DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loon et al. (US 2015/0158235 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Loon teaches a multilayer film (Fig. 1) comprising a film-web having a odd number of layers, five, that includes a bonding layer between two strength layers (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0078, 0080), where the film-web is formed from a flattened concentric-multilayer polymer structure, in which an inner layer of the concentric-multilayer polymer structure includes a bonding layer, and where the bonding layer of the film-web is formed from the two halves of the inner layer upon flattening and molecularly coupling, form into one layer, to each other to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0009, 0076; Fig. 1-2)
Regarding Claim 7, Loon teaches the film-web includes two sealant layer (Fig. 1-2), where the two strength layers are located between the two sealant layers. (Paragraph 0003, Paragraph 0138-0139)
Regarding Claim 8, Loon teaches a multilayer film (Fig. 1) comprising a film-web having an odd number, five, of resin layers that includes a bonding layer that is located between two strength layers (Fig. 1, 0078, 0080), where the film-web is formed from a set of flattened concentric polymer layers having a tubular profile in which an inner polymer layer includes a bonding material, wherein the bonding layer of the film-web is formed from two halves of the inner polymer layer brought together upon flattening and molecular coupling to each other to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0009, 0076; Fig. 1-2)
Regarding Claim 14, Loon teaches the film-web includes two sealant layer (Fig. 1-2), where the two strength layers are located between the two sealant layers. (Paragraph 0003, Paragraph 0138-0139)
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart (US 2013/0335732 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Stewart teaches a multilayer film comprising a film having an odd-number of layers, five, that includes a bonding layer, located between two strength layers. Stewart teaches the film-web is formed through a double bubble process, a method of forming a film through a flattened concentric polymer structure, where an inner layer of the structure include a bonding material. Stewart teaches the bonding layer of the film is formed with the two halves of the inner layer being brought together and flattened and further annealed, which molecular couples the two halves together to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0083).
Regarding Claim 8, Stewart teaches a multilayer film comprising a film having an odd-number of layers, five, that includes a bonding layer, located between two strength layers. Stewart teaches the film-web is formed through a double bubble process, where the film-web is formed from a set of flattened concentric polymer layers having a tubular profile where the inner polymer includes a bonding material. Stewart teaches the bonding layer of the film is formed with the two halves of the inner layer being brought together and flattened and further annealed, which molecular couples the two halves together to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0083).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (WO 2020/190507 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a multilayer film (Abstract) comprising a film-web having an odd number of layers, five, including a bonding layer located between two strength layers. Wang teaches the film-web is formed from a flattened concentric-multilayer in which an inner layer of the concentric-multilayer polymer structure includes a bonding material, wherein the bonding layer of the film-web is formed from two-halves of the inner layer brought together upon flattening and molecular coupled to each other to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0077)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches the film-web can undergo a hot-stretch process. (Paragraph 0113-0114).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches the film web further comprises two sealant layers, wherein the two strength layers located between the two sealant layers (Claim 1 of Wang; Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches a multilayer film (Abstract) comprising a film-web having an odd number, five, of resin layers that includes a bonding layer that is located between two strength layers, where the film-web is formed from a set of flattened concentric polymer layers having a tubular profile in which an inner polymer layer includes a bonding material, wherein the bonding layer of the film-web is formed from two halves of the inner polymer layer brought together upon flattening and molecular coupling to each other to form the bonding layer. (Paragraph 0077).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches the film-web can undergo a hot-stretch process. (Paragraph 0113-0114).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches the film web further comprises two sealant layers, wherein the two strength layers located between the two sealant layers (Claim 1 of Wang; Paragraph 0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart.
Regarding Claim 2, Stewart teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Stewart does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Stewart teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Stewart would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9, Stewart teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Stewart does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Stewart teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Stewart would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 9.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loon.
Regarding Claim 2, Loons teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Loon does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Loon teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Loon would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 9, Loons teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Loon does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Loon teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Loon would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 9.
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loon in view of Murray (US 5,443,866 A).
Regarding Claims 5-6, Loom teaches the film can be stretched to target desired properties (Paragraph 0075) and intended use, such as shrink films or heavy duty bags. (Paragraph 0084). Loom does not teach the film is configured to undergo a cold-stretch process and is stretched by at least 1%.
Murray teaches a film intended to be used as a heavy duty bag (Abstract) formed by bubble extrusion by collapsing a bubble and cold drawing, cold stretching, the film to a ratio of 3:1 to 4:1, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 1% stretching (Column 2-3, 5-6). Murray teaches this cold drawing process results in tougher films and heavy duty bags at a lower cost. (Column 2, Lines 1-25; Column 5, Lines 1-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the cold-drawing technique of Murray to the films of Loom to ensure the resulting films are tougher and cheaper.
Regarding Claims 12-13, Loom teaches the film can be stretched to target desired properties (Paragraph 0075) and intended use, such as shrink films or heavy duty bags. (Paragraph 0084). Loom does not teach the film is configured to undergo a cold-stretch process and is stretched by at least 1%.
Murray teaches a film intended to be used as a heavy duty bag (Abstract) formed by bubble extrusion by collapsing a bubble and cold drawing, cold stretching, the film to a ratio of 3:1 to 4:1, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 1% stretching (Column 2-3, 5-6). Murray teaches this cold drawing process results in tougher films and heavy duty bags at a lower cost. (Column 2, Lines 1-25; Column 5, Lines 1-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the cold-drawing technique of Murray to the films of Loom to ensure the resulting films are tougher and cheaper.
Claims 2, 4, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Wang does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Wang teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Wang would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches the film-web can be hot-stretched at a ratio of 1:3 to 1:12. (Paragraph 0116) This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2124).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches the bonding layer has a thickness 2*Z and two strength layers of thickness Y each. Wang does not specifically teach the improved tensile strength compared to a film that lacks the bonding layer and has a single strength layer. However, given that Wang teaches the same structure, bonding layer and strength layers, formed through the same process, blown film extrusion, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill that the film of Wang would inherently have the same improved tensile strength claimed than a comparable film as recited in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches the film-web can be hot-stretched at a ratio of 1:3 to 1:12. (Paragraph 0116) This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2124).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
A new grounds of rejection has been made in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781