DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has 152 words, more than the required 50 to 150 words. Also, the first sentence lacks a proper article for “method and device” at the beginning of the sentence. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0028] of the Specification recites “first control valve” when it means “second control valve” and recites “third powder carrier tank” when it means “second powder carrier tank”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “coking wastewater” and “denitrification and anammox” on line 1 and recites “the coking wastewater” and “the denitrification and anammox” on line 2 as it relates to Claim 1. However, it is not clear from the first recitation on line 1 that it is the same “coking wastewater” and “denitrification and anammox” on line 2 for Claim 1, or not. Examiner interprets them to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., (“Zhao”, WO2022062615A, 44 total pages, published 2022), in view of Cao et al., CN105906057, (“Cao”, “Machine Translation of CN105906057A”, 53 total pages, published 2016), in further view of Zhang et al., CN113666507A, (“Zhang”, “Machine Translation of CN113666507A”, 36 total pages, published 2021), in further view of Vriens et al., (“Vriens”, US 2003/0038080), in further view of Bentley et al., (“Bentley”, US 2006/0292684).
Regarding Claims 1 & 4, Zhao discloses a device for treating wastewater through denitrification and anammox, (See paragraph [0009]), comprising an anaerobic reactor, (Anaerobic Zone 3, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]), an anoxic reactor, (First Anoxic Zone 4, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]), a sedimentation tank, (Sedimentation Tank 10, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]), an aerobic reactor, (First Aerobic Zone 5, Second Aerobic Zone 7, or Third Aerobic Zone 9, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]), a wastewater tank communicated with the anaerobic reactor through an influent pump, (Raw Water Tank 1 and Inlet Pump 2 feed to Anaerobic Zone 3, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]), and an aeration pump communicated with the aerobic reactor, (Air Compressor 19, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]); wherein the anaerobic reactor, the anoxic reactor, the sedimentation tank, and the aerobic reactor are sequentially communicated, (Anaerobic Zone 3 to Anoxic Zone 4 to Aerobic Zone 5, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]); the sedimentation tank comprises a bottom provided with a sludge outlet, (outlet of Sedimentation Tank 10 leading to Sludge Pipe 29, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009] & [0011]), and an internal space provided with an overflow weir, (outlet pipe 17 at top edge of Sedimentation Tank 10, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009] & [0011]); the sludge outlet is communicated with the anaerobic reactor through a sludge reflux pump, (Sludge Pipe 29 to Sludge Return Pump 24 and Sludge Pipe 20 to Anaerobic Zone 3, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009] & [0011]).
Zhao does not disclose treating coking wastewater, the coking wastewater tank is connected to a S2O32- tank above through a second pipe, the reactors communicating through first pipes, a first powder carrier tank above through a third pipe, the aerobic reactor is connected to a second powder carrier tank, an inorganic carbon source tank, and an effluent pump above through fourth pipes, the anaerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a first drainage valve and a bottom provided with a first sludge valve the anoxic reactor comprises a side provided with a second drainage valve and a bottom provided with a second sludge valve and the aerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a third drainage valve and a bottom provided with a third sludge valve; and the aerobic reactor is communicated with the anoxic reactor through a nitrification solution reflux pump.
Cao discloses treating coking wastewater, (See paragraph [0004], Cao), a second powder carrier tank connected to the anoxic reactor through a third pipe and to the aerobic reactor, (Dosing Tank 7 connected to Antinitrification Tank 2 and Aerobic Tank 4 or 5, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0053], [0030], Cao), and the reactors communicating through first pipes, (Each Reactor 1 through 5 communicating through ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Zhao by incorporating treating coking wastewater, a powder carrier tank connected to the anoxic reactor and to the aerobic reactor and the reactors communicating through first pipes as in Cao because “ammonia nitrogen wastewater mainly originates from the production of…coking”, (See paragraph [0004], Cao), and must “add nutrients”, (See paragraph [0049], Cao), to provide “microbial metabolism”, (See paragraph [0053], Cao), and to control the primary aerobic nitrification process”, (See paragraph [0053], Cao).
Modified Zhao does not disclose the first powder carrier tank above, an inorganic carbon source tank, the coking wastewater tank is connected to a S2O32- tank above through a second pipe, and an effluent pump above through fourth pipes, the anaerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a first drainage valve and a bottom provided with a first sludge valve the anoxic reactor comprises a side provided with a second drainage valve and a bottom provided with a second sludge valve and the aerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a third drainage valve and a bottom provided with a third sludge valve; and the aerobic reactor is communicated with the anoxic reactor through a nitrification solution reflux pump.
Zhang discloses the first powder carrier tank above, an inorganic carbon source tank, (See addition of powder from above and recirculation of powder again into the system, See Figure 1, See paragraph [n0004], [n0019], Zhang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of modified Zhao by incorporating the first powder carrier tank above, and an inorganic carbon source tank in order to “enrich functional microorganisms and recycle the carriers, in order to improve the denitrification efficiency of industrial wastewater and reduce the economic cost of adding carbon sources”, (See paragraph [n0004], Zhang).
Vriens discloses the anaerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a first drainage valve, (Closing Valve 16 for each connection from Compartment A to B which travels laterally, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0203]), and a bottom provided with a first sludge valve, (Valve 31 on sludge line 30 for each compartment A-C, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0130]), the anoxic reactor comprises a side provided with a second drainage valve, (Closing Valve 16 for each connection from Compartment B to C which travels laterally, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0203]), and a bottom provided with a second sludge valve, (Valve 31 on sludge line 30 for each compartment A-C, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0130]), and the aerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a third drainage valve, (Closing Valve 16 for each connection from Compartment B to C which travels laterally, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0203]), and a bottom provided with a third sludge valve, (Valve 31 on sludge line 30 for each compartment A-C, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of modified Zhao by incorporating the anaerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a first drainage valve and a bottom provided with a first sludge valve, the anoxic reactor comprises a side provided with a second drainage valve and a bottom provided with a second sludge valve and the aerobic reactor comprises a side provided with a third drainage valve and a bottom provided with a third sludge valve as in Vriens in order to introduce an “symmetric functional cycle [that] allows for symmetric (equal) influent distribution and therefore symmetric sludge…distribution” and “every tank can be separated from the other tanks by closing valves in interconnecting piping or channels, when maintenance is necessary”, (See paragraph [0079], Vriens).
Modified Zhao does not disclose the coking wastewater tank is connected to a S2O32- tank above through a second pipe, an effluent pump above through fourth pipes and the aerobic reactor is communicated with the anoxic reactor through a nitrification solution reflux pump.
Bentley discloses the wastewater tank is connected to a S2O32- tank above through a second pipe, (One of Bioreactors in Figure 10, See paragraphs [0044] & [0049]), an effluent pump above through fourth pipes, (Recirculation Pump 22, See Figure 10), and the aerobic reactor is communicated with the anoxic reactor through a nitrification solution reflux pump, (Backwash Pump 18 connected to both Bioreactors, See Figure 10, See paragraph [0063], Bentley).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of modified Zhao by incorporating the coking wastewater tank is connected to a S2O32- tank above through a second pipe as in Bentley because adding “thiosulfate increased the denitrification rates in [a] bioreactor”, (See paragraph [0049], Bentley).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: The device for treating the coking wastewater through the denitrification and anammox according to claim 1, wherein a fifth pipe connecting the aeration pump and the aerobic reactor is provided with a rotameter and connected to an aeration bar, (Rotameter 23 and Aeration Pipeline 21, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]); and the aeration bar is located at an inner bottom of the aerobic reactor, (Aeration Pipes 21 at bottom of reactor, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: after conducting extensive searching and consideration of the prior art in the relevant fields of endeavor, the Examiner has concluded that the subject matter of Claims 2, 3, or 5-15 would be allowable over the closest prior art found such as Zhao et al., (“Zhao”, WO2022062615A, published 2022), Cao et al., CN105906057, (“Cao”, “Machine Translation of CN105906057A”, published 2016), Zhang et al., CN113666507A, (“Zhang”, “Machine Translation of CN113666507A”, published 2021), Vriens et al., (“Vriens”, US 2003/0038080), or Bentley et al., (“Bentley”, US 2006/0292684), since the references alone, or together, do not disclose or suggest each and every claimed feature of these claims.
Claims 2, 3, or 5-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779