operation of a digital predistorter of a wireless device operating on a received at least one input signal directed to a power amplification system comprising a transmit chain with at least one power amplifier that produces output with non-linear distortions.
US 20200099416: A digital predistortion (DPD) system includes an input configured to receive a DPD input signal. In some embodiments, a non-linear datapath is coupled to the input, where the non-linear datapath includes a plurality of parallel datapath elements each coupled to the input. By way of example, each of the plurality of parallel datapath elements is configured to add a different inverse non-linear component to the DPD input signal corresponding to a non-linear component of an amplifier.
US 9722642: A controller can include a signal generator configured to provide an input signal to a modulator. The controller can be configured to generate a modulator compensation parameter in response to a modulated feedback signal corresponding to an output of the modulator. The controller can also be configured to generate a power amplifier predistortion signal in response to an amplified feedback signal corresponding to an output of a power amplifier coupled to the modulator.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641