1DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2024, 12/03/2024, 02/25/2026, 03/11/2026, 04/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the correct positioning of the reinforcing rib with respect to the inner side wall of the side wall portion and the connecting plate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 3 shows the reinforcing rib closer to the connecting plate than to the inner side wall; however, claim 7 recites that “a reinforcing rib which extends from the upper fastening plate to the lower fastening plate and is closer to the inner side wall of the side wall portion than the connecting plate”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper buffer space" and “the lower buffer space” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 5 does not recite "an upper buffer space" and “a lower buffer space” prior to the recitation in lines 1-2. Although "an upper buffer space" and “a lower buffer space” are recited in claim 2, claim 5 depends only on claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear what structure is being referred to by the upper buffer space" and “the lower buffer space” in claim 5.
For purposes of examination, "the upper buffer space" and “the lower buffer space” as recited in claim 5 are interpreted to refer to "an upper buffer space" and “a lower buffer space” recited in claim 2.
Claims 6-7 are similarly rejected for depending upon claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN 215816196 U, citation from enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a battery cell assembly (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, and 45-53; battery pack including a battery module), comprising:
a cell block including a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, 59-60; battery module including a plurality of battery cells 1 arranged in a box body 2);
and a side frame disposed on one side surface of the cell block (Fig. 4, page 5, lines 21-26, and 48-53; end plate of the battery module includes a main body 10 and a protrusion 20, wherein main body 10 is disposed opposite the large surface 3 of battery 1),
wherein the side frame comprises a side wall portion (Fig. 4, main body 10) and a flange portion (Fig. 4, protrusion 20) disposed on the side wall portion on a side opposite the cell block (Fig. 4) and configured to be fastened to an external support structure (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 55-57; page 6, lines 2-9; protrusion 20 extends from main body 10 and is connected to the beam of box body 2, wherein the beam corresponds to the claimed support structure), and
wherein the side wall portion comprises a hollow space formed throughout an inside thereof (Fig. 1; page 4, lines 45-51; main body 10 is provided with one or more cavities 12 penetrating the main body along the length direction of large surface 11).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the hollow space comprises an upper buffer space and a lower buffer space, wherein the side wall portion comprises an inner side wall facing the one side surface of the cell block, a first outer side wall spaced apart from an upper portion of the inner side wall with the upper buffer space therebetween, and a second outer side wall spaced apart from a lower portion of the inner side wall with the lower buffer space therebetween (see Images. 1, and 2, which are the annotated Figs.1 and 4 of Zhao below; main body 10 includes a plurality of cavities 12 arranged at intervals, with Fig. 1 depicting upper and lower cavities bounded between a cell-facing wall of main body 10 and respective opposing wall portions),
wherein the flange portion is connected to the first outer side wall and the second outer side wall, wherein each of the first outer side wall and the second outer side wall is spaced apart from the inner side wall in a first direction, and wherein the first outer side wall is spaced apart from the second outer side wall (see Images. 1, and 2, which are the annotated Figs.1 and 4 of Zhao below; protrusion 20 extends outwardly from main body 10 and is connected to the spaced outer wall portions).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the plurality of battery cells are stacked in the first direction (see Image. 2 above; page 5, lines 28-30; battery cells 1 are stacked in the first direction).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the side wall portion further comprises: an upper wall extending between an upper end portion of the inner side wall and an upper end portion of the first outer side wall; and a lower wall extending between a lower end portion of the inner side wall and a lower end portion of the second outer side wall (see Image. 2 above; upper and lower walls of the main body 10 extend between the cell-facing wall and respective outer wall portions),
wherein the upper buffer space is defined by the upper portion of the inner side wall, the upper wall, and the first outer side wall, and wherein the lower buffer space is defined by the lower portion of the inner side wall, the lower wall, and the second outer side wall (see Images. 1, and 2 above; page 4, lines 45-54; the upper and lower cavities 12 are bounded by the respective identified wall portions).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches a battery pack, comprising: a pack housing including a support structure; and a battery cell assembly accommodated in the pack housing wherein the battery cell assembly comprises a cell block including a plurality of battery cells, (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, 55-60; a battery pack includes a box body 2, wherein the box body 2 accommodates the battery module including the plurality of battery cells 1, and the box body 2 includes a beam corresponds to the claimed support structure),
and a side frame disposed on one side surface of the cell block (Fig. 4, page 5, lines 21-26, and 48-53; end plate of the battery module includes a main body 10 and a protrusion 20, wherein main body 10 is disposed opposite the large surface 3 of battery 1),
wherein the side frame comprises a side wall portion (Fig. 4, main body 10) and a flange portion (Fig. 4, protrusion 20 ) disposed on the side wall portion on a side opposite the cell block (Fig. 4) and fastened to the support structure (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 55-57; page 6, lines 2-9; protrusion 20 extends from main body 10 and is connected to the beam of box body 2),
wherein the side wall portion comprises a hollow space formed throughout an inside thereof (Fig. 1; page 4, lines 45-51; main body 10 is provided with one or more cavities 12 penetrating the main body along the length direction of large surface 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 215816196 U, citation from enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the upper buffer space communicates with the lower buffer space through a middle buffer space located near a middle portion of the inner side wall (see Images. 1 and 2 above; page 4, lines 44-55; main body 10 includes one or plurality of cavities, whereby, when a single cavity is provided, the different portions, including the upper, middle, and lower portions, can communicate with one another), wherein the flange portion includes an inner space (Fig. 1; page 4, lines 21-22, and 28-32, and 44-55; page 6, lines 2-4; protrusion 20 is a hollow structure and is provided with through hole 21 extending along the length direction of protrusion 20) through which a fastening member passes (see Image. 3 above; Fig. 4; page 6, lines 2-4; fastener/bolt 23).
Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the inner space of the flange portion communicates with the middle buffer space. Zhao teaches that the body 10 may be provided with a cavity 12 in order to reduce the weight and resist expansion inside the battery (page 4, lines 45-51) or include multiple cavities 12 to ensure strength (page 4, lines 53-55), therefore teaching both alternatives. Zhao also teaches that the body 10 and the protrusion 20 may be integrally formed to reduce processing steps (page 4, lines 57-58), and Fig. 4 shows a cavity formed in the protrusion as well. Specifically, Zhao teaches that the protrusions 20 is located in the middle of the large surface 11 (page 3, lines 52-55). Zhao teaches that main body 10 and protrusion 20 are integrally formed by extrusion (page 4, lines 57-58; page 5, lines 9-10), and further teaches that cavity 12 of main body 10 and through hole 21 of protrusion 20 extend in the same direction such that main body 10 and protrusion 20 can be integrally extrusion molded (page 5, lines 1-13). Thus, Zhao recognizes forming the hollow spaces of the main body and the protrusion as part of an integral extrusion process.
Therefore, from the teachings of Zhao, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the hollow space of the main body and the inner space of the protrusion such that they communicate with each other and to provide a continuous cavity in the body and the protrusion, thereby providing the inner space of the flange/ protrusion portion communicates with the middle buffer space/cavity in order to reduce the weight of the battery and to resist expansion (page 4, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 5 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the flange portion comprises: an upper fastening plate through which the fastening member passes; a lower fastening plate through which the fastening member passes and which is spaced apart from the upper fastening plate with the inner space therebetween; and a connecting plate connecting the upper fastening plate to the lower fastening plate (see Image. 3 below which is the annotated Fig.4 of Zhao; page 6, lines 2-9; protrusion 20 includes opposed upper and lower wall portions separated by through hole 21 and an outer wall portion connecting the upper and lower wall portions; fixing holes 22 extend through the fastening portion and receive fasteners 23).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 11 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the hollow space comprises an upper buffer space, a middle buffer space and a lower buffer space,
wherein the side wall portion comprises an inner side wall facing the one side surface of the cell block, a first outer side wall spaced apart from an upper portion of the inner side wall with the upper buffer space therebetween, and a second outer side wall spaced apart from a lower portion of the inner side wall with the lower buffer space therebetween (see Images. 1, and 2 above; main body 10 includes a plurality of cavities 12 arranged at intervals, with Fig. 1 depicting upper and lower cavities bounded between a cell-facing wall of main body 10 and respective opposing wall portions),
wherein the flange portion is connected to the first outer side wall and the second outer side wall (see Images. 1, and 2 above; protrusion 20 extends outwardly from main body 10 and is connected to the spaced outer wall portions),
wherein the upper buffer space communicates with the lower buffer space through the middle buffer space (see Image. 1 above; page 4, lines 44-55; main body 10 includes one or plurality of cavities, whereby, when a single cavity is provided, the different portions, including the upper, middle, and lower portions, can communicate with one another).
wherein the flange portion comprises: an upper fastening plate through which a fastening member passes; a lower fastening plate through which the fastening member passes and which is spaced apart from the upper fastening plate with an inner space therebetween (see Image. 3 above; page 6, lines 2-9; protrusion 20 includes opposed upper and lower wall portions separated by through hole 21 and an outer wall portion connecting the upper and lower wall portions; fixing holes 22 extend through the fastening portion and receive fasteners 23);
and a connecting plate connecting the upper fastening plate to the lower fastening plate (see Image. 3 above),
Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the inner space communicates with the middle buffer space. Zhao teaches that the body 10 may be provided with a cavity 12 in order to reduce the weight and resist expansion inside the battery (page 4, lines 45-51) or include multiple cavities 12 to ensure strength (page 4, lines 53-55), therefore teaching both alternatives. Zhao also teaches that the body 10 and the protrusion 20 may be integrally formed to reduce processing steps (page 4, lines 57-58), and fig. 4 shows a cavity formed in the protrusion as well. Specifically, Zhao teaches that the protrusions 20 is located in the middle of the large surface 11 (page 3, lines 52-55). Zhao teaches that main body 10 and protrusion 20 are integrally formed by extrusion (page 4, lines 57-58; page 5, lines 9-10), and further teaches that cavity 12 of main body 10 and through hole 21 of protrusion 20 extend in the same direction such that main body 10 and protrusion 20 can be integrally extrusion molded (page 5, lines 1-13). Thus, Zhao recognizes forming the hollow spaces of the main body and the protrusion as part of an integral extrusion process.
Therefore, from the teachings of Zhao, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the hollow space of the main body and the inner space of the protrusion such that they communicate with each other and to provide a continuous cavity in the body and the protrusion, thereby providing the inner space of the flange/ protrusion portion communicates with the middle buffer space/cavity in order to reduce the weight of the battery and to resist expansion (page 4, lines 53-58).
Claim 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 20220004378 A, citation from the enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 6 as stated above. Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the flange portion further comprises: a reinforcing rib which extends from the upper fastening plate to the lower fastening plate (see Image. 3 above; page 6, lines 6-9).
Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the reinforcing rib is closer to the inner side wall of the side wall portion than the connecting plate.
Zhao teaches reinforcing rib 24 for reinforcing protrusion 20; however, Zhao does not teach positioning the reinforcing rib closer to the inner side wall of the side wall portion than to the connecting plate.
However, Lee teaches a side frame part 20 provided with a reinforcement part/flange 90 includes a reinforcing extension portion 91 and a reinforcement connection part 92 ([0077], Fig. 2), and that a reinforcing rib portion 93 may be disposed between the portion 91 and portion 92. Lee further teaches the rib portion 93 may be disposed vertically such that both ends are coupled to the portion 91 ([0080]). Thus, Lee teaches positioning rib 93 at selected locations along a reinforcement structure to increase the rigidity thereof ([0080]). Thereby teaching the arrangement of rib as a matters of design choice available to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Further, Zhao and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to the structural reinforcement arrangement of end plates in battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rib arrangement of Zhao in view of Lee by positioning the rib closer to the inner side wall that the connecting plate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because Lee teaches positioning reinforcing rib portions at different locations of a reinforcement structure for increasing rigidity. Such a modification would have involved merely selecting the position of a known reinforcing rib within Zhao's flange structure according to the desired location of reinforcement, yielding the predictable result of increased structural rigidity ([0080]). See also MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the battery cell assembly further comprises: a bottom cover plate under the cell block and coupled to a lower end portion of the side wall portion.
Zhao teaches the box body 2 housing battery cells (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, 59-60). As illustrated in Fig. 4, a lower end portion of the side wall is coupled to the bottom of the case. Zhao, however, does not teach a bottom cover plate as claimed.
However, Lee teaches a battery pack case including a lower frame part 10 that covers the lower part of the battery pack [0022]). Lee further teaches that the side frame units 20 are coupled to the lower frame unit 10, with a bottom surface of each side frame unit 20 coupled to the lower frame part 10 ([0023]). Thus, Lee teaches a lower frame part 10 corresponding to a bottom cover plate positioned under the battery pack and coupled to lower portions of the side frame parts 20. Lee further teaches that the lower frame part 10 and side frame parts 20 may be coupled by friction stir welding, which can minimize a joint area associated with internal airtightness ([0025]).
Further, Zhao and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to the structural reinforcement arrangement of end plates in battery modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the box body of Zhao to specifically include a bottom cover plate positioned under the cell block and coupled to lower end portion of the side wall portion, to provide a coupling having a reduced joint area associated with internal airtightness ([0022-0023, 0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the battery cell assembly further comprising: a top cover plate on the cell block and coupled to an upper end portion of the side wall portion.
Zhao teaches the box body 2 housing battery cells (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, 59-60) ). As illustrated in Fig. 4, side wall is coupled to the case. Zhao, however, does not teach a top cover plate as claimed.
However, Lee teaches a battery pack case including a lower frame part 10 that covers the lower part of the battery pack [0022]). Lee further teaches that an upper cover portion may be disposed to face the upper portion of the lower frame portion 10 to cover the upper portion of the battery pack [0022, 0026]). Lee further teaches that the upper cover part is coupled to the side frame part 20, by a piece or bolt coupling, such that the upper side of the battery pack can be opened or closed as needed ([0026]). In addition, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the upper cover part is disposed over the battery pack and coupled to an upper end portion of the side frame part 20.
Further, Zhao and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to the structural reinforcement arrangement of end plates in battery modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Zhao’s battery cell assembly to include a top cover plate disposed over the cell block and coupled to an upper end portion of the side wall portion as taught by Lee, thereby providing a cover arrangement that permits the upper side of battery assembly to be opened and closed as needed ([0026], Fig. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified by Lee, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of He (CN 112201895 A, citation from the enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao, as modified by Lee, teaches all limitations of claim 9 as stated above. Modified Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the top cover plate comprises a cooling channel.
Lee teaches that the cooling pipe may be built in the lower frame unit 10 to enable cooling through cooling water circulation [0022]. However, Lee does not teach providing such a cooling channel in the top cover plate.
However, He specifically teaches that the module top plate 212 is configured as a direct cooling plate 220 having a cooling structure and pipelines therein. He further teaches that a refrigerant may flow through the direct cooling plate 220 to absorb heat from the battery cells 110, thereby maintaining the battery cells at an appropriate temperature value (Fig. 12; page 16, lines 34-40). Thus, He teaches a top plate comprising an internal cooling channels through which coolant flows.
Further, modified Zhao and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to power battery packs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top cover plate of modified Zhao to comprise cooling channels as taught by He in order to absorb heat from the battery cells and maintain the battery cells at an appropriate temperature (Fig. 12; page 6, lines 34-40).
Claims 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of He (CN 112201895 A, citation from the enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches all limitations of claim 12 as stated above. Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the battery cell assembly further comprises: a bottom cover plate under the cell block; and a top cover plate on top of the cell block and including a cooling channel.
Zhao teaches box body 2 housing the battery cells (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 59-60). However, Zhao does not specifically disclose a bottom cover plate under the cell block; and a top cover plate on top of the cell block and including a cooling channel.
However, He specifically teaches a module bottom plate 211 disposed under at least a portion of the plurality of single cells 100 and connected to first and second end plates 207, and 208, (page 14, lines 18-31; Figs. 9, and 12). He further teaches a module top plate 212 disposed above at least a portion of the plurality of single cells 100 and connected to the first and second end plates 207, and 208 (page 14, lines 34-44; Fig. 12); thereby forming a battery module and defining an accommodating space for the single cells 100 in order to prevent the single battery 100 from moving up and down (page 14, lines 44-46; Figs. 9, and 12).
He further teaches that the module top plate 212 may be configured as a direct cooling plate 220 having a cooling structure and liquid pipelines therein, through which a refrigerant flows to absorb heat from the battery cells 100 and maintain the battery cells at an appropriate temperature (Fig. 12; page 16, lines 34-40). Thus, He teaches a top plate having an internal cooling channel.
Further, Zhao and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to power battery pack structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Zhao’s box body to include a bottom cover plate under the cell block; and a top cover plate on top of the cell block in order to restrain movement of the battery cells (page 14, lines 44-46) and also to configure the top cover plate to include a cooling channel, as further taught by He, in order to absorb heat from the battery cells and maintain the battery cells at an appropriate temperature (page 16, lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao, as modified by He, teaches all limitations of claim 13 as stated above. Modified Zhao further teach a limitation wherein the side wall portion further comprises: an upper wall extending between an upper end portion of the inner side wall and an upper end portion of the first outer side wall and coupled to the top cover plate; and a lower wall extending between a lower end portion of the inner side wall and a lower end portion of the second outer side wall and coupled to the bottom cover plate.
Zhao teaches a limitation wherein the side wall portion further comprises: an upper wall extending between an upper end portion of the inner side wall and an upper end portion of the first outer side wall; and a lower wall extending between a lower end portion of the inner side wall and a lower end portion of the second outer side wall. Specifically, Zhao teaches upper and lower walls of the main body 10 extend between the cell-facing wall and respective outer wall portions (see Images. 1, and 2 above) and as illustrated in Fig. 4 of Zhao the lower end portion of the side wall is coupled to the bottom of the case.
Zhao does not teach that the upper wall is coupled to the top cover plate and that the lower wall is coupled to the bottom cover plate.
He teaches this coupling arrangement. Specifically He teaches a first side plate 209 (or first elastic buffer plate 205 in the corresponding embodiment) disposed along a side of the plurality of single cells 100, a module top plate 212 disposed above the plurality of single cells 100, and a module bottom plate 211 disposed below the plurality of single cells 100 (Fig. 12). He further teaches that the first and second end plates 207, 208, first and second side plates 209, 210, module top plate 212, and module bottom plate 211 are arranged around the plurality of single cells 100 to jointly define a closure for accommodating the plurality of single cells 100 (page 14, lines 48-60; Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side-wall arrangement of Zhao such that the upper wall is coupled to the top cover plate and the lower wall is coupled to the bottom cover plate, as suggested by the enclosure arrangement of He, in order to provide a closed structure for accommodating and retaining the plurality of battery cells (page 14, lines 48-60; Fig. 12).
Claims 14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified by He, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Engel et al. (US 20130059175 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao, as modified by He, teaches all limitations of claim 13 as stated above. Modified Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein the battery cell assembly and a bottom wall of the pack housing are spaced apart from each other to form a first space.
However, Engel teaches a battery cell assembly including cell module 12 with three battery cells 16, spaced apart from a bottom wall of the battery housing, housing plate 28, thereby defining a first space therebetween ( Fig. 2; [0030-0031])). The region between the module 12 and housing plate 28 includes collecting through 26 for receiving substances emerging from battery cells 16 ([0031]).
Further, modified Zhao and Engel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to battery assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Zhao’s battery pack to include a space between the battery cell assembly and a bottom wall of the pack housing for receiving substances emerging from battery cells 16 ([0031]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao, as modified by He, and Engel, teaches all limitations of claim 14 as stated above. Modified Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein each of the plurality of battery cells is a cylindrical-type battery cell or a prismatic-type battery cell comprises a venting portion.
Zhao teaches battery 1 includes two opposite large surfaces 3 and four small surfaces surrounding the two large surfaces 3 , the area of the small surfaces is not larger than that of the large surfaces 3, and thereby teaching a prismatic-type battery cell. Zhao, however, is silent regarding the battery cell comprising a venting portion.
However, Engel teaches battery cells 16 having degassing openings 18 for discharging gases and electrolytes emerging from the battery cells to provide an optimized degassing system, thereby teaching the claimed venting portion ([0006, 00310, 0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prismatic-type battery cell of modified Zhao to include Engel’s degassing opening 18 to provide a controlled path for discharging gases and electrolytes emerging from battery cells and providing an optimized degassing system ([0006, 00310, 0031]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao, as modified by He, and Engel, teaches all limitations of claim 18 as stated above. Modified Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein the venting portion of the cylindrical-type battery cell or the prismatic-type battery cell faces the first space.
Specifically, Engel teaches that each battery cell 16 includes a degassing openings 18 on its lower face 36, which is arranged opposite the upper face 34. Engel further teaches that the base plate 22 includes apertures 24 at the location of the degassing openings 18, through which emerging electrolytes and gases are directed into collecting trough 26 positioned below the battery cells and serving as a catchment area ([0030, 0031]; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the venting portion of the battery cells of modified Zhao to face the first space/catchment area, such the gases and electrolytes discharged through the venting portion are directed into the space below the battery cell assembly to optimize degassing system ([0006, 00310, 0031]) as taught by Engel
Claim 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, as modified by He, and Engel, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mabrey et al. (US 20220021074 A1).
Regarding claim 16, , Zhao, as modified by He, and Engel, teaches all limitations of claim 14 as stated above. Modified Zhao does not teach a limitation wherein each of the plurality of battery cells is a pouch-type battery cell.
Zhao teaches battery 1 includes two opposite large surfaces 3 and four small surfaces surrounding the two large surfaces 3 , wherein the area of the small surfaces is not larger than that of the large surfaces 3, thereby teaching a prismatic-type battery cell. Zhao does not disclose a limitation wherein each of the plurality of battery cells is a pouch-type battery cell.
However, Mabrey teaches a battery module assembly comprising a plurality of prismatic battery cells 48 ([0054]). Mabrey further teaches that exemplary battery cell 48 may be used with the disclosed embodiments ([0057]) and that, in certain embodiments, the cell case 72 of battery cell 48 comprises a pouch formed of a film material, such as a polymer/aluminum composite material that is hermetically sealed at least on one side ([0058]). Thus, Mabrey reaches implementation of the disclosed prismatic battery cells as pouch-type battery cells, thereby defining a pouch battery ([0054, 0057, 0058]).
Further, modified Zhao and Mabrey are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to battery pack structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cells of modified Zhao to employ the pouch-type cell construction taught by Mabrey, thereby providing the battery cells with hermetically sealed film-based cell case as taught by Mabrey ([0054, 0057-0058])
Regarding claim 17, Zhao, as modified by He, Engel, and Mabrey, teaches all limitations of claim 16 as stated above. Modified Zhao further teaches a limitation wherein a sealed portion of a pouch in the pouch-type battery cell in the cell block faces the first space.
Specifically, as discussed with respect to claim 16, Mabrey teaches that, in certain embodiments, cell case 72 of battery cell 48 comprises a pouch formed of a film material, such as a polymer/aluminum composite material, that is hermetically sealed at least on one side ([0058]). Thus, Mabrey teaches a pouch-type battery cell having a sealed portion along at least one side of the pouch.
As discussed above with respect to claim 14, modified Zhao provides the first space between the battery cell assembly and the bottom wall of the pack housing. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the Mabrey pouch-type battery cells in modified Zhao such that the sealed portion of the pouch faces the first space.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 215816196 U, citation from enclosed machine translation), and further in view of He et al. (CN 112201895 A, citation from the enclosed machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao teaches a battery pack, the battery pack comprising: a pack housing including a support structure; and a battery cell assembly accommodated in the pack housing wherein the battery cell assembly comprises a cell block including a plurality of battery cells, (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 28-30, 55-60; a battery pack includes a box body 2, wherein the box body 2 accommodates the battery module including the plurality of battery cells 1, and the box body 2 includes a beam corresponds to the claimed support structure),
and a side frame disposed on one side surface of the cell block (Fig. 4, page 5, lines 21-26, and 48-53; end plate of the battery module includes a main body 10 and a protrusion 20, wherein main body 10 is disposed opposite the large surface 3 of battery 1),
wherein the side frame comprises a side wall portion (Fig. 4, main body 10) and a flange portion (Fig. 4, protrusion 20 ) disposed on the side wall portion on a side opposite the cell block (Fig. 4) and fastened to the support structure (Fig. 4; page 5, lines 55-57; page 6, lines 2-9; protrusion 20 extends from main body 10 and is connected to the beam of box body 2),
wherein the side wall portion comprises a hollow space formed throughout an inside thereof (Fig. 1; page 4, lines 45-51; main body 10 is provided with one or more cavities 12 penetrating the main body along the length direction of large surface 11).
Zhao is silent regarding a limitation wherein an electric mobility device comprises the battery pack.
However, He teaches that the disclosed power battery pack may be used in an electric vehicle (page 1, lines 18-19, 52-56). He further teaches that the disclosed battery-pack structure reduces the weight of the containing device and improves the endurance of the power battery pack, thereby realizing a lightweight power battery pack (page 1, lines 52-56). He also identifies the weight associated with beams, fasteners, and conventional battery-module structures as disadvantages of prior battery packs (page 1, lines 37-49).
Further, modified Zhao and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to power battery pack structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the battery pack of Zhao in an electric vehicle, as taught by He, in order to obtain a lightweight battery-pack arrangement having reduced weight and improved endurance the improved battery performance, thereby satisfying the demand for lightweight battery-pack in electric vehicle (page 1, lines 52-56).
Conclusion
/LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728