DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what is included or excluded by the phrase “the first capillary cartridge is substantially planar and comprises a capillary having a substantially planar path”. This phrase is unclear because the Applicant has not defined how the term “substantially” is defined such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to ascertain what is included or excluded by the phrase above. For the purpose of examination, the terms “substantially” have been omitted.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear what is included or excluded by the phrase “the second capillary cartridge is substantially planar and comprises a capillary having a substantially planar path”. This phrase is unclear because the Applicant has not defined how the term “substantially” is defined such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to ascertain what is included or excluded by the phrase above. For the purpose of examination, the terms “substantially” have been omitted.
Regarding claim 17, it is unclear what is included or excluded by the phrase “the first capillary cartridge is substantially planar and comprises a capillary having a substantially planar path”. This phrase is unclear because the Applicant has not defined how the term “substantially” is defined such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to ascertain what is included or excluded by the phrase above. For the purpose of examination, the terms “substantially” have been omitted.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear what is included or excluded by the phrase “the first capillary cartridge is substantially planar and comprises a capillary having a substantially planar path”. This phrase is unclear because the Applicant has not defined how the term “substantially” is defined such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to ascertain what is included or excluded by the phrase above. For the purpose of examination, the terms “substantially” have been omitted.
Regarding claims 2-9, 11-16, and 19, these claimed are rejected for failing to remedy the rejection of claims 1, 10, 17, and 18 above under 35. U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matteo (US PGPUB 2010/0098594 A1, hereinafter Matteo).
Regarding claim 18, Matteo teaches a set of capillary cartridges (see Fig. 1-3, set of capillary cartridges 12), comprising a first capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, first capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30) and a second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, second capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30), wherein an output orifice of the first capillary cartridge is connected to an input orifice of the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031], output orifice 13 of the first capillary cartridge 24 is connected to an input orifice 14 of the second capillary cartridge 26, output orifice 17 of the first capillary cartridge 30 is connected to an input orifice 18 of the second capillary cartridge 28, etc.), and wherein the first capillary cartridge is planar and comprises a capillary having a planar path (see Fig. 1-3, the first capillary cartridge may be considered the capillary circuit 30 which is planar and includes a planar capillary as shown).
Regarding claim 19, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 18.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the first capillary cartridge and the second capillary cartridge are connected by a connecting duct (see Fig. 3, connecting ducts 60 connected each cartridge of cartridges 12 with a subsequent cartridge or cartridges 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matteo in view of Roques (US PGPUB 2006/0283324 A1, hereinafter Roques).
Regarding claim 1, Matteo teaches a reactor for a liquid chromatography system (see Fig. 1-3, all elements; see also [0021]-[0022], discussion of reactor 10), the reactor comprising: a first capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, first capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30), a second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, second capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30), wherein the first housing comprises a heating element for heating the first capillary cartridge and the second housing comprises a cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3 and claim 10, each of the first or second capillary cartridges 24/26/28/30 may include a heating element 78 or a colling element 77 as shown and described), wherein an output orifice of the first capillary cartridge is connected to an input orifice of the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031], output orifice 13 of the first capillary cartridge 24 is connected to an input orifice 14 of the second capillary cartridge 26, output orifice 17 of the first capillary cartridge 30 is connected to an input orifice 18 of the second capillary cartridge 28, etc.), and wherein the first capillary cartridge is planar and comprises a capillary having a planar path (see Fig. 1-3, the first capillary cartridge may be considered the capillary circuit 30 which is planar and includes a planar capillary as shown).
Matteo fails to specifically teach that reactor is for a liquid chromatography system; and further including a first housing for accommodating the first capillary cartridge, a second housing for accommodating the second capillary cartridge, wherein the first housing comprises the heating element for heating the first capillary cartridge and the second housing comprises the cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge.
Roques teaches a reactor for a liquid chromatography system (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3 and 15, capillary cartridge considered as components 1/2; see also [0046] and [0050]-[0051], discussion of compact capillary column assemblies for a liquid chromatography system), including a housing for accommodating the capillary cartridge (see Fig. 15 and [0050]-[0051], housing 8/11/26 provided for the capillary cartridge 1/2 of Fig. 3), wherein the housing comprises the heating element for heating the capillary cartridge or a cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge (see [0050]-[0051], housing encloses and thus includes the heating/cooling element 3 of each cartridge 1/2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Matteo with the housing and chromatography usage of the capillary cartridge of Roques. This allows for the heating/cooling components to be kept in intimate contact with the capillary column assembly as suggested by Roques (see [0045]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matteo as modified by Roques above fails to specifically teach that the heating element comprises a heating foil; wherein the heating foil is arranged on a support plate.
However, Roques further teaches that the heating element comprises a heating foil (see Fig. 3 and [0050], heater includes metal foil 22); wherein the heating foil is arranged on a support plate (see Fig. 3 and [0050], heater metal foil 22 arranged on a support plate 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Matteo as modified by Roques above with the heating foil and support plate of Roques. This allows for minor temperature fluctuations across the heater surface to be equalized, thereby providing a more even temperature distribution to the capillary column material body as suggested by Roques (see [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matteo as modified by Roques above fails to specifically teach that the cooling element comprises a fan.
However, Roques further teaches that the cooling element may comprise a fan (see [0028]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Matteo as modified by Roques above with the fan of Roques. This allows for faster cooling to be achieved as suggested by Roques (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the first capillary cartridge is larger than the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3, first capillary cartridge may be reactor 30 which is larger in length than a second capillary cartridge 24/26/28).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the first capillary cartridge and the second capillary cartridge are spaced apart; wherein the first housing and the second housing are spaced apart (see Fig. 1-3, cartridges are spaced apart as shown, and thus the housings of Matteo as modified by Roques above would also be spaced apart).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the first capillary cartridge comprises a single capillary having an input orifice and an output orifice (see Fig. 3, first capillary cartridge 30 has a single capillary with input orifice 16 and output orifice 17 as shown), wherein the second capillary cartridge comprises a single capillary having an input orifice and an output orifice (see Fig. 3, second capillary cartridge 28 has a single capillary with input orifice 18 and output orifice 19 as shown), and wherein the output orifice of the first capillary cartridge is connected to the input orifice of the second capillary cartridge by a connecting duct (see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031], output orifice 17 of the first capillary cartridge 30 is connected to an input orifice 18 of the second capillary cartridge 28 by connecting ducts 60); wherein the first capillary cartridge, the connecting duct and the second capillary cartridge are integrally formed (see Fig. 3, first capillary cartridge 30, the connecting duct 60 and the second capillary cartridge 28 are integrally formed as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the second capillary cartridge is planar and comprises a capillary having a planar path (see Fig. 1-3, [0047], and claim 1, each cartridge is part of a planar capillary column as described).
Regarding claim 11, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that at least one of the capillary of the first capillary cartridge and the capillary of the second capillary cartridge is arranged in a meandering path (see Fig. 3, first capillary cartridge 30 includes meandering capillary as shown).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the capillary of the first capillary cartridge has a length of between 1 and 6 m (see [0054]); wherein the capillary of the first capillary cartridge has a length of between 2 and 5 m (see [0054]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Matteo teaches that the capillary of the first capillary cartridge has an inner diameter of between 0.1 and 1.0 mm (see [0004], typical capillary diameter between .025 mm to .53 mm); wherein the capillary of the first capillary cartridge has an inner diameter of between 0.2 and 0.5 mm (see [0004], typical capillary diameter between .025 mm to .53 mm).
Regarding claim 16, Matteo as modified by Roques above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Matteo as modified by Roques above fails to specifically teach that the first capillary cartridge and/or the second capillary cartridge comprises a thermally conductive epoxy resin.
However, Roques teaches that the capillary cartridge uses adhesively bonding (see [0024]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Matteo as modified by Roques above such that a thermally conductive epoxy resin was utilized. The use of thermally conductive epoxy resin would allow for accurate and repeatable heating/cooling to be provided between the heater/cooler and the capillaries as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Matteo teaches a reactor for a liquid chromatography system (see Fig. 1-3, all elements; see also [0021]-[0022], discussion of reactor 10), the reactor comprising: a first capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, first capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30), a second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 1-3, second capillary cartridge including one of 24, 26, 28 or 30), wherein the first housing comprises a heating element for heating the first capillary cartridge and the second housing comprises a cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3 and claim 10, each of the first or second capillary cartridges 24/26/28/30 may include a heating element 78 or a colling element 77 as shown and described), wherein an output orifice of the first capillary cartridge is connected to an input orifice of the second capillary cartridge (see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031], output orifice 13 of the first capillary cartridge 24 is connected to an input orifice 14 of the second capillary cartridge 26, output orifice 17 of the first capillary cartridge 30 is connected to an input orifice 18 of the second capillary cartridge 28, etc.), and wherein the first capillary cartridge is planar and comprises a capillary having a planar path (see Fig. 1-3, the first capillary cartridge may be considered the capillary circuit 30 which is planar and includes a planar capillary as shown).
Matteo fails to specifically teach a liquid chromatography – isotope ratio mass spectrometry system, comprising: a liquid chromatography device, an isotope ratio mass spectrometry device; and further including a first housing for accommodating the first capillary cartridge, a second housing for accommodating the second capillary cartridge, wherein the first housing comprises the heating element for heating the first capillary cartridge and the second housing comprises the cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge.
Roques teaches a reactor for a chromatography system for chemical separations (see Abstract; see also Fig. 3 and 15, capillary cartridge considered as components 1/2; see also [0046] and [0050]-[0051], discussion of compact capillary column assemblies for a liquid chromatography system), including a housing for accommodating the capillary cartridge (see Fig. 15 and [0050]-[0051], housing 8/11/26 provided for the capillary cartridge 1/2 of Fig. 3), wherein the housing comprises the heating element for heating the capillary cartridge or a cooling element for cooling the second capillary cartridge (see [0050]-[0051], housing encloses and thus includes the heating/cooling element 3 of each cartridge 1/2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Matteo with the housing of Roques such that it was utilized in conjunction with a liquid chromatography device and an isotope ratio mass spectrometry device. This allows for the heating/cooling components to be kept in intimate contact with the capillary column assembly as suggested by Roques (see [0045]). Furthermore, the usage of such a multi-stage microreactor cartridge apparatus would allow for accurate measurements by a liquid chromatography device and an isotope ratio mass spectrometry device as is known in the art.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855