DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 03/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
Please note that Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirely as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1, this claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directing to a system claim under Step 1.
1. A system, comprising:
a processor,
the processor comprising:
a first memory configured to store an instruction; and
a second memory configured to store a breakpoint bit, for the instruction,
the processor being configured to:
determine that the breakpoint bit is set, and
based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “determine that the breakpoint bit is set, and based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. For example, a person is capable of determine if a breakpoint bit is set to find out the program’s logic and behavior with the aid of pen and paper to identify any errors may occur during the run of the program. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, the additional elements “A system, comprising: a processor, the processor comprising: a first memory,” “a second memory” and “the processor being configured to” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to store and executing/applying program instructions which merely using generic computing equipment to execute software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements “to store an instruction,” “to store a breakpoint bit, for the instruction” and “to report an error” do nothing more than to add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering/storing/reporting data for further analysis. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “A system, comprising: a processor, the processor comprising: a first memory,” “a second memory” and “the processor being configured to” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer and/or computer components to carry out the exception, thus, cannot amount to an inventive concept. See MPEP 2105.06(f). For the additional elements “to store an instruction,” “to store a breakpoint bit, for the instruction” and “to report an error” the courts have recognized storing and reporting information in memory as a well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first memory comprises a first portion of a level one cache, and the second memory comprises a second portion of the level one cache.
The limitation for this claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a first memory management unit configured to: convert a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address; and load the instruction from the first physical address into the first memory.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “the processor comprises a first memory management unit configured to” and “into the first memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to: convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitations for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to” and “into the second memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address;
the processor comprises an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits.
The limitations “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” and “an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to” and “the processor comprises” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and the processor is further configured to: determine that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitation “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” “from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitation “the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to” “the processor is further configured to” “into the second memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitation “determine that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and the processor is further configured to: determine, based on a debug control register of the processor, that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitation “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” “from the second physical address into the second memory” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitation “the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to” “the processor is further configured to” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitation “determine, based on a debug control register…, that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
Claim 8, this claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directing to a method claim under Step 1.
8. A method, comprising:
storing an instruction in a first memory of a processor;
storing a breakpoint bit, for the instruction, in a second memory of the processor;
determining, by the processor, that the breakpoint bit is set; and
in response to determining that the breakpoint bit is set, reporting an error.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations “determine that the breakpoint bit is set, and in response to determining that the breakpoint bit is set” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. For example, a person is capable of determine if a breakpoint bit is set to find out the program’s logic and behavior with the aid of pen and paper to identify any errors may occur during the run of the program. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, the additional elements “a first memory of a processor,” “a second memory of the processor” and “by the processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to store and executing/applying program instructions which merely using generic computing equipment to execute software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements “storing an instruction,” “storing a breakpoint bit, for the instruction,” and “reporting an error” do nothing more than to add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering/ storing / reporting data for further analysis. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a first memory of a processor,” “a second memory of the processor” and “by the processor” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer and/or computer components to carry out the exception, thus, cannot amount to an inventive concept. See MPEP 2105.06(f). For the additional elements “storing an instruction,” “storing a breakpoint bit, for the instruction,” and “reporting an error” the courts have recognized storing and reporting information in memory as a well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the first memory is a first portion of a level one cache, and the second memory is a second portion of the level one cache.
The limitation for this claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the processor comprises a first memory management unit, and the method further comprises: converting, by the first memory management unit, a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address; and loading, by the first memory management unit, the instruction from the first physical address into the first memory.
The limitation “the processor comprises a first memory management unit” “by the first memory management unit,” “into the first memory” for this claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitations “converting… a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address; and loading” “the instruction from the first physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the processor comprises a second memory management unit, and the method further comprises: converting, by the second memory management unit, a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and loading, by the second memory management unit, the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitation “the processor comprises a second memory management unit” “by the second memory management unit,” “into the second memory” for this claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitations “converting… a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and loading… the breakpoint bit from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit; the method further comprises converting, by the second memory management unit, a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; the processor comprises an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits.
The limitations “the method further comprises converting… virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “the processor comprises a second memory management unit…” and “the processor comprises” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit; and the method further comprises: converting, by the second memory management unit, a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; determining, by the processor, that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, loading the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitation “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” “from the second physical address into the second memory” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitation “the processor comprises a second memory management unit” “by the second memory management unit” “by the processor” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitation “determining that that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, loading the breakpoint bit from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein: the processor comprises a second memory management unit; and the method further comprises: converting, by the second memory management unit, a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; determining, by the processor, based on a debug control register of the processor, that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, loading the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory.
The limitation “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” “from the second physical address into the second memory” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitation “the processor comprises a second memory management unit” “by the second memory management unit” “by the processor” “into the second memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitation “determining, …, based on a debug control register of the processor, that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, loading the breakpoint bit from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
Claim 15, this claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directing to a system claim under Step 1.
15. A system, comprising:
a processing circuit; and
a memory,
wherein:
the memory stores:
an instruction; and
a breakpoint bit, for the instruction; and
the processing circuit is configured to:
determine that the breakpoint bit is set, and
in response to determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations “determine that the breakpoint bit is set, and in response to determining that the breakpoint bit is set” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. For example, a person is capable of determine if a breakpoint bit is set to find out the program’s logic and behavior with the aid of pen and paper to identify any errors may occur during the run of the program. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, the additional elements “A system, comprising: a processing circuit; and a memory, wherein: the memory” and “the processing circuit is configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to store and executing/applying program instructions which merely using generic computing equipment to execute software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements “stores: an instruction; and a breakpoint bit, for the instruction” “to report an error” do nothing more than to add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering/storing/reporting data for further analysis. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “A system, comprising: a processing circuit; and a memory, wherein: the memory stores” and “the processing circuit is configured to” amount to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer and/or computer components to carry out the exception, thus, cannot amount to an inventive concept. See MPEP 2105.06(f). For the additional elements “stores: an instruction; and a breakpoint bit, for the instruction” “to report an error” the courts have recognized storing and reporting information in memory as a well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the memory is a level one cache.
The limitation for this claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
17. The system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuit comprises a first memory management unit configured to: convert a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address; and load the instruction from the first physical address into the memory.
The limitations “convert a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address; and load the instruction from the first physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “wherein the processing circuit comprises a first memory management unit” and “into the memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
18. The system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit configured to: convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the memory.
The limitations “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit” and “into the memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
19. The system of claim 15, wherein: the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; the processing circuit comprises an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits.
The limitations “conversion cache for breakpoint bits; and the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitations “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” “the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit” and “the processing circuit comprises an address” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
20. The system of claim 15, wherein: the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address; and the processing circuit is further configured to: determine that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the memory.
The limitation “convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional insignificant extra solution activity under prong 2.
The limitation “the processing circuit comprises a second memory management unit” “the processing circuit is further configured to” “into the memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer and/or mere computer components to carry out the exception under prong 2.
The limitation “determine that debug mode is enabled; and based on determining that debug mode is enabled, load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address” for this claim further recite an additional mental process under prong 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 20110047314 to Pogor et al. in view of USPN 6052801 to Hammond et al.
Per claim 1:
Pogor discloses:
1. A system, comprising:
a processor (Paragraph [0008] “a microprocessor”), the processor comprising:
a first memory configured to store an instruction (Paragraph [0008] “first storage for storing an address associated with a load/store operation (i.e., instruction)”); and
a second memory configured to store a breakpoint bit, for the instruction (Paragraph [0008] “second storage for storing an indicator that indicates whether there is a match between a page address portion of the load/store virtual address and a page address portion of the breakpoint address”), the processor being configured to (Paragraph [0008] “a microprocessor configured to perform a breakpoint check”):
determine that the breakpoint bit is set (Paragraph [0008] “microprocessor configured to perform a breakpoint check on a cache line-crossing load/store operation”).
Pogor does not explicitly discloses based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error.
However, Hammond discloses in an analogous computer system based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error (Col. 5, lines 57-58 “output node 260 to report the address received at node 210 is inside the breakpoint address range”; Col. 6-7, line 66 to line 2 “breakpoints are detected and reported prior to instruction execution (commonly referred to as "faults")”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the method of based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error as taught by Hammond into the method of detecting errors as taught by Pogor. The modification would be obvious because of one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add/incorporate the features of based on determining that the breakpoint bit is set, to report an error to provide an efficient technique for detecting and reporting errors so as to avoid any future unexcepted events as suggested by Hammond (col. 2, lines 13-27).
Per claim 2:
Pogor discloses:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the first memory comprises a first portion of a level one cache, and the second memory comprises a second portion of the level one cache (Paragraph [0012] “a first cache line and a second piece of the data is within a second cache line”).
Per claim 3:
Pogor discloses:
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a first memory management unit configured to:
convert a virtual address of the instruction to a first physical address (Paragraph [0009] “the first storage with a load/store physical address translated (i.e., converted) from the load/store virtual address”); and
load the instruction from the first physical address into the first memory (Paragraph [0009] “first storage for storing an address associated with a load/store operation”).
Per claim 4:
Pogor discloses:
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to:
convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address (Paragraph [0021] “translation functions between virtual addresses and physical addresses… implementing data breakpoints 16”); and
load the breakpoint bit from the second physical address into the second memory (Paragraph [0021] “cache memory is accessed and the breakpoint check is performed for the load/store operation in no more than two passes through the load/store unit pipeline”).
Per claim 5:
Pogor discloses:
5. The system of claim 1, wherein:
the processor comprises a second memory management unit configured to convert a virtual address of the breakpoint bit to a second physical address (Paragraph [0022] “when the load pipeline processes the first piece (i.e., performs the breakpoint check on the first piece virtual address, generates the physical address, accesses the cache, and replaces the virtual address in the load queue entry address field with the physical address)”);
the processor comprises an address conversion cache for breakpoint bits (Paragraph [0022] “saves in the load queue entry a hit_page indication of whether the virtual page bits of the first piece (i.e., the bits of the virtual address that must be translated to obtain the physical page)”); and
the converting of the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address comprises converting the virtual address of the breakpoint bit to the second physical address based on data stored in the address conversion cache for breakpoint bits (Paragraph [0022] “a virtual memory system, the virtual page address bits are the bits that must be translated from a virtual memory page address to a physical memory page address”).
Claims 8-11 is/are the method claim corresponding to apparatus/system claims 1-12 respectively, and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1-12 respectively, as noted above.
Claims 15-19 is/are the apparatus/system claim corresponding to method claims 1-5 respectively, and rejected under the same rational set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1-5 respectively, as noted above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please note that applicants must overcome the 101 rejections above in order for these claims to be allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Related cited arts:
Iftode, Liviu, Jaswinder Pal Singh, and Kai Li. "Understanding application performance on shared virtual memory systems." Proceedings of the 23rd annual international symposium on Computer architecture. 1996. pp. 122-133.
Denning, Peter J. "Virtual memory." ACM Computing Surveys (CSUR) 2.3 (1970): pp. 153-189.
Egele, Manuel, et al. "A survey on automated dynamic malware-analysis techniques and tools." ACM computing surveys (CSUR) 44.2 (2008): pp. 1-42.
US9898385 discloses In an embodiment, a system is configured to replay and/or reconstruct execution events and system states in real time or substantially in real time starting from the point when execution of a target program has stopped to the point when the user desires to step through the target program's execution in order to debug the software. In an embodiment, a system is configured to efficiently collect trace data that is sufficient to reconstruct the state of a computer system at any point of time from the start of execution to the time execution was stopped. Efficient and effective debugging of the software can be performed using embodiments of the disclosed methods, systems, and devices.
US8132159 discloses A method finds an error in a computer program. A sequence of machine instructions performed by a processor is recorded as trace data. Further, at least one event is selected from a plurality of events. In addition, an operating system instruction address is determined for the at least one event. Further, at least a portion of the trace data is searched for the operating system instruction address. The execution time for an operating system instruction stored in the operating system instruction address is determined. The execution time is searched through in the database to find task related data. The task related data is displayed.
US8136096 discloses A method finds an error in a computer program. A plurality of execution breakpoints are set in the computer program. A portion of the execution of the computer program is simulated as recorded in the trace data in the reverse order until one a plurality of conditions is met, wherein one of the plurality of conditions is an attempt to execute a machine instruction associated with one of the plurality of execution breakpoints.
/Satish Rampuria/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193
*****