DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on March 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12, 16-18and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-21 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections – Double Patenting
Because of the Terminal Disclaimer filed and approved on 03/17/2026, the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, said claim recites " determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met". It is unclear that the determination, based on meeting “a transfer criterion”, is made when the values or descriptions of the criterion are not kwon or described or mentioned in the claimed limitation. The limitation, therefore, renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 12 and 20 similarly recite, thus are rejected based on the indefiniteness issues discussed above.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-21, these claims depend from claims 1 and 12, respectively, thus carry the same indefiniteness issues as discussed above, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sabella et al. teach a method, comprising: initiating, at a cellular base station, a shadow computation of a main computation executing for a mobile device, wherein the main computation comprises a computational task, and wherein the shadow computation is at least a part of or a derivative of the main computation (Figs. 1 and 9, [0038, 0153, 0155-0156], an architecture of a system 100A comprises UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3, cellular base stations 111 and 112, mobile edge hosts (MEHs) 200 (including mobile edge hosts, MEH 200-1, MEH 200-2, and MEH 200-3) may execute compute-intensive functionalities of applications (e.g., including App1, App2, and App3), namely application part(s) y (e.g., application part y1 of App1, application part y2 of App2, and application part y3 of App3) improving user experience. The MEHs 200 may execute the tasks of application parts y since MEHs 200 may have high performance capabilities as compared to user equipment (UE) 101 (e.g., including UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3). Additionally, less computationally intensive functionalities, namely application part(s) x (e.g., application part x1 of App1, application part x2 of App2, and application part x3 of App3) of the applications, may be executed by the UE 101.
(Note: “application” refers to the “main computation” and the “application parts” y1, y2, y3 refer to “shadow computation”. The base station initiates shadow computation (i.e. the part of the application), to be received from the UE, and the application is the main computation).
As per flow chart of fig.9, the UE 101 may send a MEH application offloading request to an MEC-O 321 (base station) over an Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEH application offloading request may indicate various tasks to be offloaded, such as whether the tasks are related to application layer or MAC/PHY layer functions.
In response to receipt of the MEH parameter reports from the respective MEHs 200-1 and 200-3, the MEC-O (mobile edge computing orchestrator) 321 (e.g., the offloader 732 implemented by the MEC-O 321) may identify/determine and select an optimal MEH 200 for the UE 101. The MEC-O 321 may then provide a MEC offloading response (also referred to as a “MEH application offloading response” or the like) to the UE 101 via the Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEC offloading response may indicate an MEH 200 to which the UE 101 may offload the requested application tasks),
Sabella et al. teach executing, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation (Fig. 9, [0156], the UE 101 (e.g., the offloader 732 (fig. 7) implemented by the UE 101) may perform application offloading to the MEH 200-3. In some embodiments, the application offloading may include sending various application tasks to the MEH 200-3, inputs to be used for execution of the tasks. In some embodiments, before sending the applications tasks, etc., the offloader 732 of the UE 101 may control transmission of an offloading request to the indicated MEC host (e.g., MEH 200-3), and the MEH 200-3 may respond with an application offloading acknowledgement (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK) to indicate acceptance or non-acceptance of the application offloading request, respectively.
(Note: The execution shadow computation n(application parts) is done by the base station, after receiving the offloading of application parts),
Sabella et al. teach determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 9, [0150, ], minimizing latency and being within an energy consumption threshold; and/or the like. In some embodiments, a selection of targets may be compiled into a shortlist of target devices based on first conditions/criteria, and a target device may be selected from the shortlist based on second conditions/criteria. the MEC-O 321 may determine the policy/configuration to be used for the offloading tradeoff evaluation based on UE capabilities, subscription information, congestion or overload criteria/parameters, and/or other like parameters/criteria),
Sabella et al. teach and sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 1, [0162-0163], the MEC host 200 may perform the channel estimation computations on behalf of the UE 101. In some embodiments, the BS may send the pilot signals to the target device performing the offloaded task, which may be the MEC host 200 co-located or implemented by the BS, the BS itself, or another BS in the system/network.
The BS then uses signal processing algorithms and/or triangulation techniques to determine where each signal is being transmitted from, and determines a best transmission route for downlink signals. Beamforming mechanisms try to achieve a better signal-to-noise ratio by increasing the data stream signal at a specific location in space. With better link quality, the BS may transmit the focused data streams with a higher data rate).
Sabella et al. is teaching execution of initiating a shadow computation of main computation at the cellular bae station. Sabella et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining transfer criterion is met and sending shadow computation from the base station to another base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Trang et al. teach determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 4, [0062-0065, 0073], initially, the service 1001 is provided by the source ME server 201 via the base station 101 to the UEs 130. Thus, the source ME server 201 hosts the service 1001. For example, providing the service 1001 may include communication of uplink data from the UE 130 to the base station 101 and further onwards to the source ME server 201. Because the ME server 201 is associated with the base station 101, a particularly low latency can be implemented for the service 1001. The base station 101 detects that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111(fig. 1), based on the tracked position, will be located close to the cell edge, soon. For example, the base station 101 may be configured to sound the radio channel 151 to detect that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111. Based on such information, the base station 101 can predict that a handover is likely to occur sometime in the future. A handover corresponds to disconnecting the UE 130 from the source base station 201 and connecting the UE 130 with a target base station. (Note: the criterion is the predicted “high latency” for the UE 130 moving away from the base station 101, and “low latency” moving towards the base stations 102 and 103. When the criterion is met, handover procedure of the UE 130 from the base station 101 to any one of the target base stations 102 and 103 is predicted). The ME (mobile edge) control node 210 sends a control message 1003 to the source ME server 201, as well as to the candidate ME servers 202, 203. The control message 1003 instructs to implement a shadow copy of the service 1001 provided by the source ME server 201 at the candidate ME servers 202, 203. By means of the shadow copy, a particularly fast relocation can be implemented),
Trang et al. teach and sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 6, [0074], in response to receiving the control message 1003, the shadow copy is implemented at each one of the candidate mobile edge servers 202, 203. For this, the source ME server 201 transmits data 1004 to the candidate ME servers 202, 203 which is then received by the UE servers 202, 203. For example, the shadow copy may include at least one of the following: an application context of the service 1001; an operational state of at least one processing unit of the source ME server 201 executing the service 1001; and a program code of the service 1001).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. by using the features as taught by Trang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met; and sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met. The motivation is to support an improved method for relocating services between mobile edge servers (see [0001]).
regarding claim 12, Sabella et al. teach a system for a base station, comprising: a plurality of memory modules, each memory module configured for insertion into a printed circuit board (PCB), and each memory module comprising: a plurality of memory chips; and at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) coupled to the plurality of memory chips, configured to (Figs. 1 and 7, [0031, 0106, 0109, 0126], computer platform 700 may be suitable for use as UEs 101, ANs 111/112, AP 106. Processor 702 may communicate with a system memory 704 over a bus 706. Any number of memory devices may be used to provide for a given amount of system memory. Term “circuitry” refers to, is part of, or includes hardware components such as an electronic circuit, a logic circuit, a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) and/or memory (shared, dedicated, or group), an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable device (FPD), (for example, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic device (PLD), a complex PLD (CPLD), a high-capacity PLD (HCPLD), a structured ASIC, or a programmable System on Chip (SoC)), digital signal processors (DSPs), etc. Management engine (ME) circuitry 751 may be included in a graphics controller or graphics processing unit (GPU)),
Sabella et al. teach initiate a shadow computation of a main computation executing for a mobile device, wherein the main computation comprises a computational task, and wherein the shadow computation is at least a part of or a derivative of the main computation (Figs. 1 and 9, [0038, 0153, 0155-0156], an architecture of a system 100A comprises UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3, cellular base stations 111 and 112, mobile edge hosts (MEHs) 200 (including mobile edge hosts, MEH 200-1, MEH 200-2, and MEH 200-3) may execute compute-intensive functionalities of applications (e.g., including App1, App2, and App3), namely application part(s) y (e.g., application part y1 of App1, application part y2 of App2, and application part y3 of App3) improving user experience. The MEHs 200 may execute the tasks of application parts y since MEHs 200 may have high performance capabilities as compared to user equipment (UE) 101 (e.g., including UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3). Additionally, less computationally intensive functionalities, namely application part(s) x (e.g., application part x1 of App1, application part x2 of App2, and application part x3 of App3) of the applications, may be executed by the UE 101.
(Note: “application” refers to the “main computation” and the “application parts” y1, y2, y3 refer to “shadow computation”. The base station initiates shadow computation (i.e. the part of the application), to be received from the UE, and the application is the main computation).
As per flow chart of fig.9, the UE 101 may send a MEH application offloading request to an MEC-O 321 (base station) over an Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEH application offloading request may indicate various tasks to be offloaded, such as whether the tasks are related to application layer or MAC/PHY layer functions.
In response to receipt of the MEH parameter reports from the respective MEHs 200-1 and 200-3, the MEC-O (mobile edge computing orchestrator) 321 (e.g., the offloader 732 implemented by the MEC-O 321) may identify/determine and select an optimal MEH 200 for the UE 101. The MEC-O 321 may then provide a MEC offloading response (also referred to as a “MEH application offloading response” or the like) to the UE 101 via the Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEC offloading response may indicate an MEH 200 to which the UE 101 may offload the requested application tasks),
Sabella et al. teach execute the shadow computation (Fig. 9, [0156], the UE 101 (e.g., the offloader 732 (fig. 7) implemented by the UE 101) may perform application offloading to the MEH 200-3. In some embodiments, the application offloading may include sending various application tasks to the MEH 200-3, inputs to be used for execution of the tasks. In some embodiments, before sending the applications tasks, etc., the offloader 732 of the UE 101 may control transmission of an offloading request to the indicated MEC host (e.g., MEH 200-3), and the MEH 200-3 may respond with an application offloading acknowledgement (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK) to indicate acceptance or non-acceptance of the application offloading request, respectively.
(Note: The execution shadow computation n(application parts) is done by the base station, after receiving the offloading of application parts),
Sabella et al. teach determine that a transfer criterion for transferring the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 9, [0150, ], minimizing latency and being within an energy consumption threshold; and/or the like. In some embodiments, a selection of targets may be compiled into a shortlist of target devices based on first conditions/criteria, and a target device may be selected from the shortlist based on second conditions/criteria. the MEC-O 321 may determine the policy/configuration to be used for the offloading tradeoff evaluation based on UE capabilities, subscription information, congestion or overload criteria/parameters, and/or other like parameters/criteria),
Sabella et al. teach and send the shadow computation back to different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 1, [0162-0163], the MEC host 200 may perform the channel estimation computations on behalf of the UE 101. In some embodiments, the BS may send the pilot signals to the target device performing the offloaded task, which may be the MEC host 200 co-located or implemented by the BS, the BS itself, or another BS in the system/network.
The BS then uses signal processing algorithms and/or triangulation techniques to determine where each signal is being transmitted from, and determines a best transmission route for downlink signals. Beamforming mechanisms try to achieve a better signal-to-noise ratio by increasing the data stream signal at a specific location in space. With better link quality, the BS may transmit the focused data streams with a higher data rate).
Sabella et al. is teaching execution of initiating a shadow computation of main computation at the cellular bae station. Sabella et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining transfer criterion is met and sending shadow computation from the base station to another base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, Trang et al. teach determine that a transfer criterion for transferring the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 4, [0062-0065, 0073], initially, the service 1001 is provided by the source ME server 201 via the base station 101 to the UEs 130. Thus, the source ME server 201 hosts the service 1001. For example, providing the service 1001 may include communication of uplink data from the UE 130 to the base station 101 and further onwards to the source ME server 201. Because the ME server 201 is associated with the base station 101, a particularly low latency can be implemented for the service 1001. The base station 101 detects that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111(fig. 1), based on the tracked position, will be located close to the cell edge, soon. For example, the base station 101 may be configured to sound the radio channel 151 to detect that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111. Based on such information, the base station 101 can predict that a handover is likely to occur sometime in the future. A handover corresponds to disconnecting the UE 130 from the source base station 201 and connecting the UE 130 with a target base station. (Note: the criterion is the predicted “high latency” for the UE 130 moving away from the base station 101, and “low latency” moving towards the base stations 102 and 103. When the criterion is met, handover procedure of the UE 130 from the base station 101 to any one of the target base stations 102 and 103 is predicted). The ME (mobile edge) control node 210 sends a control message 1003 to the source ME server 201, as well as to the candidate ME servers 202, 203. The control message 1003 instructs to implement a shadow copy of the service 1001 provided by the source ME server 201 at the candidate ME servers 202, 203. By means of the shadow copy, a particularly fast relocation can be implemented),
Trang et al. teach and send the shadow computation back to different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 6, [0074], in response to receiving the control message 1003, the shadow copy is implemented at each one of the candidate mobile edge servers 202, 203. For this, the source ME server 201 transmits data 1004 to the candidate ME servers 202, 203 which is then received by the UE servers 202, 203. For example, the shadow copy may include at least one of the following: an application context of the service 1001; an operational state of at least one processing unit of the source ME server 201 executing the service 1001; and a program code of the service 1001).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. by using the features as taught by Trang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met; and sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met. The motivation is to support an improved method for relocating services between mobile edge servers (see [0001]).
regarding claim 20, Sabella et al. teach a system for a base station, comprising: a plurality of memory modules, each memory module configured for insertion into a printed circuit board (PCB), and each memory module comprising: a plurality of memory chips; and at least one artificial intelligence (AI) accelerator coupled to the plurality of memory chips, configured to (Figs. 1 and 7, [0031, 0106, 0109, 0126], computer platform 700 may be suitable for use as UEs 101, ANs 111/112, AP 106. Processor 702 may communicate with a system memory 704 over a bus 706. Any number of memory devices may be used to provide for a given amount of system memory. Term “circuitry” refers to, is part of, or includes hardware components such as an electronic circuit, a logic circuit, a processor (shared, dedicated, or group) and/or memory (shared, dedicated, or group), an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable device (FPD), (for example, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic device (PLD), a complex PLD (CPLD), a high-capacity PLD (HCPLD), a structured ASIC, or a programmable System on Chip (SoC)), digital signal processors (DSPs), etc. Management engine (ME) circuitry 751 may be included in a graphics controller or graphics processing unit (GPU). The ME circuitry 751 may be communicatively coupled to other components of the application circuitry via bus 706 and communicatively coupled to the communications circuitry 706 of the computer platform 700 via a separate bus),
Sabella et al. teach receive a shadow computation of a main computation executing for a mobile device, wherein the main computation comprises a computational task, and wherein the shadow computation is at least a part of or a derivative of the main computation (Figs. 1 and 9, [0038, 0153, 0155-0156], an architecture of a system 100A comprises UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3, cellular base stations 111 and 112, mobile edge hosts (MEHs) 200 (including mobile edge hosts, MEH 200-1, MEH 200-2, and MEH 200-3) may execute compute-intensive functionalities of applications (e.g., including App1, App2, and App3), namely application part(s) y (e.g., application part y1 of App1, application part y2 of App2, and application part y3 of App3) improving user experience. The MEHs 200 may execute the tasks of application parts y since MEHs 200 may have high performance capabilities as compared to user equipment (UE) 101 (e.g., including UE 101-1, UE 101-2, and UE 101-3). Additionally, less computationally intensive functionalities, namely application part(s) x (e.g., application part x1 of App1, application part x2 of App2, and application part x3 of App3) of the applications, may be executed by the UE 101.
(Note: “application” refers to the “main computation” and the “application parts” y1, y2, y3 refer to “shadow computation”. The base station initiates shadow computation (i.e. the part of the application), to be received from the UE, and the application is the main computation).
As per flow chart of fig.9, the UE 101 may send a MEH application offloading request to an MEC-O 321 (base station) over an Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEH application offloading request may indicate various tasks to be offloaded, such as whether the tasks are related to application layer or MAC/PHY layer functions.
In response to receipt of the MEH parameter reports from the respective MEHs 200-1 and 200-3, the MEC-O (mobile edge computing orchestrator) 321 (e.g., the offloader 732 implemented by the MEC-O 321) may identify/determine and select an optimal MEH 200 for the UE 101. The MEC-O 321 may then provide a MEC offloading response (also referred to as a “MEH application offloading response” or the like) to the UE 101 via the Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface. The MEC offloading response may indicate an MEH 200 to which the UE 101 may offload the requested application tasks),
Sabella et al. teach execute the shadow computation (Fig. 9, [0156], the UE 101 (e.g., the offloader 732 (fig. 7) implemented by the UE 101) may perform application offloading to the MEH 200-3. In some embodiments, the application offloading may include sending various application tasks to the MEH 200-3, inputs to be used for execution of the tasks. In some embodiments, before sending the applications tasks, etc., the offloader 732 of the UE 101 may control transmission of an offloading request to the indicated MEC host (e.g., MEH 200-3), and the MEH 200-3 may respond with an application offloading acknowledgement (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK) to indicate acceptance or non-acceptance of the application offloading request, respectively.
(Note: The execution shadow computation n(application parts) is done by the base station, after receiving the offloading of application parts),
Sabella et al. teach determine that a transfer criterion for transferring the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 9, [0150, ], minimizing latency and being within an energy consumption threshold; and/or the like. In some embodiments, a selection of targets may be compiled into a shortlist of target devices based on first conditions/criteria, and a target device may be selected from the shortlist based on second conditions/criteria. the MEC-O 321 may determine the policy/configuration to be used for the offloading tradeoff evaluation based on UE capabilities, subscription information, congestion or overload criteria/parameters, and/or other like parameters/criteria),
Sabella et al. teach and send the shadow computation back to base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 1, [0162-0163], the MEC host 200 may perform the channel estimation computations on behalf of the UE 101. In some embodiments, the BS may send the pilot signals to the target device performing the offloaded task, which may be the MEC host 200 co-located or implemented by the BS, the BS itself, or another BS in the system/network.
The BS then uses signal processing algorithms and/or triangulation techniques to determine where each signal is being transmitted from, and determines a best transmission route for downlink signals. Beamforming mechanisms try to achieve a better signal-to-noise ratio by increasing the data stream signal at a specific location in space. With better link quality, the BS may transmit the focused data streams with a higher data rate).
Sabella et al. is teaching execution of initiating a shadow computation of main computation at the cellular bae station. Sabella et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of determining transfer criterion is met and sending shadow computation from the base station to another base station. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 20, Trang et al. teach determine that a transfer criterion for transferring the shadow computation to a different base station is met (Fig. 4, [0062-0065, 0073], initially, the service 1001 is provided by the source ME server 201 via the base station 101 to the UEs 130. Thus, the source ME server 201 hosts the service 1001. For example, providing the service 1001 may include communication of uplink data from the UE 130 to the base station 101 and further onwards to the source ME server 201. Because the ME server 201 is associated with the base station 101, a particularly low latency can be implemented for the service 1001. The base station 101 detects that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111(fig. 1), based on the tracked position, will be located close to the cell edge, soon. For example, the base station 101 may be configured to sound the radio channel 151 to detect that the UE 130 is located close to the edge of the cell 111. Based on such information, the base station 101 can predict that a handover is likely to occur sometime in the future. A handover corresponds to disconnecting the UE 130 from the source base station 201 and connecting the UE 130 with a target base station. (Note: the criterion is the predicted “high latency” for the UE 130 moving away from the base station 101, and “low latency” moving towards the base stations 102 and 103. When the criterion is met, handover procedure of the UE 130 from the base station 101 to any one of the target base stations 102 and 103 is predicted). The ME (mobile edge) control node 210 sends a control message 1003 to the source ME server 201, as well as to the candidate ME servers 202, 203. The control message 1003 instructs to implement a shadow copy of the service 1001 provided by the source ME server 201 at the candidate ME servers 202, 203. By means of the shadow copy, a particularly fast relocation can be implemented), Trang et al. teach and send the shadow computation back to different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met (Fig. 6, [0074], in response to receiving the control message 1003, the shadow copy is implemented at each one of the candidate mobile edge servers 202, 203. For this, the source ME server 201 transmits data 1004 to the candidate ME servers 202, 203 which is then received by the UE servers 202, 203. For example, the shadow copy may include at least one of the following: an application context of the service 1001; an operational state of at least one processing unit of the source ME server 201 executing the service 1001; and a program code of the service 1001).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. by using the features as taught by Trang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining that a transfer criterion for sending the shadow computation to a different base station is met; and sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station based on the determination that the transfer criterion is met. The motivation is to support an improved method for relocating services between mobile edge servers (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-8, 13, 15, 17-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ross (US 2014/0274084 A1).
Sabella et al. and Trang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 9 above.
Regarding claim 21, Sabella et al. teach comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation back to the mobile device (Fig. 9, [0156], the MEC-O 321 may then provide a MEC offloading response (also referred to as a “MEH application offloading response” or the like) to the UE 101 via the Mx2, Mm9, or Mm3 interface).
Sabella et al. and Trang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the shadow computation to the mobile device or to another device; regarding claim 3, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the shadow computation to another cellular base station; regarding claim 6, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station experiences less network traffic than the cellular base station; regarding claim 7, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station has greater compute capabilities than the cellular base station; regarding claim 8, comprising sending, by the different base station, the shadow computation back to the mobile device; regarding claim 13, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send output data of the executed shadow computation to the mobile device; regarding claim 15, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to another cellular base station; regarding claim 17, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station experiences less network traffic than the cellular base station; regarding claim 18, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station has greater compute capabilities than the base station; regarding claim 19, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation back to the mobile device.
Regarding claim 2, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the shadow computation to the mobile device or to another device; regarding claim 3, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the shadow computation to another cellular base station (Fig. 4, [0044-0045], content serving module 416 of the base station 400 is configured to send the local digital content item to the mobile device from the local storage device 402, after identifying, for example, streaming of a song based on its file name”).
Regarding claim 3, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the shadow computation to another cellular base station (Fig. 5, [0055], base stations 102-108 may be virtualized such that the separate local storage device 502, 512, 522, and 532 are logically a single storage device. In such an embodiment, each node 102-108 may have access to local digital content items stored on the local storage devices 502, 512, 522, and 532 of the other nodes 102-108 in the mesh network 100”).
Regarding claim 6, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station experiences less network traffic than the cellular base station (Fig. 4, [0046], content serving module 416 may identify one or more secondary sources other than the remote computing device that stores the remote digital content item, for example, the content serving module 416 may identify a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 that has a local copy of the digital content item in its local storage, the content serving module 416 may estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source and estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the remote computing device identified in the client's request, the content serving module 416 may then serve the remote digital content item from the source with the shortest estimated time).
Regarding claim 7, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station has greater compute capabilities than the cellular base station (Fig. 4, [0046], the content serving module 416 may identify a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 that has a local copy of the digital content item in its local storage, the content serving module 416 may estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source and estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the remote computing device identified in the client's request, the content serving module 416 may then serve the remote digital content item from the source with the shortest estimated time).
Regarding claim 8, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the other cellular base station, the shadow computation back to the mobile device (Fig. 4, [0046 & claim 14] after identifying a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 and estimating a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source, the nearby station then serves the mobile device with the shortest estimated time).
Regarding claim 13, Ross teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send output data of the executed shadow computation to the mobile device (Fig. 4, [0044-0045], content serving module 416 of the base station 400 is configured to send the local digital content item to the mobile device from the local storage device 402, after identifying, for example, streaming of a song based on its file name).
Regarding claim 15, Ross teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to another cellular base station (Fig. 5, [0055], base stations 102-108 may be virtualized such that the separate local storage device 502, 512, 522, and 532 are logically a single storage device as, for example, the local digital contents are sent to all local storage devices 502, 512, 522 and 532 of the base stations 102, 104, 106 and 108 respectively, and hence each base station 102-108 may have access to local digital content items stored on the local storage devices 502, 512, 522, and 532 of the other base stations 102-108 in the mesh network 100).
Regarding claim 17, Ross teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station experiences less network traffic than the cellular base station (Fig. 4, [0046], content serving module 416 may identify one or more secondary sources other than the remote computing device that stores the remote digital content item, for example, the content serving module 416 may identify a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 that has a local copy of the digital content item in its local storage, the content serving module 416 may estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source and estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the remote computing device identified in the client's request, the content serving module 416 may then serve the remote digital content item from the source with the shortest estimated time).
Regarding claim 18, Ross teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the different base station when the different base station has greater compute capabilities than the base station (Fig. 4, [0046], the content serving module 416 may identify a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 that has a local copy of the digital content item in its local storage, the content serving module 416 may estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source and estimate a time for serving the remote digital content item from the remote computing device identified in the client's request, the content serving module 416 may then serve the remote digital content item from the source with the shortest estimated time).
Regarding claim 19, Ross teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation back to the mobile device (Fig. 4, [0046 & claim 14], after identifying a nearby base station in communication with the base station 400 and estimating a time for serving the remote digital content item from the secondary source, the nearby station then serves the mobile device with the shortest estimated time).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. with Trang et al. by using the features as taught by Ross in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending, by the cellular base station, output data of the executed shadow computation to the mobile device or to another device, shadow computation to another cellular base station, when the other cellular base station has greater compute capabilities than the cellular base station and sending, by the other cellular base station, the shadow computation back to the mobile device, The motivation is to support an improved method for storing content in a network and delivering that content to client devices (see [0002]).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of disclosed prior art of Yahagi (CN 1241101 A).
Sabella et al. and Trang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 9 above. Sabella et al. and Trang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the different base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the different base station.
Regarding claim 5, c Yahagi discloses comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the shadow computation to the other cellular base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the other cellular base station (Fig. 2, [paragraph 1-5 of the fig. 2] when the mobile station MS1 in base station BS1 coverage area enters the base station BS3 coverage area, it sends a region characteristics BS3 and LA1 and the position of the characteristic MS1 comprises modifying information to the base station BS3, and the modification information of copy information is sent from the base station BS3 to the base station controller BSC1 to the cell station characteristic BS3 in the allocated storage area to the record of the position memory LM1 of mobile station MS1 in the area close to the BS1 memory area. the response modification information 205, no confirmation information is returned to the mobile station from the base station controller, and similarly, when the mobile station MS1 moves to the coverage area of the base station BS2, a modification information 206 from the base station BS2 is sent to the base station controller BSC1 and, therefore, by the cell station characteristic BS2 is stored into the storage area of the mobile record item storage area close to the BS3, position memory LM1 is modified is updated).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. with Trang et al. by using the features as taught by Yahagi in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending the shadow computation to the other cellular base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the other cellular base station. The motivation is to support an improved method of mobile switching center locating a mobile station (see [first paragraph under Invention-title]).
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Kim (US 2008/0057971 A1).
Sabella et al. and Trang et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 9 above. Sabella et al. and Trang et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, comprising: deriving, by the cellular base station, at least one other shadow computation from the shadow computation; and sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to at least one device other than the cellular base station.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches comprising: deriving, by the cellular base station, at least one other shadow computation from the shadow computation; and sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to at least one device other than the cellular base station (Fig. 6, [0032], the base station 110 receives the maximum transmission power of the mobile terminal 120 from the mobile terminal 120, the base station 110 calculates the maximum transmission power per sub-channel, and the base station 110 applies the calculated value to update the parameters of the power control scheme so as to control the transmission power of the mobile terminal 120).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. with Trang et al. by using the features as taught by Kim in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to at least one device other than the cellular base station. The motivation is to support an improved method for extending wireless link coverage by controlling wireless communication resource allocation (see 0003]).
Claims 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1) and Kim (US 2008/0057971 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Ross (US 2014/0274084 A1).
Sabella et al., Trang et al. and Kim disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above. Sabella et al., Trang et al. and Kim do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to another cellular base station.
Regarding claim 11, Ross teaches comprising sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to another cellular base station (Fig. 5, [0055], base stations 102-108 may be virtualized such that the separate local storage device 502, 512, 522, and 532 are logically a single storage device as, for example, the local digital contents are sent to all local storage devices 502, 512, 522 and 532 of the base stations 102, 104, 106 and 108 respectively, and hence each base station 102-108 may have access to local digital content items stored on the local storage devices 502, 512, 522, and 532 of the other base stations 102-108 in the mesh network 100).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. with Trang et al. and Kim by using the features as taught by Ross in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending, by the cellular base station, the at least one other shadow computation to another cellular base station. The motivation is to support an improved method for storing content in a network and delivering that content to client devices (see [0002]).
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 2018/0183855 A1) in view of Trang et al. (US 2019/0191341 A1) and Ross (US 2014/0274084 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of disclosed prior art of Yahagi (CN 1241101 A).
Sabella et al., Trang et al. and Ross disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above. Sabella et al., Trang et al. and Ross do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the different base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the different base station.
Regarding claim 16, Yahagi teaches wherein the at least one GPU is configured to send the shadow computation to the other cellular base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the other cellular base station (Fig. 2, [paragraph1-5 of the fig. 2] when the mobile station MS1 in base station BS1 coverage area enters the base station BS3 coverage area, it sends a region characteristics BS3 and LA1 and the position of the characteristic MS1 comprises modifying information to the base station BS3, and the modification information of copy information is sent from the base station BS3 to the base station controller BSC1 to the cell station characteristic BS3 in the allocated storage area to the record of the position memory LM1 of mobile station MS1 in the area close to the BS1 memory area. the response modification information 205, no confirmation information is returned to the mobile station from the base station controller, and similarly, when the mobile station MS1 moves to the coverage area of the base station BS2, a modification information 206 from the base station BS2 is sent to the base station controller BSC1 and, therefore, by the cell station characteristic BS2 is stored into the storage area of the mobile record item storage area close to the BS3, position memory LM1 is modified is updated).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sabella et al. with Trang et al. and Ross by using the features as taught by Yahagi in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending the shadow computation to the other cellular base station when the mobile device is within a threshold distance of the different cellular base station. The motivation is to support an improved method of mobile switching center locating a mobile station (see [first paragraph under Invention-title]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 4/13/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473