DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 06 November 2025 has been entered. Claim 1, 6, and 9 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 9, and 16 being independent. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, please reference the previous non-final office action mailed 14 July 2025, as well as the response to election/restriction filed 04 April 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 101929737 B1, herein referred to as: Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a headlamp aiming system (Figs. 1-13), comprising: a carrier frame (300) having opposite first (a first side on the side of 310) and second sides (a second side on the side of 322), having a ball joint opening (330) extending from the first side through the entire carrier frame to the second side (as shown in Figs. 3-4), and being configured to attach, at the first side, to at least one headlamp projector unit (310, and the lamp coupled thereto, as shown in Fig. 4); a bridge (200) on the first side of the carrier frame (as shown in Fig. 4), and controllably movable along a translational axis (as shown in Figs. 12-13); a ball joint (210) attached to the bridge (as shown in Figs. 12-13), having a ball (210) at a terminal end of the ball joint (as shown in Figs. 12-13), and extending through the ball joint opening such that the ball is at least partially on the second side of the carrier frame (as shown in Figs. 12-13, 210 is partly on the second side of said carrier frame); and a receptacle shell (120) covering the ball (as shown in Figs. 12-13), wherein a thickness of the carrier frame between the first and second sides of the carrier frame proximate the ball joint opening is defined along a thickness direction (as shown in Figs. 12-13), and wherein a greatest width of the ball along a width direction perpendicular to the thickness direction is less than a smallest width of the ball joint opening along the width direction (as shown in Figs. 12-13), and a greatest width of the combination of the ball and the receptacle shell along the width direction is greater than the smallest width of the ball joint opening along the width direction (as shown in Figs. 12-13, e.g., the top of the ball joint opening at 121).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-13) the receptacle shell (120) is fixedly coupled to the second side of the carrier frame (as shown in Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-13) the receptacle shell (120) is at least partially between the ball and sidewalls of the ball joint opening (as shown in Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-13) a cap (122) attached to the second side of the carrier frame (as shown in Figs. 12-13) and at least partially covering the receptacle shell (covering the remainder of 120 forming the receptacle shell therebelow, as shown in Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-13) the carrier frame is configured to rotate about a rotational axis in response the bridge being moved along the translational axis (upon driving 200, said carrier frame 300 rotates about a rotational axis).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowable.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record does not teach, or merely suggest, the collective limitations of claim 1 as presently presented.
Regarding claims 13-14, the prior art of record does not teach, or merely suggest, the collective limitations of claim 13 or the collective limitations of claim 14, as recited in combination with all of the limitations of claims 9 and 12, upon which both of claims 13 and 14 depend, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-12 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see US 2008/0225543 A1 to Kuwahara, pertinent to the feature of a cap for pivot sockets in general.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875