DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 20, Applicant asserts that Abdelghaffar fails to disclose the feature of independent claim 20 of “communicating one or more second messages in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation in an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part of the time division duplexing band, wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency for the full-duplex mode of operation,” (emphasis added by Applicant). Applicant further asserts that Abdelghaffar specifically states that TDD operation maintains the “restriction that the uplink and downlink BWP pair shares the same center frequency”, and that describes that for TDD operation. Applicant assets that claims 1 and 14 recite features similar to independent claim 20 and are allowable for similar reasons. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the previous Office Action, Abdelghaffar [¶0084] discloses this limitation. Referring to Fig. 6A discussed in Abdelghaffar [¶0084], Fig. 6A shows examples of usable bandwidth for full duplex operation selected from defined downlink and uplink BWPs in which the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) and downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) are divided in the time domain and are thus in the context of TDD. In addition, UL BWP and DL BWP occupy different frequency bands. Accordingly, the respective center frequencies of the UL BWP and DL BWP are different and are thus unaligned in center frequency.
Additionally, although not required by the specific language of the claim, Examiner submits that, for example, Fig. 11, [0109] of Abdelghaffar discloses an example BWP configuration in which during the TDD mode of operation, the respective center frequencies of an uplink BWP (UL bwp-id=1) and a downlink BWP (DL bwp-id=1) are unaligned. Further, Fig. 11, [0109] of Abdelghaffar discloses an example BWP configuration in which during an FDD mode of operation, an uplink bandwidth part (UL bwp-id=2) and a downlink bandwidth part (D: bwp-id=2) are unaligned in center frequency. Fig. 11 of Abdelghaffar is shown as follows:
Accordiingly, Examiner maintains that Abdelghaffar discloses the limitation of independent claim 20 (and the similar limitations of claims 1 and 14) of “communicating one or more second messages in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation in an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part of the time division duplexing band, wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency for the full-duplex mode of operation”.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant asserts that Abdelghaffar does not disclose “[transmitting] an indication of a capability of the UE to support the full-duplex mode of operation based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency”. Applicant asserts that the Office Action has not shown that Abdelghaffar’s “capability of full-duplex FDD” to be the same as “an indication of a capability of the UE to support the full-duplex mode of operation based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency” as recited in dependent claim 2. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above in response to the argument directed to independent claim 20, Abdelghaffar discloses an example BWP configuration in which during an FDD mode of operation, an uplink bandwidth part (UL bwp-id=2) and a downlink bandwidth part (D: bwp-id=2) are unaligned in center frequency. In addition, as referenced in paragraph [0075] of Abdelghaffar in the previous Office Action, Abdelghaffar discloses that the UE may provide an indication that the UE is capable of a full-duplex mode of operation in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned. Examiner maintains that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the indication being \based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency, the indication disclosed by Abdelghaffar meets these limitations of dependent claim 2.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained as further discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2021/0336759 A1)(hereinafter “Abdelghaffar”) (cited in IDS dated 7/15/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2, [¶055]: UE 115), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig. 2, [¶059]: memory 282); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (Fig. 2, [¶059]: controller/processor 280. Controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 105 and UE 115, respectively. Controller/processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at base station 105 and/or controller/processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at UE 115 may perform or direct the execution of various processes for the techniques described herein, such as to perform or direct the execution illustrated in FIGS. 13 and 14, and/or other processes for the techniques described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 105 and UE 115, respectively.):
communicate one or more first messages in accordance with a half-duplex mode of operation in a time division duplexing band ([¶0008]: in one aspect of the disclosure, a method of wireless communication is provided. The method may include providing a wireless device with a default half duplex bandwidth part (BWP) configuration. The default half duplex BWP configuration may, when implemented by the wireless device, configure the wireless device for operation in a half duplex communication mode using component carrier resources of the default half duplex BWP configuration. Fig. 7, [¶0090]-[¶0091]: Fig. 7 show various BWP configurations 701, 702, and 703) over time slots N, N+1, N+2, N+3. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711 including full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP. In some scenarios, legacy downlink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP may be defined. As shown, in some examples, defined BWPs may be for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex downlink communication at slot N. Similarly, BWP configuration 702 of the example of FIG. 7 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 721 including the full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP (e.g., legacy uplink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex uplink communication at slot N+3. Examiner notes that the UE inherently communicates one or more first messages when in the half-duplex mode of operation.);
switch from the half-duplex mode of operation to a full-duplex mode of operation in the time division duplexing band ([¶0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) control signal for switching to the active full duplex BWP configuration. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: embodiments may utilize BWP switching methodology (e.g., BWP switching 801 of FIG. 8) in switching between the different sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs, such as to switch between half duplex and full duplex operation or even to switch between different configurations of full duplex operation.); and
communicate one or more second messages in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation in an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part of the time division duplexing band (Fig. 7, [¶0092]: BWP configuration 703 comprises a full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration including BWP 712 and BWP 722 (e.g., as may correspond to the example of FIG. 6A). BWP 712 of the example in FIG. 7 includes a subset of the corresponding defined BWP (e.g., subset of the frequency resources of the active downlink half duplex BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for downlink communication of full duplex communications at slots N+1 and N+2. Examiner notes that the UE inherently communicates one or more second messages when in the full-duplex mode of operation.), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency for the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0084]: in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure, the BWPs accommodate full duplex frequency-based BWP configurations in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned (i.e., center frequency alignment is not provided). Referring to Fig. 6A discussed in Abdelghaffar [¶0084], Fig. 6A shows examples of usable bandwidth for full duplex operation selected from defined downlink and uplink BWPs in which the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) and downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) are divided in the time domain and are thus in the context of TDD. In addition, UL BWP and DL BWP occupy different frequency bands. Accordingly, the respective center frequencies of the UL BWP and DL BWP are different and are thus unaligned in center frequency. Fig. 11, [0109]: discloses an example BWP configuration in which during an FDD mode of operation, an uplink bandwidth part (UL bwp-id=2) and a downlink bandwidth part (D: bwp-id=2) are unaligned in center frequency. Fig. 11 of Abdelghaffar is shown below.).
Regarding claim 2, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit an indication of a capability of the UE to support the full-duplex mode of operation based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency ([¶0075]: for a UE indicating the capability of full-duplex FDD, a change of BWP in downlink or uplink may impose a change of BWP in other link direction as well. Examiner notes that the UE may provide an indication that the UE is capable of a full-duplex mode of operation in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned. Accordingly, the indication is based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency.).
Regarding claim 3, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are associated with a same bandwidth part identifier ([¶0074]: in accordance with existing NR standards, the network configures the BWPs with consecutive identifiers (e.g., consecutive BWP IDs selected from BWP IDs 1, 2, 3, 4, . . . , where BWP ID 0 is reserved for the initial BWP). For TDD, the downlink and uplink BWPs are jointly configured as a pair per component carrier. In particular, in operation according to existing NR standards, the uplink BWP and downlink BWP are configured with the same BWP ID, with the restriction that the uplink and downlink BWP pair shares the same center frequency but may be of different bandwidths for each UE-specific serving cell for a UE and the uplink and downlink BWP share the same numerology.).
Regarding claim 4, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein, to communicate the one or more second messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive one or more radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the half-duplex mode of operation and a second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0111]: during an initial access procedure, the UE operates in half duplex using the initial uplink and downlink BWP according to some aspects of the disclosure. Upon the reception of msg 4, the RRC configuration may include both default and first active BWPs for both half duplex and full duplex modes. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: a plurality of sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided with respect to different defined downlink and uplink BWPs. For example, a first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for first active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-1 and active uplink BWP 820-1 of FIG. 8) while a second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for second active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-2 and active uplink BWP 820-2 of FIG. 8). As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1. Similarly, the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.); and
communicate the one or more second messages in accordance with a first bandwidth part pairing of the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation, wherein the first bandwidth part pairing includes the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part (Fig. 8, [¶0095]: the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.).
Regarding claim 6, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: switch from the first bandwidth part pairing of the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings to a second bandwidth part pairing of the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings based at least in part on a corresponding switch from a full-duplex slot to a half-duplex slot ([¶0114]: timer-based switching may be utilized for controlling switching from an active BWP configuration to a default BWP configuration, from an active BWP configuration to another active BWP configuration, and/or from a default BWP configuration to another default BWP configuration. In some examples, a wireless device switches to a default BWP configuration when a BWP inactivity timer expires. In some examples, a wireless device switches between a full duplex mode to a half duplex mode when a duplex mode timer expires.).
Regarding claim 7, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings and the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings are associated with different respective communication beams, different respective power control parameters (Fig. 12, [¶0112]: half duplex mode operation may utilize active half duplex BWP configuration 1211 or default half duplex BWP configuration 1212. Further, full duplex mode operation is provided for which may utilize active full duplex BWP configuration 1221 or default full duplex BWP configuration 1222. A default BWP configuration may, for example, provide a small BWP suited to low power mode or idle mode. When there is no downlink/uplink traffic, the UE may switch from an active BWP configuration to a default BWP configuration after the BWP inactivity timer expires, such as to adapt for both traffic pattern and UE power savings. Accordingly, Abdelghaffar discloses that different bandwidth part pairings may be associated with different power levels and thus may be associated with different power control parameters.), or both.
Regarding claim 8, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, via a radio resource control configuration message, a first information element associated with the uplink bandwidth part, wherein the first information element includes an identifier of a respective downlink bandwidth part that corresponds to the uplink bandwidth part ([¶0110]: the network may configure the BWPs with consecutive IDs from 1, with BWP ID value 0 being reserved for the initial BWP. The default downlink BWP may be configured as the BWP ID of the downlink bandwidth part to be used upon expiry of the BWP inactivity timer (e.g., RRC configuration of the default BWP ID, such as 1, 2, 3, or 4). When the default downlink BWP ID field is absent the UE may use the initial BWP as the default BWP. The first active BWP may be indicated to the UE after RRC configuration or re-configuration during initial access procedure. [¶0074]: in operation according to existing NR standards, the uplink BWP and downlink BWP are configured with the same BWP ID), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the respective downlink bandwidth part comprise a bandwidth part pairing to communicate in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation (Fig. 8, [¶0095]: the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1.).
Regarding claim 9, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via a radio resource control configuration message, a first information element associated with the downlink bandwidth part, wherein the first information element includes an identifier of a respective uplink bandwidth part that corresponds to the downlink bandwidth part ([¶0110]: the network may configure the BWPs with consecutive IDs from 1, with BWP ID value 0 being reserved for the initial BWP. The default downlink BWP may be configured as the BWP ID of the downlink bandwidth part to be used upon expiry of the BWP inactivity timer (e.g., RRC configuration of the default BWP ID, such as 1, 2, 3, or 4). When the default downlink BWP ID field is absent the UE may use the initial BWP as the default BWP. The first active BWP may be indicated to the UE after RRC configuration or re-configuration during initial access procedure. [¶0074]: in operation according to existing NR standards, the uplink BWP and downlink BWP are configured with the same BWP ID), wherein the downlink bandwidth part and the respective uplink bandwidth part comprise a bandwidth part pairing to communicate in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation (Fig. 8, [¶0095]: the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1.).
Regarding claim 10, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive one or more radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the half-duplex mode of operation and a corresponding second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0111]: during an initial access procedure, the UE operates in half duplex using the initial uplink and downlink BWP according to some aspects of the disclosure. Upon the reception of msg 4, the RRC configuration may include both default and first active BWPs for both half duplex and full duplex modes. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: a plurality of sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided with respect to different defined downlink and uplink BWPs. For example, a first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for first active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-1 and active uplink BWP 820-1 of FIG. 8) while a second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for second active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-2 and active uplink BWP 820-2 of FIG. 8). As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1. Similarly, the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.);
receive, via a downlink control information message, instruction to switch from a first bandwidth part pairing to a second bandwidth part pairing of the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings (¶[0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration including downlink control information (DCI) for direct switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration.); and
switch from a first corresponding bandwidth part pairing to a second corresponding bandwidth part pairing of the corresponding second plurality of bandwidth part pairings based at least in part on the downlink control information message (¶[0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration including downlink control information (DCI) for direct switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration.).
Regarding claim 11, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, via a radio resource control message, a parameter that activates a timer that is associated with switching between a default bandwidth part and one or more active bandwidth parts ([¶0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the first BWP configuration including an active full duplex BWP configuration and the second BWP configuration including a default half duplex BWP configuration, further including starting the BWP inactivity timer and the duplex mode activity timer when the wireless device receives an indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration. [0065]: the active BWP can be one of the defined BWPs, and the base station can switch the active BWP to another defined BWP (e.g., timer-based, downlink control information (DCI) based, or radio resource control (RRC) signaling).); and
switch from a first active bandwidth part pairing of a half-duplex slot to a second active bandwidth part pairing of a full-duplex slot (([¶0018]: upon receiving the indication to switch, the UE switches to the full duplex mode.), wherein the timer remains active after the switching ([¶0108]: a BWP timer (e.g., inactivity timer) may be utilized with respect to BWP configuration assignments such that, when the BWP timer expires, a UE may default to operation in half duplex mode. Accordingly, the timer remains active while the UE is in the full duplex mode, and the UE may default to the half duplex mode when the timer expires.).
Regarding claim 12, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the timer comprises a bandwidth part inactivity timer ([¶0108]: a BWP timer (e.g., inactivity timer) may be utilized with respect to BWP configuration assignments such that, when the BWP timer expires, a UE may default to operation in half duplex mode.).
Regarding claim 13, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein, to timer remain active, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
refrain from restarting the timer based at least in part on switching a slot type from the half-duplex slot to the full-duplex slot ([¶0118]: in another example, when a UE receives DCI to switch from an active half duplex BWP configuration (e.g., active half duplex BWP configuration 1211) to an active full duplex BWP configuration (e.g., active full duplex BWP configuration 1221), the UE may start or restart a duplex mode timer (e.g., DuplexModeTimer) without starting or restarting a BWP inactivity timer (e.g., bwp-InactivityTimer).).
Regarding claim 14, Abdelghaffar discloses a network entity (Fig. 2, [¶055]: base station 105), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig. 2, [¶059]: memory 242); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Fig. 2, [¶059]: controller/processor 240. Controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 105 and UE 115, respectively. Controller/processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at base station 105 and/or controller/processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at UE 115 may perform or direct the execution of various processes for the techniques described herein, such as to perform or direct the execution illustrated in FIGS. 13 and 14, and/or other processes for the techniques described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 105 and UE 115, respectively.):
output an indication of a bandwidth part configuration to communicate in a time division duplexing band including at least an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part that are unaligned in center frequency ([¶0008]: in one aspect of the disclosure, a method of wireless communication is provided. The method may include providing a wireless device with a default half duplex bandwidth part (BWP) configuration. The default half duplex BWP configuration may, when implemented by the wireless device, configure the wireless device for operation in a half duplex communication mode using component carrier resources of the default half duplex BWP configuration. Fig. 7, [¶0090]-[¶0091]: Fig. 7 show various BWP configurations 701, 702, and 703) over time slots N, N+1, N+2, N+3. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711 including full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP. In some scenarios, legacy downlink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP may be defined. As shown, in some examples, defined BWPs may be for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex downlink communication at slot N. Similarly, BWP configuration 702 of the example of FIG. 7 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 721 including the full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP (e.g., legacy uplink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex uplink communication at slot N+3. Examiner notes that the UE inherently communicates one or more first messages when in the half-duplex mode of operation. [¶0012]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the wireless device being a user equipment (UE), wherein providing the UE with the default half duplex BWP configuration includes the UE receiving the default half duplex BWP configuration from a base station, and wherein providing the UE with the default full duplex BWP configuration includes the UE receiving the default full duplex BWP configuration from the base station.); and
obtain one or more first messages in a full-duplex mode of operation in the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part of the time division duplexing band (Fig. 7, [¶0092]: BWP configuration 703 comprises a full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration including BWP 712 and BWP 722 (e.g., as may correspond to the example of FIG. 6A). BWP 712 of the example in FIG. 7 includes a subset of the corresponding defined BWP (e.g., subset of the frequency resources of the active downlink half duplex BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for downlink communication of full duplex communications at slots N+1 and N+2. Examiner notes that the base station inherently communicates one or more first messages when in the UE is in the full-duplex mode of operation.), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency in accordance with the bandwidth part configuration ([¶0084]: in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure, the BWPs accommodate full duplex frequency-based BWP configurations in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned (i.e., center frequency alignment is not provided). Referring to Fig. 6A discussed in Abdelghaffar [¶0084], Fig. 6A shows examples of usable bandwidth for full duplex operation selected from defined downlink and uplink BWPs in which the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) and downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) are divided in the time domain and are thus in the context of TDD. In addition, UL BWP and DL BWP occupy different frequency bands. Accordingly, the respective center frequencies of the UL BWP and DL BWP are different and are thus unaligned in center frequency. Fig. 11, [0109]: discloses an example BWP configuration in which during an FDD mode of operation, an uplink bandwidth part (UL bwp-id=2) and a downlink bandwidth part (D: bwp-id=2) are unaligned in center frequency.).
Regarding claim 15, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain an indication of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to support the full-duplex mode of operation based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency ([¶0075]: for a UE indicating the capability of full-duplex FDD, a change of BWP in downlink or uplink may impose a change of BWP in other link direction as well. Examiner notes that the UE may provide an indication that the UE is capable of a full-duplex mode of operation in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned. Accordingly, the indication is based at least in part on the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part being unaligned in center frequency.), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are associated with a same bandwidth part identifier ([¶0074]: in accordance with existing NR standards, the network configures the BWPs with consecutive identifiers (e.g., consecutive BWP IDs selected from BWP IDs 1, 2, 3, 4, . . . , where BWP ID 0 is reserved for the initial BWP). For TDD, the downlink and uplink BWPs are jointly configured as a pair per component carrier. In particular, in operation according to existing NR standards, the uplink BWP and downlink BWP are configured with the same BWP ID, with the restriction that the uplink and downlink BWP pair shares the same center frequency but may be of different bandwidths for each UE-specific serving cell for a UE and the uplink and downlink BWP share the same numerology.).
Regarding claim 17, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output, via a radio resource control configuration message, a first information element associated with the uplink bandwidth part or the downlink bandwidth part, wherein the first information element includes an identifier of a respective downlink bandwidth part or a respective uplink bandwidth part that corresponds to the uplink bandwidth part or the downlink bandwidth part ([¶0110]: the network may configure the BWPs with consecutive IDs from 1, with BWP ID value 0 being reserved for the initial BWP. The default downlink BWP may be configured as the BWP ID of the downlink bandwidth part to be used upon expiry of the BWP inactivity timer (e.g., RRC configuration of the default BWP ID, such as 1, 2, 3, or 4). When the default downlink BWP ID field is absent the UE may use the initial BWP as the default BWP. The first active BWP may be indicated to the UE after RRC configuration or re-configuration during initial access procedure. [¶0074]: in operation according to existing NR standards, the uplink BWP and downlink BWP are configured with the same BWP ID), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the respective downlink bandwidth part or the downlink bandwidth part and the respective uplink bandwidth part comprise a bandwidth part pairing to communicate in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation (Fig. 8, [¶0095]: the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1.).
Regarding claim 18, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output one or more radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with a half-duplex mode of operation and a corresponding second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0111]: during an initial access procedure, the UE operates in half duplex using the initial uplink and downlink BWP according to some aspects of the disclosure. Upon the reception of msg 4, the RRC configuration may include both default and first active BWPs for both half duplex and full duplex modes. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: a plurality of sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided with respect to different defined downlink and uplink BWPs. For example, a first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for first active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-1 and active uplink BWP 820-1 of FIG. 8) while a second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for second active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-2 and active uplink BWP 820-2 of FIG. 8). As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1. Similarly, the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.); and
output, via a downlink control information message, instruction to switch from a first bandwidth part pairing to a second bandwidth part pairing of the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings (¶[0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration including downlink control information (DCI) for direct switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration.).
Regarding claim 19, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output, via a radio resource control message, a parameter that activates a bandwidth part inactivity timer that is associated with switching between a default bandwidth part and one or more active bandwidth parts ([¶0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the first BWP configuration including an active full duplex BWP configuration and the second BWP configuration including a default half duplex BWP configuration, further including starting the BWP inactivity timer and the duplex mode activity timer when the wireless device receives an indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration. [0065]: the active BWP can be one of the defined BWPs, and the base station can switch the active BWP to another defined BWP (e.g., timer-based, downlink control information (DCI) based, or radio resource control (RRC) signaling).), wherein the bandwidth part inactivity timer remains active after the switching ([¶0108]: a BWP timer (e.g., inactivity timer) may be utilized with respect to BWP configuration assignments such that, when the BWP timer expires, a UE may default to operation in half duplex mode. Accordingly, the timer remains active while the UE is in the full duplex mode, and the UE may default to the half duplex mode when the timer expires.).
Regarding claim 20, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2, [¶055]: UE 115), comprising:
communicating one or more first messages in accordance with a half-duplex mode of operation in a time division duplexing band ([¶0008]: in one aspect of the disclosure, a method of wireless communication is provided. The method may include providing a wireless device with a default half duplex bandwidth part (BWP) configuration. The default half duplex BWP configuration may, when implemented by the wireless device, configure the wireless device for operation in a half duplex communication mode using component carrier resources of the default half duplex BWP configuration. Fig. 7, [¶0090]-[¶0091]: Fig. 7 show various BWP configurations 701, 702, and 703) over time slots N, N+1, N+2, N+3. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711. BWP configuration 701 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 711 including full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP. In some scenarios, legacy downlink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP may be defined. As shown, in some examples, defined BWPs may be for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex downlink communication at slot N. Similarly, BWP configuration 702 of the example of FIG. 7 comprises half duplex frequency-based BWP 721 including the full bandwidth of a corresponding defined BWP (e.g., legacy uplink BWP configuration parameters of an active downlink BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for half duplex uplink communication at slot N+3. Examiner notes that the UE inherently communicates one or more first messages when in the half-duplex mode of operation.);
switching from the half-duplex mode of operation to a full-duplex mode of operation in the time division duplexing band ([¶0018]: the above systems, methods, and apparatuses may include the indication for switching from the default half duplex BWP configuration to the active full duplex BWP configuration including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) control signal for switching to the active full duplex BWP configuration. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: embodiments may utilize BWP switching methodology (e.g., BWP switching 801 of FIG. 8) in switching between the different sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs, such as to switch between half duplex and full duplex operation or even to switch between different configurations of full duplex operation.); and
communicating one or more second messages in accordance with the full-duplex mode of operation in an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part of the time division duplexing band (Fig. 7, [¶0092]: BWP configuration 703 comprises a full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration including BWP 712 and BWP 722 (e.g., as may correspond to the example of FIG. 6A). BWP 712 of the example in FIG. 7 includes a subset of the corresponding defined BWP (e.g., subset of the frequency resources of the active downlink half duplex BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for downlink communication of full duplex communications at slots N+1 and N+2. Examiner notes that the UE inherently communicates one or more second messages when in the full-duplex mode of operation.), wherein the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency for the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0084]: in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure, the BWPs accommodate full duplex frequency-based BWP configurations in which center frequencies of the uplink and downlink BWPs are not aligned (i.e., center frequency alignment is not provided). Referring to Fig. 6A discussed in Abdelghaffar [¶0084], Fig. 6A shows examples of usable bandwidth for full duplex operation selected from defined downlink and uplink BWPs in which the uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP) and downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) are divided in the time domain and are thus in the context of TDD. In addition, UL BWP and DL BWP occupy different frequency bands. Accordingly, the respective center frequencies of the UL BWP and DL BWP are different and are thus unaligned in center frequency. Fig. 11, [0109]: discloses an example BWP configuration in which during an FDD mode of operation, an uplink bandwidth part (UL bwp-id=2) and a downlink bandwidth part (D: bwp-id=2) are unaligned in center frequency.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar in view of Lei et al. (US 2023/0074775 A1)(hereinafter “Lei”)(cited in IDS dated 7/15/2025).
Regarding claim 5, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar fails to disclose wherein the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings and the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings are included in a lookup table as part of the one or more radio resource control messages. However, Lei discloses wherein the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings and the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings are included in a lookup table as part of the one or more radio resource control messages ([¶0146] In some aspects, the UE may further receive a configuration for the active downlink BWP and the active uplink BWP. The configuration may be received in RRC signaling for the UE. The configuration of the active downlink BWP or the active uplink BWP may be based on a rule or look up table.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the half-duplex mode of operation and a second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation, as taught by Abdelghaffar, to include a lookup table for determining BWP configuration information, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows for reducing signaling overhead while enabling UEs to communicate based on an active DL/UL BWP (See Lei [0105]).
Regarding claim 16, Abdelghaffar discloses all features of claim 14 as outlined above.
Abdelghaffar also discloses wherein, to communicate the one or more first messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output one or more radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration … comprising a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with a half-duplex mode of operation and a second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation ([¶0111]: during an initial access procedure, the UE operates in half duplex using the initial uplink and downlink BWP according to some aspects of the disclosure. Upon the reception of msg 4, the RRC configuration may include both default and first active BWPs for both half duplex and full duplex modes. Fig. 8, [¶0095]: a plurality of sets of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided with respect to different defined downlink and uplink BWPs. For example, a first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for first active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-1 and active uplink BWP 820-1 of FIG. 8) while a second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs may be provided for second active defined downlink and uplink BWPs (e.g., active downlink BWP 810-2 and active uplink BWP 820-2 of FIG. 8). As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the first set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a first full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-1 having segments 812-1a and 812-1b in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-1, and as BWP 822-1 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-1. Similarly, the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.); and
obtain the one or more first messages in accordance with a first bandwidth part pairing of the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation (Fig. 7, [¶0092]: BWP configuration 703 comprises a full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration including BWP 712 and BWP 722 (e.g., as may correspond to the example of FIG. 6A). BWP 712 of the example in FIG. 7 includes a subset of the corresponding defined BWP (e.g., subset of the frequency resources of the active downlink half duplex BWP) for a component carrier being allocated for downlink communication of full duplex communications at slots N+1 and N+2. Examiner notes that the base station inherently communicates one or more first messages when in the UE is in the full-duplex mode of operation.), wherein the first bandwidth part pairing includes the uplink bandwidth part and the downlink bandwidth part (Fig. 8, [¶0095]: the second set of uplink and downlink BWP pairs of a second full duplex frequency-based BWP configuration may be selected as BWP 812-2 in defined downlink half duplex BWP 810-2, and as BWP 822-2 in defined uplink half duplex BWP 820-2.).
Abdelghaffar fails to disclose the one or more radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a lookup table. However, However, Lei discloses wherein the first plurality of bandwidth part pairings and the second plurality of bandwidth part pairings are that indicates a lookup table as part of the one or more radio resource control messages ([¶0146] In some aspects, the UE may further receive a configuration for the active downlink BWP and the active uplink BWP. The configuration may be received in RRC signaling for the UE. The configuration of the active downlink BWP or the active uplink BWP may be based on a rule or look up table.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radio resource control messages that include a radio resource control configuration that indicates a first plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the half-duplex mode of operation and a second plurality of bandwidth part pairings associated with the full-duplex mode of operation, as taught by Abdelghaffar, to indicate a lookup table for determining BWP configuration information, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows for reducing signaling overhead while enabling UEs to communicate based on an active DL/UL BWP (See Lei [0105]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shim et al. (US 2024/0380563 A1) – Frequency Resource Configuration-Based Wireless Signal Transmission Or Reception Method and Device In Wireless Communication System – discloses that an uplink bandwidth part and a downlink bandwidth part are unaligned in center frequency (see Fig. 16).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463