DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on March 21, 2024 and October 28, 2024 have been considered. Initialed copies of the Form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanoto et al (2014/0002025), hereinafter Yamanoto in view of Wang et al (11,424,635), hereinafter Wang.
With respect to claims 1 and 12, Yamanoto teaches a method of charging an energy source in a vehicle coupled to an external charging system (electric vehicle 100 having battery 11 charged with electric power received from external power source 50 through outlet cable 40: paragraph 0019), the method comprising: receiving, by a control module associated with the vehicle, a first user input indicative of a selected charging mode from among a plurality of charging modes (instantaneous and timer charging modes; a user may select an optional charging mode from among multiple preset charging modes through interface device 25: paragraphs 0020 and 0023); determining, by the control module, an expected duration of time for a charging event associated with the selected charging mode (determining a charge state time and charge stop time for the selected timer-charging mode, thereby defining the charging time zone and expected charging duration: paragraphs 0023 and 0028-0035); receiving, by the control module, a current temperature indicator from a temperature sensor associated with the vehicle (battery-temperature sensor 14 detecting the temperature of battery 11 and supplying the detected temperature for monitoring and control: paragraphs 0022, 0024, and 0027); determining, by the control module, a current temperature associated with the energy source based on the current temperature indicator (battery control device 12 monitors the temperature of battery 11 and charge control device 21 checking the battery temperature during timer-charge control: paragraphs 0022, 0024, and 0037-0042); determining, by the control module, a temperature control charging current for the charging event based at least in part on the current temperature and the expected duration of time for the charging event (battery control device 12 determines requested charging power based on monitored battery conditions, including battery temperature, and transmits the requested power to charge control device 21: paragraphs 0021-0022; battery temperature affects allowable charging current and consequently the charging duration, the selected timer mode establishes a charging time zone and target charge amount: paragraphs 0023-0024, 0028-0035, and 0058); and transmitting, by the control module, a current request for the temperature control charging current (request charging power internally from battery control device 12 to charge control device 21 and controls onboard battery charger 22: paragraphs 0021-0022).
Yamanoto however fails to specifically teach the current request for the temperature control charging current to the external charging system.
With respect to claims 1 and 12, Wang teaches a vehicle controller configured to request a particular constant charging current from an offboard charging station (column 3, lines 3-30 and column 11, lines 32-46) and further teaches communicating a charging request from the vehicle controller to an offboard smart charger, with the smart charger determining the battery pack’s requirement for the requested current and transmitting the requested current to the battery pack as a charging current (column 11, lines 47-62 and claims 4, 6, and 7).
In view of Wang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamanoto’s charging system to communicate the requested charging current to an offboard charger as taught by Wang. One would be motivated to communicate the requested charging current to an offboard charger in order to coordinate the current supplied by the offboard charger with the charging current determined by the vehicle controller.
5. Claims 2-4, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanoto in combination with Wang and in further view of Diaz et al (2018/0189686), hereinafter Diaz.
Yamanoto’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Wang are disclosed above (regarding claim 18, see above rejection with respect to claims 1 and 12). Yamanoto further teaches a user interface device 25 (paragraph 0029/figure 4).
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Yamanoto teaches the method, wherein: the charging mode selection includes a first element for receiving a second user input indicative of a user’s expectation of a duration of time for the charging event; and determining the expected duration of time for the charging event is further based on the second user input (user directly enters a charge start time and charge stop time through interface device 25: The interval between those times indicates the user’s expected duration of the charging event; charge control device uses the user-entered start and stop times to establish the timer-charge time zone and perform its charging calculations: paragraphs 0023, 0029-0030).
With respect to claims 4 and 20, Yamanoto teaches providing the charging mode selection comprises automatically providing the charging mode selection in response to detecting a connection between a charging port of the vehicle and the external charging system (paragraph 0020).
With respect to claim 19, Yamamoto teaches the vehicle system, wherein: the expected duration of time is influenced by a targeted state of charge for the energy source (designating a target charge amount and performing charging when the current battery charge is below the target charge amount: paragraphs 0058-0061); and the energy source comprises at least one of a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS) and a rechargeable high voltage battery pack (rechargeable vehicle battery 11 that supplies electric power to the vehicle drive motor: paragraphs 0018-0022).
The combination however fails to specifically teach the GUI recited in claims 2, 3, 13, and 18.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 13, and 18, Diaz teaches the method, wherein receiving the first user input comprises: transmitting, by the control module, a display request for a charging mode selection graphical user interface (GUI) to be displayed on a user interface device associated with the vehicle, wherein the charging mode selection GUI includes a plurality of GUI elements for receiving the first user input indicative of the selected charging mode; and determining, by the control module, the selected charging mode in response to manipulation of a respective GUI element of the plurality of GUI elements associated with the selected charging mode (charging-related information and selectable interfaces are displayed on a smartphone or other connected object: paragraphs 0014, 0046-0050, 0067 and 0171-0173; the mobile application displays sets of selectable icons, buttons, lists, and other objects: paragraphs 0059, 0063, 0080-0085, 0108, 0122-0125, and 0142-0148).
In view of Diaz’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamanoto’s user interface to so that the interface is displayed on a user device as taught by Diaz. One would be motivated to provide Yamanoto’s selectable charging modes as respective GUI elements, as taught by Diaz, in order to permit the user to conveniently view and select a desired charging mode through the vehicle-associated user-interface device.
6. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanoto in combination with Wang and Diaz and in further view of Malli Raghavan et al (2023/0415594), hereinafter Malli.
Yamanoto’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Wang and Diaz are disclosed above. The combination however fails to specifically teach receiving, by the control module, a vehicle park indicator indicating that a transmission of the vehicle has been placed into park; and wherein the control module transmits the display request in response to receiving the vehicle park indicator.
With respect to claim 5, Malli teaches the method, further comprising receiving, by the control module, a vehicle park indicator indicating that a transmission of the vehicle has been placed into park; and wherein the control module transmits the display request in response to receiving the vehicle park indicator (0030-0035 and 0044).
In view of Malii’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the control module of the modified Yamamoto system to include an indicator indicating the vehicle has been placed into park, as is taught by Malii. One would be motivated to include this indicator in order to ensure that the vehicle is stationary and ready for charging before presenting the charging-mode options.
7. Claims 6, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanoto in combination with Wang and in further view of Ha (2024/0312260).
Yamanoto’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Wang are disclosed above. The combination however fails to specifically teach determining an initial state of charge of the energy source prior to the charging event, wherein determining the expected duration of time for charging the energy source above the targeted state of charge comprises calculating the expected duration of time based on a relationship between the initial state of charge and the targeted state of charge.
With respect to claim 6, Ha teaches the method, wherein the expected duration of time corresponds to charging the energy source above a targeted state of charge (determining an estimated charging time for charging the battery to a preset capacity based on the estimated state of charge and battery temperature: paragraphs 0061 and 0065-0066).
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Ha teaches determining an initial state of charge of the energy source prior to the charging event, wherein determining the expected duration of time for charging the energy source above the targeted state of charge comprises calculating the expected duration of time based on a relationship between the initial state of charge and the targeted state of charge (paragraphs 0061-0066 and 0076-0077).
In view of Ha’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto’s charging system to calculate the expected charging duration based on the relationship between the initial state of charge and the targeted state of charge. One would be motivated to complete this calculation in order to more accurately determine the time required to charge the battery to the desired level of charge, allowing the user to better plan the charging event.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 8-11, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s reason for allowance: Although Yamanoto in combination with the other applied references teaches a method of charging an energy source in a vehicle coupled to an external charging system, wherein the method includes receiving, a first user input indicative of a selected charging mode from among a plurality of charging modes, determining, an expected duration of time for a charging event associated with the selected charging mode; receiving, a current temperature indicator from a temperature sensor associated with the vehicle; determining, a current temperature associated with the energy source based on the current temperature indicator; determining, by the control module, a temperature control charging current for the charging event based at least in part on the current temperature and the expected duration of time for the charging event; and transmitting, a current request for the temperature control charging current, the above identified prior art of record, taken alone, or in combination with any other prior art, fails to teach or fairly suggest the specific features of claims 8-11, 16, and 17 of the present claimed invention. Specifically, prior art fails to teach the claimed method, further comprising determining a temperature limit associated with the energy source based at least in part on a current operating context, wherein determining the temperature control charging current comprises determining the temperature control charging current for the charging event based at least in part on a difference between the temperature limit and the current temperature. Prior art additionally fails to teach the claimed method, wherein determining the temperature control charging current comprises calculating a value for the temperature control charging current in accordance with the equation
wherein: It represents the temperature control charging current; Δt represents the expected duration of time for the charging event; qc represents a cooling capability of the vehicle; ΔT represents a difference between a temperature limit and the current temperature; m represents a mass of the energy source; c represents a specific heat of the energy source; and R represents a resistance of the energy source. Lastly, prior art fails to teach the claimed non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the charging management service is configurable to determine a temperature limit associated with the energy source based at least in part on a current operating context, wherein determining the temperature control charging current comprises determining the temperature control charging current for the charging event based at least in part on a difference between the temperature limit and the current temperature. The above limitations are not disclosed in prior art and moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to come to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See attached PTO form 892, Refence Cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
September 24, 2026