DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 03/21/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sohn (US 2010/0265140 A1) in view of Hampel et al. (hereinafter referred to as Hampel, US 2015/0168532 A1), and further in view of Syrjarinne et al. (hereinafter referred to as Syrjarinne, US 2013/0088384 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Sohn discloses a smart radio device (fig.1, portable terminal), comprising:
at least one antenna (fig.1, communication unit 112) ([0036]);
at least one processor (fig.1, controller 100); and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media (fig.1, memory 106) that include machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor ([0032]), cause the smart radio device to:
receive, using the at least one antenna, one or more sets of broadcast signals from one or more proximate devices communicatively coupled with the smart radio device ([0042]-[0043]) (Note: the portable terminal receives transmitted (broadcast) signals from one or more neighbor terminals (proximate devices) communicatively coupled with the portable terminal, wherein each respective set of transmitted signals includes a position information of each of the neighbor terminals),
wherein the one or more proximate devices includes another smart radio device that belongs to a group of smart radio devices including the smart radio device (fig.4) (Note: the reference discloses a group of terminals including the portable terminal),
wherein the group of smart radio devices are hosted for by a collaboration platform that controls communications of the group of smart radio devices (figs.3-4) (Note: each portable terminal in the group collaborates in determining the position of the terminal performing a process of determining a position. Thus, the group of portable terminals are hosted for by a collaboration platform that controls communications of the portable terminals); and
wherein each respective set of broadcast signals of the one or more sets of broadcast signals includes position data indicative of a position of a respective proximate device of the one or more proximate devices ([0043]) (Note: the portable terminal receives time information and a position information from each of the neighbor terminals);
determine a characteristic associated with a reception of each respective set of broadcast signals to estimate a relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device ([0043]) (Note: the portable terminal measures strength of a signal received from each neighbor terminal to calculate a distance to each neighbor terminal); and
estimate, based on the relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device, a position of the smart radio device ([0044]) (Note: the portable terminal calculates the current position of the portable terminal by using the received information and the distance to each neighbor terminal).
Sohn fails to disclose one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media that include machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the smart radio device to determine the position of each respective proximate device based on the position data within each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimate, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device; wherein the group of smart radio devices are hosted for a facility.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hampel discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media that include machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the smart radio device to determine the position of each respective proximate device based on the (position) data within each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimate, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device ([0038] and [0070]-[0074]) (Note: a target device determines location of each of the plurality of mobile landmark devices based on respective broadcast signal, and determines a location of the target device based on the location of each respective mobile landmark device (proximate device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the processor of Wu with one or more non-transitory that determines the position of each respective proximate device based on each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimates, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance reliability and energy efficiency.
Sohn in view of Hampel fails to explicitly disclose wherein the group of smart radio devices are hosted for a facility.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Syrjarinne discloses wherein the group of smart radio devices are hosted for a facility (fgs.5-6, [0112], and [0129]) (Note: the group of the portable communication terminals (1-3) are hosted for a building (facility)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Wu in view of Hampel with a concept wherein the group of smart radio devices are hosted for a facility as taught by Syrjarinne. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance operational efficiency, safety, and communication over a short-range communication in a facility.
Referring to claim 2, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 1. Sohn further discloses wherein the one or more sets of broadcast signals are received using a short-range communication technology ([0042] and [0046]) (Note: the portable terminal receives the position information transmitted by the neighbor terminals using Bluetooth communication protocol).
Referring to claim 3, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 1. Sohn further discloses wherein the smart radio device comprises a primary positioning system, the smart radio device further caused to:
determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the smart radio device, wherein estimating the position of the smart radio device in the facility based on the relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the smart radio device (fig.3 and [0049]-[0052]) (Note: when the portable terminal determines that a position determination process using the GPS function (primary positioning system) is not supported, the portable terminal calculates the current position of the portable terminal by using the position information received from the neighbor terminals regarded as satellites and the distance to each terminal).
Hampel discloses wherein the smart radio device comprises a primary positioning system, the smart radio device further caused to:
determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the smart radio device, wherein estimating the position of the smart radio device in the facility based on the position of each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the smart radio device ([0038]) (Note: when the mobile device 115-a is not be able to receive GNSS signals, such as GPS to determine its location, it identifies location information from the landmark devices, and it may determine its location based at least in part on the received reference signals and the determined location information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn with a concept wherein the smart radio device comprises a primary positioning system, the smart radio device further caused to: determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the smart radio device, wherein estimating the position of the smart radio device in the facility based on the position of each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the smart radio device as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide network-based location services when a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable.
Referring to claim 4, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 3. Hampel discloses wherein the smart radio device is further caused to: receive, by the primary positioning system, primary positioning broadcast signals; determine that the primary positioning broadcast signals have insufficient strength to enable the determination of the position estimate of the smart radio device by the primary positioning system; and determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the smart radio device based on the determination that the primary positioning broadcast signals have insufficient strength to enable the determination of the position estimate of the smart radio device by the primary positioning system ([0031] and [0038]) (Note: the target mobile device cannot receive GNSS signals or limited connection because it is located indoors. The target may use the broadcast information from the landmark to determine the target's location. Thus, the target mobile device determines that the primary positioning system (GNSS) is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the target device based on the determination that the target mobile device cannot receive GNSS signals or limited connection because it is located indoors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the smart radio device of Sohn with a smart radio device caused to: determine that primary positioning broadcast signals received by the primary positioning system have insufficient strength to enable the determination of a position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system; and determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device based on the determination that the primary positioning broadcast signals have insufficient strength to enable the determination of the position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide network-based location services when a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable.
Referring to claim 5, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 3. Sohn discloses wherein the primary positioning system comprises a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning system ([0007] and [0026]) (Note: the reference discloses a Global Positioning System (GPS) as the primary positioning system).
Referring to claim 6, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 1. Hampel discloses wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals, the smart radio device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques ([0065]-[0066]) (Note: the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises time-of-arrival (TOA) measurements of the broadcasts, and the target mobile device calculates a distance to each of the plurality of mobile landmark devices based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn with a concept wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals, the endpoint device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a highly efficient and scalable method for locating devices, offering superior battery life and high accuracy.
Referring to claim 7, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 1. Sohn discloses wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals, the smart radio device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device based on the signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals using received signal strength indicator (RSSI) techniques ([0046] and [0051]-[0052]) (Note: the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals, and signal strength of each neighbor terminal is measured by the portable terminal to calculate the distance to each neighbor terminal).
Referring to claim 8, Sohn in view of Hampel and Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 1. Sohn discloses wherein the smart radio device comprises a primary positioning system, the smart radio device further caused to: determine a primary position estimate of the smart radio device using the primary positioning system ([0049]) (Note: If it is determined that the portable terminal supports a GPS function, the portable terminal performs a predetermined function (e.g., a position determination process using the GPS function)).
Hampel discloses wherein the smart radio device determines a secondary position estimate of the smart radio device based on the relative distance between the smart radio device and each respective proximate device and the position of each respective proximate device ([0066], and [0081]-[0086]) (Note: the target mobile device determines a location estimate based on the relative distance between the target mobile device and each respective mobile landmark devices (using a time difference of arrival) and the position of each mobile landmark device).
Syrjarinne discloses wherein the smart radio device estimates the position of the smart radio device by augmenting the primary position estimate of the smart radio device with the secondary position estimate of the smart radio device ([0021] and abstract) (Note: the first portable electronic device supplements partial GNSS data from one or more GNSS satellites relating to the geographical location of a first portable electronic device with partial GNSS data relating to the geographical location of the respective further portable electronic devices to thereby determine the geographical location of the first device. Thus, the first portable electronic device estimates the position of the first device by augmenting the primary position estimate of the first device with the secondary position estimate of the first device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn in view of Hampel with the concept of Syrjarinne to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance accuracy, reduce drift, and improve robustness in position estimate.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sohn in view of Hampel, Syrjarinne and furthermore in view of Sendonaris et al. (hereinafter referred to as Sendonaris, US 2018/0224519 A1).
Referring to claim 9, Sohn in view of Hampel, Syrjarinne discloses the smart radio device of claim 8, except wherein the smart radio device is further caused to estimate the position of the smart radio device by averaging the primary position estimate of the smart radio device with the secondary position estimate of the smart radio device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sendonaris discloses wherein the smart radio device is further caused to estimate the position of the smart radio device by averaging the primary position estimate of the smart radio device with the secondary position estimate of the smart radio device (abstract) (Note: the reference discloses estimating a position of a mobile device using information from two positioning technologies determine different position estimates for the mobile device using different positioning technologies, and determining a final position estimate for the mobile device using a weighted combination of the different position estimates, wherein the weighted combination is a weighted average or a weighted median of the different position estimates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn in view of Hampel, and Syrjarinne with a concept wherein the smart radio device is further caused to estimate the position of the smart radio device by averaging the primary position estimate of the smart radio device with the secondary position estimate of the smart radio device as taught by Sendonaris. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the variance of the position error, and bring the estimated position closer to the true position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sohn (US 2010/0265140 A1) in view of Hampel et al. (hereinafter referred to as Hampel, US 2015/0168532 A1).
Referring to claim 10, Sohn discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media (fig.1, memory 106) that include machine-readable instructions which, when executed by at least one processor (fig.1, controller 100) ([0032] and [0061]), cause the at least one processor to:
receive, at an endpoint device (fig.1, portable terminal), one or more sets of broadcast signals from one or more proximate devices communicatively coupled with the endpoint device, wherein each respective set of broadcast signals of the one or more sets of broadcast signals include position data indicative of a position of a respective proximate device of the one or more proximate devices ([0042]-[0043]) (Note: the portable terminal receives transmitted (broadcast) signals from one or more neighbor terminals (proximate devices) communicatively coupled with the portable terminal, wherein each respective set of transmitted signals includes a position information of each of the neighbor terminals);
determine a characteristic associated with a reception of each respective set of broadcast signals to determine a relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device ([0043]) (Note: the portable terminal measures strength of a signal received from each neighbor terminal to calculate a distance to each neighbor terminal); and
estimate, based on the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device ([0044]) (Note: the portable terminal calculates the current position of the portable terminal by using the received information and the distance to each neighbor terminal).
Sohn fails to disclose one processor to determine the position of each respective proximate device based on the position data within each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimate, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hampel discloses one processor (fig.4, processor module 470) to determine the position of each respective proximate device based on the (position) data within each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimate, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device ([0038] and [0070]-[0074]) (Note: a target device determines location of each of the plurality of mobile landmark devices based on respective broadcast signal, and determines a location of the target device based on the location of each respective mobile landmark device (proximate device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the processor of Sohn with a processor that determines the position of each respective proximate device based on each respective set of broadcast signals; and estimates, based on the position of each respective proximate device, a position of the endpoint device as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance reliability and energy efficiency.
Referring to claim 11, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 10. Sohn further discloses wherein the one or more sets of broadcast signals are received using a short-range communication technology ([0042] and [0046]) (Note: the portable terminal receives the position information transmitted by the neighbor terminals using Bluetooth communication protocol).
Referring to claim 12, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 10. Sohn further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to:
determine that a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the endpoint device, wherein estimating the position of the endpoint device based on the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device (fig.3 and [0049]-[0052]) (Note: when the portable terminal determines that a position determination process using the GPS function (primary positioning system) is not supported, the portable terminal calculates the current position of the portable terminal by using the position information received from the neighbor terminals regarded as satellites and the distance to each terminal).
Hampel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to: determine that a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the endpoint device, wherein estimating the position of the endpoint device based on the position of each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device ([0038]) (Note: when the mobile device 115-a is not be able to receive GNSS signals, such as GPS to determine its location, it identifies location information from the landmark devices, and it may determine its location based at least in part on the received reference signals and the determined location information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the processor of Sohn with a processor that determines a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable to provide a position estimate of the endpoint device, wherein estimating the position of the endpoint device based on the position of each respective proximate device is responsive to determining that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide network-based location services when a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable.
Referring to claim 13, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 12. Hampel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to: determine that primary positioning broadcast signals received by the primary positioning system have insufficient strength to enable the determination of a position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system; and determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device based on the determination that the primary positioning broadcast signals have insufficient strength to enable the determination of the position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system ([0031] and [0038]) (Note: the target mobile device cannot receive GNSS signals or limited connection because it is located indoors. The target may use the broadcast information from the landmark to determine the target's location. Thus, the target mobile device determines that the primary positioning system (GNSS) is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the target device based on the determination that the target mobile device cannot receive GNSS signals or limited connection because it is located indoors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the processor of Sohn with a processor caused to: determine that primary positioning broadcast signals received by the primary positioning system have insufficient strength to enable the determination of a position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system; and determine that the primary positioning system is unavailable to provide the position estimate of the endpoint device based on the determination that the primary positioning broadcast signals have insufficient strength to enable the determination of the position estimate of the endpoint device by the primary positioning system as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide network-based location services when a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable.
Referring to claim 14, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 12. Sohn further discloses wherein the primary positioning system comprises a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning system ([0007] and [0026]) (Note: the reference discloses a Global Positioning System (GPS) as the primary positioning system).
Referring to claim 15, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 10. Hampel discloses wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals, the endpoint device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques ([0065]-[0066]) (Note: the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises time-of-arrival (TOA) measurements of the broadcasts, and the target mobile device calculates a distance to each of the plurality of mobile landmark devices based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn with a concept wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals, the endpoint device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device based on the time of arrival of each respective set of broadcast signals using time difference of arrival (TDOA) techniques as taught by Hampel. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a highly efficient and scalable method for locating devices, offering superior battery life and high accuracy.
Referring to claim 16, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 10. Sohn further discloses wherein the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals, the endpoint device further caused to: determine the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device based on the signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals using received signal strength indicator (RSSI) techniques ([0046] and [0051]-[0052]) (Note: the characteristic associated with the reception of each respective set of broadcast signals comprises a signal strength of each respective set of broadcast signals, and signal strength of each neighbor terminal is measured by the portable terminal to calculate the distance to each neighbor terminal).
Referring to claim 18, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 10 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 20, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 12 is applicable herein.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sohn in view of Hampel, and further in view of Syrjarinne et al. (hereinafter referred to as Syrjarinne, US 2013/0088384 A1).
Referring to claim 17, Sohn in view of Hampel discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable storage media of claim 10. Sohn discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to:
receive a primary position estimate of the endpoint device from a primary positioning system of the endpoint device ([0049]) (Note: If it is determined that the portable terminal supports a GPS function, the portable terminal performs a predetermined function (e.g., a position determination process using the GPS function)).
Hampel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to:
determine a secondary position estimate of the endpoint device based on the relative distance between the endpoint device and each respective proximate device and the position of each respective proximate device ([0066], and [0081]-[0086]) (Note: the target mobile device determines a location estimate based on the relative distance between the target mobile device and each respective mobile landmark devices (using a time difference of arrival) and the position of each mobile landmark device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify Sohn with Hampel to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide network-based location services when a primary positioning system of the endpoint device is unavailable.
Sohn in view of Hampel fails to disclose wherein the at least one processor is further caused to: estimate the position of the endpoint device by augmenting the primary position estimate of the endpoint device with the secondary position estimate of the endpoint device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Syrjarinne discloses a concept wherein the at least one processor is further caused to: estimate the position of the endpoint device by augmenting the primary position estimate of the endpoint device with the secondary position estimate of the endpoint device ([0021] and abstract) (Note: the first portable electronic device supplements partial GNSS data from one or more GNSS satellites relating to the geographical location of a first portable electronic device with partial GNSS data relating to the geographical location of the respective further portable electronic devices to thereby determine the geographical location of the first device. Thus, the first portable electronic device estimates the position of the first device by augmenting the primary position estimate of the first device with the secondary position estimate of the first device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the at least one processor Sohn view Hampel with the concept of Syrjarinne to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance accuracy, reduce drift, and improve robustness in position estimate.
Referring to claim 19, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 17 is applicable herein.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683