DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Application filed on 03/21/2024 claims 1-20 are pending wherein claims of which 1, 10, 19 are recited in independent form. The present Application claims priority to Foreign Application KR10-2023-0155739 with a filing date of 11/10/2023 (priority document received 05/02/2024).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner has not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations from the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 11, 13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20250071843 to Lin et al (hereinafter d1) in view of US-20170102914 to Hong (hereafter d2).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A vehicle control device comprising: a communication circuit configured to provide a communication channel with a portable terminal; and a vehicle processor functionally connected to the communication circuit, wherein the vehicle processor is configured to: start a monitoring routine to switch a media mode of a vehicle to a Bluetooth audio mode; check whether a received signal is a pre-specified signal when a signal related to a Bluetooth audio mode switch is received from the portable terminal through the communication circuit; and switch the media mode to the Bluetooth audio mode when the received signal is the pre-specified signal” d1 discloses a system including a device (see d1 Fig. 1) control device comprising: a communication circuit configured to provide a communication channel with a portable terminal; and a vehicle processor functionally connected to the communication circuit (see d1 Fig. 1) wherein it is disclosed that control software unit 114 of the present embodiment can adopt one of the following methods: (1) Controlling the transmission unit 111 by the operating system of the computer host. (2) Changing the pre-set audio device used in the input and output of an audio source by the operating system of the computer host. (3) If the user selects automatic switching, performing switching according to the according to the profile suggested by the smart selection module 112. (4) Returning the software and profile in use to the smart selection module 112 by the control software unit (see d1 para. 0025); d1 also discloses Bluetooth setting method wherein in step S210, a mode associated with Bluetooth is selected (i.e. switching between the modes). The various modes include a play mode which includes a hands-free profile mode 122 and an A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (i.e. the determining being equivalent to a monitoring action), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112. In step S230, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode, the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112. Besides, the control software unit 114 can select to turn on the voice call software 116 or the music play software 118 according to a switch instruction received from the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). For instance, in step S222, in the call mode, the voice call software 116 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114. In step S232, in the music play mode, the music play software 118 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114 (see d1 para. 0026). D1 also suggests in step S222, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the call mode (return to step S210) and enters the music play mode (proceed to step S230) (i.e. a pre-specified signal when a signal related to a Bluetooth audio mode switch is received), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In step S232, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the music play mode (return to step S210) and enters the call mode (proceed to step S220), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In another embodiment, when the connection between the control host 110 and the Bluetooth audio device 120 is discontinued, the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130) automatically ends the call mode or the music play mode then returns to step S210 (see d1 para. 0027). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module 112 suggests a suitable profile to the control software unit 114 according to the scenario of use and/or according to the software in use, so that the user's erroneous setting of the device will not disable the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device 120 or affect the user's enjoyment of listening to the music (see d1 para. 0028). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth audio device 120 also can switch between different profiles through its input device or according to the instruction and data received from the device controller 130 (such as a mobile phone or a tablet computer). For instance, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can switch from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122, or from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124. Moreover, after receiving instruction and data from the device controller 130, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can return a switch instruction to the control host 110 to change the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device. Subsequently, the control host 110 can perform the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device according to the user's setting (see d1 Fig. 1 para. 0029). D1 also suggests that in step S210 of FIG. 2, the selection of the play mode can also be done by the device controller 130; it does not have to be done by the smart selection module 112. In an embodiment, the device controller 130 can wirelessly communicate with the Bluetooth audio device 120, then switches the audio transmission mode of the Bluetooth audio device 120 according to a scenario of use. For instance, the device controller 130 also can switch between the hands-free profile mode 122 and the A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (such as a remote meeting), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user. In step S230, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode (such as play a film or a song), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the A2DP mode 124 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user (see d1 para. 0030). According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method disclosed in above embodiments of the present application, the software of the computer system can be used to control the transmission unit to execute a search task, perform pairing and connect to a device (with only one click), then the transmission unit can transmit the instruction of switching to the pairing mode to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can use the device controller to transmit data to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can click the Bluetooth pairing key, then the Bluetooth audio device, through Bluetooth data transmission, will notify the control host to prepare for an automatic pairing procedure, hence avoiding the user spending a large amount of time with relevant Bluetooth settings due to his/her unfamiliarity with the computer system. According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module can switch between different profiles according to the scenario of use, the input to the Bluetooth audio device, the instruction received form the device controller, and/or the software in use, so that the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device will not be disabled and the user's enjoyment of listening to the music will not be affected due to the user's erroneous setting of the device (see d1 para. 0030). It appears to the Examiner that the disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations except for implementation in a vehicle which would be an obvious use case given the disclosure of d1.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and neighbor cell measurements (see d2 para. 0002), further suggests in FIG. 4 an audio outputting method of an electronic device which the electronic device 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 processes. The electronic device 100 described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2A to 2D, and 3A to 3C may be applied to the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 4, which include a vehicle (see d2 para. 0054-0055, 0019); Referring to FIG. 4, in operation 410, the electronic device 100 may set an audio output mode. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the audio output mode of the electronic device 100 may include a first mode in which the audio module 120 is activated, a second mode in which the Bluetooth module 111 is activated, and a third mode in which the audio module 120 and the Bluetooth module 111 are activated at the same time. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode as one of the first to third modes based on the user input. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a control command that is received from an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0056).
D2 also suggests that the audio outputting method according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be performed while the audio output mode is set as the third mode. Hereinafter, it will be described under assumption that the electronic device 100 sets the audio output mode as the third mode in operation 410 (see d2 para. 0057).
D2 also suggests that in operation 420, the electronic device 100 may be connected with an external device through the Bluetooth module 111. For example, if the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may activate the Bluetooth module 111 and may perform a Bluetooth pairing procedure with the external device (see d2 para. 0058).
D2 also suggests that before the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may be previously connected with an external device. For example, after the electronic device 100 is connected with the external device while the audio output mode is the second mode, the audio output mode may be set as the third mode (see d2 para. 0059).
D2 also suggests that in operation 430, the electronic device 100 may be requested to play audio data. For example, a command for playing music or a video may be input by a user or an event that a call starts may occur (see d2 para. 0060).
D2 also suggests in operation 440, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data that the electronic device 100 is requested to play is call data. According to an embodiment, if the playback of the audio data is requested, the electronic device 100 may determine the kind of audio data. For example, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data of which the playback is requested is call data or media data (see d2 para. 0061).
D2 also suggests if the audio data is call data, in operation 450, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a first path. According to an embodiment, if the audio data is not call data (or is media data), in operation 460, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a second path (see d2 para. 0062).
D2 also suggests the first path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111, and the second path may be a path connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, the first path may be a path connected with the audio module 120, and the second path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0063).
D2 also suggests the transmission path of audio data may be set based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may be configured based on the Bluetooth profile for the Bluetooth module 111 and an external device (see d2 para. 0064).
D2 also suggests in operation 470, the electronic device 100 may output the audio data. According to an embodiment, if call data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the call data to be output through the speaker 121 or the receiver 123 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if media data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the media data to be output through the speaker 121 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if audio data (e.g., call data or media data) is sent to the Bluetooth module 111, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data to an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0065).
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (mode selection associated with Bluetooth) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve user experience (see d2 para. 0003). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved user experience, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (mode switching) for similar purposes (enhanced user experience) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle processor is configured to perform the Bluetooth audio mode switch when there is a time difference between playback time notifications related to a periodic playback time notification and a received actual advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) audio data packet after a streaming ready state entry signal and a streaming start signal are received” d1 in view of d2 suggest use of AD2P which implies perform the Bluetooth audio mode switch when there is a time difference between playback time notifications related to a periodic playback time notification and a received actual advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) audio data packet after a streaming ready state entry signal and a streaming start signal are received (see d1 para. 0026-0030).
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The vehicle control device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle processor is configured to compare the pre-specified signal to the received signal by checking a type of the portable terminal” d1 in view of d2 suggest compare the pre-specified signal to the received signal by checking a type of the portable terminal (see d2 para. 0019).
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitations “A method comprising: starting, by a processor of a vehicle, a monitoring routine to switch a media mode of the vehicle to a Bluetooth audio mode; checking, by the processor, whether a signal from a portable terminal through a communication circuit of the vehicle is received, the signal being related a Bluetooth audio mode switch; determining, by the processor, whether the received signal is a pre-specified signal; and switching, by the processor, the media mode to the Bluetooth audio mode when the received signal is the pre-specified signal” d1 discloses a system including a device (see d1 Fig. 1) control device comprising: a communication circuit configured to provide a communication channel with a portable terminal; and a vehicle processor functionally connected to the communication circuit (see d1 Fig. 1) wherein it is disclosed that control software unit 114 of the present embodiment can adopt one of the following methods: (1) Controlling the transmission unit 111 by the operating system of the computer host. (2) Changing the pre-set audio device used in the input and output of an audio source by the operating system of the computer host. (3) If the user selects automatic switching, performing switching according to the according to the profile suggested by the smart selection module 112. (4) Returning the software and profile in use to the smart selection module 112 by the control software unit (see d1 para. 0025); d1 also discloses Bluetooth setting method wherein in step S210, a mode associated with Bluetooth is selected (i.e. switching between the modes). The various modes include a play mode which includes a hands-free profile mode 122 and an A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (i.e. the determining being equivalent to a monitoring action), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112. In step S230, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode, the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112. Besides, the control software unit 114 can select to turn on the voice call software 116 or the music play software 118 according to a switch instruction received from the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). For instance, in step S222, in the call mode, the voice call software 116 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114. In step S232, in the music play mode, the music play software 118 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114 (see d1 para. 0026). D1 also suggests in step S222, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the call mode (return to step S210) and enters the music play mode (proceed to step S230) (i.e. a pre-specified signal when a signal related to a Bluetooth audio mode switch is received), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In step S232, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the music play mode (return to step S210) and enters the call mode (proceed to step S220), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In another embodiment, when the connection between the control host 110 and the Bluetooth audio device 120 is discontinued, the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130) automatically ends the call mode or the music play mode then returns to step S210 (see d1 para. 0027). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module 112 suggests a suitable profile to the control software unit 114 according to the scenario of use and/or according to the software in use, so that the user's erroneous setting of the device will not disable the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device 120 or affect the user's enjoyment of listening to the music (see d1 para. 0028). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth audio device 120 also can switch between different profiles through its input device or according to the instruction and data received from the device controller 130 (such as a mobile phone or a tablet computer). For instance, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can switch from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122, or from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124. Moreover, after receiving instruction and data from the device controller 130, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can return a switch instruction to the control host 110 to change the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device. Subsequently, the control host 110 can perform the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device according to the user's setting (see d1 Fig. 1 para. 0029). D1 also suggests that in step S210 of FIG. 2, the selection of the play mode can also be done by the device controller 130; it does not have to be done by the smart selection module 112. In an embodiment, the device controller 130 can wirelessly communicate with the Bluetooth audio device 120, then switches the audio transmission mode of the Bluetooth audio device 120 according to a scenario of use. For instance, the device controller 130 also can switch between the hands-free profile mode 122 and the A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (such as a remote meeting), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user. In step S230, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode (such as play a film or a song), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the A2DP mode 124 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user (see d1 para. 0030). According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method disclosed in above embodiments of the present application, the software of the computer system can be used to control the transmission unit to execute a search task, perform pairing and connect to a device (with only one click), then the transmission unit can transmit the instruction of switching to the pairing mode to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can use the device controller to transmit data to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can click the Bluetooth pairing key, then the Bluetooth audio device, through Bluetooth data transmission, will notify the control host to prepare for an automatic pairing procedure, hence avoiding the user spending a large amount of time with relevant Bluetooth settings due to his/her unfamiliarity with the computer system. According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module can switch between different profiles according to the scenario of use, the input to the Bluetooth audio device, the instruction received form the device controller, and/or the software in use, so that the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device will not be disabled and the user's enjoyment of listening to the music will not be affected due to the user's erroneous setting of the device (see d1 para. 0030). It appears to the Examiner that the disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations except for implementation in a vehicle which would be an obvious use case given the disclosure of d1.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and neighbor cell measurements (see d2 para. 0002), further suggests in FIG. 4 an audio outputting method of an electronic device which the electronic device 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 processes. The electronic device 100 described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2A to 2D, and 3A to 3C may be applied to the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 4, which include a vehicle (see d2 para. 0054-0055, 0019); Referring to FIG. 4, in operation 410, the electronic device 100 may set an audio output mode. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the audio output mode of the electronic device 100 may include a first mode in which the audio module 120 is activated, a second mode in which the Bluetooth module 111 is activated, and a third mode in which the audio module 120 and the Bluetooth module 111 are activated at the same time. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode as one of the first to third modes based on the user input. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a control command that is received from an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0056).
D2 also suggests that the audio outputting method according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be performed while the audio output mode is set as the third mode. Hereinafter, it will be described under assumption that the electronic device 100 sets the audio output mode as the third mode in operation 410 (see d2 para. 0057).
D2 also suggests that in operation 420, the electronic device 100 may be connected with an external device through the Bluetooth module 111. For example, if the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may activate the Bluetooth module 111 and may perform a Bluetooth pairing procedure with the external device (see d2 para. 0058).
D2 also suggests that before the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may be previously connected with an external device. For example, after the electronic device 100 is connected with the external device while the audio output mode is the second mode, the audio output mode may be set as the third mode (see d2 para. 0059).
D2 also suggests that in operation 430, the electronic device 100 may be requested to play audio data. For example, a command for playing music or a video may be input by a user or an event that a call starts may occur (see d2 para. 0060).
D2 also suggests in operation 440, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data that the electronic device 100 is requested to play is call data. According to an embodiment, if the playback of the audio data is requested, the electronic device 100 may determine the kind of audio data. For example, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data of which the playback is requested is call data or media data (see d2 para. 0061).
D2 also suggests if the audio data is call data, in operation 450, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a first path. According to an embodiment, if the audio data is not call data (or is media data), in operation 460, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a second path (see d2 para. 0062).
D2 also suggests the first path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111, and the second path may be a path connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, the first path may be a path connected with the audio module 120, and the second path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0063).
D2 also suggests the transmission path of audio data may be set based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may be configured based on the Bluetooth profile for the Bluetooth module 111 and an external device (see d2 para. 0064).
D2 also suggests in operation 470, the electronic device 100 may output the audio data. According to an embodiment, if call data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the call data to be output through the speaker 121 or the receiver 123 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if media data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the media data to be output through the speaker 121 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if audio data (e.g., call data or media data) is sent to the Bluetooth module 111, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data to an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0065).
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (mode selection associated with Bluetooth) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve user experience (see d2 para. 0003). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved user experience, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (mode switching) for similar purposes (enhanced user experience) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The method of claim 10, wherein checking whether the signal is received comprises checking whether there is a time difference between playback time notifications related to a periodic playback time notification and an actual advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) audio data packet after a streaming ready state entry signal and a streaming start signal are received” d1 in view of d2 suggest use of AD2P which implies perform the Bluetooth audio mode switch when there is a time difference between playback time notifications related to a periodic playback time notification and a received actual advanced audio distribution profile (A2DP) audio data packet after a streaming ready state entry signal and a streaming start signal are received (see d1 para. 0026-0030).
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitation “The method of claim 10, wherein checking whether the signal is received comprises comparing the pre-specified signal to the received signal by checking a type of portable terminal” d1 in view of d2 suggest compare the pre-specified signal to the received signal by checking a type of the portable terminal (see d2 para. 0019).
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitations “A vehicle computer system of a vehicle comprising: a vehicle processor configured to support a vehicle operation; and a memory configured to store at least one instruction for operating the vehicle processor, wherein the at least one instruction stored in the memory causes the vehicle processor to: start a monitoring routine to switch a media mode of the vehicle to a Bluetooth audio mode; check whether a signal related to a Bluetooth audio mode switch is received from a portable terminal through a communication circuit of the vehicle; determine whether the received signal is a pre-specified signal; and switch the media mode to the Bluetooth audio mode when the received signal is the pre-specified signal” d1 discloses a system including a device (see d1 Fig. 1) control device comprising: a communication circuit configured to provide a communication channel with a portable terminal; and a vehicle processor functionally connected to the communication circuit (see d1 Fig. 1) wherein it is disclosed that control software unit 114 of the present embodiment can adopt one of the following methods: (1) Controlling the transmission unit 111 by the operating system of the computer host. (2) Changing the pre-set audio device used in the input and output of an audio source by the operating system of the computer host. (3) If the user selects automatic switching, performing switching according to the according to the profile suggested by the smart selection module 112. (4) Returning the software and profile in use to the smart selection module 112 by the control software unit (see d1 para. 0025); d1 also discloses Bluetooth setting method wherein in step S210, a mode associated with Bluetooth is selected (i.e. switching between the modes). The various modes include a play mode which includes a hands-free profile mode 122 and an A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (i.e. the determining being equivalent to a monitoring action), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112. In step S230, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode, the Bluetooth audio device 120 is switched to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112. Besides, the control software unit 114 can select to turn on the voice call software 116 or the music play software 118 according to a switch instruction received from the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). For instance, in step S222, in the call mode, the voice call software 116 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114. In step S232, in the music play mode, the music play software 118 is automatically turned on by the control software unit 114 (see d1 para. 0026). D1 also suggests in step S222, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the call mode (return to step S210) and enters the music play mode (proceed to step S230) (i.e. a pre-specified signal when a signal related to a Bluetooth audio mode switch is received), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In step S232, when the smart selection module 112 determines that the Bluetooth audio device 120 ends the music play mode (return to step S210) and enters the call mode (proceed to step S220), the Bluetooth audio device 120 is automatically switched from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122 by the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130). In another embodiment, when the connection between the control host 110 and the Bluetooth audio device 120 is discontinued, the smart selection module 112 (or the device controller 130) automatically ends the call mode or the music play mode then returns to step S210 (see d1 para. 0027). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module 112 suggests a suitable profile to the control software unit 114 according to the scenario of use and/or according to the software in use, so that the user's erroneous setting of the device will not disable the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device 120 or affect the user's enjoyment of listening to the music (see d1 para. 0028). D1 also suggests that the Bluetooth audio device 120 also can switch between different profiles through its input device or according to the instruction and data received from the device controller 130 (such as a mobile phone or a tablet computer). For instance, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can switch from the A2DP mode 124 to the hands-free profile mode 122, or from the hands-free profile mode 122 to the A2DP mode 124. Moreover, after receiving instruction and data from the device controller 130, the Bluetooth audio device 120 can return a switch instruction to the control host 110 to change the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device. Subsequently, the control host 110 can perform the pre-setting of the microphone/speaker device according to the user's setting (see d1 Fig. 1 para. 0029). D1 also suggests that in step S210 of FIG. 2, the selection of the play mode can also be done by the device controller 130; it does not have to be done by the smart selection module 112. In an embodiment, the device controller 130 can wirelessly communicate with the Bluetooth audio device 120, then switches the audio transmission mode of the Bluetooth audio device 120 according to a scenario of use. For instance, the device controller 130 also can switch between the hands-free profile mode 122 and the A2DP mode 124. In step S220, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a call mode (such as a remote meeting), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the hands-free profile mode 122 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user. In step S230, when it is determined that the Bluetooth audio device 120 enters a music play mode (such as play a film or a song), the Bluetooth audio device 120 can be switched to the A2DP mode 124 automatically by the device controller 130 or manually by the user (see d1 para. 0030). According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method disclosed in above embodiments of the present application, the software of the computer system can be used to control the transmission unit to execute a search task, perform pairing and connect to a device (with only one click), then the transmission unit can transmit the instruction of switching to the pairing mode to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can use the device controller to transmit data to the Bluetooth audio device. Or, the user can click the Bluetooth pairing key, then the Bluetooth audio device, through Bluetooth data transmission, will notify the control host to prepare for an automatic pairing procedure, hence avoiding the user spending a large amount of time with relevant Bluetooth settings due to his/her unfamiliarity with the computer system. According to the Bluetooth connection system and the Bluetooth connection and setting method of the present application, the smart selection module can switch between different profiles according to the scenario of use, the input to the Bluetooth audio device, the instruction received form the device controller, and/or the software in use, so that the microphone/speaker functions of the Bluetooth audio device will not be disabled and the user's enjoyment of listening to the music will not be affected due to the user's erroneous setting of the device (see d1 para. 0030). It appears to the Examiner that the disclosure may meet all the limitations of claim 1 under BRI of the limitations except for implementation in a vehicle which would be an obvious use case given the disclosure of d1.
However, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, or in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation from the claim, attention is directed to d2 which also addresses all the limitations noted above which are met by d1 and further discloses teachings relative to the limitations of claim 1, wherein d1 and d2 meet all the limitations in question, possibly alone, but certainly in combination. Wherein d2, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication and neighbor cell measurements (see d2 para. 0002), further suggests in FIG. 4 an audio outputting method of an electronic device which the electronic device 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 processes. The electronic device 100 described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2A to 2D, and 3A to 3C may be applied to the flowchart illustrated in FIG. 4, which include a vehicle (see d2 para. 0054-0055, 0019); Referring to FIG. 4, in operation 410, the electronic device 100 may set an audio output mode. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the audio output mode of the electronic device 100 may include a first mode in which the audio module 120 is activated, a second mode in which the Bluetooth module 111 is activated, and a third mode in which the audio module 120 and the Bluetooth module 111 are activated at the same time. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode as one of the first to third modes based on the user input. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may set the audio output mode based on a control command that is received from an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0056).
D2 also suggests that the audio outputting method according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be performed while the audio output mode is set as the third mode. Hereinafter, it will be described under assumption that the electronic device 100 sets the audio output mode as the third mode in operation 410 (see d2 para. 0057).
D2 also suggests that in operation 420, the electronic device 100 may be connected with an external device through the Bluetooth module 111. For example, if the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may activate the Bluetooth module 111 and may perform a Bluetooth pairing procedure with the external device (see d2 para. 0058).
D2 also suggests that before the audio output mode is set as the third mode, the electronic device 100 may be previously connected with an external device. For example, after the electronic device 100 is connected with the external device while the audio output mode is the second mode, the audio output mode may be set as the third mode (see d2 para. 0059).
D2 also suggests that in operation 430, the electronic device 100 may be requested to play audio data. For example, a command for playing music or a video may be input by a user or an event that a call starts may occur (see d2 para. 0060).
D2 also suggests in operation 440, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data that the electronic device 100 is requested to play is call data. According to an embodiment, if the playback of the audio data is requested, the electronic device 100 may determine the kind of audio data. For example, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the audio data of which the playback is requested is call data or media data (see d2 para. 0061).
D2 also suggests if the audio data is call data, in operation 450, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a first path. According to an embodiment, if the audio data is not call data (or is media data), in operation 460, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data through a second path (see d2 para. 0062).
D2 also suggests the first path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111, and the second path may be a path connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, the first path may be a path connected with the audio module 120, and the second path may be a path connected with the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0063).
D2 also suggests the transmission path of audio data may be set based on a user input. According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may be configured based on the Bluetooth profile for the Bluetooth module 111 and an external device (see d2 para. 0064).
D2 also suggests in operation 470, the electronic device 100 may output the audio data. According to an embodiment, if call data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the call data to be output through the speaker 121 or the receiver 123 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if media data is sent to the audio module 120, the electronic device 100 may allow the media data to be output through the speaker 121 connected with the audio module 120. According to an embodiment, if audio data (e.g., call data or media data) is sent to the Bluetooth module 111, the electronic device 100 may send the audio data to an external device through the Bluetooth module 111 (see d2 para. 0065).
Thus, starting from d1 and looking d2, the skilled person would find d2 as it is in the same field of endeavor and is directed to a similar problem and would consider to combine, in an manner obvious to a POSITA, the teachings of d2 into the communication method of d1 arriving in this way at the subject-matter of the present claim, which is considered to be obvious in view of the disclosure of d1 in combination with the disclosure of d2.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2, it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (mode selection associated with Bluetooth) wherein the disclosure of d1 and/or d2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve user experience (see d2 para. 0003). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved user experience, among many other reasons obvious in the disclosure of d1 and/or d2. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (mode switching) for similar purposes (enhanced user experience) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 14-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643