DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement filed 02/24/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 15, and 16. Applicant has cancelled claims 2 and 4.
Applicant has added claim 17. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previously held 101 rejections. Additionally, Applicant’s newly added claim 17 does not contain a 101 issue. All claims, however, still remain rejected (see below provided updated rejections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeviantArt (DeviantArt. DeviantArt Digital Art Screenshot. April 23 2019. (Year: 2019)).
With respect to claim 15, DeviantArt teaches an information processing method comprising :acquiring a plurality of images to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (see DeviantArt screenshot images tagged to belong to a category); and performing control to display, in a screen, a slider bar for receiving an operation of selecting an image to be displayed on a display among the plurality of images on the display (see DeviantArt screenshot slider, allowing users to view and select images), wherein the screen includes a designation field for receiving a designation of the attribute information (see DeviantArt screenshot category pane), and an operable range of the slider bar is limited such that only an image to which the designated attribute information is assigned is set to be selectable (see Deviant Art screenshot slider bar on a page limited by category).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeviantArt (DeviantArt. DeviantArt Digital Art Screenshot. April 23 2019. (Year: 2019)) in view of Tsujimoto (WO-2013099125-A1).
With respect to claim 1, DeviantArt teaches acquiring a plurality of images to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (see DeviantArt screenshot images tagged to belong to a category); and performing control to display in a screen (see DeviantArt screenshot slider, used by users), on which are a plurality of images to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (see DeviantArt screenshot images tagged to belong to a category), a slider bar for receiving an operation of selecting an image to be displayed on a display among the plurality of images on the display (see DeviantArt screenshot slider, allowing users to view and select images), wherein the screen includes a designation field for receiving a designation of the attribute information (see DeviantArt screenshot category pane), and an operable range of the slider bar is limited such that only an image to which the designated attribute information is assigned is set to be selectable (see Deviant Art screenshot slider bar on a page limited by category), however does not explicitly teach an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to do the above process.
Tsujimoto teaches an information processing apparatus (“The image processing system according to this embodiment comprises an image server 1201, an image processing apparatus 102 and a display apparatus 103. The image processing apparatus 102 acquires diagnostic image data which was acquired by imaging a test object, and generates display data to be displayed on the display apparatus” paragraph 102) comprising at least one processor (“The image processing apparatus 102 is a standard computer or workstation comprising such hardware resources as a CPU (Central Processing Unit)…” pages 4 (bottom) - 5 (top) paragraph 0014), and additionally teaches wherein the processor is configured to: acquire a plurality of images assigned (“The image processing apparatus 102 acquires diagnostic image data which was acquired by imaging a test object” Paragraph 102) to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (“annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201” paragraph 0103 ); and perform control to display that utilizes attribute information so that only an image to which the designated attribute information is assigned is set to be selectable (see Fig 8 (annotation searching), Fig 13A (Search Result Display and Candidate Image Selection), Fig 13B (Displaying selected Image (s)), and Figure 14C for illustration of interface ).
Tsujimoto is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Tsujimoto is directed towards an interface that filters images based on a designated attribute (see Fig 8 (annotation searching), Fig 13A (Search Result Display and Candidate Image Selection), Fig 13B (Displaying selected Image (s)), and Figure 14C for illustration of interface ). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of DeviantArt with Tsujimoto by utilizing its teachings of a processor powered computer display in support of the interface of DeviantArt, essentially using some of DeviantArt’s interface elements in place of its own (Tsujimoto’s) interface, with the expectation that doing so would enable the combined systems graphics based presentation (see Tsujimoto 14C).
With respect to claim 3, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Tsujimoto further teaches wherein: the plurality of images are a group of images that are spatially (“An image for detailed observation is displayed in the observation image display area 1005. In concrete terms, a part or all of the areas of the diagnostic image is/are displayed as an image for detailed observation at a set display magnification. The display magnification of the image for detailed observation is displayed in the section 1006 of the observation image display area 1005. The area of the test object to be observed in detail can be set or updated by a user's instruction via the externally connected input device, such as a touch panel or mouse 411. This setting or update is also possible by moving and zooming in/moving out (changing display magnification) of the currently displayed image. Each of the above mentioned areas may be created by dividing the display area of the general window 1001 by a single document interface, or each of the areas may be created as mutually different window areas by a multi-document interface. Page 23 paragraph 0082) or temporally continuous (“The attribute information is, for example, attached date and time and the type and version of diagnostic support software.” Paragraph 0097 and “In Embodiment 2 however, annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201, and a target position is searched for in the diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201. Therefore a target position can be searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images. For example, a target position is searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images acquired from one patient. Thereby the progress of one patient can be observed and a state of a same lesion can be easily compared at various locations. Further, by searching a plurality of diagnostic images for a target position, annotations matching with similar cases and conditions can be easily recognized.” Paragraph 0103), and the processor is configured to cause only the image in a range determined based the designated attribute information among the plurality of images to be displayable (“A list 1017 of date and time information included in the stored annotation data may be displayed in another window or as a dialog, so that the user selects the date and time to be the search key out of this list. A plurality of dates and times may be used as a search key, or a certain period may be used as a search key.” Paragraph 0087).
With respect to claim 5, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. DeviantArt further teaches wherein: each of the plurality of images includes a region of interest (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories) and the attribute information indicates an attribute of the region of interest (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories). Tsujimoto additionally teaches wherein: each of the plurality of images includes a region of interest (“In Embodiment 2 however, annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201, and a target position is searched for in the diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201. Therefore a target position can be searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images. For example, a target position is searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images acquired from one patient. Thereby the progress of one patient can be observed and a state of a same lesion can be easily compared at various locations. Further, by searching a plurality of diagnostic images for a target position, annotations matching with similar cases and conditions can be easily recognized” paragraph 0103), and the attribute information indicates an attribute of the region of interest (“In Embodiment 2 however, annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201, and a target position is searched for in the diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201. Therefore a target position can be searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images. For example, a target position is searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images acquired from one patient. Thereby the progress of one patient can be observed and a state of a same lesion can be easily compared at various locations. Further, by searching a plurality of diagnostic images for a target position, annotations matching with similar cases and conditions can be easily recognized” paragraph 0103).
With respect to claim 6, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5. DeviantArt further teaches wherein the region of interest is a region of a structure included in the image (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories). Tsujimoto additionally teaches wherein the region of interest is a region of a structure included in the image (“In concrete terms, the attribute information includes date and time information, user information, diagnostic information, and diagnostic criterion information.” paragraph 0055 page 16 and “The diagnostic criterion information is information summarizing the diagnostic classifications for each organ” paragraph 0055 page 17).
With respect to claim 8, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 5. DeviantArt further teaches wherein the region of interest is a region that is included in the image (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories) and that is designated by a user (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories, user tagging for categorization). Tsujimoto additionally teaches wherein the region of interest is a region that is included in the image (“In Embodiment 2 however, annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201, and a target position is searched for in the diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201. Therefore a target position can be searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images. For example, a target position is searched for in a plurality of diagnostic images acquired from one patient. Thereby the progress of one patient can be observed and a state of a same lesion can be easily compared at various locations. Further, by searching a plurality of diagnostic images for a target position, annotations matching with similar cases and conditions can be easily recognized” paragraph 0103) and that is designated by a user (“The annotation data generating unit 305 acquires information on positional coordinates (coordinates of a position specified by the user (position where the annotation is attached) on the display screen (screen of the display apparatus 103) from the user input information acquiring unit 303. The annotation data generating unit 305 acquires display magnification information from the displaying apparatus information acquiring unit 304. Using this information, the annotation data generating unit 305 converts the positional coordinates on the display screen into positional coordinates on the diagnostic image.” Paragraph 28 (bottom)).
With respect to claim 9, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5. Tsujimoto further teaches wherein the attribute information indicates a type of the region of interest (“In concrete terms, the attribute information includes date and time information, user information, diagnostic information, and diagnostic criterion information.” Paragraph 0055 lines 9-10 page 16 And “The diagnostic criterion information is information summarizing the diagnostic classifications for each organ, according to the actual situation of each country and each region. The diagnostic classification indicates each stage of each organ. In the case of stomach cancer, for example, a diagnostic classification specified by cancer classification code alpha, which is a diagnostic criterion for a region, may be different from a diagnostic classification specified by a cancer classification code beta, which is a diagnostic criterion for another region. Therefore information on the diagnostic criterion and the diagnostic classification used by the user for diagnosing the diagnostic image is attached to the attribute information as diagnostic criterion information. The diagnostic criterion and diagnostic classification will be described later with reference to FIG. 15.” Page 17 paragraph 0055 (middle) and Fig. 15A).
With respect to claim 13, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Tsujimoto further teaches wherein the attribute information indicates a purpose for which the image is captured (“Attribute information is used for narrowing down annotations the observer (e.g. doctor, technician) should have an interest in (pay attention to), out of the many annotations attached to the diagnostic image, as mentioned later. Therefore any kind of information can be used as attribute information if the information is useful to narrow down (search) annotations. For example, information on a time when an annotation is attached or on an individual user who is attached as an annotation (an annotation is attached automatically by a computer or manually by an individual), and information on purpose, intention and viewpoint of attaching an annotation, can be used as attribute information.” Paragraph 0028 (top)).
With respect to claim 14, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. DeviantArt further teaches wherein the attribute information is input by a user (see DeviantArt screenshot and Fractal and Text and Pixel art categories, user tagging for categorization) .Tsujimoto additionally teaches wherein the attribute information is input by a user (“The annotation data generating unit 305 acquires information on positional coordinates (coordinates of a position specified by the user (position where the annotation is attached) on the display screen (screen of the display apparatus 103) from the user input information acquiring unit 303. The annotation data generating unit 305 acquires display magnification information from the displaying apparatus information acquiring unit 304. Using this information, the annotation data generating unit 305 converts the positional coordinates on the display screen into positional coordinates on the diagnostic image. Then the annotation data generating unit 305 generates annotation data, including text information inputted as an annotation (text data), the information on positional coordinates on the diagnostic image, the display magnification information, and the attribute information.” Paragraph 0028 (bottom)).
With respect to claim 16, DeviantArt teaches the process comprising: acquiring a plurality of images to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (see DeviantArt screenshot images tagged to belong to a category); and performing control to display (see DeviantArt screenshot slider, used by users), in a screen, a slider bar for receiving an operation of selecting an image to be displayed on a display among the plurality of images on the display (see DeviantArt screenshot slider, allowing users to view and select images), wherein the screen includes a designation field for receiving a designation of the attribute information (see DeviantArt screenshot category pane), and an operable range of the slider bar is limited such that only an image to which the designated attribute information is assigned is set to be selectable (see Deviant Art screenshot slider bar on a page limited by category), however DeviantArt does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an information processing program causing a computer to execute a process.
Tsujimoto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an information processing program causing a computer to execute a process (“The object of the present invention may be achieved by the following. That is, a recording medium (or storage medium) recording the software-based recording program codes, which implement all or a part of the functions of the above mentioned embodiments, is supplied to a system or an apparatus. Then a computer (or CPU or MPU) of the system or an apparatus reads and executes the program codes stored in the recording medium. In this case, the program codes read from the recording medium implement the functions of the above mentioned embodiments, and the recording medium recording the program codes constitutes the present invention.” Page 34 (bottom)-35 (top) paragraph 0115 ), Tsujimoto additionally teaches the process comprising: acquiring a plurality of images to which mutually independent attribute information is assigned (“In Embodiment 2 however, annotations are attached to diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201, and a target position is searched for in the diagnostic images stored in the image server 1201.” Paragraph 0103 (bottom)); and limiting the images, among the plurality of images, to images that are displayable on a display based on the attribute information (see Fig 8 (annotation searching), Fig 13A (Search Result Display and Candidate Image Selection), Fig 13B (Displaying selected Image (s)), and Figure 14C for illustration of interface ).
Tsujimoto is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Tsujimoto is directed towards an interface that filters images based on a designated attribute (see Fig 8 (annotation searching), Fig 13A (Search Result Display and Candidate Image Selection), Fig 13B (Displaying selected Image (s)), and Figure 14C for illustration of interface ). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of DeviantArt with Tsujimoto by utilizing its teachings of a processor powered computer display in support of the interface of DeviantArt, essentially using some of DeviantArt’s interface elements in place of its own (Tsujimoto’s) interface, with the expectation that doing so would enable the combined systems graphics based presentation (see Tsujimoto 14C).
Claims 7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeviantArt and Tsujimoto as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Noguchi (US 20200170624 A1).
With respect to claim 7, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, but does not teach the further limitations. Noguchi teaches wherein the region of interest is a region of an abnormal shadow included in the image (“The lesion detector 122 may also set a threshold value 411 for the smoothed distribution 401, detect a shadow region 430 caused by a nipple or a lesion, and a shadow region 431 caused by the probe 104 not in contact with the breast, and excludes the regions 430 and 431 from the filter map 420-2. The threshold value may be set in advance, or the average value of the smoothed distribution 401 may be used for the threshold value.” Paragraph 0055 ).
Noguchi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Noguchi is directed towards “an image diagnostic apparatus and an image diagnostic method in the medical field.” (paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of the combined system of DeviantArt and Tsujimoto, with Noguchi by utilizing Noguchi’s teachings of detecting regions of interest (lesions) as a part of Tsujimoto’s annotation generation system with the expectation that doing so would lead to the expansion of the Tsujimoto’s ability to collect and review diagnostic information (“The present invention is aiming at providing an apparatus and a method that can detect a lesion automatically with a high degree of accuracy in diagnosis using ultrasound images.” Paragraph 0008) and further contribute to categorizing art approach of DeviantArt.
With respect to claim 10, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, but do not teach any further limitations. Noguchi teaches wherein the attribute information indicates a feature amount of the region of interest (“The lesion detector 122 calculates an average value of feature amounts of a plurality of pixels included in the analysis layer for each analysis layer.” Paragraph 0049 and “Examples of the feature amount of the tomographic image include brightness, dispersion, texture, and co-occurrence feature.” Paragraph 0050).
Noguchi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Noguchi is directed towards “an image diagnostic apparatus and an image diagnostic method in the medical field.” (paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of the combined system of DeviantArt and Tsujimoto, with Noguchi by utilizing Noguchi’s teachings of detecting regions of interest (lesions) as a part of Tsujimoto’s annotation generation system with the expectation that doing so would lead to the expansion of the Tsujimoto’s ability to collect and review diagnostic information (“The present invention is aiming at providing an apparatus and a method that can detect a lesion automatically with a high degree of accuracy in diagnosis using ultrasound images.” Paragraph 0008) and further contribute to categorizing art approach of DeviantArt.
With respect to claim 11, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, but do not teach any further limitations. Noguchi teaches wherein the processor (see figure 1 120) is configured to: extract the region of interest with respect to each of the plurality of images (“The lesion detector 122 calculates an average value of feature amounts of a plurality of pixels included in the analysis layer for each analysis layer.” Paragraph 0049 and “Examples of the feature amount of the tomographic image include brightness, dispersion, texture, and co-occurrence feature.” Paragraph 0050), and generate the attribute information based on a feature amount of the extracted region of interest (“The lesion detector 122 calculates an average value of feature amounts of a plurality of pixels included in the analysis layer for each analysis layer.” Paragraph 0049 and “Examples of the feature amount of the tomographic image include brightness, dispersion, texture, and co-occurrence feature.” Paragraph 0050; brightness, dispersion, and texture as attribute information).
Noguchi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Noguchi is directed towards “an image diagnostic apparatus and an image diagnostic method in the medical field.” (paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of the combined system of DeviantArt and Tsujimoto, with Noguchi by utilizing Noguchi’s teachings of detecting regions of interest (lesions) as a part of Tsujimoto’s annotation generation system with the expectation that doing so would lead to the expansion of the Tsujimoto’s ability to collect and review diagnostic information (“The present invention is aiming at providing an apparatus and a method that can detect a lesion automatically with a high degree of accuracy in diagnosis using ultrasound images.” Paragraph 0008) and further contribute to categorizing art approach of DeviantArt.
With respect to claim 12, DeviantArt, Tsujimoto and Noguchi teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, Tsujimoto further teaches wherein the processor is configured to assign information that indicates an extraction method used for extracting the region of interest to an image from which the region of interest is extracted, as the attribute information (“The user attribute is information to indicate a purpose (view point, role) or a method when each user attached an annotation, and possible examples of the user attribute are "pathologist", "technician", "clinician" and "automatic diagnosis". If the user attribute is associated with the annotation as one of the above mentioned user information such that the search can be performed by the user attribute, then understanding the nature of each annotation information and the selection of information become easier, and a pathological diagnostic operation can be smoother in each step of the pathological diagnosis work flow” page 16 paragraph 0044 (bottom)).
Noguchi teaches wherein the processor (see Figure 1 element 120) is configured to: extract the region of interest with respect to each of the plurality of images (“The lesion detector 122 calculates an average value of feature amounts of a plurality of pixels included in the analysis layer for each analysis layer.” Paragraph 0049 and “Examples of the feature amount of the tomographic image include brightness, dispersion, texture, and co-occurrence feature.” Paragraph 0050)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeviantArt and Tsujimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolf (US 10729502 B1).
With respect to claim 17, DeviantArt and Tsujimoto teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but do not explicitly teach the additional claim limitations. Wolf teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform control to display markers having different forms according to the attribute information at corresponding positions of the slider bar (see figure 4).
Wolf is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wolf is directed towards outputting images to a display for review (“Consistent with disclosed embodiments, systems, methods, and computer readable media related to reviewing surgical video are disclosed. The embodiments may include accessing at least one video of a surgical procedure and causing the at least one video to be output for display. The embodiments may further include overlaying, on the at least one video outputted for display, a surgical timeline.” See page 43 col 1 lines 54-67). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of DeviantArt and Tsujimoto by incorporating its graphical time based bar into the date limited presentation of DeviantArt’s interface, with the expectation that doing so would enable users to skip directly to a specific image, time, or category , making easier and more time efficient to browse images (“The surgical timeline may enable a surgeon, while viewing playback of the at least one video to select one or more markers on the surgical timeline, and thereby cause a display of the video to skip to a location associated with the selected marker.” Page 43 col 1 lines 63-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s arguments on pages 7-10, regarding the previously made 101 rejections the examiner agrees that the amendments made to the claims have overcome them.
With respect to pages 11-15 of applicant’s remarks, the applicant makes arguments regarding the prior art sources used to make the previously made 102 and 103 rejections. The applicant argues three main points. First the applicant argues that Tsujimoto’s search result list’s tabular interface does not disclose or suggest the claimed slider mechanism now present in amended claim 1, and substantially similar claims 15 and 16. The examiner agrees that, alone, Tsujimoto does not disclose all of the elements in newly amended claim 1 and substantially similar claims 15 and 16. Secondly, the applicant argues that Sakane’s slider mechanism is distinct over the slider mechanism now present in amended claim 1, and substantially similar claims 15 and 16. The examiner again agrees that, alone, Sakane is unable to teach all claim limitations in newly amended claim 1 and substantially similar claims 15 and 16. Thirdly, the applicant argues that a combination of Tsujimoto and Sakane fails to teach the specific GUI control mechanism of the invention, present in claim 1, and substantially similar claims 15 and 16; namely a screen that includes a field allowing for the designation of attribute information and a slider bar that is limited by such designated information, such that only images that meet that criteria are selectable. The examiner agrees that this collection of sources alone does not teach claim 1 and substantially similar claims 15 and 16, fully, in consideration of the newly required interface elements.
The applicant additionally concludes, on pages 11 and 15, based on the above arguments that amended claim 1 as well as its dependent claims and substantially similar claims 15 and 16 are rendered allowable. The examiner disagrees, because of the provided updated rejection (see above).
In respect to newly added claim 17, discussed on pages 15-16, the applicant argues that the claim is allowable over prior art. The examiner disagrees and finds that at least Wolf (US 10729502 B1) teaches its limitations (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA COLETTE WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677