Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 11-20, in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/24/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: metal carrier 11 (specification, paragraph [0033]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “generates a concentration value corresponding to the biofluid test based on the accumulation result”.
In accordance with MPEP 2106, the claims are found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) and are analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A: Prong 1).
In the instant application, the limitations of “generates a concentration value corresponding to the biofluid test based on the accumulation result” could be performed by math, i.e. mathematical calculation. Other than “readout circuit”, if the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. readout circuit), then the claim limitations fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims recite abstract ideas (Step 2A: Prong 1: Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any additional elements that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way (Step 2A, Prong 2: No). In claim 11, once the readout circuit “generates a concentration value corresponding to the biofluid test based on the accumulation result”, no further action is performed. Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The readout circuit limitations are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Additionally, the preceding steps and limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering or data outputting, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
The claims 11-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Regarding the abstract idea, claim 11 merely recites the readout circuit, wherein the claimed limitations of the readout circuit amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Claim 11 and dependent claims 12-20 further recites limitations, however these limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering or data outputting, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), which alone or in combination do not amount to significantly more. Additionally, claims 13 and 19 further recite additional abstract ideas of “determine the concentration value based on…” and “determines a concentration value…”. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites “The semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 11, wherein a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme, wherein the aptamer is configured to bind to a target biomolecule in a sample or activate the detection enzyme”. It is unclear if the limitation of “…wherein a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme…” is merely reciting an intended use of the semiconductor sensing chip or if applicant intends to positively recite the reagent as a component of the semiconductor sensing chip. Is the reagent used with or part of the semiconductor sensing chip? Is the reagent the same or different from the biofluid? As recited, the “reagent” is not positively recited structurally as a component of the semiconductor sensing chip, and therefore the limitation of “wherein a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme, wherein the aptamer is configured to bind to a target biomolecule in a sample or activate the detection enzyme” is interpreted as an intended use of the semiconductor sensing chip. Claims 17-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Lee et al., “A CMOS label-free DNA sensor using electrostatic induction of molecular charges”, Biosensors and Bioelectronics 31 (2012) 343–348) in view of Wu et al. (US 20090145779 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a semiconductor sensing chip (abstract and Fig. 2 teaches a biosensor including electrodes and circuits in one package via a CMOS process, i.e. semiconductor sensing chip), configured to sense a biofluid under test (abstract teaches the biosensor is for detection of DNA hybridization, therefore is capable of sensing a biofluid under test), wherein the semiconductor sensing chip comprises:
a metal carrier having a sensing electrode (Fig. 2 and sections 2.2-2.3 teaches gold working electrodes), wherein the metal carrier is configured to carry the biofluid under test (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 teaches the working electrodes are structurally capable of carrying a biofluid under test, such as a PBS including target DNA) and sense the biofluid under test through the sensing electrode to obtain a sensing signal (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; section 2.2, first paragraph teaches the working electrode measures charges of the binding events to produce signals that is accumulated; page 345, right column, paragraphs 1-3 teaches measuring charges induced by surface potential; therefore, the working electrodes are capable of sensing a biofluid under test to obtain a sensing signal); and
a readout circuit (Fig. 2 teaches readout circuits including a voltage buffer circuit, integrator, and ADC) configured to accumulate the sensing signal in a preset time interval to generate an accumulation result (Fig. 2 teaches the readout circuits accumulate the charges of the working electrodes; page 345, right column, paragraphs 1-3 teaches the read out circuits accumulate signal charges within a maximum accumulation time of 170 ms, i.e. preset time interval, to generate a digital output, i.e. accumulation result).
Lee fails to teach: wherein the readout circuit generates a concentration value corresponding to the biofluid under test based on the accumulation result.
Lee teaches DNA sensors are important in diagnostic tests and early cancer detection and drug discovery (page 343, first paragraph). Lee teaches the proposed biosensor is capable of robustly detecting and quantifying the hybridization of probe and target DNA (page 348, first full paragraph). Lee teaches measurement with different concentrations (Fig. 5).
Wu teaches a sensing system and method for determining the concentration of an analyte in a sample (abstract). Wu teaches biosensors typically analyzes biological fluid for determination of presence and concentration of one or more analytes, which is useful in diagnosis and treatment of physiological abnormalities ([0002]). Wu teaches electrochemical sensors including electrodes ([0007]). Wu teaches applying an input signal through electrodes into the sample, and measuring electrical output such as accumulated charge generated by coulometry ([0009]); wherein, the measurement device may have the processing capability to measure and correlate the output signal with the presence and/or concentration of one or more analytes in the biological fluid ([0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the readout circuit of Lee to incorporate Lee’s teachings of quantifying hybridization of a probe and target DNA (page 348, first full paragraph) and measurement of different target concentrations (Fig. 5) and Wu’s teachings of a biosensor with electrodes to measure accumulated charge and correlating the output signal with concentration of analytes ([0009]) to provide: wherein the readout circuit generates a concentration value corresponding to the biofluid under test based on the accumulation result. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving characterization and analysis of the biofluid, therefore improving diagnosis and treatment for a patient as taught by Wu ([0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further teaches wherein the readout circuit comprises an integrator (Fig. 2 description, “integrator”), the integrator is configured to integrate the sensing signal in the preset time interval to generate the accumulation result (Fig. 2 and page 345, left column, section 2.2 teaches the integrator accumulates the charges from the working electrode to output in digitized shape), thereby obtaining the accumulation result through a square-wave voltcoulommetry (SWVC) method (page 345, right column, first two paragraphs, teaches accumulation of the signal charges and the accumulated signal is transformed into a square signal; therefore, the integrator is configured to obtain the accumulation result through a SWVC method).
Note that “configured to integrate the sensing signal in the preset time interval to generate the accumulation result“ and “obtaining the accumulation result through a square-wave voltcoulommetry (SWVC) method” are interpreted as functional limitations. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of modified Lee is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Lee discloses the claimed readout circuit comprising an integrator as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the readout circuit comprises: an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) coupled to the integrator (Fig. 2 teaches an ADC coupled to the integrator), and configured to convert the accumulation result from analog to digital (Fig. 2 and page 345, right column, first full paragraph teaches the accumulated signal is interfaced with external devices through an ADC; therefore, the ADC is configured to convert the accumulated result from analog to digital).
Modified Lee fails to teach: a processor coupled to the analog-to-digital converter, and configured to determine the concentration value based on the converted accumulation result.
Lee teaches DNA sensors are important in diagnostic tests and early cancer detection and drug discovery (page 343, first paragraph). Lee teaches the proposed biosensor is capable of robustly detecting and quantifying the hybridization of probe and target DNA (page 348, first full paragraph). Lee teaches measurement with different concentrations (Fig. 5). Lee teaches the accumulated signal is then transformed into a square signal and interfaced with external digital devices through a one-bit analog-to-digital converter (page 345, right column, first full paragraph).
Wu teaches a sensing system and method for determining the concentration of an analyte in a sample (abstract). Wu teaches biosensors typically analyzes biological fluid for determination of presence and concentration of one or more analytes, which is useful in diagnosis and treatment of physiological abnormalities ([0002]). Wu teaches electrochemical sensors including electrodes ([0007]). Wu teaches applying an input signal through electrodes into the sample, and measuring electrical output such as accumulated charge generated by coulometry ([0009]); wherein, the measurement device may have the processing capability to measure and correlate the output signal with the presence and/or concentration of one or more analytes in the biological fluid ([0009]). Wu teaches the device includes a processor connected to a sensor interface ([0056]); and the processor implements the analyte analysis and data treatment using computer readable software code, which measures output signal that is correlated with an analyte concentration using one or more correlation equations ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the readout circuit of modified Lee to incorporate Lee’s teachings of the accumulated signal is interfaced with external digital devices (page 345, right column, first full paragraph) and Wu’s teachings of a biosensor with electrodes to measure accumulated charge and correlating the output signal with concentration of analytes ([0009]) and a processor connected to the sensor interface to measure output signal to correlate with an analyte concentration ([0056],[0060]) to provide: a processor coupled to the analog-to-digital converter, and configured to determine the concentration value based on the converted accumulation result. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated characterization and analysis of the biofluid, therefore improving diagnosis and treatment for a patient as taught by Wu ([0002]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee fails to teach: the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 13, wherein the processor further stores a concentration comparison table, and the processor is configured to look up the concentration comparison table according to the converted accumulation result to look up the corresponding concentration value.
Wu teaches the device includes a processor connected to a sensor interface ([0056]); and the processor implements the analyte analysis and data treatment using computer readable software code, which measures output signal that is correlated with an analyte concentration using one or more correlation equations ([0060]). Wu teaches correlation equations relating analyte concentrations and output signals may be represented by a table that is stored on the storage medium ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of modified Lee to incorporate Wu’s teachings of a processor connected to the sensor interface to measure output signal to correlate with an analyte concentration using correlation equations ([0056],[0060]) and correlation equations are represented by a table stored on a storage medium ([0061]) to provide: the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 13, wherein the processor further stores a concentration comparison table, and the processor is configured to look up the concentration comparison table according to the converted accumulation result to look up the corresponding concentration value. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated calculation of concentration of the biofluid using stored tables, therefore improving characterization and analysis of the biofluid and thus diagnosis and treatment for a patient as taught by Wu ([0002]).
Regarding claim 16, note that “a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme” and “to a target biomolecule in a sample” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“wherein a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme, wherein the aptamer is configured to bind to a target biomolecule in a sample or activate the detection enzyme”) worked upon by a structure (semiconductor sensing chip) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). Therefore, modified Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, note that “a reagent comprises an aptamer and a detection enzyme” and “to a target biomolecule in a sample” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“wherein the aptamer is a single-stranded deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), the detection enzyme is a Clustered Regularly Interspaced Short Palindromic Repeat (CRISPR) enzyme, and the target biomolecule is a target protein”) worked upon by a structure (semiconductor sensing chip) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). Therefore, modified Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 17.
Claims 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wu as applied to claims 11 and 16 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20210246436 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee fails to teach: wherein the metal carrier comprises an input electrode, and the semiconductor sensing chip comprising: an input circuit configured to generate an input signal which rises step by step and stimulate the biofluid under test according to the input signal.
Wu teaches in electrochemical biosensors, the analyte concentration is determined from an electrical signal generated by an oxidation/reduction or redox reaction of the analyte or a species responsive to the analyte when an input signal is applied to the sample; wherein the input signal may be applied as multiple pulses, sequences or cycles ([0005]). Wu teaches square-wave pulses were used as excitation pulses ([0043]). Wu teaches applying input signals through electrodes in the sample ([0009]). Wu teaches electrical output signal may be current generated by voltammetry or accumulated charge by coulometry ([0009]).
Liu teaches a CRISPR electrochemical biosensing system (E-CRISPR) for detection of analytes includes a disposable, micro-fabricated three-electrode sensor that includes a working electrode, a counter electrode, a reference electrode, and a nonspecific ssDNA reporter with an electrochemical tag for signal transduction tethered to a surface of the working electrode (abstract; Fig. 1). Liu teaches an accurate, rapid, and cost-effective sensing strategy for the quantification of disease biomarkers is vital for the development of early-diagnostic point-of-care systems, further leading to personalized medicine and benefiting overall human health ([0002]). Liu teaches on chip analysis includes square wave voltammetry ([0009],[0024],[0040]), i.e. input circuit configured to generate an input signal which rises step by step and stimulate the biofluid under test according to the input signal. Liu teaches with the addition of an aptamer based sensing cascade, the E-CRISPR can also be utilized for protein detection, providing a generalizable, robust and cost-effective detection system ([0021]). Liu teaches the system allows for high detection resolution ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor sensor chip of modified Lee to incorporate Wu’s teachings of determining analyte concentration by applying an input signal, such as square-wave pulses, to a sample through electrodes ([0005],[0009], [0043]) and measuring electrical output such as current generated by voltammetry or accumulated charge by coulometry ([0009]) and Liu’s teachings of a biosensor that includes square wave voltammetry for high detection resolution ([0009],[0021], [0024],[0040], [0048]) to provide: wherein the metal carrier comprises an input electrode, and the semiconductor sensing chip comprising: an input circuit configured to generate an input signal which rises step by step and stimulate the biofluid under test according to the input signal. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving determination of analyte concentration as taught by Wu and improving detection resolution of a biofluid and therefore improving early diagnosis of a sample as taught by Liu.
Regarding claim 18, Lee further teaches the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 16, wherein the sensing electrode of the metal carrier is provided with a detection DNA (Figs. 102 teaches probe DNA on the working electrodes).
Modified Lee fails to teach: the detection DNA pre-labeled with methylene blue (MB), the activated detection enzyme is configured to perform modification on the detection DNA.
Liu teaches a CRISPR electrochemical biosensing system (E-CRISPR) for detection of analytes includes a disposable, micro-fabricated three-electrode sensor that includes a working electrode, a counter electrode, a reference electrode, and a nonspecific ssDNA reporter with an electrochemical tag for signal transduction tethered to a surface of the working electrode (abstract; Fig. 1). Liu teaches an accurate, rapid, and cost-effective sensing strategy for the quantification of disease biomarkers is vital for the development of early-diagnostic point-of-care systems, further leading to personalized medicine and benefiting overall human health ([0002]). Liu teaches the system allows for high detection resolution ([0048]). Liu teaches the system (Fig. 1) includes a detection DNA pre-labeled with methylene blue (Fig. 1 and [0004] teaches a ssDNR reporter is designed with a methylene blue tag for signal transduction and a thiol moiety to tether on the sensor surface in order to acquire the signal electrically) and an activated detection enzyme is configured to perform modification on the detection DNA (Fig. 1 and [0004] teaches a Cas12a-crRNA duplex, i.e. activated detection enzyme, configured to cleave the MB-ssDNA reporter). Liu teaches the design of the MB-ssDNA reporter covered electrode is generally applicable for any CRISPR type III, V and VI systems as a simple and cost-effective signal transduction strategy ([0004]). Liu teaches the system can be used for protein and small molecule detection; wherein an aptamer can be widely applied as a recognition element due to its high-selectivity, low cost, and high-binding affinity ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor sensing chip of modified Lee to incorporate Liu’s teachings of a CRISPR electrochemical biosensing system including a detection DNA pre-labeled with methylene blue and an activated detection enzyme for sensing of analytes ([0004]-[0005]) to provide: the detection DNA pre-labeled with methylene blue (MB), the activated detection enzyme (i.e. CRISPR enzyme) is configured to perform modification on the detection DNA. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully providing an accurate, rapid, and cost-effective sensing strategy for the quantification of disease biomarkers for the development of early-diagnostic point-of-care systems, further leading to personalized medicine and benefiting overall human health as desired by Liu ([0002]). Additionally, doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving detection resolution and selectivity for protein and small molecule detection as taught by Liu ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lee fails to explicitly teach: the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 18, wherein the semiconductor sensing chip determines a concentration value of the target biomolecule in the sample by detecting a magnitude of a sensing current between the detection DNA and the sensing electrode.
Wu teaches in electrochemical biosensors, the analyte concentration is determined from an electrical signal generated by an oxidation/reduction or redox reaction of the analyte or a species responsive to the analyte when an input signal is applied to the sample; wherein the input signal may be applied as multiple pulses, sequences or cycles ([0005]). Wu teaches measuring electrical output such as current generated by voltammetry or accumulated charge by coulometry ([0009]); wherein, the measurement device may have the processing capability to measure and correlate the output signal with the presence and/or concentration of one or more analytes in the biological fluid ([0009]). Wu teaches measured currents are used to determine the concentration of the analyte in the sample ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor chip of modified Lee to incorporate Wu’s teachings of with electrodes to measure current or accumulated charge and correlating the output signal with concentration of analytes ([0009]) and measured currents used to determine concentration ([0021]) to provide: the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 18, wherein the semiconductor sensing chip determines a concentration value of the target biomolecule in the sample by detecting a magnitude of a sensing current between the detection DNA and the sensing electrode. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving characterization and analysis of the biofluid, therefore improving diagnosis and treatment for a patient as taught by Wu ([0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee further teaches the semiconductor sensing chip according to claim 19, wherein the higher the concentration value of the target biomolecule in the sample is, the greater the sensing current received by the semiconductor sensing chip through the sensing electrode is, the lower the concentration value of the target biomolecule in the sample is, the smaller the sensing current received by the semiconductor sensing chip is (interpreted as a functional limitation of the semiconductor sensing chip; page 347, section 3.2 teaches the charge in the working electrode increases as the DNA concentration increases; therefore, the chip is capable of functioning to detect greater sensing current with a higher concentration value of target biomolecule and a smaller sensing current with a lower concentration of the target biomolecule).
Note that “target biomolecule” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“target biomolecule”) worked upon by a structure (semiconductor sensing chip) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that the limitations of claim 20 are interpreted as functional limitations. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of modified Lee is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Lee discloses the claimed semiconductor sensing chip and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 20160305900 A1) a semiconductor sensing chip (abstract, Figs. 2-3, and [0027]-[0028] teaches a biosensor 2 including a transistor 21 and materials including silicon; therefore, the biosensor 2 is a semiconductor sensing chip), configured to sense a biofluid under test (abstract and [0026] teaches the biosensor is configured to contact a liquid sample for analyzing concentration of an analyte in the liquid sample). Wang teaches integration computational processing of response currents with an analyzer to obtain total charge accumulated at the biosensor, and the amount of total charges accumulated at the biosensor is correlated to the analyte concentration in the liquid sample ([0056]).
Yazawa et al. (US 20040121354 A1) teaches a system for detecting biological and chemical material (abstract). Yazawa teaches observing changes in signal with time with a signal accumulation time of one sec to obtain dependency of concentration ([0126]).
Rose et al. (US 20120283538 A1) teaches analyte sensors (abstract). Rose teaches the sensor can use an amperometric, coulometric, conductimetric, and/or potentiometric technique for measuring the analyte ([0038]). Rose teaches calculating the concentration of the analyte include evaluating the overall change in the signals from the analyte sensor during a predetermined period of time; wherein calculations include calculating the total charge transfer from signals ([0012]). Rose teaches operating conditions including square-wave waveform as an applied voltage ([0141]). Rose teaches metal electrodes ([0196]). Rose teaches analytes include ssDNA ([0064]).
Oldham et al. (US 20130034880 A1) teaches methods for improving accuracy and read length of sequencing reactions (abstract). Oldham teaches an integrator may be incorporated with the sensor in order to maximize the amount of time given to each sensor in order to reduce the read noise of each sensor ([0391]).
Utashima et al. (US 20180066302 A1) teaches glucose sensors (abstract). Utashima teaches an electrochemical sensor including electrodes and monitoring current; the current accumulated during a predetermined time period; and the glucose concentration of the sample can be calculated from the value on the basis of a calibration curve prepared from a glucose solution of standard concentration ([0049]).
Augustyniak et al. (Augustyniak et al., “A 24x16 CMOS-Based Chronocoulometric DNA Microarray”, 2006 IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference) teaches a semiconductor sensor chip (Fig. 2.1.1-2.1.2) including electrodes and integrators (Fig. 2.1.1-2.1.2). Augustyniak teaches chronocoulometric DNA detection assays (page 1, left column, paragraph starting with “Chronocoulometric…”). Augustyniak teaches use of short time slots for oxidation/reduction voltage step with a current integration window of 1 microsecond (page 1, left column, paragraph starting with “Fast Integration…”).
Gonzalez et al. (Gonzalez et al., “Square Wave Voltammetry and Voltcoulometry applied to electrocatalytic reactions. Oxidation of ferrocyanide at a ferrocene modified gold electrode”, ChemElectroChem 2019, 6, 2290) teaches analysis of effects of intermolecular interactions on square wave voltcoulommetric (SWVC) responses of electroactive monolayers (abstract). Gonzalez teaches the application of these methods to the analysis of the electrochemical behaviour of binary monolayers of ferrocenylundecanethiol/decanethiol at gold and platinum electrodes in two different non-aqueous solvents allows us to obtain reliable values of the above parameters that clearly improve those determined by using Cyclic Voltammetry (abstract). Gonzalez teaches staircase and square wave voltammetries and voltcoulommetries offer notable advantages, such as better resolution and higher sensitivities (page 2291, left column, second full paragraph). Gonzalez teaches application of square wave voltcoulommetry shows advantages and provides simple and physically sound methods for quantifying and eliminating non-faradaic contributions of the response (section 3. Conclusions).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758