DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a spacial relation” which is interpreted as “a spatial relation”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer et al., US PGPUB No. 20220137428 A1, hereinafter Krauthamer, and further in view of Krauthamer, US Patent No. 11138801 B2, hereinafter Krauthamer-801.
Regarding claim 1, Krauthamer discloses an optical effect system (Krauthamer; an optical effect system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a sensor configured to capture sensor data from an optical effect area (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a sensor configured to capture sensor data from an optical effect area [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area (i.e. optical effect area) [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]);
a display system configured to display an image based on the sensor data (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a display system configured to display an image based on the sensor data [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, a display corresponds to a projector, LEDs, and/or light field [¶ 0029]);
a beam splitter disposed between the optical effect area and an observation area such that the optical effect area is observable through the beam splitter from the observation area (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a beam splitter disposed between the optical effect area and an observation area [¶ 0033-0034] such that the optical effect area is observable through the beam splitter from the observation area [¶ 0040-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2), wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area [¶ 0040-0041]); and
a control system (Krauthamer; the system [as addressed above] comprises a control system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area from the sensor data (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area from the sensor data [¶ 0033-0035 and ¶ 0038]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; even further, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]); and
determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine the image based on the characteristic such that the image is implicitly overlapping (given Pepper’s Ghost effects) with the person or object when viewed from the observation area when the image is displayed by the display system [¶ 0048-0050 and ¶ 0067], as illustrated within Fig. 6; wherein, an image generated to be visible to a viewer [¶ 0040-0042]; moreover, character and silhouette/shadow, fire, and/or lightning bolt [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0061-0062]).
Krauthamer fails to disclose the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area.
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the beam splitter (i.e. reflective surface) is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 39], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2);
determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area from the sensor data (Krauthamer-801; determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area (i.e. stage) from the sensor data [Col. 6, line 24 to Col. 7, line 39]; moreover, tracking system [Col. 6, line 66 to Col. 7, line 13]); and
determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; determining the image based on the characteristic such that the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area when the image is displayed by the display system [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23]; wherein, the semi-transparent reflective surface enables an overlapping/superimposing effect [Col. 4, lines 8-40]).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate wherein the beam splitter is positioned to reflect light from the image toward the observation area; determine a characteristic associated with a person or object in the optical effect area from the sensor data; and determine the image based on the characteristic such that, when the image is displayed by the display system, the image is overlapping with the person or object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 2, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the characteristic is associated with silhouette data corresponding to an outline of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the characteristic is associated with silhouette data (i.e. silhouette of a character, or opaque material that blocks light from passing through) corresponding to an implicit outline (given a silhouette) of the person or the object in the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; moreover, immersive effects (i.e. shadow) may be animated to update with a location and/or shape of the real image [¶ 0059-0060 and ¶ 0067], and lighting is tracked to calculate where the shadows may be cast in a physical space [¶ 0061]), and wherein the control system (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is configured to:
determine the image based on the silhouette data (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to determine the image (i.e. shadow) based on the silhouette data [¶ 0057-0058]); and
cause display of the image via the display system (Krauthamer; the control system configured to cause display of the image via the display system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]), wherein the image includes a dynamic darkened silhouette image based on the silhouette data and is reflected from the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; wherein the image includes a dynamic (i.e. animated or updatable) darkened silhouette image (i.e. a shadow) based on the silhouette data (i.e. silhouette of a character, or opaque material that blocks light from passing through) [¶ 0057-0059] and is reflected from the beam splitter [¶ 0040-0041] such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area [¶ 0057-0059 and ¶ 0067]; moreover, real images of the objects may have dark areas where the shadows may be cast [¶ 0061-0062]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object (Krauthamer-801; the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) is overlapping with the person or the object [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 23]; wherein, the semi-transparent reflective surface enables an overlapping/superimposing effect [Col. 4, lines 8-40]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate the dynamic darkened silhouette image is overlapping with the person or the object (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 3, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to present the dynamic darkened silhouette image as co-located with the person or the object in the optical effect area when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to present the dynamic darkened silhouette image as co-located with the person or the object [¶ 0061] in the optical effect area when viewed from the observation area [¶ 0057-0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to detect a plurality of characteristics comprising the characteristic of the person or the object (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to detect a plurality of characteristics comprising the characteristic of the person or the object [¶ 0057-0059]; wherein, the objects have shadows lit digitally or physically corresponding to real images of the objects having dark areas where the shadows may be cast [¶ 0061-0062]), and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image comprises a visual representation of the person or the object that corresponds to the plurality of detected characteristics (Krauthamer; wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image comprises a visual representation of the person or the object that corresponds to the plurality of detected characteristics [¶ 0038-0039, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0057-0059]; wherein, light elements of an object are factored [¶ 0061]; additionally, immersive effects in relation with characteristics [¶ 0067]), and wherein the plurality of detected characteristics comprises a size, a shape, the outline, a position, a movement, an orientation, a type, or any combination thereof (Krauthamer; the plurality of detected characteristics [as addressed above] comprises a size, a shape, the outline, a position, a movement, an orientation, a type, or any combination thereof [¶ 0038-0039, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0059]; wherein, position (and/or structural features) of the real image is determined [¶ 0042-0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image is projected onto a retroreflector (Krauthamer; the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) [¶ 0057-0059] is projected onto a retroreflector [¶ 0024-0025]), and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector [as addressed above] are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter [¶ 0040-0042] such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the retroreflector are implicitly overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area [¶ 0057-0058] wherein, overlapping is implicit given Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0048-0050 and ¶ 0067]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image is projected onto a physical wall (Krauthamer-801; the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) is projected onto a physical wall (i.e. background scene) [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 8, lines 14-40], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, the background scene includes physical components [Col. 2, line 44 to Col. 3, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40], such as a surface [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 4; additionally, a physical theatre stage [Col. 6, lines 24-59]), and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the physical wall are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the physical wall are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer-801; the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) and the physical wall (i.e. background scene) are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) and the physical wall (i.e. background scene) are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7]; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 3, a beam splitter is used to overlap a background with shadow image [Col. 8, lines 14-61]; and wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 4, a beam splitter is used to overlap a background with an image [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image is projected onto a physical wall, and wherein the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the physical wall are configured to be reflected by the beam splitter such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image and the physical wall are overlapping with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 7, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is configured to:
receive a location of the person or object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to receive a location of the person or object in the optical effect area [0058-0059]; wherein, detecting a location of a display object or a location of a guest [¶ 0026-0027]); and
cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, lighting conditions may cause shadows not to be generated in the real image [¶ 0057 and ¶ 0061-0062]; wherein, a silhouette associated with a shadow is implicitly caused to change based on lighting).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches to: cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (Krauthamer-801; causing display of the image to change such that the implicit dynamic darkened silhouette image (given a shadow) is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area [Col. 4, line 41 to Col. 5, line 23 and Col. 7, lines 40-65]; moreover, lighting characteristics [Col. 6, lines 24-59 and Col. 8, lines 33-61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate to: cause display of the image to change such that the dynamic darkened silhouette image is not presented to the observation area based on a location of the person or the object in the optical effect area (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 8, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to incorporate location data associated with the person or the object into the image based on measurements acquired by an optical sensor (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to incorporate location data associated with the person or the object into the image based on implicit measurements (given tracking and determinations) acquired by an optical sensor [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0058-0059]; moreover, wherein, one or more sensors includes an optical/photoelectric sensor [¶ 0030, ¶ 0034, and ¶ 0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is co-located with an object configured to emit light (Krauthamer; the sensor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is co-located (i.e. communicatively coupled) with an object (i.e. image source) configured to emit light [¶ 0033-0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, comprising a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (Krauthamer; comprising an implicit faux light source (given an artificial fire and/or lightning bolt) positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area [¶ 0027-0028 and ¶ 0061-0063] by the beam splitter [¶ 0030-0031 and ¶ 0040-0041]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches comprising a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; a faux light source (i.e. mirror) positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 4; wherein, AR system provides faux reflections of AR imagery in a scene [Col. 11,lines 28-45]; moreover, virtual flame [Col. 8, lines 14-61], as illustrated within Fig. 3, and partially reflective surface [Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 7, lines 7-39], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate a faux light source positioned in the optical effect area or in a location separate from the optical effect area by the beam splitter (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 11, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 10, wherein the image comprises a light (Krauthamer; the image comprises a light [¶ 0040-0042], as illustrated within Figs. 2 and 3), and wherein the light is reflected from the beam splitter such that the light is presented as emitting from the faux light source and causing the dynamic darkened silhouette image associated with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area (Krauthamer; the light [as addressed above] is reflected from the beam splitter such that the light is presented as emitting from the faux light source (i.e. real image, e.g. fire and/or lighten bolt) [¶ 0061-0063] and causing the dynamic darkened silhouette image associated with the person or the object when viewed from the observation area [¶ 0057-0059]; additionally, Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0067]; moreover, light beams associated with the lightning bolt may be emitted from one or more LED string lights and directed to the beam splitter, such that a portion of the light beams may be reflected off the partially or fully transparent beam splitter and directed towards the retroreflector [¶ 0026, ¶ 0028, and ¶ 0030]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches the faux light source (Krauthamer-801; the faux light source (i.e. mirror) in relation with the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 8, lines 14-61 and Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39], as illustrated within Figs. 3 and 4; wherein, AR system provides faux reflections of AR imagery in a scene [Col. 5, lines 24-61, Col. 7, lines 7-39, and Col. 11, lines 28-45]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate the faux light source (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 12, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, wherein the display system (Krauthamer; the display system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) comprises:
a projector configured to project the image onto a surface angled toward the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the display system [as addressed above] comprises a projector configured to project the image onto a surface angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0023-0024 and ¶ 0033-0034]; wherein, source image corresponds to a projection [¶ 0039]), or a backlit display configured to present the image (Krauthamer; a backlit display configured to present the image, wherein the backlit display is angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0023, ¶ 0031, and ¶ 0033]), wherein the backlit display is angled toward the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the backlit display [as addressed above] is angled toward the beam splitter [¶ 0030-0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 1, comprising a control system (Krauthamer; a control system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
generate a three-dimensional (3D) rendering of the optical effect area (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to generate a 3D rendering of the optical effect area [¶ 0023, ¶ 0042-0043, and ¶ 0057]; moreover, generating a real image observable by a viewer [¶ 0039]);
determine a position of a person or an object within the 3D rendering (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to determine a position of a person or an object within the 3D rendering [¶ 0057-0059]); and
generate the image comprising a virtual shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to generate the image comprising a virtual shadow of the person or the object based on the determined position of the person or the object [¶ 0057-0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Krauthamer discloses a method of operating an optical effects system of an attraction system (Krauthamer; a method of operating an optical effects system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2, of an attraction system [¶ 0019 and ¶ 0022]; wherein, special effects or enhance experiences at an amusement park using retroreflective techniques [¶ 0026] in relation with Pepper’s ghost effect [¶ 0050]; additionally, viewer/guest are able to have a ride experience [¶ 0043-0045]), the method comprising:
receiving, at a processing system, sensor data comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area (Krauthamer; the method [as addressed above] comprises receiving sensor data (further) comprising one or more characteristics of a person or an object positioned within an optical effect area [¶ 0033-0035 and ¶ 0038] at a processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; wherein, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]), wherein the sensor data is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the sensor data [as addressed above] is received from a sensor configured to monitor the optical effect area [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0040-0041]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0057]);
generating, at the processing system, image data based on the sensor data for a display system (Krauthamer; the method [as addressed above] comprises generating image data based on the sensor data for a display system [¶ 0033-0035 and ¶ 0038] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, a display corresponds to a projector, LEDs, and/or light field [¶ 0029]), wherein the image data comprises a virtual shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object (Krauthamer; the image data [as addressed above] comprises a virtual shadow with one or more visual characteristics that correspond to the one or more characteristics of the person or the object [¶ 0057-0059 and ¶ 0062]); and
instructing, via the processing system, display of the image data (Krauthamer; instructing display of the image data via the processing system [¶ 0040-0042]; moreover, projection image [¶ 0034 and ¶ 0039]), wherein the image data is configured to be reflected and combined with imagery of the optical effect area via a beam splitter (Krauthamer; the image data is configured to be reflected and implicitly combined with imagery of the optical effect area via a beam splitter [¶ 0040-0042]; wherein, combined imagery is implicit given Pepper’s Ghost effects [¶ 0048-0050 and ¶ 0067]; additionally, character and silhouette/shadow within a stage environment [¶ 0057-0058]).
Krauthamer fails to explicitly teach combined with imagery of the optical effect area.
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches the image data is configured to be reflected and combined with imagery of the optical effect area via a beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; the image data is configured to be reflected and combined with imagery of the optical effect area via a beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 52], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate the image data is configured to be reflected and combined with imagery of the optical effect area via a beam splitter (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 16, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the method of claim 15, comprising:
receiving, at the processing system, first position information associated with the person or the object (Krauthamer; receiving 1st position information associated with the person or the object [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, sensors are configured to detect a location [¶ 0026] and detect character and/or lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]);
receiving, at the processing system, second position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer; receiving 2nd position information of a light source associated with the optical effect area [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, detecting location of objects [¶ 0026], such as lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]; additionally, light elements are tracked to calculate where the shadows may be cast [¶ 0060-0062]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on an association of the first position information with the second position information (Krauthamer; generating the image data based on an association of the 1st position information with the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the light source is a real light source configured to emit a light towards the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the light source is a real light source configured to emit a light towards the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, physical or 3D object illuminated by a light source [¶ 0040-0042]); and
wherein the method comprises generating, at the processing system, the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spacial relation between the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer; generating the image data by applying an image mapping technique based on a spatial relation between the 1st position information and the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, immersive effects (e.g. the shadow) may be animated to update with a location and/or shape of the real image, the image source, and the decorative lighting elements as well as with the physical space in which the real image is displaced and the image source is located corresponding to an image mapping technique [¶ 0059]; wherein, adjustments to the image source and/or the decorative light elements may be based on pre-calculations of lighting within an environment to generate immersive effects (e.g. shadow) [¶ 0059]).
Regarding claim 19, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the method the method of claim 15, comprising:
transmitting, via the processing system, instructions to the display system (Krauthamer; transmitting instructions to the display system via the processing system [¶ 0036-0037]; wherein, the controller may execute hardware and/or software control algorithms to regulate activation or movement [¶ 0033-0035]), wherein the instructions are configured to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a surface (Krauthamer; the instructions are configured to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a surface [¶ 0057-0058]; wherein, light elements to cast shadows is based on light information [¶ 0059 and ¶ 0061-0062]), and wherein the virtual shadow and the surface are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (Krauthamer; the virtual shadow and the surface are configured to be reflected and implicitly combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, combined imagery is implicit given Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0048-0050]).
Krauthamer-801 further teaches to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a wall (Krauthamer-801; to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a wall (i.e. background scene) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 5, lines 24-61 and Col. 8, lines 14-40], as illustrated within Fig. 3; wherein, the background scene includes physical components [Col. 2, line 44 to Col. 3, line 7 and Col. 4, lines 24-40], such as a surface [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39], as illustrated within Fig. 4; additionally, a physical theatre stage [Col. 6, lines 24-59]), and wherein the virtual shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (Krauthamer-801; the virtual shadow and the wall (i.e. background scene) are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (i.e. partially reflective surface) [Col. 3, line 44 to Col. 4, line 7 and Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 52], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 3, a beam splitter is used to overlap a background with shadow image [Col. 8, lines 14-61]; and wherein, as illustrated within Fig. 4, a beam splitter is used to overlap a background with an image [Col. 8, line 62 to Col. 9, line 39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate to cause the display of the virtual shadow on a wall, and wherein the virtual shadow and the wall are configured to be reflected and combined with the imagery of the optical effect area via the beam splitter (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Regarding claim 20, Krauthamer discloses an attraction system of an amusement park (Krauthamer; an attraction system of an amusement park [¶ 0019 and ¶ 0022]; wherein, special effects or enhance experiences at an amusement park using retroreflective techniques [¶ 0026] in relation with Pepper’s ghost effect [¶ 0050]; additionally, viewer/guest are able to have a ride experience [¶ 0043-0045]), comprising:
an optical effect system (Krauthamer; attraction system [as addressed above] comprises an optical effect system [¶ 0033-0034 and ¶ 0039-0040], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a primary stage configured to accommodate an implicit interactive element (given a performance space) [¶ 0039-0041]; wherein, interactive element involves light control side of a beam splitter [¶ 0042 and ¶ 0050]; moreover, physical manipulation of the image source [¶ 0046], associated with a primary stage corresponds to a character standing in space that is displayable to an audience (e.g. performance space) [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0063]);
a secondary stage configured to accommodate a display (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a secondary stage configured to accommodate a display [¶ 0039-0041]; even further, projection/display wherein providing media data is provided [¶ 0042 and ¶ 0048-0050]);
a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a sensor configured to detect one or more 1st characteristics associated with the implicit interactive element [¶ 0033-0035]; wherein, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area (i.e. optical effect area) [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]; moreover, generated light defining imaging [¶ 0039-0041] forms a 3D real image (further corresponding to an object) [¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, and ¶ 0050]; even further, the real image further corresponding to character [¶ 0057-0058 and ¶ 0062]; wherein, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) associated with a person (i.e. viewer or guest) or object [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0030]); and
a control system comprising a processor system (Krauthamer; a control system comprises a processer system [¶ 0036]) configured to:
receive sensor data from the sensor (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to receive sensor data from the sensor [¶ 0033-0035]; moreover, one or more sensors may be configured to detect a location of the display object or a location of the guest within the viewing area [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0038]), wherein the sensor data comprises the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer; wherein the sensor data comprises the one or more 1st characteristics [¶ 0030, ¶ 0033-0035, and ¶ 0038]; moreover, sensors are configured to detect a location (i.e. characteristic) [¶ 0026] and detect character and/or lighting effects [¶ 0057-0059]);
generate image data comprising a virtual shadow (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed above] configured to generate image data comprising a virtual shadow [¶ 0057-0059]; additionally, casting shadows based on one or more lighting effects [¶ 0060-0062]), wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer; the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the implicit interactive element with one or more 2nd characteristics that correspond to the one or more 1st characteristics [¶ 0057-0059]); and
cause display of the image data within the secondary stage (Krauthamer; control system [as addressed above] configured to cause display of the image data within the secondary stage [¶ 0039-0041]); and
a beam splitter disposed between the primary stage and an observation area (Krauthamer; optical effect system [as addressed above] comprises a beam splitter disposed between the primary stage and an observation area [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2; moreover, the beam splitter in relation with a Pepper’s Ghost effect [¶ 0048 and ¶ 0050]), wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area (Krauthamer; wherein the beam splitter is configured to reflect the display of the image data towards the observation area [¶ 0040-0042 and ¶ 0050]), and wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element (Krauthamer; the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view an implicit combination of the reflected display of the image data and the implicit interactive element [¶ 0043-0045]; wherein, generating a real image in combination is implicit given a Pepper’s ghost effect within an amusement environment [¶ 0048-0050] in relation with producing a modified rendering effect [¶ 0057-0058]).
Krauthamer fails to disclose an interactive element; and
a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element.
However, Krauthamer-801 teaches a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element (Krauthamer-801; a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 52], as illustrated within Fig. 2; wherein, physical objects are trackable [Col. 7, lines 7-39 and Col. 7, line 66 to Col. 8, line 13]);
a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element (Krauthamer-801; a sensor configured to detect one or more 1st characteristics associated with the interactive element [Col. 7, line 7 to Col. 8, line 13], as illustrated within Fig. 2);
wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics (Krauthamer-801; the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more 2nd characteristics that correspond to the one or more 1st characteristics (i.e. lighting and shading characteristics) [Col. 7, lines 40-65 and Col. 8, lines 14-61]); and
wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element (Krauthamer-801; the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element [Col. 6, line 60 to Col. 7, line 52], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Krauthamer and Krauthamer-801 are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer, to incorporate a primary stage configured to accommodate an interactive element; a sensor configured to detect one or more first characteristics associated with the interactive element; wherein the virtual shadow comprises a darkened silhouette of the interactive element with one or more second characteristics that correspond to the one or more first characteristics; and wherein the observation area is positioned to enable a guest of the attraction system to view a combination of the reflected display of the image data and the interactive element (as taught by Krauthamer-801), in order to provide an increased realistic and immersive visualization (Krauthamer-801; [Col. 1, lines 5-41]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 as applied to claim(s) 2 above, and further in view of Smithwick et al., US PGPUB No. 20120313839 A1, hereinafter Smithwick.
Regarding claim 6, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 2, comprising a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area (Krauthamer; a lighting effect system configured keep an implicit foreground (given the space between a beam splitter and a real image) of the optical effect area and an implicit background (given the space between the beam splitter and a retroreflector) of the optical effect area [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2), wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (Krauthamer; the implicit foreground (given the space between a beam splitter and a real image) is closer to the observation area than the implicit background (given the space between the beam splitter and a retroreflector) [¶ 0039-0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2).
Krauthamer fails to teach a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area.
However, Smithwick comprising a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area (Smithwick; a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area [¶ 0034-0036]; wherein, a dynamic mask is capable of occluding background objects and casting shadows when exposed to light in the real world [¶ 0026-0027], such that a rear wall may be dark or black [¶ 0029]), wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (Smithwick; wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background [¶ 0029-0030], as illustrated within Fig. 2A).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Smithwick are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a mixed/augmented reality effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate a lighting effect system configured keep a foreground of the optical effect area more lit than a background of the optical effect area, wherein the foreground is closer to the observation area than the background (as taught by Smithwick), in order to provide enhanced visual effects within real world environments without requiring headgear (Smithwick; [¶ 0004-0006 and ¶ 0009-0011]).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 as applied to claim(s) 13 and 16 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al., US PGPUB No. 20080231631 A1, hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding claim 14, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the optical effect system of claim 13, wherein the control system is configured to generate the image based at least on a determined shadow of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source (Krauthamer; the control system [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to generate the image based at least on a determined shadow of the 3D rendering associated with the position of the person or the object and a location of a digital light source [¶ 0057-0059]; moreover, shadow info based on lighting info [¶ 0060-0062]; wherein, generating a real image is based on 3D image source [¶ 0042], associated with a light source [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0027-0029]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 fails to discloses a shadow mapping.
However, Matsumura teaches generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (Matsumura; generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping [¶ 0045 and ¶ 0053]; moreover, depth values of a virtual space as viewed from a viewpoint of the virtual light source are recorded in the shadow map [¶ 0060]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Matsumura are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce virtualized imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (as taught by Matsumura), in order to provide a high degree of realism for three-dimensional imaging (Matsumura; [¶ 0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises three-dimensional (3D) data associated with the optical effect area (Krauthamer; the light source comprises a digital light source and the sensor data comprises 3D data associated with the optical effect area [¶ 0057-0059]; wherein, generating a real image is based on 3D image source [¶ 0042], associated with a light source [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0027-0029]), and wherein the method comprises:
generating, at the processing system, a 3D digital representation of the optical effect area based on the 3D data (Krauthamer; generating a 3D digital representation of the optical effect area based on the 3D data [¶ 0057-0058] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; additionally, an object may emit light [¶ 0061-0062]);
determining, at the processing system, a shadow of the optical effect area based on the first position information and the second position information (Krauthamer; determining a shadow of the optical effect area based on the 1st position information and the 2nd position information [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; moreover, shadow info based on lighting info [¶ 0060-0062]); and
generating, at the processing system, the image data based on the shadow (Krauthamer; generating the image data based on the shadow [¶ 0057-0059] at the processing system [¶ 0036]; wherein, real images of objects have dark areas where shadows are cast [¶ 0061-0062]; and wherein, real images are presented to a viewer [¶ 0042-0043]).
Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801 fails to discloses a shadow mapping.
However, Matsumura teaches generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (Matsumura; generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping [¶ 0045 and ¶ 0053]; moreover, depth values of a virtual space as viewed from a viewpoint of the virtual light source are recorded in the shadow map [¶ 0060]).
Krauthamer in view of Krauthamer-801 and Matsumura are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce virtualized imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Krauthamer as modified by Krauthamer-801, to incorporate generating an image data based on determining a shadow mapping (as taught by Matsumura), in order to provide a high degree of realism for three-dimensional imaging (Matsumura; [¶ 0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611