DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230389163 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Kim disclose(s):
A lighting system (figs 1-13) comprising: a plurality of lamps (100; fig 1; fig 2) configured to operate in an on mode and in an off mode (see fig 6b), wherein the plurality of lamps comprise C x N lamps (fig. 2), wherein C is a number of channels greater than 2 and N is a number of lamps per channel greater than 2 (see fig 2); a plurality of electronic switches (see 1-12 in fig 4), wherein each lamp is electrically coupled to a corresponding electronic switch (fig 4); a power source (400; fig 1; [0094]) configured to provide each lamp with an operating power comprising an operating current and an operating voltage [0094], wherein the power source provides a light system operating power comprising a sum of the operating power provided to each lamp in a given time period [0095]; and a controller (300/200; fig 1) electrically coupled to the electronic switches (see 1-12 in fig 4), wherein the controller comprises timing circuitry to control an amount of time each lamp is in the on mode and an amount of time each lamp is in the off mode [0029], wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on mode is less than the amount of time each lamp is in the off mode, and wherein the frequency at which each lamp is in the on mode is at least 60 Hz (see fig 6b; [0061, 0111]).
With regards to claim 2. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the controller (300/200; fig 1) is electrically coupled to the electronic switches via a hard wire connection [0057].
With regards to claim 3. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the controller is electrically coupled to the electronic switches via a wireless connection [0084].
With regards to claim 4. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lamps comprise LED lamps [0059].
With regards to claim 7. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on mode is less than 20% the amount of time each lamp is in the off mode (see each LED in fig 6b).
With regards to claim 8. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on mode is less than 15% the amount of time each lamp is in the off mode(see each LED in fig 6b).
With regards to claim 9. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on mode is less than 10% the amount of time each lamp is in the off mode (see each LED in fig 6b; the examiner takes the position that 100%/12=8.3%).
With regards to claim 11. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the frequency at which each lamp is in the on mode is in the range of 60 Hz to 1000 Hz (0061).
With regards to claim 12. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein each lamp comprises a rated power comprising a rated current and a rated voltage and wherein the operating power exceeds the rated power (the examiner takes the position that each LED have inherent rated values of current, voltages, and power; [0096]).
With regards to claim 16. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein C is a number greater than 4 (fig 2; fig 7).
With regards to claim 17. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein N is a number within the range of 4 to 12 fig 2; fig 7.
With regards to claim 18. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the controller directs each of the C channels in parallel to sequentially operate the N lamps within each channel in the on mode and in the off mode (fig 2; [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230389163 A1).
With regards to claim 10. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1,
wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on and off mode in range of duty cycle from 0-100%.
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein within a given time period, the amount of time each lamp is in the on mode is less than 5% the amount of time each lamp is in the off mode.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the duty cycle so the on mode is less than 5% the amount of time each lamp is the off mode, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230389163 A1) in view of Hsu (US 20110175540 A1).
With regards to claim 5. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of lamps comprise incandescent lamps.
Hsu teaches:
wherein the plurality of lamps comprise incandescent lamps (see fig 1; [0013-0014]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the plurality of lamps comprise incandescent lamps as disclosed by Hsu in order to provide overload protection the LEDs while reducing costs of manufacturing as taught/suggested by Hsu ([0006]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230389163 A1) in view of Lookman (US 20170332452 A1).
With regards to claim 6. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the plurality of electronic switches comprise a field effect transistor (FET).
Lookman teaches:
wherein the plurality of electronic switches comprise a field effect transistor FET (see 6-1 to 6-6 in fig 2; [004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the plurality of electronic switches comprise a field effect transistor as disclosed by Lookman in order to efficiently bypass an LED as taught/suggested by Lookman ([0006]).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230389163 A1) in view of Kim (hereinafter referred as Kim ‘277; US 20170086277 A1).
With regards to claim 13-15. Kim disclose(s):
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the lighting system operates at a power savings of 50%, 70%, or 90%.
Kim ‘277 teaches
Adjust brightness based on environmental conditions to adjust power savings [0153].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to dim the lighting system operates at a power savings of 50%, 70%, or 90% as disclosed by Kim ‘277in order to save energy as taught/suggested by Kim ‘277 ([0153]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doll (US 9900963 B1) discloses: a lighting system comprising: a plurality of lamps configured to operate in an on mode and in an off mode, wherein the plurality of lamps comprise C x N lamps, wherein C is a number of channels greater than 2 and N is a number of lamps per channel greater than 2.
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896