Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 05/06/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there no independent or distinct and no serious burden if exam both Groups I and II. This is not found persuasive because the process as claimed can be practiced using liquid sorbent system other than the specific system recite in Group I, and the liquid sorbent system of Group I and be manufactured, sold, or possessed without performing the method recited in Group II. Therefore, the process does not necessarily require the particular apparatus of Group I, and the apparatus does not necessarily require performance of claimed process.
There would be a serious burden because the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saunders et al (US 20110174156; hereinafter Saunders).
As regarding claim 1, Saunders discloses the claimed invention for a liquid sorbent system (figs. 1A-1B and 2), comprising: a membrane contactor ([0008]) configured to absorb one or more contaminants into or desorb one or more contaminants from a liquid sorbent, wherein the membrane contactor comprises: a contactor housing configured to receive the liquid sorbent at a liquid inlet and discharge liquid sorbent at a liquid outlet ([0008]); and one or more hollow fiber membranes (0009) positioned in the contactor housing; and a bubbler (20) configured to generate bubbles in the liquid sorbent upstream of the liquid outlet.
As regarding claim 2, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention for wherein the membrane contactor is a scrubber (7) configured to absorb the one or more contaminants from a gas stream into the liquid sorbent, and wherein the bubbler is configured to discharge at least a portion of the gas stream into the liquid sorbent to generate the bubbles.
As regarding claim 3, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention for wherein the membrane contactor is a stripper (8) configured to desorb the one or more contaminants from the liquid sorbent into a contaminant stream, and wherein the bubbler is configured to discharge at least a portion of a gas stream into the liquid sorbent to generate the bubbles.
As regarding claim 4, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention for wherein the bubbler includes a sparger (20) configured to generate the bubbles to increase mixing of the liquid sorbent in the one or more hollow fiber membranes of the membrane contactor.
As regarding claim 6, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention for wherein the sparger (20) of the bubbler is positioned upstream of the liquid inlet of the membrane contactor (figs. 1A and 1B).
As regarding claim 8, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention for wherein the liquid sorbent system is a contaminant removal system comprising: a scrubber (7) configured to absorb the one or more contaminants from a gas stream into the liquid sorbent; and a stripper (8) configured to desorb the one or more contaminants from the liquid sorbent into a contaminant stream, and wherein at least one of the scrubber or the stripper comprises the membrane contactor ([0008]).
With respect to the limitations recited in claim 9, which pertain to the manner in which a material or article is worked upon, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article being worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al (US 20110174156; hereinafter Saunders).
As regarding claim 5, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention except for wherein at least the sparger of the bubbler is positioned within the contactor housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein at least the sparger of the bubbler is positioned within the contactor housing in order to enhance sorbent system performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al (US 20110174156; hereinafter Saunders), as applied supra, and further in view of KR 10-1191085 (hereinafter KR ‘085).
As regarding claim 7, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the sparger is a porous sparger, and wherein the bubbler further comprises a gas stream junction configured to fluidically couple a bubbler gas stream to the porous sparger. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the sparger is a porous sparger, and wherein the bubbler further comprises a gas stream junction configured to fluidically couple a bubbler gas stream to the porous sparger in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in KR ‘085 (110 of figs. 2-4).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al (US 20110174156; hereinafter Saunders), as applied supra, and further in view of Henson et al (US 20240327041; hereinafter Henson).
As regarding claim 8, Saunders discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the liquid sorbent system is a contaminant removal system comprising: a scrubber configured to absorb the one or more contaminants from a gas stream into the liquid sorbent; and a stripper configured to desorb the one or more contaminants from the liquid sorbent into a contaminant stream, and wherein at least one of the scrubber or the stripper comprises the membrane contactor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the liquid sorbent system is a contaminant removal system comprising: a scrubber configured to absorb the one or more contaminants from a gas stream into the liquid sorbent; and a stripper configured to desorb the one or more contaminants from the liquid sorbent into a contaminant stream, and wherein at least one of the scrubber or the stripper comprises the membrane contactor in order to provide a completed contaminant removal system, since it was known in the art as shown in Henson (figs. 2A-2C and 3A-3B).
As regarding claim 10, Saunders as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saunders as modified discloses the claimed invention for a degasser (Henson - 362) configured to remove bubbles.
However, Saunders as modified does not disclose the degasser configured to remove bubbles from downstream of the scrubber and upstream of the stripper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the degasser configured to remove bubbles from downstream of the scrubber and upstream of the stripper in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773