DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim 3 is amended.
Specification
The amendments of the title was received on 07/21/2026. The title of the invention is acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-15, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to claim 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Rastergardoost does not disclose or suggest each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, regarding the claimed feature of “dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands, according to a first radio frequency technology (RAT)”, [Remarks, page 11].
(2) Rastergardoost does not disclose or suggest each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, “detecting, based on the determining of the at least one effective sub-band, a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band”, [Remarks, pages 13-14].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Rastergardoost discloses dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands [fig. 23, paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0288, 0305, 0404, 0410, 0411, 0417, 0429, dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands (multiple active frequency domain configured grant configurations per BWP; a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands; divided into F parallel symbol streams)], according to a first radio frequency technology (RAT) [paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0229, 0232, a first radio frequency technology (RAT) (a radio access technology (e.g., LTE and/or NR) operating bandwidth; (e.g., time and/or frequency resource) of transmission)].
Regarding dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands, Rastergardoost discloses in Figures 19, 22, paragraphs 0352, 373, and 0403.
[0352] In an example, a single wideband BWP may be activated for a UE within a component carrier. The bandwidth of wideband BWP may be in the unit of subband for LBT. For example, if the subband for LBT is 20 MHz in 5 GHz band, the wideband BWP bandwidth may consist of multiple 20 MHz. The ….
[0373] For UL transmissions in a serving cell with carrier bandwidth greater than LBT bandwidth, for the case when UE performs CCA before UL transmission, the UE may transmit PUSCH only if CCA is successful at UE in all LBT subbands/bandwidths of the scheduled PUSCH. In an example, the UE may transmit the PUSCH in all or a subset of LBT subbands/bandwidths of the scheduled PUSCH for which CCA is successful at the UE. In an example, the subset of LBT subbands/bandwidths may comprise only contiguous LBT subbands/bandwidths. In an example, the subset of LBT subbands/bandwidths may comprise non-contiguous LBT subbands/bandwidths. The scheduled PUSCH may comprise one or more guardbands in between the LBT subbands/bandwidths.
[0403] For example, the CG resource may have a bandwidth comprising one or more LBT subbands. For example, one or more UEs may map the CG-UCI to the entire bandwidth of the CG resource. For example, in a wideband operation, one or more UEs may map the CG-UCI to different resource elements in different subbands. For example, the one or more UEs may map the CG-UCI to different resource elements spanning the entire CG bandwidth, e.g., over one or more LBT subbands. For example, the different resource elements may not overlap in frequency domain. For example, the different resource elements may be confined to one LBT subband. For example, the different resource elements may not be confined to one LBT subband. For example, the different resource elements may be contiguous or non-contiguous in frequency domain. For example, the different resource elements may be interlaced across one or more LBT subband.
FIG. 19 illustrates an example where a base station allocates partial bandwidth of the same CG PUSCH resource to multiple UEs, e.g., UE1 and UE2.
FIG. 22 illustrates an example where the UE maps data to region comprising one or more REs/PRBs in a first subband of two or more subbands within the bandwidth.
In other words, Rastergardoost discloses where a base station divides and allocates partial bandwidth of the same resource to multiple UEs, e.g., UE1 and UE2; wherein BWP bandwidth may consist of multiple 20 MHz subbannds; wherein a radio access technology (e.g., LTE and/or NR) operating bandwidth may be an integer multiple of 20 MHz.
Therefore, given that Rastergardoost discloses where a base station divides and allocates partial bandwidth of the same resource to multiple UEs, then Rastergardoost discloses dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands.
As per the second argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Rastergardoost discloses detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0219, 0227, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands)], a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)].
Regarding detecting, based on the determining of the at least one effective sub-band, a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band, Rastergardoost discloses in Figure 11A, paragraphs 0139 and 0140
[0139] The location of the SS/PBCH block in the time and frequency domains may not be known to the UE (e.g., if the UE is searching for the cell). To find and select the cell, the UE may monitor a carrier for the PSS. For example, the UE may monitor a frequency location within the carrier. If the PSS is not found after a certain duration (e.g., 20 ms), the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster. If the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains, the UE may determine, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block, the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). In an example, a primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. In an example, a cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB.
[0140] The SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell. For example, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively. The UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block. For example, the SS/PBCH block may indicate that it has been transmitted in accordance with a transmission pattern, wherein a SS/PBCH block in the transmission pattern is a known distance from the frame boundary.
In other words, Rastergardoost discloses the effective signal may include a PSS, and the user equipment 100 may determine, from the detected PSS, timing information of the cell, the position of an SSS, and a cell ID in a cell ID group.
Therefore, given that Rastergardoost discloses wherein the UE may determine, from the detected PSS, timing information of the cell, the position of an SSS, and a cell ID in a cell ID group, then Rastergardoost discloses detecting, based on the determining of the at least one effective sub-band, a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band.
Regarding the rejection of claims 12 and 18, claims 12 and 18 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 12 and 18, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-4, 8-11, 13-15, 17, 19, and 20, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-13, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost et al., (hereinafter Rastegardoost), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105812.
As per claim 1, Rastegardoost discloses an operating method of a user equipment in a wireless communication system [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0035, 0036, 0045, 0104, 0202, an operating method of a user equipment in a wireless communication system (mechanism may be performed in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network)], the operating method comprising:
dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands [fig. 23, paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0288, 0305, 0404, 0410, 0411, 0417, 0429, dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands (multiple active frequency domain configured grant configurations per BWP; a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands; divided into F parallel symbol streams)], according to a first radio frequency technology (RAT) [paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0229, 0232, a first radio frequency technology (RAT) (a radio access technology (e.g., LTE and/or NR) operating bandwidth; (e.g., time and/or frequency resource) of transmission)];
measuring peak powers of each sub-band of the plurality of sub-bands [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, measuring peak powers of each sub-band of the plurality of sub-bands (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
determining at least one effective sub-band from among the plurality of sub-bands, based on the measured peak powers [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, determining at least one effective sub-band from among the plurality of sub-bands, based on the measured peak powers (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0219, 0227, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands)], a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, a first effective signal through a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)]; and
performing initial access to a cell, based on the detecting the first effective signal [fig. 11A, paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0168, 0178, 0228, 0375, performing initial access to a cell, based on the detecting the first effective signal (network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access; in each subband based on initial signal)].
As per claim 2, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining the at least one effective sub-band comprises:
extracting maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands from the measured peak powers [paragraphs 0166, 0233, 0407, 0410, extracting maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands from the measured peak powers (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold, the UE may determine a first frequency/PRB offset and/or a first interlace pattern if, for example, the RSRP is above a first threshold and/or below a second threshold)]; and determining, as the at least one effective sub-band, a first sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0166, 0233, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0431, determining, as the at least one effective sub-band, a first sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers (a RSRP in the first subband being greater than other subbands; the wireless device may determine a first frequency offset in response to the RSRP being lower than a value, and a second frequency offset in response to the RSRP being higher than the value; higher RSRP values)].
As per claim 8, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 1, wherein the detecting the first effective signal comprises, based on the at least one effective sub-band not being detected,
detecting the first effective signal through the frequency search operation using the correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, detecting the first effective signal through the frequency search operation using the correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)].
As per claim 9, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 1, wherein the performing the initial access to the cell comprises, based on the first effective signal not being detected or the performing the initial access to the cell based on the first effective signal being unsuccessful:
detecting a second effective signal based on measured peak powers of another plurality of sub-bands of a second frequency band from among the plurality of frequency bands [fig. 18, paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0288, 0353, 0404, 0414, 0419, 0425, detecting a second effective signal based on measured peak powers of another plurality of sub-bands of a second frequency band from among the plurality of frequency bands (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands; the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)]; and
performing the initial access to the cell based on the detecting the second effective signal [fig. 11A, paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0168, 0178, 0228, 0375, performing the initial access to the cell based on the detecting the second effective signal (network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access; in each subband based on initial signal)].
As per claim 10, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 1, wherein the measuring of the peak powers comprises
measuring, for each sub-band of the plurality of sub-bands, a peak power based on a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) [paragraphs 0233, 0234, measuring, for each sub-band of the plurality of sub-bands, a peak power based on a received signal strength indicator (wireless device may measure (averaged) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) and/or may determine a channel occupancy (CO) of one or more channels)].
As per claim 11, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 1, wherein the dividing the first frequency band into the plurality of sub-bands comprises
dividing the first frequency band by a preset frequency size into N sub-bands based on the first RAT, and wherein N is a positive integer greater than zero [fig. 19, paragraphs 0109, 0288, 0352, 0419, dividing the first frequency band by a preset frequency size into N sub-bands based on the first RAT, and wherein N is a positive integer greater than zero (the wireless device may select the number of subbands to use based on the traffic type; allocation of a resource to multiple wireless devices with different frequency divisions)].
As per claim 12, Rastegardoost discloses an operating method of a user equipment in a wireless communication system [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0035, 0036, 0045, 0104, 0202, an operating method of a user equipment in a wireless communication system (mechanism may be performed in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network)], the operating method comprising:
dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, by a preset frequency size into N sub-bands [fig. 23, paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0288, 0305, 0404, 0410, 0411, 0417, 0429, dividing a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, into a plurality of sub-bands (multiple active frequency domain configured grant configurations per BWP; a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands; divided into F parallel symbol streams)], according to a first radio frequency technology (RAT) [paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0229, 0232, a first radio frequency technology (RAT) (a radio access technology (e.g., LTE and/or NR) operating bandwidth; (e.g., time and/or frequency resource) of transmission)], wherein N is a positive integer greater than zero [fig. 19, 22, paragraphs 0288, 0383, wherein N is a positive integer greater than zero (the wireless device may select the number of subbands to use based on the traffic type or the TB size; the wireless device may transmit on one or more subbands)];
measuring peak powers of each sub-band of the N sub-bands [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, measuring peak powers of each sub-band of the N sub-bands (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
determining at least one effective sub-band from among the N sub-bands, based on the measured peak powers [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, determining at least one effective sub-band from among the N sub-bands, based on the measured peak powers (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0219, 0227, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, detecting, based on the determining the at least one effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands)], a first effective signal by performing a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, a first effective signal by performing a frequency search operation using a correlation component of a synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the at least one effective sub-band (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)]; and
performing initial access to a cell, based on the detecting of the first effective signal [fig. 11A, paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0168, 0178, 0228, 0375, performing initial access to a cell, based on the detecting the first effective signal (network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access; in each subband based on initial signal)].
As per claim 13, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 12, wherein the determining the at least one effective sub-band comprises:
extracting maximum peak powers of the N sub-bands from the measured peak powers [paragraphs 0166, 0233, 0407, 0410, extracting maximum peak powers of the N sub-bands from the measured peak powers (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold, the UE may determine a first frequency/PRB offset and/or a first interlace pattern if, for example, the RSRP is above a first threshold and/or below a second threshold)]; and
determining, as the at least one effective sub-band, at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0166, 0233, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0431, determining, as the at least one effective sub-band, at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers (a RSRP in the first subband being greater than other subbands; the wireless device may determine a first frequency offset in response to the RSRP being lower than a value, and a second frequency offset in response to the RSRP being higher than the value; higher RSRP values)].
As per claim 17, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 12, wherein the performing the initial access to the cell comprises, based on the first effective signal not being detected or the performing of the initial access to the cell based on the first effective signal being unsuccessful:
detecting a second effective signal based on measured peak powers of a plurality of sub-bands of a second frequency band from among the plurality of frequency bands [fig. 18, paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0288, 0353, 0404, 0414, 0419, 0425, detecting a second effective signal based on measured peak powers of another plurality of sub-bands of a second frequency band from among the plurality of frequency bands (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands; the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)]; and
performing the initial access to the cell based on the detecting the second effective signal [fig. 11A, paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0168, 0178, 0228, 0375, performing the initial access to the cell based on the detecting the second effective signal (network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access; in each subband based on initial signal)].
As per claim 18, Rastegardoost discloses a user equipment for wireless communication [fig. 15, paragraphs 0206-0209, a user equipment for wireless communication (a wireless device 1502)], the user equipment comprising:
a power measurement circuit configured to measure peak powers of a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, in units of sub-bands [fig. 15, paragraphs 0042, 0162, 0167, 0206-0209, 0233, 0410, 0414, a power measurement circuit configured to measure peak powers of a first frequency band, from among a plurality of frequency bands, in units of sub-bands (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold)]; and
a baseband processor [fig. 15, paragraphs 0206-0209, a baseband processor (processing system 1518 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors)] configured to:
receive the peak powers from the power measurement circuit [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, receive the peak powers from the power measurement circuit (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
determine an effective sub-band based on the peak powers [paragraphs 0115, 0406, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0429, 0431, determine an effective sub-band based on the peak powers (UE measure a RSRP and compare it to the one or more RSRP threshold; UE may select the second subband based on at least one of the following: a RSRP in the second subband being greater than other subbands)];
detect a synchronization signal by performing a frequency search operation using a correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the effective sub-band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, detect a synchronization signal by performing a frequency search operation using a correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band or the effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands; the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)]; and
perform initial access to a cell based on the detected synchronization signal [fig. 11A, paragraphs 0121, 0141, 0168, 0178, 0228, 0375, perform initial access to a cell based on the detected synchronization signal (network (e.g., a gNB and/or an ng-eNB of a network) and/or the UE may initiate a random access; in each subband based on initial signal)].
As per claim 19, Rastegardoost discloses the user equipment of claim 18, wherein the baseband processor is further configured to:
perform, based on the effective sub-band not being detected, the frequency search operation using the correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, perform, based on the effective sub-band not being detected, the frequency search operation using the correlation component of the synchronization signal corresponding to the first frequency band (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)].
As per claim 20, Rastegardoost discloses the user equipment of claim 18, wherein the baseband processor is further configured to:
determine, as the effective sub-band, a first sub-band corresponding to a peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the peak powers [paragraphs 0166, 0233, 0407, 0410, 0414, 0417, 0431, determine, as the effective sub-band, a first sub-band corresponding to a peak power greater than or equal to a first threshold, from among the peak powers (a RSRP in the first subband being greater than other subbands; the wireless device may determine a first frequency offset in response to the RSRP being lower than a value, and a second frequency offset in response to the RSRP being higher than the value; higher RSRP values)], and
wherein the first sub-band comprises at least one sub-band of the first frequency band divided in units of the sub-bands [fig. 23, paragraphs 0123, 0126, 0288, 0305, 0404, 0410, 0411, 0417, 0429, wherein the first sub-band comprises at least one sub-band of the first frequency band divided in units of the sub-bands (multiple active frequency domain configured grant configurations per BWP; a time/frequency resource, that spans over two or more LBT subbands; divided into F parallel symbol streams)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost, in view of Negro et al., (hereinafter Negro), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0404510.
As per claim 3, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 2, wherein the determining the at least one effective sub-band further comprises:
determining, as the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0219, 0227, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, determining, as the at least one effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands)], at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one adjusted maximum peak power greater than or equal to a second threshold, from among the adjusted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one adjusted maximum peak power greater than or equal to a second threshold, from among the adjusted maximum peak powers (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)].
Rastegardoost does not explicitly discloses measuring a noise of a second sub-band corresponding to at least another maximum peak power less than the first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers; generating adjusted maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands by subtracting measured noises from maximum peak powers of the second sub-band.
However, Negro teaches measuring a noise of a second sub-band corresponding to at least another maximum peak power less than the first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0020, 0033, 0084, 0102, measuring a noise of a second sub-band corresponding to at least another maximum peak power less than the first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers (measure the signal quality; signal quality may include one or more of an SNR, an SINR, an RSRP, an RSSI, or an RSRQ; subbands within the BWP to reduce power consumption and increase channel estimation reliability)]; generating adjusted maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands by subtracting measured noises from maximum peak powers of the second sub-band [paragraphs 0020, 0033, 0084, 0085, 0101, 0102, generating adjusted maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands by subtracting measured noises from maximum peak powers of the second sub-band (subbands based on the signal quality of measured reference signal, satisfying a threshold (e.g., an SNR threshold, an SINR threshold, an RSRP threshold, an RSSI threshold, or an RSRQ threshold, or any combination thereof))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Rastegardoost by measuring a noise of a second sub-band as taught by Negro because it would provide the Rastegardoost's method with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency and reliability of channel estimation [Negro, paragraphs 0004, 0005, 0028].
As per claim 4, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 3, wherein the noise comprises an average of one or more lower peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the second sub-band, and
wherein the one or more lower peak powers are less than remaining peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the second sub-band [paragraphs 0166, 0178, 0410, 0431, wherein the one or more lower peak powers are less than remaining peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the second sub-band (the wireless device may determine a first frequency offset in response to the RSRP being lower than a value, and a second frequency offset in response to the RSRP being higher than the value)].
As per claim 14, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 12, wherein the determining the at least one effective sub-band comprises:
determining, as the at least one effective sub-band [paragraphs 0219, 0227, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, determining, as the at least one effective sub-band (detecting subband being shorter or longer than other subbands)], at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a second threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0136, 0139-0141, 0237, 0404, 0414, 0419, at least one sub-band corresponding to at least one maximum peak power greater than or equal to a second threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers (the UE may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, as indicated by a synchronization raster; the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell)].
Rastegardoost does not explicitly discloses measuring noises of the N sub-bands; generating adjusted peak powers of the N sub-bands by subtracting the measured noises from the measured peak powers; extracting maximum peak powers of the N sub-bands from the adjusted peak powers.
However, Negro teaches measuring a noise of a second sub-band corresponding to at least another maximum peak power less than the first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers [paragraphs 0020, 0033, 0084, 0102, measuring a noise of a second sub-band corresponding to at least another maximum peak power less than the first threshold, from among the extracted maximum peak powers (measure the signal quality; signal quality may include one or more of an SNR, an SINR, an RSRP, an RSSI, or an RSRQ; subbands within the BWP to reduce power consumption and increase channel estimation reliability)]; generating adjusted maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands by subtracting measured noises from maximum peak powers of the second sub-band [paragraphs 0020, 0033, 0084, 0085, 0101, 0102, generating adjusted maximum peak powers of the plurality of sub-bands by subtracting measured noises from maximum peak powers of the second sub-band (subbands based on the signal quality of measured reference signal, satisfying a threshold (e.g., an SNR threshold, an SINR threshold, an RSRP threshold, an RSSI threshold, or an RSRQ threshold, or any combination thereof))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Rastegardoost by measuring a noise of a second sub-band as taught by Negro because it would provide the Rastegardoost's method with the enhanced capability of improving efficiency and reliability of channel estimation [Negro, paragraphs 0004, 0005, 0028].
As per claim 15, Rastegardoost discloses the operating method of claim 14, wherein each of the noises comprises an average of one or more lower peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the N sub-bands, and
wherein the one or more lower peak powers are less than remaining peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the N sub-bands [paragraphs 0166, 0178, 0410, 0431, wherein the one or more lower peak powers are less than remaining peak powers from among the measured peak powers of the second sub-band (the wireless device may determine a first frequency offset in response to the RSRP being lower than a value, and a second frequency offset in response to the RSRP being higher than the value)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al., U.S. Publication No. 2021/0385037 discloses a system for dividing the entire bandwidth for CSI-RS transmission into a plurality of Listen Before Talk (LBT) sub-bands.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469