Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation is “the support tube comprises a primary means of attachment for the indicator” in claim 8. The structure is understood as a fastener for a support tube.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 & 10-16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Mills (US 20150122354: “Mills”).
Claim 1. Mills discloses an indicator (18 & 20), for indicating an occurrence of a leak (60) of pressurized fluid in a vent chamber (36) of a pressurized fluid apparatus [0009: attached to outlet port on the hydraulic or pressurized fluid system to which it is attached and is monitoring.], the indicator (18 & 20) comprising: a support tube (internal cavity of 18), comprising: a connection opening (44), configured to be fluidically connected (60) to the vent chamber (36) of the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] and an external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18), configured to open out to an outside of the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022]; and a poppet (20), in the support tube (internal cavity of 18) and movable with respect to the support tube (internal cavity of 18), between an initial position (Fig. 1)[0016] and a signaling position (Fig. 2) [0017], under the effect of an overpressure occurring at the connection opening (44)[0025], compared with the external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18), the poppet (20) being positioned further away from the connection opening (44) in the signaling position (Fig. 2: distance of 44 to top end of 20 is larger than in Fig. 1) than in the initial position (Fig. 1: distance of 44 to top end of 20 is smaller than in Fig. 2) [0025], to indicate the occurrence of the leak (60) of pressurized fluid into the vent chamber (36) when the poppet (20) is in the signaling position (Fig. 2)[0025].
Claim 2. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 1. Mills further discloses the poppet (20) comprises a signaling end (20)[0026] that: protrudes out of the external opening (Fig. 2: aperture opening at distal end 18 with 20) when the poppet (20) is in the signaling position (Fig. 2), to indicate the occurrence of the leak (60)[0025]; and is at least partially retracted into the external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18) when the poppet (20) is in the initial position (Fig. 1: poppet is flush to 18 distal end surface), to indicate an absence of leak [0016] of pressurized fluid into the vent chamber (36)[0025].
Claim 3. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 1. Mills further discloses the poppet (20) is shaped for closing the support tube (internal cavity of 18) and thereby preventing any leak (60) of pressurized fluid from the connection opening (44) to the external opening, (aperture opening at distal end 18) at least when the poppet (20) is in the signaling position (fig. 2: seal 30 on bushing 28 prevents leakage from 36 from reaching 20)[0017].
Claim 4. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 3. Mills further discloses the poppet (20) is shaped for closing the support tube (internal cavity of 18) and thereby preventing any leak of pressurized fluid from the connection opening (44) to the external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18) also when the poppet (20) is in the initial position (Fig. 1: seal 30 on bushing 28 prevents leakage from 36 from reaching 20).
Claim 5. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 1. Mills further discloses the support tube (internal cavity of 18) comprises a primary axial surface (center longitudinal line of cavity 18 inner surface of 18) oriented towards the connection opening (44) and arranged inside the support tube (internal cavity of 18), between the external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18) and the connection opening (44) (center longitudinal line); and the poppet (20) comprises a secondary axial surface (48 O-ring is in a reduced axial surface from the internal cavity of 18) oriented towards the primary axial surface (center longitudinal line of cavity 18), so that the poppet (20) abuts against the support tube (internal cavity of 18) when the poppet (20) is in the signaling position (Fig. 2) , by abutting the secondary axial surface against the primary axial surface (poppet 20 with its 46 flange abuts the primary and axial surface).
Claim 6. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 1. Mills further discloses the indicator (18 & 20) comprises locking elements (48 O-ring, inner wall of 18 and outer wall 20) for mechanically locking the poppet (20) in position with respect to the support tube (internal cavity of 18) when the poppet (20) is in the signaling position (Fig. 2)[0024].
Claim 10. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] comprising: the indicator (18 & 20) according to claim 1. Mills further discloses the external opening (aperture opening at distal end 18) of the indicator (18 & 20) comes out to the outside [0026]; the vent chamber (36), the connection opening of the indicator (18 & 20) being fluidically connected (60) to the vent chamber (36); at least one pressurized fluid chamber (40); and at least one sealing device (26 & 58), fluidically separating the vent chamber (36) from the at least one pressurized fluid chamber (40)[0025].
Claim 11. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 10. Mills further discloses a valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) fluidically connected to the vent chamber (36) or forming all or part of the vent chamber (36), wherein the valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) comprises: a body (12 & 18), having a body (12 & 18) distal end (distal end of 12 connected to 18) and forming a central channel (14), coaxially letting though a central axis (longitudinal axis of 14), the central channel (14) having a channel distal end (16 connected to 12) which comes out at the body (12 & 18) distal end (14 top towards 18); and a piston (22 & 32), received in the central channel (14) and configured to slide with respect to the body (12 & 18) along the central axis (14) and emerging out of the central channel (14) at the distal end (22 ends at distal end of 12) of the channel (14)[0021].
Claim 12. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 11. Mills further discloses the central channel (14) which forms all or part of the vent chamber (36); and the at least one sealing device (26) comprises at least one piston sealing device (top seal 28 & 30 bottom seal 26 & 58), belonging to the valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) comprises, the piston sealing device (28 & 30), radially connecting the piston to the body (12 & 18), so that the piston sealing device (28 & 30), separates the intermediate chamber (gaps surrounding 44 & 58) with respect to the at least one pressurized fluid chamber (40).
Claim 13. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 11. Mills further discloses a base (16 with grey shaded covering see Examiner annotated fig. 3) that comprises a bore (O-ring notch in base to receive body with O-ring seal in between) to which the body (12 & 18) is received (case 18 at the bottom receives body 12) and fixedly attached to form: the at least one pressurized fluid chamber (40), delimited by the bore (O-ring notch in base to receive body with O-ring seal in between) and the valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) comprises; and a peripheral chamber (notch/recess in body 18 that base seats in-see examiner annotated fig. 3), defined by the bore (O-ring notch in base to receive body with O-ring seal in between) and the peripheral chamber (notch/recess in body 18 that base seats in-see examiner annotated fig. 3), being adjacent to the pressurized fluid chamber (40) and being fluidically connected to the vent chamber (36) or forming all or part of the vent chamber (36); and the at least one sealing device (26 & 58) comprises a body seal (26 & 58) interposed between the body (12 &18) and the base (16 with grey shaded covering see Examiner annotated fig. 3) such that the body sealing device (26 & 58) separates the peripheral chamber (notch/recess in body 18 that base seats in-see examiner annotated fig. 3), with respect to said at least one pressurized fluid chamber (40).
Claim 14. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 13. Mills further discloses the indicator (18 & 20) is mounted in the base (16 with grey shaded covering see Examiner annotated fig. 3) with the support tube (internal cavity of 18) fixedly attached to the base (12 & 16 attached to top case 18).
Claim 15. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 11. Mills further discloses the indicator (18 & 20) is mounted on the valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) comprises, with the support tube (internal cavity of 18) fixedly attached to the valve (cover 12 & 18, with poppet 20 and piston 22 & 32) comprises.
Claim 16. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 15. Mills further discloses the indicator (18 & 20) is mounted on the piston (22 & 32)[0024], with the support tube (internal cavity of 18) fixedly attached to a proximal baseplate (16 with grey shaded covering see Examiner annotated fig. 3) belonging to the piston (22 & 32), the proximal baseplate (16 with grey shaded covering see Examiner annotated fig. 3) being opposite the distal end of the body (12 & 18) such that the indicator (18 & 20) is visible from the outside (Fig. 2) [0025] for at least one position of the piston (Fig. 2) with respect to the body (12 & 18) and such that the position of the indicator (18 & 20) with respect to the body (12 & 18) reflects the position of the piston (22 & 32) [0024].
Claim 18. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 10. Mills, further discloses the indicator (10) comprises a sensor [Claim 2], a state of which reflects the current position of the poppet with respect to the support tube [Claim 2: The resettable fluid over-pressurization indicator system of claim 1 wherein the indicator pin is electronically connected to a sensor permitting the user to reset the pin remotely] and the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] comprises an electronic monitoring unit to which the sensor is connected, and which is configured to issue an alert for the attention of a person when the state of the sensor reflects that the poppet is in the signaling position [Claim 2: The resettable fluid over-pressurization indicator wherein the indicator pin is electronically connected to a sensor permitting the user to reset the pin remotely].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 20150122354: “Mills”) in view of Vanzetto (US 20210060599: “Vanzetto”).
Claims 8 & 9. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 1. Mills does not explicitly disclose:
the support tube comprises a primary means of attachment for the indicator to be fixedly received in a receiving port of the pressurized fluid apparatus and the primary means of attachment includes an external thread.
Vanzetto teaches an indicator, for indicating an occurrence of a leak of pressurized fluid in a vent chamber of a pressurized fluid apparatus, the indicator comprising a support tube, including a connection opening, fluidically connected to the vent chamber of the pressurized fluid apparatus, and an external opening. Vanzetto further teaches the support tube (36) comprises a primary means of attachment (540 threading) for the indicator (4) to be fixedly received in a receiving port of the pressurized fluid apparatus (6) and the primary means of attachment includes an external thread (540 threading).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Vanzetto’s connection means of attachment of a threaded connector with Mill’s overpressure indicator because a threaded connection increases the reliability and maintainability of an overpressure indicator in a pressurized fluid apparatus with a liquid tight removable attachment [Vanzetto 0042].
Claim 17. Dependent on the pressurized fluid apparatus [0022] according to claim 10. Mills, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the pressurized fluid apparatus is an apparatus for applying a coating product; and the pressurized fluid comprises the coating product and/or a valve command fluid.
Vanzetto teaches an indicator, for indicating an occurrence of a leak of pressurized fluid in a vent chamber of a pressurized fluid apparatus, the indicator comprising a support tube, including a connection opening, fluidically connected to the vent chamber of the pressurized fluid apparatus, and an external opening. Vanzetto further teaches the pressurized fluid apparatus (2) is an apparatus for applying a coating product [0021]; and the pressurized fluid comprises the coating product and/or a valve command fluid [0021: FIG. 1 shows part of a system 2 for application of a covering product; for example, a sprayer for paint, varnish, anticorrosion covering, or any other conceivable type of product. System 2 includes a valve 4 mounted in a bore 6 of system 2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Vanzetto’s implementation of an overpressure indicator on a coating pressurized fluid to implement Miller’s overpressure indicator on a coating system because monitoring overpressure in a coating pressurized fluid improves the quality of a coating process by preventing the paint from entering the valve toward the chamber [Vanzetto 0003].
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 20150122354: “Mills”) in view of Zahe (US 20240035586: “Zahe”).
Claim 7. Dependent on the indicator according to claim 6. Mills further discloses the locking elements (48 O-ring, inner wall of 18 and outer wall 20) comprise an inner wall portion of the support tube (internal cavity of 18) and an external wall portion of the poppet (20) when the poppet is in the signaling position, so as to thereby lock the poppet in the signaling position (Fig. 2) [0024].
Mills does not explicitly disclose:
the internal wall portion and the external wall portion being shaped such that the external wall portion is received in conical engagement in the internal wall portion when the poppet is in the signaling position, so as to thereby lock the poppet in the signaling position.
Zahe teaches [Abstract] a poppet configured to be subjected to (i) a first fluid force by fluid of the first port acting on the poppet in a proximal direction toward a poppet seat, a. Suthann further teaches the internal wall portion (Fig 1: 104) and the external wall portion (Fig 1: 122) being shaped such that the external wall portion (Fig 1: 122) is received in conical engagement in the internal wall portion (Fig 1: 104)[0050](104 tapers in and is thereby conical to match the conical shape of the poppet].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zahe’s conically shaped poppet with matching interior surface with Mills securely held poppet in a signaling position, because the edge of the poppit conical poppet ensures a reliable securing of the poppet by having the outside edges able to bind into the seal thus securing the poppet into a signal position.
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855