DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 13-15 are amended. Claim 20 is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kovero U.S. Patent Application 2019/0238957 (hereinafter “Yli-Kovero”) and further in view of Stoupis et al. U.S. Patent Application 2009/0281740 (hereinafter “Stoupis”) and Mladenik et al. U.S. Patent Application 2005/0018371 (hereinafter “Mladenik”).
Regarding claim 1, Yli-Kovero teaches a sauna (i.e. sauna room 10)(fig.1) comprising: current detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]); voltage detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]); and logic and control circuity (refer to access unit 140)(fig.1)(refer also to [0033] and [0057]) in communication with the current detection circuitry and with the voltage detection circuitry (refer to [0033] and [0057]), the logic and control circuitry configured to capture current and voltage data, to perform analysis of the captured data to detect malfunctions of individual components of the sauna (refer to [0057] and [0065]), and to generate alerts based on detection of malfunctions (refer to [0033] and [0057]); however Yli-Kovero does not teach the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry and the voltage detection circuitry being galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry, the logic and control circuitry configured to capture the current and voltage data over time, and the malfunctions being latent or gradual malfunctions. However, Stoupis teaches the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry (refer to current transformer 178)(fig.3) and the voltage detection circuitry being galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry (refer to voltage transformers 180)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero to include the protection system including galvanically isolated voltage and current detectors of Stoupis to provide the advantage of providing intelligent protection from faults. However, Yli-Kovero and Stoupis do not teach the logic and control circuitry configured to capture the current and voltage data over time, and the malfunctions being latent or gradual malfunctions. However, Mladenik teaches the logic and control circuitry configured to capture the current and voltage data over time (refer to [0086] and figure 11), and the malfunctions being latent or gradual malfunctions (refer to [0086] and figure 11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero and Stoupis to include the logic and control over time of Mladenik to provide the advantage of preventing damage due to steady state faults and allowing for prediction of the lifetime of components to facilitate replacement, thereby minimizing downtime.
Regarding claim 2, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the detected malfunction comprises an over-current condition, an over-voltage condition, an under-voltage condition, or combinations thereof (refer to Stoupis [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the logic and control circuitry is further operable to actuate disconnect circuitry to disconnect power to the sauna upon detection of a malfunction (refer to Yli-Kovero [0058])(refer also to Stoupis [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the galvanically isolated current detection circuitry comprises a transformer, an optical isolator, or combinations thereof (i.e. Stoupis current transformer 178)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry comprises a transformer, an optical isolator, or combinations thereof (i.e. Stoupis voltage transformer 178)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 6, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the logic and control circuitry comprises communication circuitry operable to communicate over a local or wide-area network (refer to Yli-Kovero [0036])(refer also to Stoupis [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 1, wherein the logic and control circuitry comprises a processor (i.e. Yli-Kovero processor 330)(fig.3)(i.e. Stoupis CPU 174)(fig.3) and a memory (i.e. Yli-Kovero memory 340)(fig.3)(i.e. Stoupis Memory 175)(fig.3) having instructions stored thereon which, when executed, cause the processor to perform data monitoring and storage operations (refer to Yli-Kovero [0033])(refer also to Stoupis [0022] and [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Yli-Kovero teaches a sauna (i.e. sauna room 10)(fig.1) comprising: current detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]); logic and control circuity (refer to access unit 140)(fig.1)(refer also to [0033] and [0057]) in communication with the current detection circuitry (refer to [0033] and [0057]), the logic and control circuitry configured to capture current data for individual components of the sauna (refer to [0033], [0057], and [0065]), to analyze the captured current date to detect changes indicative of a malfunction or impending malfunction of the components (refer to [0033] and [0057])(impending malfunction is claimed in the alternative and therefore not necessary to fulfil the claim limitations), and to alert a user to the detected malfunction of impending malfunction (refer to [0033] and [0057]); however Yli-Kovero does not teach the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry; the logic and control circuity configured to capture the current data over time and the changes being gradual changes. However, Stoupis teaches the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry (refer to current transformer 178)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero to include the protection system including galvanically isolated voltage and current detectors of Stoupis to provide the advantage of providing intelligent protection from faults. However, Yli-Kovero and Stoupis do not teach the logic and control circuity configured to capture the current data over time and the changes being gradual changes. However, Mladenik teaches the logic and control circuity configured to capture the current data over time (refer to [0086] and figure 11) and the changes being gradual changes (refer to [0086] and figure 11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero and Stoupis to include the logic and control over time and gradual changes of Mladenik to provide the advantage of preventing damage due to steady state faults and allowing for prediction of the lifetime of components to facilitate replacement, thereby minimizing downtime.
Regarding claim 9, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 8, wherein the detected malfunction comprises an over-current condition (refer to Stoupis [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 8, wherein the logic and control circuitry is further operable to actuate disconnect circuitry to disconnect power to the sauna upon detection of a malfunction (refer to Yli-Kovero [0058])(refer also to Stoupis [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 8, wherein the galvanically isolated current detection circuitry comprises a transformer, an optical isolator, or combinations thereof (i.e. Stoupis current transformer 178)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 12, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 8, further comprising galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry (i.e. Stoupis voltage transformer 178)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 13, Yli-Kovero teaches a sauna (i.e. sauna room 10)(fig.1) comprising: current detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]) configured to detect current associated with a plurality of electrical components of the sauna (refer to [0033], [0057], and [0065]); and logic and control circuity (refer to access unit 140)(fig.1)(refer also to [0033] and [0057]) in communication with the current detection circuitry (refer to [0033] and [0057]), the logic and control circuitry configured to analyze detected current data to detect changes indicative of a malfunction or impending malfunction of the components (refer to [0033] and [0057])(impending malfunction is claimed in the alternative and therefore not necessary to fulfil the claim limitations), and to alert a user to the detected malfunction of impending malfunction (refer to [0033] and [0057]); however Yli-Kovero does not teach the current detection circuitry being a plurality of galvanically isolated current detection circuitry modules wherein each module is configured to monitor current flow to a component; and the changes being gradual changes. However, Stoupis teaches the current detection circuitry being a plurality of galvanically isolated current detection circuitry modules (refer to current transformer 178)(fig.3)(refer also to [0022]) wherein each module is configured to monitor current flow to a component (refer to current transformer 178)(fig.3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero to include the protection system including galvanically isolated voltage and current detectors of Stoupis to provide the advantage of providing intelligent protection from faults. However, Yli-Kovero and Stoupis do not teach the changes being gradual changes. However, Mladenik teaches the changes being gradual changes (refer to [0086] and figure 11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero and Stoupis to include the detection of gradual changes of Mladenik to provide the advantage of preventing damage due to steady state faults and allowing for prediction of the lifetime of components to facilitate replacement, thereby minimizing downtime.
Regarding claim 14, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 13, wherein the detected malfunction comprises an over-current condition (refer to Stoupis [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 13, wherein the logic and control circuitry is further operable to actuate disconnect circuitry to disconnect power to the sauna upon detection of a malfunction (refer to Yli-Kovero [0058])(refer also to Stoupis [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 13 wherein the galvanically isolated current detection circuitry comprises a transformer, an optical isolator, or combinations thereof (i.e. Stoupis current transformer 178)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 17, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 13, wherein the logic and control circuitry comprises communication circuitry operable to communicate over a local or wide-area network (refer to Yli-Kovero [0036])(refer also to Stoupis [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 17, wherein the logic and control circuitry comprises a processor (i.e. Yli-Kovero processor 330)(fig.3)(i.e. Stoupis CPU 174)(fig.3) and a memory (i.e. Yli-Kovero memory 340)(fig.3)(i.e. Stoupis Memory 175)(fig.3) having instructions stored thereon which, when executed, cause the processor to perform data monitoring and storage operations (refer to Yli-Kovero [0033])(refer also to Stoupis [0022] and [0028]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Yli-Kovero, Stoupis, and Mladenik teach the sauna of claim 18, wherein the logic and control circuitry is operable to periodically capture and store sauna parameters and to generate reports comprising the captured parameters (refer to Mladenik [0101]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yli-Kovero and further in view of Mrowiec et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,495,381 (hereinafter “Mrowiec”).
Regarding claim 20, Yli-Kovero teaches a sauna (i.e. sauna room 10)(fig.1) comprising: a power source (implicit)(refer to power connector 40)(fig.1); a power load (refer to sauna room 10 and sauna monitoring system 100)(fig.1) comprising one or more electrically powered components of the sauna (implicit); current detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]) configured to detect a current supplied from the power source to the power load (refer to [0027], [0057] and [0065]); voltage detection circuitry (refer to metering unit 190)(fig.1)(refer also to [0027]) configured to detect a voltage of the power source (refer to [0027], [0057] and [0065]); and logic and control circuity (refer to access unit 140)(fig.1)(refer also to [0033] and [0057]) in communication with the current detection circuitry and with the voltage detection circuitry (refer to [0033] and [0057]), wherein the logic and control circuitry is configured to receive current data from the current detection circuitry and to receive voltage data from the voltage detection circuitry (refer to [0033] and [0057]), and to generate an alert upon detection of a fault condition based on the received current data or voltage data (refer to [0033] and [0057]); however Yli-Kovero does not teach the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry disposed between the power source and the power load and the voltage detection circuitry being galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry disposed between the power source and a neutral or ground line of the sauna. However, Mrowiec teaches the current detection circuitry being galvanically isolated current detection circuitry (refer to abstract and current detection circuitry in the figure below)(fig.1) disposed between the power source (i.e. generator 100)(fig.1) and the power load (i.e. load bus 106)(fig.1) and the voltage detection circuitry being galvanically isolated voltage detection circuitry (refer to abstract and voltage detection circuitry in the figure below)(fig.1) disposed between the power source (i.e. generator 100)(fig.1) and a neutral or ground line of the sauna (i.e. ground in the figure below)(fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sauna of Yli-Kovero to include the protection system including galvanically isolated voltage and current detectors of Mrowiec to provide the advantage of protecting the logic and control circuitry from damage due to the large voltage and currents running through the sauna by isolating the sensor output from the sensor input.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838