Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are currently pending, with Claims 7-19 being withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected species, such that Claims 1-6 are presented for examination on the merits.
Objections
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the labels, external to objects and boxes, are shown without leader lines, and labels, internal to objects and boxes, are shown without underlining. 37 CFR 1.84(q). FIG. 5 is objected to, because the labels are enclosed by boxes while pointing to steps in the flowchart, confusingly. There are two 500 labels. Upper label 500 is underlined. FIG. 6 is objected to, because label 600 is underlined; there are two label 600’s, and the labels within boxes are not underlined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they recite non-patentable subject matter under MPEP § 2106, e.g., the 2019 PEG, October update. More particularly, the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea, etc.) without practical application or significantly more.
More particularly, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Broad categories of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices, certain methods of organizing human activities, an idea itself, and mathematical relationships/formulas. See, generally, MPEP § 2106; Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. __ (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc.,132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294, 1297-98 (2012)); Federal Register notice titled 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618), which is found at: http:// www. gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; 2015 Update to the Interim Guidance; the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Fed. Reg., Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019; and associated Office memoranda.
Under MPEP § 2106, Step 1, the claimed invention, taking the broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a process (i.e., a method), machine (e.g., analyzer, etc.), article of manufacture (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium) or composition of matter, and as such, is patent eligible.
Under MPEP § 2106, Step 2a-prong 1, Claims 1-6 recite a judicial exception(s), including a method of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principle). More particularly, the entirety of the method steps is directed towards analyzing a digital asset, such as a domain name, business name, trademark, or patent, and processing payment for such assets. Upon analysis, the digital asset is named, and stored so as to be searched. This is a long-standing commercial practice previously performed by humans (e.g., governments (secretary of state offices), business owners, corporations, IP portfolio managers, etc.) manually, via mental steps, and via generic computing (e.g., having an internet webpage). For example, entrepreneurs have long selected suitable domain names, business names, patent titles and trademarks based on an analysis of the nature of the business, the patent disclosure, etc. With respect to business names, for example, entrepreneurs have looked up a desired name in the Secretary of States database and where available, paid for said name if not found in the database. As such, the inventions include an abstract idea under § 2106, and Alice Corporation.
Under step 2a-prong 2, the claims fail to recite a practical application of the exception, because the extraneous limitations (e.g., the structure—domain name processing engine, trademark processing engine, business name processing engine, payment engine, AI/ML engine, receive information from a user and categorize the user; single input multiple database searching, ) merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g), generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and/or generally instruct an artisan to apply it (the method) across generic computing technology. More particularly, the extraneous limitations of Claim 1 are set forth in bold below:
A digital asset analyzer comprising:
a domain name processing engine for retrieving and processing a domain related
information;
a trademark processing engine for retrieving and processing a trademark related
information;
a business name processing engine for generating at least three business names
compatible with the domain name and trademark;
a payment processing engine for purchasing a domain name and registering a trademark upon selection of at least one of the generated business names;
an artificial intelligence (Al)/machine learning (ML) engine;
one or more processors coupled to the processing engines;
a memory coupled to the one or more processors;
one or more machine learning algorithms stored in the memory and executable by the AI/ML engines to automate the identification process of unique digital assets and name the identified digital assets, wherein the processing engines are integrated together to form a front-end integrated search engine.
A claim does not cease to be abstract for section 101 purposes simply because the claim confines the abstract idea to a particular technological environment in order to effectuate a real-world benefit. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 222; BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2018); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2014). That is to say, the claims are not directed to a new software or computer, but rather employs pre-existing software to do what’s been previously done, albeit less efficiently or slower. “[I]t is not enough, however, to merely improve a fundamental practice or abstract process by invoking a computer merely as a tool.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (citations omitted). More particularly, the claims fail to recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology (under MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the use of a particular machine (under § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article (§ 2106.05(c)), or apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (§ 2106.05(e)).
Under part 2b, the additional elements offered by the dependent claims either further delineate the abstract idea, add further abstract idea(s), adds insignificant extra-solution activity, or further instruct the artisan to apply it (the abstract idea(s)) across generic computing technology. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because no one claim effects an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, or move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Under Alice, merely applying structure or executing the abstract idea on one or more generic computer system (e.g., a computer system comprising a generic database; a generic element (NIC) for providing website access, etc.; a generic element for receiving user input; and a generic display on the computer, in any of their forms) to carry out the abstract idea more efficiently fails to cure patent ineligibility. See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347 (claims reciting a “scanner” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea); Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Serv. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims reciting an “interface,” “network,” and a “database” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea). Moreover, merely reciting steps that can be performed in the human mind is not patent eligible (see, e.g., Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (collecting and comparing data are mental steps); Braemar Mfg. LLC v. ScottCare Corp., 816 F. App’x 465, 470 (“Claims that “merely collect, classify, or otherwise filter data” are ineligible for patent under § 101.”); CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372-72 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (comparing a collected list of credit card numbers to transactions to identify different cards and user names used from the same IP address to detect fraud can be performed entirely in the human mind including the logical reasoning.)) “The requirements that the machine learning model be “iteratively trained’ or dynamically adjusted in Machine Learning Training patents do[es] not represent a technological improvement.” Recentive Analytics, 134 F 4th at 1212. Claim language reciting the machine learning model at a high level of generality without any specificity of how the machine learning model is trained or processes the data. The machine learning model is merely used as a tool to implement the abstract idea. Id. at 1213 (claims recite ineligible subject matter where “the only thing the claims disclose about the use of machine learning is that machine learning is used in a new environment”).
Lastly, courts have recognized the following computer functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations, receiving, processing, and storing data, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, electronic recordkeeping, automating mental tasks, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, MPEP 2106.05(d), wherein the italicized tasks are particularly germane to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0011446 to Reinsberg et al., in view of US 2008/0228640 to Brown et al.
With respect to Claim 1, Reinsberg teaches a digital asset analyzer ([0051-52];FIG. 1; [0153]) comprising: a domain name processing engine configured to retrieve and process domain related information from a domain-name database ([0051-52];FIG. 1; [0153]); a trademark processing engine for retrieving and processing trademark related information from a trademark database ([0122];[0149-50];[0153-54];[0160]); a business name processing engine in communication with a business-name database; a payment processing engine comprising a registration module (FIG. 23, recommending attorney for trademarking is facilitating obtaining a trademark; [0160], “engage”; Table 1, “Customer account Information”;[0095];[0157]; FIG. 6); an artificial intelligence (Al)/machine learning (ML) engine ([0126-27]); one or more processors coupled to the processing engines ([0003];[0061]); a memory coupled to the one or more processors ([0003]); one or more machine learning algorithms ([0062]) stored in the memory and executable by the AI/ML engine ([0111], model; [0126-27]), wherein the processing engines are integrated together to form a front-end integrated search engine ([0120];[0154]).
Reinsenberg teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to: (i) receive a single input query from a user and categorize the user into at least one predefined scenario ([0070], attributes; [0122], sub-specialties); (ii) in response to the single input query and the categorization, cause the domain name processing engine, the trademark processing engine, and the business name processing engine to search the domain-name database, the trademark database, and the business-name database, respectively ([0068];[0103];[0154], teaching searching state and uspto databases in response to input query from user;[0193]); (iii) cause the AI/ML engine (data collection module) to apply the one or more machine learning algorithms to collectively process information returned from the respective databases ([0154], teaching crawling said databases to identify tokens). Reinsberg teaches an equivalent system operable to perform the method recited in the instant invention, but does not use the same verbiage, such as “a payment processing engine,” etc., however, the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitations verbatim. Reinsberg teaches a different set of models/engines collectively referred to as “suggestion engine module 108”, which is operable to perform the digital asset analysis of the present invention. The set of enginges are a simple substitute for the recited set. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (obvious to integrate or separate (databases, engines, etc.); obvious to try (3 domain candidates as opposed to another number, etc.). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reinsberg to include the specified verbiage and specific set of engines recited.
Reisenberg fails to expressly teach, but Brown teaches generate at least three candidate name combinations, each candidate name combination comprising: a candidate business name; a domain name determined by the domain name processing engine to be available for registration and compatible with the candidate business name; and a trademark determined by the trademark processing engine to be available for registration and compatible with the candidate business name ([0013];[0079];[0153]; FIG. 1); present the at least three candidate name combinations for selection by the user (FIGS. 1, 13); and in response to selection of one of the candidate name combinations, cause the payment processing engine and the registration module to initiate purchase of the domain name in the selected candidate name combination from a domain name registration provider and, through one or more application programming interfaces, prepare and file a trademark application for the trademark in the selected candidate name combination with a trademark authority (Abstract; [0070-72];[0081]; FIGS. 16, 19). Brown teaches that there is a need in the art for media and mechanisms to acquire intellectual property. [0005] As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reisenberg to include these limitations as taught by Brown, in order to provide mechanisms for acquiring same.
With respect to Claim 2, Reinsberg teaches wherein the at least one predefined scenario comprises at least one of: (a) a digital entrepreneur with an existing business, domain name, and trademark; (b) an existing business with a domain name but no trademark; (c) an existing business with a trademark but no domain name; (d) a new business without a business name, domain name, or trademark; (e) a new business with a business name and trademark but no domain name; and (f) a new business with a business name and domain name but no trademark. ([0049];[0154];[0103], profile attributes).
With respect to Claim 3, Reinsberg fails but Brown teaches wherein, when a desired domain name is determined to be unavailable after a first availability search, the domain name processing engine generates at least three alternative domain names similar to the desired domain name, the front-end integrated search engine performs a second availability search to determine availability of each alternative domain name, the trademark processing engine determines availability for registration of a trademark compatible with each available alternative domain name, and the generating and second availability search are repeated until one alternative domain name is selected. (see Claim 1 above; FIG. 1; teaching availability determination, teaches unavailability determination). Under the same rationale as Claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reisenberg to include this limitation taught by Brown.
With respect to Claim 4, Reinsberg fails to expressly teach, but Brown teaches wherein the payment processing engine stores credit-card and personal-payment data in a private secure database and communicates with at least one vendor or merchant payment gateway. (see Claim 1 above; FIG. 1; see Settlement Transaction use case throughout, teaches using stored assets to exchange and settle an agreement).
With respect to Claim 5, Reinsberg fails to expressly teach, but Brown teaches wherein the registration module comprises a plurality of application programming interfaces corresponding to the domain name registration provider and the trademark authority, and, in response to confirmed payment, the plurality of application programming interfaces complete the domain-name purchase and transmit the trademark application to the trademark authority. ([0013];[0025]; see Register Asset use case throughout)
With respect to Claim 6, Reinsberg teaches wherein the AI/ML engine employs a training and predictive model, using data gathered from multiple sources, to generate a stand-alone business name compatible with the domain name determined to be available for registration and the trademark determined to be available for registration. ([0126];[0127] machine learning teaches a training and predictive model; see “module” used throughout).
Response to remarks
Applicant’s remarks submitted on 8/13/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive where objections/rejections are maintained. As per § 101, the claims continue to recite inventions including/directed to long-standing commercial practices (typically encountered with forming a business). The added limitations further delineate and/or introduce abstract ideas themselves. Upon traversal, Applicant is asked to specify which limitations present an innovative concept, rather than mere instruction to use generic computing technology to perform what humans have long performed. Cases such as Bascom are inapposite to the present invention, in that they dealt with technological improvements, whereas the instant case pertains to a business method being performed across an ML engine. As per the prior art rejections, Brown has been added to teach the added limitations, such that Applicant’s remarks directed to Reisenberg alone are moot. Please note that the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitation verbatim, and also that the entirety of a prior art reference is to be applied to the respective claim(s), such that the pinpoint citations above are exemplary and provided for Applicant’s benefit; other locations within the applied reference(s) may further support the rejection. MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM J JACOB/Examiner, Art Unit 3696