DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/612,931 and is in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed 12/03/2025
Claims 1-19 are previously pending, of those claims, claims 1, 7, 17, and 19 have been amended, claim 6 has been canceled. All amendments have been entered. Claims 1-5, and 7-19 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A) in view of KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1) and YOON (KR1020190129255 A).
With respect to claims 1-2. ZHONG teaches a battery system which includes a battery pack comprising a plurality of energy units (abstract). The battery pack includes a shell 20 packaging the battery pack (page 8 lines 1-5). The shell and the pack form a cooling cavity 30, and the shell is provided with an opening 31 connected with the outside atmosphere (page 8 lines 4-5). The battery pack includes a cover plate, frame, and bottom plate (page 11 lines 2-6). The cooling cavity is taken to be the claimed free volume that is spaced apart from the first surface. As seen in Figure 7 the battery assembly is exposed to the free volume, and the free volume extends along a longitudinal direction of the battery assembly. ZHONG teaches the battery may have thermal runaway and releases an energy substance which can then be discharged to the cooling cavity (page 8 lines 9-12). This release of energy substance from the energy unit 11 is taken to be the ventilation opening of the battery assembly.
ZHONG does not explicitly teach where the first side of the battery assembly is coupled to a first side of the first cover.
KELLNER teaches a battery module which is thermally coupled to a housing base and the housing cover or lid via a heat conducting medium 24 (paragraph 0041). Tolerances and unevenness in the structure of the battery housing can be compensated for via the heat conducting medium, and allow for optimum thermal contact connection of the modules, including upward towards the housing cover (paragraph 0041).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the heat conducting medium of KELLNER to couple the battery module and the housing cover of ZHONG as KELLNER teaches that such elements are beneficial in order to compensate for unevenness and increase the thermal contact between the modules and the cover (paragraph 0041).
ZHONG teaches the housing and includes at least a sidewall (see Figure 7). But ZHONG does not explicitly teach a mounting portion on the sidewall and the battery assembly is coupled to the mounting portion.
YOON teaches a battery pack which includes battery module including a plurality of battery cells, a frame member in which the battery modules are arranged and coupled (paragraph 0010). The frame member includes a lower frame and a side frame, with a mounting portion formed on the battery module so as to be coupled to the side frame (paragraph 0011). The frame member 200 is arranged and joined with the battery module 100 to support the battery module 100 (paragraph 0030). A mounting portion 110 is formed in the battery module to be coupled to the side frame 220 through a mounting portion of the battery module (paragraph 0030). The mounting portion may include insertion holes to couple to the side frame via screws, though other methods may be utilized (paragraph 0030).
ZHONG teaches a battery pack which includes side members and a plurality of modules (see Figure 11). Then YOON teaches a method of mounting the battery modules to the side frames (see paragraph 0030) and therefore it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to attach the battery module of ZHONG to the side frame as taught by YOON as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 3. KELLNER teaches the heat conducting medium 24 located between the battery 12 and the housing (paragraph 0041) and is taken to be the claimed first layer.
With respect to claim 4. ZHONG teaches the battery system further includes a liquid cooling plate 113 (page 15 lines 21-25). The plate 113 then is taken to be the first cover of ZHONG.
With respect to claim 5. KELLNER teaches the battery module is thermally coupled to the housing cover 15 via the heat conducting medium 24 (paragraph 0041). Tolerances and unevennesses in the structure can be compensated using the heat conducting medium 24 (paragraph 0041). This way contact between the battery module and the housing cover is always ensured (paragraph 0041) and is taken to be fastened.
With respect to claim 7. ZHONG and KELLNER as noted above teaches coupling the battery module and housing cover together, and as seen in Figure 12 of ZHONG this includes the connection of the cover to the side frame.
With respect to claim 8. ZHONG teaches the cooling cavity includes an opening 31 connected with the outside atmosphere (page 8 lines 2-4).
With respect to claim 9. ZHONG teaches as seen in Figure 13 a support structure on the first surface, and the battery assembly is coupled to the support structure.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A) in view of KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1) and YOON (KR1020190129255 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PROLL (US 2023/0216106 A1).
Claims 10 and 16 are dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of ZHONG and KELLNER. ZHONG teaches electrical components for connecting the batteries in the system (page 6 lines 17-20). These include bars and other electrical connection components (page 6 lines 20-21). ZHONG does not explicitly teach a busbar.
PROLL teaches a cell cooling cover for a battery module (abstract). The cover includes a channel system at the cover plate (abstract). In some embodiments terminals of the batteries may be connected with a busbar (paragraph 0055). The busbar may be thermally connected to the cooling cover (paragraph 0055). Further there are first and second bus bars, connecting to adjacent terminals (paragraph 0055). Therefore at least one battery cell is taken to be one of the claimed first cell assembly, and the other battery cell is taken to be the claimed second cell assembly, then the batteries are connected via the first and second busbars.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the electrical connection of ZHONG and KELLNER with the busbar of PROLL as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results, as PROLL teaches the busbar itself may be thermally connected to the cooling cover, and KELLNER similarly teaches the cooling cover.
With respect to claim 11. ZHONG teaches the liquid cooling plate 113 which is taken to be analogous to the claimed second cover coupled to the second side of the cell assembly (page 15 lines 21-25).
With respect to claims 13-14. ZHONG teaches as seen in Figure 7 the battery pack includes at least a third cover coupled to a third side of the cell assembly, and a cooling portion, being the cooling plate 113 which is the second cover (see also page 15 lines 21-25).
With respect to claim 15. KELLNER teaches the second cover, being the housing base 14 with a first shape, and a third cover being the housing frame 13, having a third shape, and are configured to correspond with each other for coupling, as shown in Figure 2. Therefore the combination of ZHONG and KELLNER would teach the first and third covers to be configured to correspond with each other for coupling.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A) in view of KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1), YOON (KR1020190129255 A), and PROLL (US 2023/0216106 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of RHEE (US 2020/015828 A1).
Claim 12 is dependent upon claim 11 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of ZHONG, KELLNER, YOON, and PROLL. KELLNER teaches a heat conducting medium 24 positioned between the battery module and the housing base (paragraph 0041) and is taken to be the claimed first layer. KELLNER teaches a heat conducting medium, but does not explicitly teach that the heat conducting medium is a thermal resin.
RHEE teaches a battery module and bus bar assembly (abstract). Heat transfer member may be disposed between the battery cells and the bottom of the module housing such that the heat transfer from the battery cell to the housing may be easily carried out (paragraph 0137). The heat transfer member may be a thermal grease, adhesive or thermally conductive epoxy (paragraph 0138) and is taken to be the claimed thermal resin.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the heat conducting medium of KELLNER with the heat transfer member of RHEE, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A) in view of KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1), YOON (KR1020190129255 A), and HAYASHI (US 2015/0367718 A1).
The rejection above of claim 1 in view of ZHONG, KELLNER, and YOON is repeated here. ZHONG teaches the battery pack is mounted on a vehicle (abstract). However, ZHONG does not explicitly teach a passenger compartment is above a portion of the battery pack.
HAYASHI teaches a vehicle body structure 100 that accommodates a battery portion 10a of a power storage device in a space between a floor in the passenger compartment and a floor panel and between a cross member (abstract). The vehicle body structure 100 includes cross members, and floor panel and frame member (paragraph 0016). The body structure is taken to be the claimed frame. The power storage device and cooling device then are accommodated in spaces partitioned by the cross members and the floor panel (paragraph 0021). The power storage device then is accommodated in the space under the floor of the passenger compartment (paragraph 0044 and Figure 5).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to place the battery pack of ZHONG and KELLNER on the vehicle body structure under the passenger compartment as taught by HAYASHI, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results. In the present case YOON teaches a vehicle battery, and then HAYASHI teaches the known positioning of such batteries in motor vehicles.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A) in view of KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1), YOON (KR1020190129255 A) and PROLL (US 2023/0216106 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of YUN (US 2022/0200083 A1).
Claim 18 is dependent upon claim 10 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of ZHONG, KELLNER, YOON, and PROLL. PROLL as noted above teaches terminals of the batteries are connected with busbars, which are then connected to the cooling cover (paragraph 0055). However, none of ZHONG, KELLNER, or PROLL explicitly teaches a busbar frame which includes the busbars.
YUN teaches a battery module that includes a cell stack connected with busbars (abstract). The module further includes a busbar frame having slits through which the leads pass, and the busbars are mounted on the frame (paragraph 0016). The temperature control unit is then fixed to the busbar frame (paragraph 0017).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a busbar frame of YUN for the busbars and battery packs of KELLNER and PROLL, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHONG (CN 113488721 A), KELLNER (US 2019/0173139 A1) and YOON (KR1020190129255 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RHEE (US 2020/015828 A1).
Claim 19 is dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of ZHONG, KELLNER, and YOON. ZHONG teaches a battery system (abstract). The system includes a plurality of battery units 11 packages as a battery pack 10 (page 8 lines 1-3). With the shell, the battery pack forms a cooling cavity 30 provided with an opening 31 (page 8 lines 3-5). The shell includes a bottom plate 106 which is provided with the cooling cavity 30 (page 14 lines 30-32). The bottom plate 106 is taken to be the claimed first cover and the opening 31 is taken to be the claimed ventilation opening. There may then be a liquid cooling component such as the liquid cooling plate 113 (page 15 lines 21-22) and is taken to be the claimed second cover (see also Figure 7). The cooling liquid then circulates through the plate (page 15 lines 23-25) and are taken to include the claimed cooing channel.
ZHONG does not explicitly teach a layer between the second cover and the second side of the cell assembly.
RHEE teaches a battery module and bus bar assembly (abstract). Heat transfer member may be disposed between the battery cells and the bottom of the module housing such that the heat transfer from the battery cell to the housing may be easily carried out (paragraph 0137). The heat transfer member may be a thermal grease, adhesive or thermally conductive epoxy (paragraph 0138) and is taken to be the claimed thermal resin. This heat transfer member is taken to form the claimed layer.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine heat transfer member of RHEE between the cells and the cooling plate of ZHONG, as this is a simple combination of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of ZHONG and KELLNER have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ZHONG, KELLNER, and YOON (KR1020190129255 A).
On page 7 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant argues that neither ZHONG nor KELLNER teaches the specific structure of the battery pack in which the housing comprises a sidewall coupled to a first edge of the first surface, and the housing comprises a mounting portion on the sidewall, and the battery assembly is coupled to the mounting portion. In contrast on page 8 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant argues that KELLNER teaches the housing frame 13, the base 14, and cover 14 define an interior, but fails to teach its longitudinal members and crossmembers are coupled to the battery module. This argument is persuasive. However, new grounds of rejection are made in view of YOON (KR1020190129255A).
Specifically YOON then teaches a battery pack which includes a frame member 200 which is joined with a battery module 100 to support the battery module (paragraph 0030). A mounting portion 110 is formed on the battery module to coupled the module to the side frame 220 (paragraph 0030). Therefore the combination of ZHONG with YOON is taken to meet the amended claim limitations.
Conclusion
With respect to claims 6-7. ZHONG teaches the housing and includes at least a sidewall (see Figure 7). But ZHONG does not explicitly teach a mounting portion on the sidewall and the battery assembly is coupled to the mounting portion.
KELLNER teaches the housing frame 13 which is taken to be the claimed sidewall coupled to a first edge of a first surface. As seen in Figure 2 the housing comprises a mounting portion on the sidewall, and mounts the first edge of the first surface, being the plate 15a (paragraph 0047). There are further longitudinal and cross members of the housing frame which connect to the base and cover (paragraph 0048). These are taken to be the mount portion which couples the battery assembly (see Figures 2-3).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the mounting portion of KELLNER for the battery system of ZHONG, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722