DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, on line 20 of the claim, after prediction insert --of--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (See MPEP 2106, subsection III), claim 1 is directed to a non-statutory computer readable medium, which is a manufacture and thus falls within a statutory category (MPEP 2106.03, subsection II).
Per step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites receiving historical wind turbine component failure data and wind turbine asset data from one or more SCADA systems during a first period of time; receiving first historical sensor data of the first period of time, the first historical sensor data including sensor data from one or more sensors of one or more components of any number of renewable energy assets, the first historical sensor data indicating at least one first failure associated with the one or more components of the renewable energy asset during the first time period; determining healthy assets of the any number of renewable energy assets by comparing one or more signals from the one or more SCADA systems to known healthy operating signals; training at least one machine learning model to indicate a first set of the one or more number of renewable energy assets that may potentially fail and to indicate a second set of the one or more number of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold; receiving first current sensor data of a second time period, the first current sensor data including sensor data from the one or more sensors of the one or more components of the any number of renewable energy assets; applying the at least one machine learning model to the current sensor data to generate a first failure prediction a failure of at least one component of the one or more components and to generate a list of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold; comparing the first failure prediction to a trigger criteria;; and updating a list of renewable energy assets to perform surveillance based on the list of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold. The limitations require the observance of received data comparison to received signals to healthy signals and analysis with a machine learning model. The claim limitations require observation and judgment that can be performed in the human mind and mathematical relationships. Therefore, the claim limitations fall into the mental processes grouping and mathematical concepts grouping (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsections I and III).
The additional elements recited in claim 1 are the non-transitory computer readable medium and generating and transmitting a first alert if comparing the first failure prediction to the trigger criteria indicates a failure prediction, the alert indicating the at least one component of the one or more components and information regarding the failure prediction
Per step 2A, prong 2, This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The recitation of the non-transitory computer readable medium amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The step for generating and transmitting an alert is merely outputting the result of the abstract idea, which is insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). When considered in combination, the additional elements merely provide a generic computer component for implementing the abstract idea with the ability to output the result.
Per step 2B, claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reason. Further, the courts have recognized that outputting data is well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2018/228648 to Damgaard et al. (Damgaard).
Claim 1
With regard to receiving historical wind turbine component failure data and wind turbine asset data from one or more SCADA systems during a first period of time; Damgaard teaches receiving data related to a failure rate of a wind turbine component based on historic data and health value/health status information (page 4, lines 1-20; page 17, lines 24-26).
With regard to receiving first historical sensor data of the first period of time, the first historical sensor data including sensor data from one or more sensors of one or more components of any number of renewable energy assets, the first historical sensor data indicating at least one first failure associated with the one or more components of the renewable energy asset during the first time period; Damgaard teaches receiving data from sensors indicating failures of a wind turbine component (Fig. 1, sensors 9, wind components 1, wind turbine 2; page 2, lines 25-28; page 3, lines 30, 31; page 4, lines 16-20; page 12, lines 27-31).
With regard to determining healthy assets of the any number of renewable energy assets by comparing one or more signals from the one or more SCADA systems to known healthy operating signals; Damgaard teaches comparing data from a database with measured data to indicate health status (page 2, lines 25-28; page 4, lines 2-7; page 5, lines 7-20; page 17, lines 24-26).
With regard to training at least one machine learning model to indicate a first set of the one or more number of renewable energy assets that may potentially fail and to indicate a second set of the one or more number of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold; Damgaard teaches machine learning algorithms to predict failures enabling predictive maintenance (page 18, line 14 – page 19, line 2).
With regard to receiving first current sensor data of a second time period, the first current sensor data including sensor data from the one or more sensors of the one or more components of the any number of renewable energy assets; Damgaard teaches receiving data input from existing sensors (page 9, lines 25-27; page 13, lines 27-29; page 15, lines 18-23).
With regard to applying the at least one machine learning model to the current sensor data to generate a first failure prediction a failure of at least one component of the one or more components and to generate a list of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold; Damgaard teaches that the monitoring algorithm, which is disclosed as being developed using machine language provides a health status of monitored components (page 15, lines 18-23).
With regard to comparing the first failure prediction to a trigger criteria; Damgaard teaches comparing a residual to a component defined threshold (page 5, lines 7-20; page 26, lines 11-19).
With regard to generating and transmitting a first alert if comparing the first failure prediction to the trigger criteria indicates a failure prediction, the alert indicating the at least one component of the one or more components and information regarding the failure prediction; Damgaard teaches setting an alarm if the difference between a parameter and an estimated value exceeds a threshold (page 5, lines 7-20; page 26, lines 11-19).
With regard to updating a list of renewable energy assets to perform surveillance based on the list of renewable energy assets that are operating within a healthy threshold, Damgaard teaches updating a health status and updating a database to update reliability information (page 4, lines 5-7; page 15, lines 18-23; page 26, lines 4-9).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,509,136. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the ‘136 patent recites all the limitations of claim 1 of the present application.
Conclusion
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857