DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US 10,719,105).
Referring to claims 1, 8 and 15, Seo discloses a method of synchronizing system state data (fig. 10, between first and second processor) executable by at least one hardware processor (fig. 14, first/second processor 121/123) of a system (fig. 1, system 100), the method comprising:
executing a first processor (fig. 10, first processor 121) of the hardware processor based on initial state data (fig. 10, turn-on state 1001), wherein the initial state data represents an initial system state (18:49-52, turn-on state) of the system;
detecting (fig. 10, receive external input mode switch request 1003), prior to a predefined progress position (fig. 10, sleep mode 1007 & operate in external input mode 1013; 18:49-19:17, before state switched), a first change in state of the system (fig. 10, turn off display device 1005 & switch to external input mode 1006) by the first processor using a sensor (fig. 7, sensing data 707; 1:64-2:2, sensor), the first change in state being added to a first record of modified state data (fig. 10, instruct switching to external input mode 1006) until the predefined progress position;
designating the first record of modified state data as second state data (fig. 10, operate in external input mode 1013) based on reaching the predefined progress position; and
transitioning from execution of the first processor based on the initial state data (fig. 10, transition from turn-on state 1001) to execution of the first processor based on the second state data (fig. 10, transition to external input mode 1013).
As to claims 2, 11, 16 and 19, Seo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein designating comprises:
communicating (fig. 10, instruct switching to external input mode 1006) the second state data to a second processor (fig. 10, second processor 123) of the hardware processor, wherein the method comprises:
transitioning (fig. 10, transitioning from turn-state 1001 to sleep mode 1007 and external input mode 1013) from execution of the second processor based on the initial state data, to execution of the second processor based on the second state data.
As to claims 3, 12 and 20, Seo discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the method comprises:
receiving an acknowledgement (fig. 10, transition from instruct switching 1006 to operate in external input mode 1013) that the second processor received the second state data,
wherein transitioning of the second processor is based on receipt of the acknowledgement (fig. 9, external mode request 905).
As to claims 4, 9 and 17, Seo discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
detecting, after the predefined progress position, second change in state (fig. 10, change from external input mode 1013 to turn on display device 1009/normal input mode 1017) of the system by the first processor using sensor (fig. 10, detect predetermined condition 1015), the second change in state being added to a second record of modified state data (fig. 10, activate first processor 1016 & operate in normal input mode 1017).
As to claims 7 and 13, Seo discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the first change in state include a physical engagement (fig. 2, device 200/201 in four different states; 7:3-8:31) with a device (fig. 2, device 200/201) including the hardware processor.
As to claim 14, Seo discloses the system of claim 8,
wherein the system is to activate the synchronization manager (fig. 3, sensor module 176), based on the sensor detecting the first change in state, the synchronization manager to conduct designation and transition (fig. 3, senor module 176 controls states/transitions of first/second processors 123/121 input mode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10, 18 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim limitation of “after reaching the predefined progress position, the initial state data is stored in a first state data portion of a first state data buffer associated with the first processor, the second state data is stored in a second portion of the first state data buffer, and the second record of modified state data is stored in a modified state data portion of the first state data buffer, wherein transitioning includes transitioning from execution of the first processor on the first state data portion of the first state data buffer to execution of the first processor on the second portion of the first state data buffer” as required in dependent claims 5, 10 and 18.
In claims 21-22, applicant’s responses filed on May 18, 2026 are persuasive (p.12).
In analyzing CRM claims 15-20, applicant excluded those non-statutory signal per se mediums from tangible storage media in specification, para.0069.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Seo does not disclose “synchronizing system state data” (p.9).
Seo discloses synchronizations between first processor and second processor for collaborative operations as in fig. 10. For example, whether a display device state of first processor should be in turn-on or turn-off mode is a synchronized result after the first processor instructing the second processor switching to external input mode, or after the second processor activate the first processor to turn on display. Further, Seo discloses a state of input mode should be conducted by the first processor or the second processor.
Applicant argues that Seo does not disclose a “first record of modified state data” or adding changes to such a record (p.9).
Seo discloses an initial state (1001) and a modified state after display device turn-off (1005). Examiner considers “the first change in state being added to a first record of modified state data” with Seo updating its display device mode and/or input mode. A possible interpretation of a result from “add” includes updating current result. For example, it does not need to follow applicant proposed interpretation as non-overwritten accumulating (e.g., appending) records.
Applicant argues that Seo does not disclose “designating the first record of modified state data as second state data” (p. 10).
Seo discloses a synchronized operating state between first and second processor. The second state data is the modified or update operating state. For example, from initial state of display turn-on to modified second state (data) of display turn-off.
Applicant argues that Seo does not disclose “transitioning … based on initial state data … to … based on second state data” (p.10).
Seo discloses transitioning first processor from initial turn-on state to display turn-off/sleep state based on the state data as second processor become the input mode device.
Applicant points out the Office conflates input mode switching with state-data synchronization (pp.10-11).
Seo discloses the display turn-on/turn-off and/or input mode switching as the results of synchronization between the first and second processors. Such operation results require synchronizations between the first processor and the second processor. Examiner acknowledges applicant’s intention on the meanings of “add” on state data for synchronization as disclosed in fig. 2. Examiner suggests applicant further clarify them in the claims.
Conclusion
This action is made final. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire in three months from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filled within two months of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the three-month shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date of the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than six months from the date of this final action.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615