DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/814,923, filed on 03/10/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 03/21/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (USPG Pub No. 2018/0364457), hereinafter “Yao”.
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses an imaging lens assembly (110) comprising six lens elements (see Fig. 1A), the six lens elements being, in order from an object side to an image side: a first lens element (L1), a second lens element (L2), a third lens element (L3), a fourth lens element (L5), a fifth lens element (L6) and a sixth lens element (L7) (see Fig. 1A); wherein the first lens element (L1) has positive refractive power (Paragraph 69), the fourth lens element (L5) has negative refractive power (Table 1A), the fifth lens element (L6) has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof (Table 1A), and at least one lens element has an Abbe number smaller than 20.0 (Table 1A); wherein an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (L5) is V4, a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element (L7) is R12 (Table 1A), and the following conditions are satisfied: 10.0 < V4 < 35.0 (Table 1A); and -0.65 < f/R12 < 4.0 (Table 1A).
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses wherein the first lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof (Table 1A), the second lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof (Table 1A), and at least one lens element has an Abbe number equal to or smaller than 19.5 (Table 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses wherein a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is R10, the curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following condition is satisfied: R10/R12 < 1.8 (Table 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Yao discloses wherein a focal length of the third lens element (L3) has a same sign as a focal length of the fifth lens element (L6) (Paragraphs 71, 74), and an absolute value of a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the first lens element (L1) is larger than an absolute value of a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element (L6) (Table 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Yao discloses wherein an absolute value of a focal length of the sixth lens element (L7) is larger than an absolute value of a focal length of the fifth lens element (L6) (Table 1A: |-5.149|>4.94).
Regarding claim 13, Yao discloses an image capturing unit (100) (see Figs. 1A, 10), comprising: the imaging lens assembly (110) of claim 1; a driving device disposed on the imaging lens assembly (Paragraph 50); and an image sensor (120) disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens assembly (100) (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Yao discloses an electronic device (see Fig. 10, Paragraph 172), comprising: the image capturing unit of claim 13 (see Figs. 1A, 10).
Claims 15, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsueh et al. (USPG Pub No. 2024/0255736), hereinafter “Hsueh”.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 15, Hsueh discloses an imaging lens assembly comprising six lens elements (see Fig. 9), the six lens elements being, in order from an object side to an image side: a first lens element (510), a second lens element (520), a third lens element (530), a fourth lens element (540), a fifth lens element (550) and a sixth lens element (560); wherein the first lens element has positive refractive power (Table 9), the fourth lens element has negative refractive power (Table 9), the fifth lens element has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof (Table 9), a focal length of the third lens element has a same sign as a focal length of the fifth lens element, and at least one lens element has an Abbe number smaller than 20.0 (Table 9); wherein a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element is T34, an axial distance between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is T45, a maximum value among refractive indices of all lens elements is Nmax, and the following conditions are satisfied: 1.8 < (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0 (Table 9); and 1.50 < Nmax < 1.75 (Table 9).
Regarding claim 17, Hsueh discloses wherein the fourth lens element has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof (Table 5).
Regarding claim 22, Hsueh discloses wherein a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element has a same sign as a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fourth lens element (Table 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao (USPG Pub No. 2018/0364457) in view of Hsueh (USPG Pub No. 2024/0255736).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 3, Yao discloses further comprising an aperture stop disposed between an imaged object and the third lens element (Table 1A). Yao discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the fourth lens element has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Hsueh discloses wherein the fourth lens element has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof (Table 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with wherein the fourth lens element has an image-side surface being concave in a paraxial region thereof of Hsueh for the purpose of balancing the imaging lens assembly and correcting the lateral chromatic aberration (Paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 6, Yao discloses wherein a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element is T34, an axial distance between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is T45, a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the first lens element is R1, the curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12 (Table 1A), and the following conditions are satisfied: and -1.50 < (R1-R12)/(R1+R12) < 2.0 (Table 1A). Yao discloses the claimed invention except for 1.8 < (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0. In the same field of endeavor, Hsueh discloses 1.8 < (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0 (Table 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with 1.8 < (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0 of Hsueh for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly with sufficient field of view and compactness for the desired application (Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses wherein a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element is T34, an axial distance between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is T45 (Table 1A). Yao discloses the claimed invention except for and the following condition is satisfied: 5.8 ≤ (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0. In the same field of endeavor, Hsueh discloses and the following condition is satisfied: 5.8 ≤ (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0 (Table 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with and the following condition is satisfied: 5.8 ≤ (CT1+T34)/T45 < 33.0 of Hsueh for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly with sufficient field of view and compactness for the desired application (Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yao discloses wherein an axial distance between the third lens element (L3) and the fourth lens element (L5) is T34, an axial distance between the fourth lens element (L5) and the fifth lens element (L6) is T45, and the following condition is satisfied: 0 < T45/T34 < 5.5 (Table 1A). Yao discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element and a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fifth lens element have different signs. In the same field of endeavor, Hsueh discloses wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element and a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fifth lens element have different signs (Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element and a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fifth lens element have different signs of Hsueh for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly with sufficient field of view and compactness for the desired application (Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 10, Yao discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element has a same sign as a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fourth lens element. In the same field of endeavor, Hsueh discloses wherein a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element (Lens 3) has a same sign as a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fourth lens element (Lens 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with wherein a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element has a same sign as a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the fourth lens element of Hsueh for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly with sufficient field of view and compactness for the desired application (Paragraph 4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao (USPG Pub No. 2018/0364457) in view of Souma (USPG Pub No. 2013/0271851).
Regarding claim 5, Yao discloses wherein half of a maximum field of view of the imaging lens assembly is HFOV (Table 1A). Yao discloses the claimed invention except for and the following condition is satisfied: 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees. In the same field of endeavor, Souma discloses and the following condition is satisfied: 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees (Paragraph 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with and the following condition is satisfied: 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees of Souma for the purpose of providing a lightweight macro imaging lens assembly that suppresses aberration (Paragraphs 4, 9).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yao (USPG Pub No. 2018/0364457) in view of Huang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2018/0011226), hereinafter “Huang”.
Regarding claim 12, Yao discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second lens element has positive refractive power, the third lens element has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element has negative refractive power. In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses wherein the second lens element (G2) has positive refractive power, the third lens element (G3) has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element (G6) has negative refractive power (Paragraph 43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Yao with wherein the second lens element has positive refractive power, the third lens element has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element has negative refractive power of Huang for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly that is small in size, low in cost and has good imaging quality (Paragraph 4).
Claims 16, 18, 20, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hsueh (USPG Pub No. 2024/0255736) in view of Yao (USPG Pub No. 2018/0364457).
Regarding claim 16, Hsueh discloses the second lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof (Table 9), and at least one lens element has an Abbe number equal to or smaller than 19.5 (Table 9). Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein the first lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof (Table 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with wherein the first lens element has an object-side surface being convex in a paraxial region thereof of Yao for the purpose of providing an imaging les assembly capable of capturing high brightness and high resolution images (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 18, Hsueh discloses wherein a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is R10, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12 (Table 9). Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for and the following condition is satisfied: -1.8 < R10/R12 < 1.3. In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses and the following condition is satisfied: -1.8 < R10/R12 < 1.3 (Table 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with and the following condition is satisfied: -1.8 < R10/R12 < 1.3 of Yao for the purpose of providing an imaging les assembly capable of capturing high brightness and high resolution images (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 20, Hsueh discloses wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the first lens element is R1, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following condition is satisfied: -1.70 < (R1-R12)/(R1+R12) < 5.0 (Table 9). Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element has a same sign as a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element. In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element (L3) has a same sign as a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element (L3) (Table 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with wherein a curvature radius of an object-side surface of the third lens element has a same sign as a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the third lens element of Yao for the purpose of providing an imaging les assembly capable of capturing high brightness and high resolution images (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 21, Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following condition is satisfied: -0.65 < f/R12 < 4.0. In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following condition is satisfied: -0.65 < f/R12 < 4.0 (Table 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with wherein a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following condition is satisfied: -0.65 < f/R12 < 4.0 of Yao for the purpose of providing an imaging les assembly capable of capturing high brightness and high resolution images (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 23, Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an absolute value of a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is larger than an absolute value of a curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens element. In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein an absolute value of a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is larger than an absolute value of a curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens element (Table 6A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with wherein an absolute value of a curvature radius of an image-side surface of the sixth lens element is larger than an absolute value of a curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens element of Yao for the purpose of providing an imaging les assembly capable of capturing high brightness and high resolution images (Paragraph 3).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103p as being obvious over Hsueh (USPG Pub No. 2024/0255736) in view of Souma (USPG Pub No. 2013/0271851).
Regarding claim 19, Hsueh discloses wherein half of a maximum field of view of the imaging lens assembly is HFOV, the axial distance between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is T45, a central thickness of the fourth lens element is CT4, a central thickness of the fifth lens element is CT5 (Table 9), and the following conditions are satisfied: and 0 < T45/(CT4+CT5) < 2.4 (Table 9). Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees. In the same field of endeavor, Souma discloses 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees (Paragraph 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with 5.0 degrees < HFOV < 23.0 degrees of Souma for the purpose of providing a lightweight macro imaging lens assembly that suppresses aberration (Paragraphs 4, 9).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103p as being obvious over Hsueh (USPG Pub No. 2024/0255736) in view of Huang (USPG Pub No. 2018/0011226)
Regarding claim 24, Hsueh discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second lens element has positive refractive power, the third lens element has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element has negative refractive power. In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses wherein the second lens element (G2) has positive refractive power, the third lens element (G3) has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element (G6) has negative refractive power (Paragraph 43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lens assembly of Hsueh with wherein the second lens element has positive refractive power, the third lens element has negative refractive power, and the fifth lens element has negative refractive power of Huang for the purpose of providing an imaging lens assembly that is small in size, low in cost and has good imaging quality (Paragraph 4).
Prior Art Citations
Hashimoto (USPG Pub No. 2015/0177489) is being cited herein to show an imaging lens assembly relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2/7/2026