DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 04/09/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, and 18-20 has/have been amended.
The objections to the claim(s) 11 and 13-17 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 01/13/2023.
The objection to claim(s) 18 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 04/09/2026.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 04/09/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 04/09/2026
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 15, and 20:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 11: ¶ 2 to Page 12: ¶ 2), filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 15, and 20 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Krauthamer et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220137428 A1), and further in view of Krauthamer (US Patent No. 11138801 B2); as well as in view of Smithwick (US PGPUB No. 20140333899 A1).
Regarding dependent claim(s) 4-5, 7-13, and 16:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 12: ¶ 4 to Page 13: ¶ 2), filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 4-5, 7-13, and 16 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due the dependency upon claims 1, 15, and 20 respectively. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer et al., US PGPUB No. 20220137428 A1, hereinafter Krauthamer, and further in view of Krauthamer, US Patent No. 11138801 B2, hereinafter Krauthamer-801.
Regarding claim 1, Krauthamer discloses an optical effect system (Krauthamer; an optical effect system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a sensor configured to capture sensor data (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a sensor configured to capture sensor data [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]);
a display system configured to display an image based on the sensor data (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a display system configured to display an image based on the sensor data [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, a display corresponds to a projector, LEDs, and/or light field [¶ 0029]);
a beam splitter disposed between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the optical effect area is observable through the beam splitter from the observation area (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a beam splitter disposed between the optical effect area and an observation area [¶ 0033-0034] such that the optical effect area is observable through the beam splitter from the observation area [¶ 0040-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2), wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area [¶ 0040-0041]); and
a control system (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a control system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
determine a characteristic associated with a person or object from the sensor data (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine a characteristic associated with a person or object from the sensor data [¶ 0033-0035 and ¶ 0038]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; even further, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]); and
determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine the image based on the characteristic such that the image is implicitly overlapping (given Pepper’s Ghost effects) with the person or object when viewed from the observation area when the image is displayed by the display system [¶ 0048-0050 and ¶ 0067], as illustrated within Fig. 6; wherein, an image generated to be visible to a viewer [¶ 0040-0042]; moreover, character and silhouette/shadow, fire, and/or lightning bolt [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0061-0062]).
Krauthamer fails to disclose a sensor configured to capture sensor data of a person or object located within an optical effect area;
determine a characteristic associated with the person or the object in the optical effect area from the sensor data; and
determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches a sensor configured to capture sensor data of a person or object located within an optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; a sensor configured to capture sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-39] of a person or object located within an optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, an AR system operates with various sensors [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1);
a display system configured to display an image based on the sensor data (Krauthamer-801; a display system (i.e. AR system, projector and screen) configured to display an image based on the sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, a projector direct AR imagery toward the partially reflective surface which in turn is viewable by an audience [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7, Col. 4, lines 24-40, and Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1);
a beam splitter disposed between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the optical effect area is observable through the beam splitter from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; a beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) disposed between the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) and an implicit observation area (given area associated within audience) such that the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) is observable through the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) from the implicit observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, the partially reflective surface separates the background scene and the audience while allowing the audience to view AR imagery [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1; moreover, Pepper’s Ghost effect [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23]; wherein an observation area is implicitly involves an area given an audience within a real-world environment), wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [as addressed above] is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, the projection of imagery toward an audience [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1); and
a control system (Krauthamer-801; a control system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 5, line 62 to Col. 6, line 23 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]) configured to:
determine a characteristic associated with the person or the object in the optical effect area from the sensor data (Krauthamer-801; the control system (i.e. AR system, processor) [as addressed above] is configured to determine a characteristic (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) associated with the person or the object in the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) from the sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the physical object and/or actor are trackable by the tracking system because of one or more determined features (e.g., shape, color, facial features, or RFID) that enable detection or recognition by the tracking system [id.]; even further, the tracking system able to identify a particular shape of the physical object and track movement of the physical object so that location data (e.g., a current location) can be readily identified in essentially real time [id.]); and
determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the control system (i.e. AR system, processor) [as addressed above] is configured to determine the image based on the characteristic (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) such that the image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (given area associated within audience) when the image is displayed by the display system (corresponding to projection) [Col. 7, line 7 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, the AR system using the tracking system is able to determine the shape and location of an actor and a (physical) lantern (prop) and determine the flame image based on the location and/or shape (corresponding to the physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) [id.]; wherein, the correlative effects system is able to use known positioning information (e.g., a defined route for the physical object and/or the AR imagery) to control the lighting system to provide correlative and immersive effects [id.]; even further, the AR system in which projection sources operate to adjust the lighting of a stage and/or imaging effects with respect to a virtual luminous object and adjust positioning of the virtual luminous object with respect to a physical object [Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 6, line to Col. 7, line 6]; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, the background scene 12 incorporates the stage 62 and the trackable physical object 66, which is a moving background object implicit overlapped with AR image 20 from the perceptive of the audience 18; additionally, overlapping a physical object within a virtual effect [Col. 4, lines 8-23 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23] when displaying AR imagery using a display system [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40]; moreover, a Pepper's Ghost effect includes reflecting the AR imagery such that a viewer may simultaneously view the AR imagery on the partially reflective surface in conjunction with features located on an opposite side of the partially reflective surface [Col. 4, lines 8-23]; such that, the Pepper's Ghost effect may cause the AR imagery to appear overlaid on objects or images positioned behind the partially reflective surface [id.]).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area; determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area from the sensor data; and determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 9, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is co-located with an object configured to emit light into the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the sensor is co-located with an object (i.e. lighting system) configured to emit light into the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, an AR system operates with various sensors [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate the sensor is co-located with an object configured to emit light into the optical effect area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 12, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the display system (Krauthamer; the display system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) comprises:
a projector configured to project the image onto a surface angled toward the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the display system [as addressed above] comprises a projector configured to project the image onto a surface angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0023-0024 and ¶ 0033-0034]; wherein, source image corresponds to a projection [¶ 0039]), or a backlit display configured to present the image (Krauthamer; a backlit display configured to present the image, wherein the backlit display is angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0023, ¶ 0031, and ¶ 0033]), wherein the backlit display is angled toward the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the backlit display [as addressed above] is angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0030-0033]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Smithwick et al., US PGPUB No. 20130069933 A1, hereinafter Smithwick.
Regarding claim 2, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the characteristic is associated with silhouette data corresponding to an outline of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the characteristic (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is associated with silhouette/shape data corresponding to an implicit outline (given a shape) of the person or the object in the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, immersive effects (i.e. shadow) based on tracking information (i.e. location and/or shape) of the real object [Col. 7, lines 40-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; in other words, a silhouette image corresponds to a real and/or virtual image presented with a shape upon the partially reflected surface that is a part of the AR imagery, such that the shadow, actor, prop object, and virtual luminous object embody silhouettes (i.e. outline, contour(s)) upon the partially reflective surface relative to the audience; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, a shadow 88, actor 80, prop object 66, and/or virtual luminous object 64 that present silhouettes upon the partially reflective surface 16 relative to the audience 18), and wherein the control system (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is configured to:
determine the image based on the silhouette data (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed above] configured to determine the (AR) image (presented to an audience) implicitly based on the silhouette/shape data [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, by tracking these physical aspects (e.g., the physical object and the actor) in the background scene, appropriate lighting adjustments to the lighting system can be made to make the augmented reality presentation of the AR system more immersive, and AR imagery is presented via a projector such that the positioning of the AR imagery correlates to the positioning of the physical object with respect to a line of sight for the audience [Col. 7, lines 7-39]); and
cause display of the image via the display system (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] configured to cause display of the image via the display system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]), wherein the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; wherein the (AR) image (presented to an audience) includes a dynamic (i.e. updatable/adjustable) darkened silhouette image (i.e. artificial created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) implicitly based on the silhouette/shape data [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13] and is reflected from the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; in other words, a dynamic silhouette image corresponds to the silhouette image (as mentioned above) that can be updated/adjusted based on location and that embodies coloring, shading, contract, and/or texture in a manner that is not transparent; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, an audience 18 is a to view a created AR imagery of a person 80, light 64, and shadow 88 based on the shape of the person 80 and location of the (prop) lantern object 66; additionally, the partially reflective surface allows for overlapping of real physical image data and virtual image data (correlating to AR imagery) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 23]; moreover, Pepper’s Ghost effect [Col. 4, lines 8-40]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate wherein the characteristic is associated with silhouette data corresponding to an outline of the person or the object in the optical effect area, and wherein the control system is configured to: determine the image based on the silhouette data; and cause display of the image via the display system, wherein the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 fails to explicitly disclose the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object.
However, Smithwick teaches the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Smithwick; the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. silhouette mask and POV) based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter (i.e. multi-view mask) such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (i.e. foreground or forward space in front of a multi-view mask associated with a viewer) [¶ 0021-0024], as illustrated within Figs. 1A-D; moreover, the multi-view mask of the display system is a view dependent mask that can be operated or controlled to block existing objects from all views or to provide a correct silhouette for a Pepper's Ghost of a real or physical 3D object or of a virtual object for all view points [¶ 0026-0027] involving an overlapping manner that can be created by the multi-view mask [¶ 0010-0011]; wherein, 3D content can be added as standalone objects or as overlays of physical 3D objects in the background space [id.]; and wherein, a display system includes a multi-view mask (or mask assembly) corresponding to a beam splitter [¶ 0035 and ¶ 0038], as illustrated within Fig. 4 and Fig. 5).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Smithwick), in order to provide realistic imagining within an augmented environment without the need for headgear (Smithwick; [¶ 0004-0007 and ¶ 0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to present the dynamic darkened silhouette image as co-located with the person or the object in the optical effect area when viewed from the observation area (Smithwick; the control system [¶ 0030 and ¶ 0032-0033] is configured to present the dynamic darkened silhouette image as co-located with the person or the object in the optical effect area when viewed from the observation area (i.e. foreground or forward space in front of a multi-view mask associated with a viewer) [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0026-0027]; wherein, the multi-view mask may be operated to provide a different silhouette mask depending on the viewpoint [¶ 0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate the control system is configured to present the dynamic darkened silhouette image as co-located with the person or the object in the optical effect area when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Smithwick), in order to provide realistic imagining within an augmented environment without the need for headgear (Smithwick; [¶ 0004-0007 and ¶ 0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to detect a plurality of characteristics comprising the characteristic of the person or the object (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to detect a plurality of characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) comprising the characteristic of the person or the object [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]), and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image comprises a visual representation of the person or the object that corresponds to the plurality of detected characteristics (Krauthamer-801; wherein the dynamic (i.e. updatable/adjustable) darkened silhouette image (i.e. artificial created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) comprises a visual representation (i.e. light/flame) of the person or the object that corresponds to the plurality of detected characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the lighting features that emulate the expected lighting effects of features provided in AR imagery [Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 23]), and wherein the plurality of detected characteristics comprises a size, a shape, the outline, a position, a movement, an orientation, a type, or any combination thereof (Krauthamer-801; the plurality of detected characteristics comprises a size, a shape, the outline, a position, a movement, an orientation, a type, or any combination thereof [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the physical object and/or actor are trackable by the tracking system because of one or more features (e.g., shape, color, facial features, or RFID) that enable detection or recognition by the tracking system [id.]; wherein, the tracking system able to identify a particular shape of the physical object and track movement of the physical object so that location data (e.g., a current location) can be readily identified in essentially real time [id.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate wherein the control system is configured to detect a plurality of characteristics comprising the characteristic of the person or the object, and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image comprises a visual representation of the person or the object that corresponds to the plurality of detected characteristics, and wherein the plurality of detected characteristics comprises a size, a shape, the outline, a position, a movement, an orientation, a type, or any combination thereof (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 5, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image is projected onto a retroreflector (Krauthamer-801; the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created light / flame within the AR image) is projected onto a retroreflector (i.e. reflective/mirror surface) [Col. 8, lines 25-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, the partially reflective surface allows for light/imagery to be reflected back [Col. 5, lines 24-61]; in other words, the silhouette image or dynamic silhouette image corresponds to a real and/or virtual image presented with a shape upon the partially reflected surface that is a part of the AR imagery, such that shadow, actor, prop object, and virtual luminous object embodies silhouettes (i.e. outline, contour(s)) upon the partially reflective surface in a non-transparent manner relative to the audience; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, shadow 88, actor 80, prop object 66, and virtual luminous object 64 presents silhouettes upon the partially reflective surface 16 relative to the audience 18), and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created light / flame within the AR image) and the retroreflector (i.e. reflective/mirror surface) [as addressed above] are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created light / flame within the AR image) and the retroreflector (i.e. reflective/mirror surface) [Col. 8, lines 25-61] are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23]; wherein, overlapping is implicit, given Pepper’s Ghost effect [id.]; moreover, the virtual image implicitly overlaps with the physical object upon the partially reflective surface from the prospective of the audience, as illustrated within Fig. 3; additional using the partially reflective surface to create the illusion of an overlap real and virtual objects is further illustrated within Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate the dynamic darkened silhouette image is projected onto a retroreflector, and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 7, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is configured to:
receive a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed above] is configured to receive a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]); and
cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed above] is configured to cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) is implicitly not presented (given the perspective rendering) to the observation area (given area associated within audience) based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, by tracking physical aspects (e.g., the physical object and the actor) in the background scene, appropriate lighting adjustments to the lighting system can be made to make the augmented reality presentation of the AR system more immersive [Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, lines 7-39]; wherein, AR imagery may be presented, via a projector of the lighting system, on the partially reflective surface such that the positioning of the AR imagery correlates to the positioning of the physical object with respect to a line of sight for the audience [id.]; in other words, perspective rendering (to achieve the desired effects); additionally, perceiving a virtual flame that involves a flickering flame movement establishes casting different shadows based on positioning [Col. 8, lines 14-59]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate the control system is configured to: receive a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area; and cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Smithwick further teaches to: cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Smithwick; causing display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. silhouette mask and POV) is implicitly not presented (given perspective rendering) to the observation area (i.e. foreground or forward space in front of a multi-view mask associated with a viewer) based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (i.e. background space) [¶ 0021-0024], as illustrated within Figs. 1A-D; wherein, the multi-view mask may be operated to provide a different silhouette mask depending on the viewpoint [id.]; moreover, the mask can be operated or controlled to block existing objects from all views or to provide a correct silhouette for a Pepper's Ghost of a real or physical 3D object or of a virtual object for all viewpoints [¶ 0026-0027], as illustrated within Figs. 1A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate causing display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (as taught by Smithwick), in order to provide realistic imagining within an augmented environment without the need for headgear (Smithwick; [¶ 0004-0007 and ¶ 0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to incorporate location data associated with the person or the object into the image based on measurements acquired by an optical sensor (Krauthamer-801; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to incorporate location data associated with the person or the object into the image based on implicit measurements (given tracking and determinations) acquired by an optical sensor (i.e. tracking system) [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate the control system is configured to incorporate location data associated with the person or the object into the image based on measurements acquired by an optical sensor (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 10, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, comprising a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separated from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (Krauthamer; comprising an implicit faux light source (given an artificial fire and/or lightning bolt) positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separated from the optical effect area [¶ 0027-0028 and ¶ 0061-0063] by the beam splitter [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0040-0041]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separated from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) or in a location separated from the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) by the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, lines 40-65]; additionally, virtual flame [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3; and even further, the AR system provides faux reflections of AR imagery in a scene [Col. 11, lines 28-45]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 11, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 10, wherein the image comprises a light (Krauthamer; the image comprises a light [¶ 0040-0042], as illustrated within Figs. 2 and 3).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches the image comprises a light (Krauthamer-801; the (AR) image comprises a light [Col. 7, lines 7-65]; moreover, the AR system in which projection sources operates is configured to adjust the lighting of a stage with respect to a virtual luminous object (e.g. light / flame) and adjust positioning of the virtual luminous object with respect to a physical object [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 6]; additionally, the AR imagery, which is a virtual luminous object, is projected by the projector [Col. 8, lines 14-61]), and wherein the light is reflected from the beam splitter such that the light is presented as emitting from the faux light source and causing the dynamic darkened silhouette image associated with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the light [as addressed above] is reflected from the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) such that the light is presented as emitting from the faux light source and causing the dynamic darkened silhouette image (i.e. updatable/adjustable artificially created colored-light and/or shadow within the AR image) associated with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, lines 40-65]; additionally, light is projected to establish a virtual flame [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate the image comprises a light, and wherein the light is reflected from the beam splitter such that the light is presented as emitting from the faux light source and causing the dynamic darkened silhouette image associated with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Claim(s) 15, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801, and further in view of Smithwick, US PGPUB No. 20140333899 A1, hereinafter Smithwick-899.
Regarding claim 15, Krauthamer discloses a method of operating an optical effects system of an attraction system (Krauthamer; a method of operating an optical effects system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2, of an attraction system [¶ 0019 and ¶ 0022]; wherein, special effects or enhance experiences at an amusement park using retroreflective techniques [¶ 0026] in relation with Pepper’s ghost effect [¶ 0050]; additionally, viewer/guest are able to have a ride experience [¶ 0043-0045]), the method comprising:
receiving, at a processing system, sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned (Krauthamer; the method [as addressed above] comprises receiving sensor data (further) comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned [¶ 0033-0035 and ¶ 0038] at a processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; wherein, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]), wherein the sensor data is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the sensor data [as addressed above] is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0040-0041]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0057]);
generating, at the processing system and based on the sensor data, image data for a display system (Krauthamer; the method [as addressed above] comprises generating image data for a display system [¶ 0033-0035] at the processing system and based on the sensor data [¶ 0036-0038]; moreover, a display corresponds to a projector, LEDs, and/or light field [¶ 0029]), wherein the image data comprises a shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object (Krauthamer; the image data [as addressed above] comprises a artificially created shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object [¶ 0057-0059 and ¶ 0062]); and
instructing, via the processing system, display of the image data for reflection via a beam spitter (Krauthamer; instructing display of the image data for reflection via a beam spitter via the processing system [¶ 0040-0042]; moreover, projection image [¶ 0034 and ¶ 0039]), wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect and combined the image data with a view of the optical effect area via positioning of the beam splitter between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the image data is overlaid with the view of the optical effect area from a viewing perspective of the observation area (Krauthamer; the beam splitter is configured to reflect and combined the image data with a view of the optical effect area via positioning of the beam splitter between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the image data is overlaid with the view of the optical effect area from a viewing perspective of the observation area [¶ 0039-0042]; wherein, combined imagery is implicit given Pepper’s Ghost effects corresponding to overlaid image data [¶ 0048-0050 and ¶ 0067]; additionally, character and silhouette/shadow within a stage environment [¶ 0057-0058]).
Krauthamer fails to disclose receiving, at a processing system, sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area; and
a virtual shadow.
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches receiving, at a processing system, sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; receiving sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13] at a processing system [Col. 5, line 62 to Col. 6, line 23 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, an AR system operates with various sensors that is/are received [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1; wherein, determining characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) associated with the person or the object located on the stage / background scene from the sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the physical object and/or actor are trackable by the tracking system because of one or more determined features (e.g., shape, color, facial features, or RFID) that enable detection or recognition by the tracking system [id.]; even further, the tracking system able to identify a particular shape of the physical object and track movement of the physical object so that location data (e.g., a current location) can be readily identified in essentially real time [id.]), wherein the sensor data is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the sensor data is received from a sensor [as addressed above] (is) configured to monitor the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, lines 7-65]; wherein, data from various sensors is/are received by the AR system within operation [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59]);
generating, at the processing system and based on the sensor data, image data for a display system (Krauthamer-801; generating image data for a display system (i.e. AR system, projector and screen) at the processing system and based on the sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, a projector direct AR imagery toward the partially reflective surface which in turn is viewable by an audience [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7, Col. 4, lines 24-40, and Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1), wherein the image data comprises a shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object (Krauthamer-801; the image data [as addressed above] comprises an artificially created shadow with one or more visual characteristics (i.e. shape) that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, immersive effects (i.e. shadow and/or light/flame) based on tracking information (i.e. location and/or shape) of the real object [id.], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, a shadow 88 of actor 80, is presented to the audience 18 as a generated image upon surface 16, based on the location of prop object 66 and (projected) virtual luminous object 64; additionally, creating an artificial shadow as an aspect of a presented image based on an virtualized image/graphic [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3); and
instructing, via the processing system, display of the image data for reflection via a beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; instructing display of the image data for reflection via a beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) via the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 5, line 62 to Col. 6, line 23 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]), wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect and combine the image data with a view of the optical effect area via positioning of the beam splitter between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the image data is overlaid with the view of the optical effect area from a viewing perspective of the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) is configured to reflect and combine the image data with a view of the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) via positioning of the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) between the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) and an implicit observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 7, lines 7-39] such that the image data is overlaid with the view of the optical effect area from a viewing perspective of the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 7, lines 40-65 and Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; wherein, overlapping a physical object within a virtual effect [Col. 4, lines 8-23 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23] when displaying AR imagery using a display system [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40]; even further, Fig. 2 illustrates, the background scene 12 incorporates the stage 62 and the trackable physical object 66, which is a moving background object implicit overlapped with AR image 20 from the perceptive of the audience 18; moreover, a Pepper's Ghost effect includes reflecting the AR imagery such that a viewer may simultaneously view the AR imagery on the partially reflective surface in conjunction (appearing overlaid) with features located on an opposite side of the partially reflective surface [Col. 4, lines 8-23]).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate receiving, at a processing system, sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area, wherein the sensor data is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area; generating, at the processing system and based on the sensor data, image data for a display system, wherein the image data comprises a virtual shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object; and instructing, via the processing system, display of the image data for reflection via a beam splitter, wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect and combine the image data with a view of the optical effect area via positioning of the beam splitter between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the image data is overlaid with the view of the optical effect area from a viewing perspective of the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 fails to explicitly disclose a virtual shadow.
However, Smithwick-899 teaches the image data comprises a virtual shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object (Smithwick-899; the image data comprises a virtual shadow (i.e. mask) [¶ 0035-0036 and ¶ 0038-0039], as illustrated within Fig. 2, with one or more implicit visual characteristics (given a size and/or shape) that correspond to the one or more implicit characteristics (given a size and/or shape) of the person or the object [¶ 0040-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 3; moreover, Fig. 3 illustrates, mask 224 (corresponding to a virtual shadow having a darkened silhouette) of the interactive element virtual object 348 with the implicit shape (corresponding to visual characteristic) that corresponds to the implicit shape (corresponding to characteristic) of the virtual object 348 using a beamsplitter 360; wherein, interactive element corresponds to props or still/animated characters [¶ 0034-0035]; wherein, displaying a virtual object concurrently with a mask [¶ 0037], and dynamically generate the mask images and virtual object images [¶ 0016 and ¶ 0038-0039]; and wherein, one or more characteristics correspond to mask images and virtual object images used to defined the projected masks (size, location, and any animation) and the displayed virtual objects (size, shape, location, and any animation) (e.g., to match the mask to the virtual object) [id.]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate to: generate image data comprising a virtual shadow; and wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (as taught by Smithwick-899), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick-899; [¶ 0002, ¶ 0004, ¶ 0006, and ¶ 0013]).
Regarding claim 16, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 further discloses the method of claim 15, comprising:
receiving, at the processing system, first position information associated with the person or the object (Krauthamer; receiving 1st position information associated with the person or the object [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, sensors are configured to detect a location [¶ 0026] and detect character and/or lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]);
receiving, at the processing system, second position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer; receiving 2nd position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, detecting location of objects [¶ 0026], such as lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]; additionally, light elements are tracked to calculate where the shadows may be cast [¶ 0060-0062]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on an association of the first position information with the second position information (Krauthamer; generating the image data based on an association of the 1st position information with the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches receiving, at the processing system, first position information associated with the person or the object (Krauthamer-801; receiving an implicit 1st position information (given movement/location tracking) associated with the person or the object (within the stage / background scene) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39] at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 5, line 24 to Col. 6, line 23]; moreover, tracking location data of the object and/or actor [Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]);
receiving, at the processing system, second position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; receiving an implicit 2nd position information (given adjustments based on movement/location tacking info) of a light source associated with the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39]; wherein, adjustments of the light source (i.e. projector and/or lighting system) affects the stage / background scene [Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; additionally, active lighting based on positioning information [Col. 8, line 14-61]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on an association of the first position information with the second position information (Krauthamer-801; generating the image data based on an association of the 1st position information (given movement/location tracking associated with a person or object) with the 2nd position information (given adjustments of lighting based on movement/location tacking info) at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the AR system in which projection sources operate to adjust the lighting of a stage with respect to a virtual luminous object and adjust positioning of the virtual luminous object with respect to a physical object [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 6]; additionally, the AR imagery (e.g. virtual luminous object) is projected by the projector onto the partially reflective surface to appear to be positioned within the 3D space of the background scene and to interact with a background object to generate the shadow [Col. 8, line 14-61]; wherein, the positioning of the various lamps may also be adjusted in combination with activation of different lamps at different positions [id.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899, to incorporate receiving, at the processing system, first position information associated with the person or the object; receiving, at the processing system, second position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area; and generating, at the processing system, the image data based on an association of the first position information with the second position information (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 18, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the light source is a real light source configured to emit a light towards the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the light source is a real light source configured to emit a light towards the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, physical or 3D object illuminated by a light source [¶ 0040-0042]); and
wherein the method comprises generating, at the processing system, the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer; generating the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the 1st position information and the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, immersive effects (e.g. the shadow) may be animated to update with a location and/or shape of the real image, the image source, and the decorative lighting elements as well as with the physical space in which the real image is displaced and the image source is located corresponding to an image mapping technique [¶ 0059]; wherein, adjustments to the image source and/or the decorative light elements may be based on pre-calculations of lighting within an environment to generate immersive effects (e.g. shadow) [¶ 0059]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches generating, at the processing system, the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer-801; generating the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the 1st position information (given movement/location tracking associated with a person or object) and the 2nd position information (given adjustments of lighting based on movement/location tacking info) at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, by tracking these physical aspects (e.g., the physical object and the actor) in the background scene, appropriate lighting adjustments to the lighting system can be made to make the AR presentation of the AR system more immersive, such that the positioning of the AR imagery correlates (i.e. maps) to the positioning of the physical object with respect to a line of sight for the audience [Col. 7, line 7-39]; still further, image mapping technique corresponds to the AR system in which projection sources operate to adjust the lighting of a stage with respect to a virtual luminous object and adjust positioning of the virtual luminous object with respect to a physical object [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 6]; additionally, the AR imagery (e.g. virtual luminous object) is projected by the projector onto the partially reflective surface to appear to be positioned within the 3D space of the background scene and to interact with a background object to generate the shadow [Col. 8, line 14-61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899, to incorporate generating, at the processing system, the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the first position information and the second position information (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 19, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 further discloses the method the method of claim 15, comprising:
transmitting, via the processing system, instructions to the display system (Krauthamer; transmitting instructions to the display system via the processing system [¶ 0036-0037]; wherein, the controller may execute hardware and/or software control algorithms to regulate activation or movement [¶ 0033-0035]), wherein the instructions are configured to cause the display of the shadow on a surface (Krauthamer; the instructions are configured to cause the display of the artificially created shadow on a surface [¶ 0057-0058]; wherein, light elements to cast shadows is based on light information [¶ 0059 and ¶ 0061-0062]), and wherein the shadow and the surface are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the artificially created shadow and the surface are configured to be reflected and implicitly combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, combined imagery is implicit given Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0048-0050]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches to cause the display of the shadow on a wall (Krauthamer-801; to cause the display of the artificially created shadow on a wall (i.e. background scene) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7, Col. 5, lines 24-61, and Col. 7, lines 40-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, shadow creation upon a surface within a background scene [Col. 6, lines 24-59 and Col. 8, lines 14-40], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, the background scene includes physical components [Col. 2, line 44 to Col. 3, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40], such as a surface [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 4), and wherein the shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the view of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; the artificially created shadow and the wall (i.e. background scene) are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 3, a beam splitter is used to overlap a background with shadow image [Col. 8, lines 14-61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899, to incorporate to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a wall, and wherein the virtual shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Smithwick-899 further teaches to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a wall (Smithwick-899; causing the display of the virtual shadow (i.e. mask) on a wall (i.e. behind upon a background scene surface) [¶ 0040], as illustrated within Fig. 3; moreover, projectable mask that appears upon a wall [¶ 0034-0036]; additionally, upright shadow [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0046-0047], as illustrated within Fig. 4), and wherein the virtual shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the view of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (Smithwick-899; the virtual shadow (i.e. mask) and the wall (i.e. behind upon a background scene surface) are configured to be reflected and combined with the view of the optical effect area (i.e. background set or display) via the beam splitter [¶ 0034-0035, ¶ 0040, and ¶ 0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899, to incorporate causing the display of the virtual shadow on a wall, and wherein the virtual shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the view of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (as taught by Smithwick-899), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick-899; [¶ 0002, ¶ 0004, ¶ 0006, and ¶ 0013]).
Regarding claim 20, Krauthamer discloses an attraction system of an amusement park (Krauthamer; an attraction system of an amusement park [¶ 0019 and ¶ 0022]; wherein, special effects or enhance experiences at an amusement park using retroreflective techniques [¶ 0026] in relation with Pepper’s ghost effect [¶ 0050]; additionally, viewer/guest are able to have a ride experience [¶ 0043-0045]), the attraction system comprising:
an optical effect system (Krauthamer; attraction system [as addressed above] comprises an optical effect system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a primary stage configured to accommodate an implicit interactive element (given a performance space) [¶ 0039-0041]; wherein, interactive element involves light control side of a beam splitter [¶ 0042 and ¶ 0050]; moreover, physical manipulation of the image source [¶ 0046], associated with a primary stage corresponds to a character standing in space that is displayable to an audience (e.g. performance space) [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0063]);
a secondary stage configured to accommodate a display (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a secondary stage configured to accommodate a display [¶ 0039-0041]; even further, projection/display wherein providing media data is provided [¶ 0042 and ¶ 0048-0050]);
a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a sensor configured to detect one or more 1st characteristics associated with the implicit interactive element [¶ 0033-0035]; wherein, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area (i.e. optical effect area) [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; even further, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]); and
a control system comprising a processor system (Krauthamer; a control system comprises a processer system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
receive sensor data from the sensor (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to receive sensor data from the sensor [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]), wherein the sensor data comprises the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer; wherein the sensor data comprises the one or more 1st characteristics [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038]; moreover, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) [¶ 0026] and detect character and/or lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]);
generate image data comprising a shadow (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to generate image data comprising an artificially created shadow [¶ 0057-0059]; additionally, casting shadows based on one or more lighting effects [¶ 0060-0062]), wherein the shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer; the artificially created shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the implicit interactive element with one or more 2nd characteristics that correspond to the one or more 1st characteristics [¶ 0057-0059]); and
cause display of the image data within the secondary stage (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to cause display of the image data within the secondary stage [¶ 0039-0041]); and
a beam splitter disposed between the primary stage and an observation area (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a beam splitter disposed between the primary stage and an observation area [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, the beam splitter in relation with a Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050]), wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area (Krauthamer; wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area [¶ 0040-0042 and ¶ 0050]), and wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element (Krauthamer; the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view an implicit combination of the reflected display of the image data and the implicit interactive element [¶ 0043-0045]; wherein, generating a real image in combination is implicit given a Pepper’s ghost effect within an amusement environment [¶ 0048-0050] in relation with producing a modified rendering effect [¶ 0057-0058]).
Krauthamer fails to disclose a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element located on the primary stage;
a virtual shadow; and
a combination of the reflected display of the image data overlaid with the interactive element.
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element (Krauthamer-801; a primary stage (i.e. stage, background scene) configured to accommodate an interactive element [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, AR image of a flame is positioned based on movement/interactivity of/with a prop lantern [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]);
a secondary stage configured to accommodate a display (Krauthamer-801; a secondary stage (i.e. projector, AR scene) configured to accommodate a display [Col. 8, lines 13-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3; additionally, AR scene in relation with presenting/display data to the audience [Col. 5, lines 24-61, Col. 6, lines 24-59, and Col. 10, line 44 to Col. 11, line 27], as illustrated within Fig. 1 and Fig. 7);
a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element located on the primary stage (Krauthamer-801; a sensor configured to detect one or more 1st characteristics [Col. 7, lines 7-39] associated with the interactive element located on the primary stage (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, an AR system operates with various sensors [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1; wherein, determining characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) associated with the person or the object located on the primary stage (i.e. stage, background scene) from the sensor data [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the physical object and/or actor are trackable by the tracking system because of one or more determined features (e.g., shape, color, facial features, or RFID) that enable detection or recognition by the tracking system [id.]; even further, the tracking system able to identify a particular shape of the physical object and track movement of the physical object so that location data (e.g., a current location) can be readily identified in essentially real time [id.]);
a control system comprising a processor system (Krauthamer-801; a control system comprising a processor system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 5, line 62 to Col. 6, line 23 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]) configured to:
receive sensor data from the sensor (Krauthamer-801; the control/processor system [as addressed above] configured to receive sensor data from the sensor [Col. 7, lines 7-65]; wherein, data from various sensors is/are received by the AR system within operation [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59]), wherein the sensor data comprises the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer-801; wherein the sensor data comprises (information of) the one or more 1st characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the physical object and/or actor are trackable by the tracking system because of one or more determined features (e.g., shape, color, facial features, or RFID) that enable detection or recognition by the tracking system [id.]; and moreover, taking inputs from the tracking system and providing outputs to the lighting system in relation with rendering visual effects [Col. 7, lines 40-65]; wherein, the tracking system able to identify a particular shape of the physical object and track movement of the physical object so that location data can be readily identified [Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]);
generate image data comprising a shadow (Krauthamer-801; the control/processor system [as addressed above] configured to generate image data comprising an artificially created shadow [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, immersive effects (i.e. shadow and/or light/flame) based on tracking information (i.e. location and/or shape) of the real object [id.], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, a shadow 88 of actor 80, is presented to the audience 18 as a generated image upon surface 16, based on the location of prop object 66 and (projected) virtual luminous object 64; additionally, creating an artificial shadow as an aspect of a presented image based on an virtualized image/graphic [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3), wherein the shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer-801; the artificially created shadow comprises a darkened silhouette (wherein shadows are darkened) of the interactive element with one or more 2nd characteristics (i.e. additional physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) that correspond to the one or more 1st characteristics (i.e. physical aspect(s) and/or feature(s)) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2; in other words, the shape and location (corresponding to 2nd characteristics) of the shadow correspond to the shape and location (corresponding to 1st characteristics) of the actor and/or prop lantern; additionally, the created shadow is modified in response to modifications to a virtually create fire/flame [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3); and
cause display of the image data within the secondary stage (Krauthamer-801; control/processor system [as addressed above] configured to cause display of the image data within the secondary stage (i.e. projector, AR scene) [Col. 8, lines 13-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3; additionally, AR scene [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 10, line 44 to Col. 11, line 27], as illustrated within Fig. 1 and Fig. 7; moreover, a characteristic of one scene can be modified based on a different characteristic of the other scene, such that the correlative effects system may operate to adjust brightness in the background scene based on a contrast in the AR scene [Col. 6, lines 24-59]; wherein, detecting and adjusting lighting in either (or both) of a physical (e.g., a theatre stage) or a virtual scene (e.g. a scene provided by an electronic display based on output from the sensors [id.]); and
a beam splitter disposed between the primary stage and an observation area (Krauthamer-801; a beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) disposed between the primary stage (i.e. stage, background scene) and an implicit observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, the partially reflective surface separates the background scene and the audience while allowing the audience to view AR imagery [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1; wherein an observation area is implicitly involves an area given an audience within a real-world environment; moreover, Pepper’s Ghost effect [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23]), wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [as addressed above] is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area (given area associated within audience) [Col. 7, lines 7-39], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, the partially reflective surface [Col. 5, lines 24-61] is configured to manipulate light and directed toward the audience [Col. 5, line 62 to Col. 6, line 3 and Col. 6, lines 24-59], as illustrated within Fig. 1; additionally, Fig. 3 further illustrates a Pepper’s Ghost illusion using the partially reflective surface that manipulates light/imagery toward the audience [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23 and Col. 8, lines 14-61]), and wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data overlaid with the interactive element (Krauthamer-801; the observation area (given area associated within audience) [as addressed above] is positioned to enable a guest/observer of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data overlaid with the interactive element [Col. 7, lines 40-65 and Col. 8, lines 14-61]; wherein, overlapping a physical object within a virtual effect [Col. 4, lines 8-23 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23] when displaying AR imagery using a display system [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40]; even further, Fig. 2 illustrates, the background scene 12 incorporates the stage 62 and the trackable physical object 66, which is a moving background object implicit overlapped with AR image 20 from the perceptive of the audience 18; moreover, a Pepper's Ghost effect includes reflecting the AR imagery such that a viewer may simultaneously view the AR imagery on the partially reflective surface in conjunction (appearing overlaid) with features located on an opposite side of the partially reflective surface [Col. 4, lines 8-23]; still further, the AR system corresponds to an amusement attraction [Col. 1, lines 6-15]).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element; a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element; wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics; and wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data overlaid with the interactive element (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 fails to disclose to: generate image data comprising a virtual shadow; and
wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element.
However, Smithwick-899 teaches to: generate image data comprising a virtual shadow (Smithwick-899; generating image data comprising a virtual shadow (i.e. mask) [¶ 0035-0036 and ¶ 0038-0039], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, the projected mask is associated with a Pepper’s Ghost system [¶ 0040 and ¶ 0042-0043], as illustrated within Fig. 3); and
wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (Smithwick-899; the virtual shadow (i.e. mask) [as addressed above] comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more 2nd implicit characteristics (given a size and/or shape) that correspond to the one or more 1st implicit characteristics (given a size and/or shape) [¶ 0040-0042], as illustrated within Fig. 3; moreover, Fig. 3 illustrates, mask 224 (corresponding to a virtual shadow having a darkened silhouette) of the interactive element virtual object 348 with the implicit shape (corresponding to 2nd characteristic) that corresponds to the implicit shape (corresponding to 1st characteristic) of the virtual object 348 using a beamsplitter 360; wherein, interactive element corresponds to props or still/animated characters [¶ 0034-0035]; wherein, displaying a virtual object concurrently with a mask [¶ 0037], and dynamically generate the mask images and virtual object images [¶ 0016 and ¶ 0038-0039]; and wherein, one or more characteristics correspond to mask images and virtual object images used to defined the projected masks (size, location, and any animation) and the displayed virtual objects (size, shape, location, and any animation) (e.g., to match the mask to the virtual object) [id.]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate to: generate image data comprising a virtual shadow; and wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (as taught by Smithwick-899), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick-899; [¶ 0002, ¶ 0004, ¶ 0006, and ¶ 0013]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick as applied to claim(s) 2 above, and further in view of Smithwick et al., US PGPUB No. 20120313839 A1, hereinafter Smithwick-839.
Regarding claim 6, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, comprising a lighting effect system configured to keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area (Krauthamer; a lighting effect system configured to keep an implicit foreground (given the space between a beam splitter and a real image) of the optical effect area and an implicit background (given the space between the beam splitter and a retroreflector) of the optical effect area [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2), wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (Krauthamer; the implicit foreground (given the space between a beam splitter and a real image) is closer to the observation area than the implicit background (given the space between the beam splitter and a retroreflector) [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; an implicitly foreground (given an area at or near the partially reflective surface) of the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) more lit (given projection and lights near the partially reflective surface, lighting system) than an implicitly background (given an area far from partially reflective surface) of the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 4, lines 24-40 and Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, stage lights [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3; in other words, the increased lighting in front of the stage in compared to the back of the stage allows for a shadow to generated), wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (Krauthamer-801; the foreground (given an area at or near the partially reflective surface) is closer to the observation area (given area associated within audience) than the background (given an area far from partially reflective surface) [Col. 7, lines 7-65], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, Fig. 2 illustrates, the position of the stage and its parts (front and back) relative to the audience; additionally, the configuration of the stage with respects to the audience [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area, wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick fails to explicitly disclose a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area.
However, Smithwick-839 comprising a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area (Smithwick-839; a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area [¶ 0034-0036]; wherein, a dynamic mask is capable of occluding background objects and casting shadows when exposed to light in the real world [¶ 0026-0027], such that a rear wall may be dark or black [¶ 0029]), wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (Smithwick-839; wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background [¶ 0029-0030], as illustrated within Fig. 2A).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick and Smithwick-839 are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick, to incorporate a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area, wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (as taught by Smithwick-839), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick-839; [¶ 0004-0006 and ¶ 0009-0011]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Smithwick-839.
Regarding claim 13, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, comprising a control system (Krauthamer; a control system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
generate a three-dimensional (3D) rendering of the optical effect area (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to generate a 3D rendering of the optical effect area [¶ 0023, ¶ 0042-0043, and ¶ 0057]; moreover, generating a real image observable by a viewer [¶ 0039]);
Krauthamer-801 further teaches to: generate a three-dimensional (3D) rendering of the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; generating a 3D rendering [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7] the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39 and Col. 8, lines 14-61]);
determine a position of a person or an object within the 3D rendering (Krauthamer-801; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine a position of a person or an object within the 3D rendering [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, positing of the AR imagery using the tracking system [Col. 7, lines 7-39]; moreover, the illusion of 3D imaging [Col. 8, lines 14-61] corresponding to AR imagery [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23]); and
generate the image comprising a shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object (Krauthamer-801; control system [as addressed above] configured to generate the (AR) image comprising an artificial created shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object [Col. 7, lines 40-65]; additionally, the illusion of a shadow created for a virtual object [Col. 8, lines 14-61]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 fails to explicitly a virtual shadow.
However, Smithwick-839 teaches generate the image comprising a virtual shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object (Smithwick; generate the image comprising a virtual shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object [¶ 0036-0038], as illustrated within Fig. 2A; moreover, masks may be added to allow physical foreground objects to occlude the virtual object [¶ 0035 and ¶ 0039]; additionally, generation of a mask in relation with Pepper’s Ghost [¶ 0044 and ¶ 0046]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839 are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate generate the image comprising a virtual shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object (as taught by Smithwick-839), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick-839; [¶ 0002, ¶ 0004, ¶ 0006, and ¶ 0010]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839 as applied to claim(s) 13 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al., US PGPUB No. 20080231631 A1, hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding claim 14, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 13, wherein the control system is configured to generate the image of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to generate the image of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source [¶ 0057-0059]; wherein, imaging and creating an artificial shadow is based on controlled lighting and/or projection [¶ 0060-0062]; wherein, generating a real image is based on 3D image source [¶ 0042], associated with a light source [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0027-0029]).
Smithwick-839 further teaches generating an image data based on determining a shadow of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source (Smithwick-839; generating an image data based on determining a shadow of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source [¶ 0026-0027 and ¶ 0036]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839 fails to discloses a shadow mapping.
However, Matsumura teaches generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (Matsumura; generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping [¶ 0045 and ¶ 0053]; moreover, depth values of a virtual space as viewed from a viewpoint of the virtual light source are recorded in the shadow map [¶ 0060]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839 and Matsumura are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce virtualized imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-839, to incorporate generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (as taught by Matsumura), in order to provide a high degree of realism for three-dimensional imaging (Matsumura; [¶ 0004]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 as applied to claim(s) 16 above, and further in view of Matsumura.
Regarding claim 17, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises three-dimensional (3D) data associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises 3D data associated with the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0059]; wherein, generating a real image is based on 3D image source [¶ 0042], associated with a light source [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0027-0029]), and wherein the method comprises:
generating, at the processing system, a 3D digital representation based on the 3D data (Krauthamer; generating a 3D digital representation based on the 3D data [¶ 0057-0058] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; additionally, an object may emit light [¶ 0061-0062]);
determining, at the processing system, a shadow of the optical effect area based on the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer; determining a shadow of the optical effect area based on the 1st position information and the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, shadow info based on lighting info [¶ 0060-0062]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on the shadow (Krauthamer; generating the image data based on the shadow [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; wherein, real images of objects have dark areas where shadows are cast [¶ 0061-0062]; and wherein, real images are presented to a viewer [¶ 0042-0043]).
Krauthamer-801 fail disclose wherein the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises three-dimensional (3D) data associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises 3D data associated with the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39]; wherein, adjustments of the light source (i.e. projector and/or lighting system) affects the stage / background scene [Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; additionally, active lighting based on positioning information [Col. 8, line 14-61]), and wherein the method comprises:
generating, at the processing system, a 3D digital representation of the optical effect area based on the 3D data (Krauthamer-801; generating a 3D digital representation of the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) based on the 3D data [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7] based on the 3D (i.e. AR) data at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 7, lines 7-65]; moreover, the illusion of 3D imaging [Col. 8, lines 14-61] corresponding to AR imagery [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 23]);
determining, at the processing system, a shadow of the optical effect area based on the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer-801; determining a shadow of the optical effect area (i.e. stage, background scene) based on the 1st position information (given movement/location tracking associated with a person or object) and the 2nd position information (given adjustments of lighting based on movement/location tacking info) at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 7, line 40 to Col. 8, line 13]; moreover, the AR system in which projection sources operate to adjust the lighting of a stage with respect to a virtual luminous object and adjust positioning of the virtual luminous object with respect to a physical object [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 6]; additionally, the AR imagery (e.g. virtual luminous object) is projected by the projector onto the partially reflective surface to appear to be positioned within the 3D space of the background scene and to interact with a background object to generate the shadow [Col. 8, line 14-61]; wherein, the positioning of the various lamps may also be adjusted in combination with activation of different lamps at different positions [id.]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on the shadow (Krauthamer-801; generating the image data based on the shadow at the processing system (i.e. AR system, processor) [Col. 7, lines 40-65 and Col. 8, lines 14-61]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 fails to discloses a shadow mapping.
However, Matsumura teaches generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (Matsumura; generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping [¶ 0045 and ¶ 0053]; moreover, depth values of a virtual space as viewed from a viewpoint of the virtual light source are recorded in the shadow map [¶ 0060]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899 and Matsumura are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce virtualized imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick-899, to incorporate generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (as taught by Matsumura), in order to provide a high degree of realism for three-dimensional imaging (Matsumura; [¶ 0004]).
Conclusion
Regarding the subject matter of claim 2:
Based on the interview of 03/31/2026, it is recognized that Applicant seeks the subject matter of the dynamic darkened silhouette image to correspond to a shadow, however the claim language is broader than intended by Applicant. Even further, Smithwick et al. (US PGPUB No. 20120313839 A1) teaches dynamic darkened silhouette image to correspond to an occluding mask 229 and/or shadow 238 within Fig. 2A (Smithwick; [¶ 0035-0037]; also, [¶ 0044], as illustrated within Fig. 3).
Also consider, Smithwick (US PGPUB No. 20140333899 A1) teaching of a mask 224 (Smithwick; [¶ 0034-0043], as illustrated within Figs. 2 and 3).
Also consider, O’Hagan et al. (US Patent No. 11100695 B1) teachings of a virtual character avatar 306 and lighting effect 316 within Fig. 3 (O’Hagan; [Col. 12, line 47 to Col. 15, line 34 and Col. 16, line 37 to Col. 17, line 3]) as well as lighting effect 806 within Fig. 8 (O’Hagan; [Col. 18, line 30 to Col. 19, line 41]).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611