DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18, 22, and 23 are pending. Claims 19-21 and 24 were cancelled via preliminary amendment.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The examiner notes that the applicant claims priority under 35 USC § 119 to two distinct Korean Applications:
Application 10-2023-0036889, filed on March 21, 2023, and
Application 10-2023-0100699, filed on August 01, 2023.
While certified translations are not always required (see MPEP §§ 215, 216), the examiner does note that application ‘889 is significantly shorter in length and does not contain the same number of pages as the US Non-Provisional Application. Therefore, the examiner has reason to question whether 112(a) support possibly exists for the claims within the ‘889 application. Should the applicant wish to perfect priority to this date, they are advised to provide a certified translation, with the appropriate statement, so the examiner may analyze the ‘889 application for support under 112(a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/21/24. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
MPEP § 2111.04(II) states in relevant part:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
…
See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims. In Schulhauser, both method claims and system claims recited the same contingent step. When analyzing the claimed method as a whole, the PTAB determined that giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, "[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed" (quotation omitted). Schulhauser at 10.
…
Therefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim (e.g., instances in which the electrocardiac signal data is not within the threshold electrocardiac criteria such that the condition precedent for the determining step and the remaining steps of claim 1 has not been met);" however to render the claimed system obvious, the prior art must teach the structure that performs the function of the contingent step along with the other recited claim limitations. Schulhauser at 9, 14.
Dependent claim 10 recites a method. The examiner notes that the claim further recites performing a function, coupled by “when.” The Merriam-Webster definition of “when” includes “if”, which means the BRI of the claim is conditional. In accordance with MPEP § 2111.04(II), conditional limitations within method claims will be treated as not being required to be performed under the BRI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13-16, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0044660, which was cited on IDS dated 10/17/2024).
As per claim 1, Ji et al. teach an operation method of a user equipment performing narrowband Internet of Things-based communication [Ji, ¶s 0032 and 0034, Narrowband devices may operate within an IoT topology.], the operation method comprising:
determining a delayed distance based on at least one of a channel characteristic and a channel estimation technique-related coefficient [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). The subframes are estimated based on a channel characteristic (i.e., SNR/SINR) and a channel estimation technique related coefficient (i.e., IIR filter, see ¶ 0046).];
estimating, with respect to a time axis, a channel of a target subframe using a plurality of reference signals, wherein the plurality of reference signals are comprised in subframes from a start subframe prior to the target subframe to an end subframe corresponding to a determined delayed distance after the target subframe [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe.]; and
decoding the target subframe based on the estimated channel [Ji, ¶ 0062, “Column 470 (time 6) demonstrates that a fourth PDSCH subframe repetition is received. The reception of the PDSCH subframe means that the receiver portion of the transceiver 225 was on. Since this is the fourth PDSCH subframe repetition the UE 110 has received and the UE 110 has estimated that three PDSCH subframes should be received before commencing certain PDSCH operations, the UE 110 performs certain PDSCH operations using the buffered first PDSCH subframe repetition, buffered second PDSCH subframe repetition and the buffered third PDCH subframe repetition because the UE 110 has determined that certain PDSCH operations should be successful after receiving three PDSCH subframe repetitions. Accordingly, the UE 110 would activate the PDSCH channel estimation module 415, the PDSCH demodulation module 416, or the PDSCH decoding module 417. Thus, the channel estimation, demodulation, or decoding may be performed while the UE 110 is receiving the fourth PDSCH subframe repetition at time 6 (column 470)”, Table 4 represents a number of operations (see steps 412-417) a UE may perform on a time axis (see times 420-480, ¶ 0056). Paragraphs [0058] – [0060] disclose that decoding is not performed by the UE until enough repetitions are received and the channel is properly estimated. In time period 470, the UE is able to demodulate (see step 416) and decode (see step 417) the received PDCSH subframes.].
As per claim 2, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein the channel characteristic comprises a residual frequency offset between a transmitted downlink signal transmitted from a transmitting side and a downlink signal received at the user equipment, which is a receiving side [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). Doppler spread amounts to a frequency shift experienced at the UE (or receiver) side.].
As per claim 3, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 2. Ji et al. also teach wherein the determining of the delayed distance comprises determining the residual frequency offset based on a signal to noise ratio of the downlink signal [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). Doppler spread amounts to a frequency shift experienced at the UE (or receiver) side.].
As per claim 4, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 2. Ji et al. also teach wherein the channel estimation technique-related coefficient comprises a coefficient related to an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter [Ji, ¶ 0046, “Further, an input parameter may be filtered to average across a certain time duration prior to being utilized to determine Ns. Thus, the input parameter may be processed by a filter to account for noise and ensure smoothness of input parameter related data. For example, the filter may be a finite impulse response (FIR) filter or an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter. It should be noted that the use of an FIR or IIR filter is merely exemplary and the input parameter may be processed by any type of filter that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness. Alternatively, the input parameters may be processed in any manner that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness of input parameter related data”, A channel estimation technique related coefficient comprises the IIR filter.], and the estimating of the channel of the target subframe is performed by using the IIR filter [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe. The look-up table contains a number of parameters, including IIR filter.].
As per claim 5, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein the determining of the delayed distance comprises determining the delayed distance based on a residual frequency offset and a coefficient with respect to the IIR filter [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). Doppler spread amounts to a frequency shift experienced at the UE (or receiver) side. The delay distance is determined using an IIR filter on the PSCH subframes received within the Ns window (see also ¶ 0046).].
As per claim 6, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein the plurality of reference signals are arranged in some of the subframes [Ji, ¶ 0033, “It should be noted that while CRS tones may be transmitted over a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH during narrow bandwidth operations, certain devices may utilize a different type of tone and a different type of channel”, Reference signals are carried over the PDSCH (see also ¶ 0032).].
As per claim 7, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein the estimating of the channel of the target subframe comprises: determining at least one window from the subframes [Ji, ¶ 0045, “In a first example, one or more of these input parameters may be mapped to values of Ns based on the recent historical performance of the UE 110. For example, if it is considered that the input parameter is SNR and the UE 110 has been experiencing a relatively steady SNR, the UE 110 may look at the last twenty (20) received subframes and determine the number of repetitions of those subframes that were needed to successfully perform the operations (e.g., channel estimation, demodulation, decoding, etc.). The UE 110 may then use this number of repetitions as the Ns for a current subframe. It should be noted that the above was only exemplary and that any input parameter and time frame may be used to estimate the Ns”, The length of repeated subframes (Ns) observed may serve as a window.]; and estimating the channel for the target subframe by using the at least one window [Ji, ¶ 0054, “In 325, the UE 110 initiates PDSCH related operations on the Nr subframes. For example, the UE 110 may initially estimate that three PDSCH subframe repetitions may be received to successfully perform PDSCH related operations”, When the number of received repetitions (Nr) equals Ns (see fig. 3, step 325), the UE performs the estimation, demodulation, and decoding operations.] and a moving average filter.
As per claim 8, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 7. Ji et al. also teach wherein the determining at least one window comprises classifying subframes in which the plurality of reference signals are arranged from among the subframes [Ji, ¶ 0045, “In a first example, one or more of these input parameters may be mapped to values of Ns based on the recent historical performance of the UE 110. For example, if it is considered that the input parameter is SNR and the UE 110 has been experiencing a relatively steady SNR, the UE 110 may look at the last twenty (20) received subframes and determine the number of repetitions of those subframes that were needed to successfully perform the operations (e.g., channel estimation, demodulation, decoding, etc.). The UE 110 may then use this number of repetitions as the Ns for a current subframe. It should be noted that the above was only exemplary and that any input parameter and time frame may be used to estimate the Ns”, The length of repeated subframes (Ns) observed may serve as a window.]; and estimating the channel for the target subframe by using the at least one window [Ji, ¶ 0054, “In 325, the UE 110 initiates PDSCH related operations on the Nr subframes. For example, the UE 110 may initially estimate that three PDSCH subframe repetitions may be received to successfully perform PDSCH related operations”, When the number of received repetitions (Nr) equals Ns (see fig. 3, step 325), the UE performs the estimation, demodulation, and decoding operations. A counter is used to increment Nr when PDSCH subframes are detected (see also ¶ 0051).].
As per claim 9, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein the determining of the delayed distance comprises adjusting the determined delayed distance to reduce power loss in the estimating the channel of the target subframe [Ji, ¶ 0032, “ the CRS tones may be used for channel estimation, in measuring parameters used for filter coefficients of channel estimation (e.g., delay spread, Doppler spread, etc.), in measuring various network parameters (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel state information (CSI), channel quality indicator (CQI), rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), etc.) for a wide-band report, etc. With all these different measurements being made based on the CRS tones that are received, fewer CRS tones may result in less reliable and/or inadequate measurements being determined. Thus, the tradeoff from using the narrow bandwidth to monitor for CRS tones is less power consumption per TTI but lower demodulation performance (e.g., due to worse channel estimations) and/or inaccurate measurements (e.g., resulting in improper handover consequences)”, CRS tones with the repeated PDSCH subframes are used to reduce doppler spread and power loss for the decoded (or target) subframe.].
As per claim 10, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein, in the determining of the delayed distance, the delayed distance is determined further based on a feedback transmission deadline when a signal comprised in the target subframe is of a type that requires reception feedback to a transmitting side [Examiner Note: The claim is considered conditional, and therefore the BRI includes the condition not being performed. See Claim Interpretation section. Therefore, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as the parent claim.].
As per claim 13, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 1. Ji et al. also teach wherein, in the estimating of the channel of the target subframe, the channel of the target subframe is estimated by averaging channel estimates associated with a plurality of windows determined from the subframes [Ji, ¶ 0046, “Further, an input parameter may be filtered to average across a certain time duration prior to being utilized to determine Ns. Thus, the input parameter may be processed by a filter to account for noise and ensure smoothness of input parameter related data. For example, the filter may be a finite impulse response (FIR) filter or an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter. It should be noted that the use of an FIR or IIR filter is merely exemplary and the input parameter may be processed by any type of filter that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness”, An IIR filter is used to average (or smooth) estimates over Ns.].
As per claim 14, Ji et al. teach a user equipment configured to perform a narrowband Internet of Things-based communication [Ji, ¶s 0032 and 0034, Narrowband devices may operate within an IoT topology.], the user equipment comprising:
a transceiver [Ji, ¶ 0039, fig. 2, element 225] configured to receive a downlink signal comprising a plurality of subframes through a channel [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). The subframes are estimated based on a channel characteristic (i.e., SNR/SINR) and a channel estimation technique related coefficient (i.e., IIR filter, see ¶ 0046).]; and
a processor [Ji, ¶ 0035, fig. 2, element 205] configured to use reference signals up to an end subframe corresponding to a delayed distance after a target subframe with respect to a time axis for channel estimation of the target subframe among the plurality of subframes [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe.].
As per claim 15, Ji et al. teach the user equipment of claim 14. Ji et al. also teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the delayed distance based on a residual frequency offset between a transmission side of the downlink signal and the user equipment [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). Doppler spread amounts to a frequency shift experienced at the UE (or receiver) side.].
As per claim 16, Ji et al. teach the user equipment of claim 15. Ji et al. also teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the delayed distance further based on an infinite impulse response (IIR) coefficient [Ji, ¶ 0046, “Further, an input parameter may be filtered to average across a certain time duration prior to being utilized to determine Ns. Thus, the input parameter may be processed by a filter to account for noise and ensure smoothness of input parameter related data. For example, the filter may be a finite impulse response (FIR) filter or an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter. It should be noted that the use of an FIR or IIR filter is merely exemplary and the input parameter may be processed by any type of filter that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness. Alternatively, the input parameters may be processed in any manner that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness of input parameter related data”, A channel estimation technique related coefficient comprises the IIR filter.] when estimating a channel of the target subframe using an IIR filter [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe. The look-up table contains a number of parameters, including IIR filter.].
As per claim 18, Ji et al. teach the user equipment of claim 15. Ji et al. also teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the residual frequency offset based on a signal to noise ratio of the downlink signal [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). Doppler spread amounts to a frequency shift experienced at the UE (or receiver) side.].
As per claim 22, Ji et al. teach an operation method of a user equipment performing narrowband Internet of Things-based communication, the operation method comprising:
receiving, from a cell, a downlink signal comprising a plurality of subframes [Ji, ¶ 0043, “During the establishment of the connection between the UE 110 and the eNB 122A, the eNB 122A configures a repetition level (RL) that corresponds to a number of repetitions of a subframe that will be sent to the UE 110. For example, the eNB 122A may set the RL to three and subsequently transmit, to the UE 110, a first subframe repetition at a first time, a second subframe repetition at a second time and a third subframe repetition at a third time”, The UE receives a number of repeated subframes from the eNB (or cell).];
determining a residual frequency offset between the cell and the user equipment based on a signal-to-noise ratio of the downlink signal [Ji, ¶0044, “In 305, the UE 110 estimates the number of repetitions of subframes (Ns) corresponding to a PDSCH channel that may be received before the UE 110 commences certain PDSCH related operations (e.g. demodulation, decoding, channel estimation, etc.). It should be understood that the value of Ns is related to the number of repetitions of the subframe that the UE 110 estimates will be needed for the operation to be successful and not the total number of repetitions to be received by the UE 110 as that total number is determined by the eNB 122A. This estimation may be determined based on a variety of factors such as, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), transmission mode, doppler spread, delay spread, etc. The estimation may be determined based on a single factor or a plurality of factors”, The UE performs estimation on a number of repeated subframes (see also ¶ 0043). The subframes are estimated based on a channel characteristic (i.e., SNR/SINR) and a channel estimation technique related coefficient (i.e., IIR filter, see ¶ 0046).];
determining a delayed distance for a target subframe from among the plurality of subframes based on the residual frequency offset; estimating, with respect to a time axis, a channel of the target subframe based on a channel estimation technique established using reference signals up to an end subframe corresponding to the delayed distance after the target subframe [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe.]; and
decoding the target subframe based on the estimated channel [Ji, ¶ 0062, “Column 470 (time 6) demonstrates that a fourth PDSCH subframe repetition is received. The reception of the PDSCH subframe means that the receiver portion of the transceiver 225 was on. Since this is the fourth PDSCH subframe repetition the UE 110 has received and the UE 110 has estimated that three PDSCH subframes should be received before commencing certain PDSCH operations, the UE 110 performs certain PDSCH operations using the buffered first PDSCH subframe repetition, buffered second PDSCH subframe repetition and the buffered third PDCH subframe repetition because the UE 110 has determined that certain PDSCH operations should be successful after receiving three PDSCH subframe repetitions. Accordingly, the UE 110 would activate the PDSCH channel estimation module 415, the PDSCH demodulation module 416, or the PDSCH decoding module 417. Thus, the channel estimation, demodulation, or decoding may be performed while the UE 110 is receiving the fourth PDSCH subframe repetition at time 6 (column 470)”, Table 4 represents a number of operations (see steps 412-417) a UE may perform on a time axis (see times 420-480, ¶ 0056). Paragraphs [0058] – [0060] disclose that decoding is not performed by the UE until enough repetitions are received and the channel is properly estimated. In time period 470, the UE is able to demodulate (see step 416) and decode (see step 417) the received PDCSH subframes.].
As per claim 23, Ji et al. teach the operation method of claim 22. Ji et al. also teach wherein, in the determining of the delayed distance, the delayed distance is determined further based on an infinite impulse response (IIR) coefficient [Ji, ¶ 0046, “Further, an input parameter may be filtered to average across a certain time duration prior to being utilized to determine Ns. Thus, the input parameter may be processed by a filter to account for noise and ensure smoothness of input parameter related data. For example, the filter may be a finite impulse response (FIR) filter or an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter. It should be noted that the use of an FIR or IIR filter is merely exemplary and the input parameter may be processed by any type of filter that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness. Alternatively, the input parameters may be processed in any manner that accounts for noise or ensures smoothness of input parameter related data”, A channel estimation technique related coefficient comprises the IIR filter.] when the channel estimation technique uses an IIR filter [Ji, ¶ 0047, “In a second example, the estimate of the number of repetitions of a subframe (Ns) may be based on a look-up table. For example, the UE 110 may query a look-up table or a plurality of look-up tables stored within the memory arrangement 210. The look-up tables may be used to map certain input parameters to a Ns value. The input parameters may include, but are not limited to, SNR, transmission mode, doppler spread or delay spread”, The UE performs an estimate based on the number of repeated subframes (N), which range from the first subframe to the Nth subframe (see also ¶ 0051). The subframes are used to estimate the doppler spread (or delayed distance) of the channel, which may be utilized by the UE after receiving the Nth subframe. The look-up table contains a number of parameters, including IIR filter.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Yue et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0016030), teaches residual frequency offset estimation for a number of successive subframes in an NB-IoT system (see at least fig. 3, ¶s 0028-0030).
The reference, Ghimire et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0323903), teaches measuring frequency offset for DL PRS measurement (see fig. 8, steo 120 and ¶s 0411-0412).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417