DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention Group I in the reply filed on September 11, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 11, 2025.
Claim Objections
Cancelled claims 1-10 must be listed with status identifiers (e.g., "currently amended," "canceled," "new," etc.). See MPEP 714.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circumferential cylindrical groove in the first part of said housing as recited in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 11, 12 and 21-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,499. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions have the features of a valve comprising: a housing comprising two parts, a hollow piston, a biasing member, a first sealing member, a second sealing member and at least one air vent.
Application Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,938,499
11, 12
1
21
3
22
4
23
5
24
7
25
8
26
9
27
10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the inlet of said chamber" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read --the inlet of said housing-- or --the inlet of said first of said parts.--
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the outlet of said chamber" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read –the outlet of said housing-- or --the outlet of said second of said parts.--
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said inlet end" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said first part of said housing" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said second part of said housing" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soetaert (US 9,707,574) in view of Gregory (US 7,681,807).
With respect to claim 11, Soetaert discloses a valve (Figs. 1-5) for (capable of diverting fluid in) an irrigation system comprising: a) a housing comprising two parts (first part (38) and second part (106 and 158)) which define an internal chamber (occupied by 122) when coupled together, a first of said parts of said housing having an inlet (94) in fluid communication with a line (82 or passage in 26) (Examiner’s note: the “irrigation line” is not a positively recited element in the claim), and a second of said parts having an outlet (166) in fluid communication with a sprinkler head (78), said inlet further comprising a stop (54 and the ring structure below 54), and said chamber having a central (vertical) axis therethrough; b) a hollow piston (122) inside said chamber, said piston having a fluid passageway (138) therethrough that is aligned with the central axis of said chamber, said piston having an inlet (at 126) to said passageway adjacent to the inlet of said chamber, an outlet (at 166) from said passageway adjacent to the outlet of said chamber, and a seal (130) at said piston inlet operable to provide watertight sealing against said stop; c) a biasing member (154) in said chamber, said biasing member being operable to bias said seal against said stop until overcome by water in said inlet end reaching or exceeding a threshold pressure (Fig. 5); d) a first sealing member (upper 150) operable to provide a watertight seal between said piston and an interior surface of said first part of said housing; e) a second sealing member (lower 150) operable to provide a watertight seal between said piston and an interior surface of said second part of said housing.
Soetaert fails to disclose at least one air vent in a wall of said chamber.
However, Gregory teaches a pressure actuated valve (10. Figs. 1-15) comprising: a housing (34 and 30) having a fluid inlet (94), a fluid outlet (52), and a central chamber (chambers of 34 and 30); b. a hollow movable piston (200, 370, 358 and 372) and traversing said chamber, said piston having a fluid inlet (162) adjacent to said housing inlet and a fluid outlet (330 and 354) adjacent to said housing outlet; c. a first U-cup seal (224 is axially in) between said housing inlet and said piston, and a second U-cup seal (50 is axially in) between said housing outlet and said piston for creating a seal between said piston and said chamber; d. at least one air vent (260, 266 and 270) in a wall of said chamber (Fig. 3); e. a stop (top surface of the bottom wall of 34 and underside of cup shaped component below 124. The two surfaces acted or engaged on each other to form a Stop. See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) at (near) said housing inlet, and a third seal (bottom surface of the cup shaped component below 124 and bottom surface of moveable housing 30) on (radially covering) said movable piston for engagement with said stop (top surface of the bottom wall of 34) for preventing (hindering) fluid from flowing into said hollow piston when said third seal is engaged against said stop; and f. a biasing member (36) on (over) said piston for urging said third seal against said stop; wherein increased fluid pressure at said housing inlet causes said piston and said third seal to move said biasing member when a threshold pressure is reached (Fig. 1), separating said stop from said third seal, and allowing fluid to enter into and pass through said hollow piston and exit through said housing outlet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of at least one air vent in a wall of said chamber, as taught by Gregory, to Soetaert’s chamber, in order to provide an air vent to benefits the operation of the device (Col. 8, line 57 to Col. 9, line 8).
Alternatively, Soetaert fails to disclose wherein the first of said parts of said housing having an inlet in fluid communication with an irrigation line.
However, Gregory teaches wherein the fluid inlet of said housing is in fluid communication with an irrigation water line (the source pipe) and the fluid outlet of said housing is in fluid communication with an emission device (rotating nozzle 52 and drive mechanism 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of connecting the valve with an irrigation water line to an emission device, as taught by Gregory, to Soetaert’s device, in order to provide proper irrigation coverage (Col. 1, lines 12-26).
With respect to claim 12, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein the seal at said piston inlet is an O-ring, said first sealing member is a cup seal, and said second sealing member is a cup seal (Figs. 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 21, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein said stop comprises a central head (See enlarged Fig. 3 with additional annotations below) for temporary engagement with said seal, and a plurality of arms having gaps between them through which fluid may flow, each of said arms being engaged (fluidly connected) with a circumferential cylindrical groove (opening/space) in the first part of said housing for holding said stop in place.
With respect to claim 22, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein the second exterior surface of said piston is locate between a pair of exterior annular rings (rings above and below lower 150) defining a circumferential gap (gap occupied by lower 150) therebetween and wherein said first sealing member is provided in said circumferential gap (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 23, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses the valve further comprising an annular guide (inner surfaces of seals 150 and biasing member 154) slidably engaged around (adjacent) said piston and wherein said second sealing member is provided around (adjacent) an (lower) end of said piston between said annular guide and the second part of said housing.
With respect to claim 24, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein a length of said chamber may be adjusted by (threaded connection between 110 and 38) adjusting the distance between the housing parts in order to change an amount of threshold water pressure needed to move said biasing member (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 25, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein said housing parts comprise complementary threadings (male and female threads at 110), and said threshold water pressure is adjusted by threading said housing parts into or out of each other (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 26, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein said third seal comprises a ring shape to provide a watertight seal against the central head of said stop to prevent water from entering the hollow piston while in a sealed position (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 27, Soetaert’s pressure actuated valve modified by Gregory’s air vent, Soetaert further discloses wherein said biasing member is a removable spring which encircles said piston (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a valve: Seltner, Barkelew, Filliung, Symmons, Yates, Birchfield and Zaccai et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 November 18, 2025