DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to preliminary amendments filed on 6/3/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/076887 filed 2/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/3/2024 and 3/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0338291 A1) in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0100325 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Hong teaches:
A wireless communication method comprising:
determining, by a relay wireless communication node, whether to change a communication mode with remote wireless communication terminals in response to that a number of the remote wireless communication terminals receiving a same broadcast or multicast traffic from a network is increased; (a base station may dynamically switch a transmission method to a UE according to a related condition change such as the number of UEs interested in or receiving the corresponding service in the corresponding cell being determined as large [Hong: 0149; 0153], wherein the base station may be a relay node [Hong: 0035]);
and transmitting, by the relay wireless communication node to the remote wireless communication terminals, an indication that communications between the relay wireless communication terminal and the remote wireless communication terminals for transferring the broadcast or multicast traffic to the remote wireless communication terminals is changed from unicast communications to a broadcast or multicast communication in response to the relay wireless communication terminal determining to change the communication mode; (the base station may determine whether it is necessary to change the transmission type, and in response may transmit switching instruction information to the UE to change from the unicast transmission scheme to the multicast transmission scheme [Hong: 0149; 0156-57]).
However, Hong does not explicitly teach that the relay wireless communication node is a relay wireless communication terminal.
In a similar field of endeavor involving utilizing a relay device to provide unicast and multicast communications to user equipment devices, Chang discloses:
determining, by a relay wireless communication terminal, whether to change a communication mode with remote wireless communication terminals; (the relay user equipment (UE) device 106 determines whether one or more Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) services that are of interest to the remote UE device 110 should be provided to the remote UE device 110 via broadcast/multicast delivery (SC-PTM) or Unicast delivery [Chang: 0056; 0065; 0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong in view of Chang in order to utilize a relay user equipment (UE) device in the system of Hong.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hong with Chang as doing so would extend network coverage in ad hoc situations without the need for specialized relay equipment by using existing UE/terminal devices.
With regard to Claim 3, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal determines a source address identification and a destination address identification for the broadcast according to broadcast service information; (the base station may receive a session start request message for a specific multicast/broadcast service (MBS) session that may include one or more of identification information such as one or more pieces of information of multicast IP address (destination IP), MBMS GW internet protocol (IP) address (source IP) or user plane function (UPF) endpoint information (IP address, general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol tunnel endpoint ID (GTP-TEID)) for the MBMS service session [Hong: 0199]).
With regard to Claim 4, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal determines a source address identification and a destination address identification for the multicast communication according to group information of a multicast service; (the base station may receive a session start request message for a specific multicast/broadcast service (MBS) session that may include one or more of identification information such as one or more pieces of information of multicast IP address (destination IP), MBMS GW internet protocol (IP) address (source IP) or user plane function (UPF) endpoint information (IP address, general packet radio service (GPRS) tunneling protocol tunnel endpoint ID (GTP-TEID)) for the MBMS service session [Hong: 0199]).
With regard to Claim 5, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal transfers the broadcast or multicast traffic to the remote wireless communication terminals according to a source address identification and a destination address identification for a broadcast or multicast service corresponding to the broadcast or multicast traffic; (the base station may transmit data for the corresponding service session by selecting the unicast transmission or multicast (broadcast) transmission in the associated cell of the corresponding base station [Hong: 0199-200]).
With regard to Claim 6, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal establishes a unicast communication with one of the remote wireless communication terminals; (the UE may transmit information on a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) of interest to the base station which the base station may use to determine a transmission type of either unicast transmission or multicast/broadcast transmission [Hong: 0176-78]. Chang teaches the remote UE device 110 transmits this MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device 106, and the relay UE device 106 transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device 110 with either broadcast or unicast delivery based on the delivery preference requested by the remote UE device 110 [Chang: 0045; 0048]).
With regard to Claim 7, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 6, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal receives a request for a broadcast or multicast service from one of the remote wireless communication terminals; (the UE may transmit information on a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) of interest to the base station which the base station may use to determine a transmission type of either unicast transmission or multicast/broadcast transmission [Hong: 0176-78]. Chang teaches the remote UE device 110 transmits this MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device 106, and the relay UE device 106 transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device 110 with either broadcast or unicast delivery based on the delivery preference requested by the remote UE device 110 [Chang: 0045; 0048]).
With regard to Claim 8, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 7, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal requests a broadcast or multicast service from the network in response to a serving cell of the relay wireless communication terminal advertising the broadcast or multicast service; (the relay UE device 106 transmits an MBMS Interest Indication message to the base station 102 and obtains the SC-PTM (i.e. broadcast/multicast) control information [Chang: 0055; 0062]).
With regard to Claim 9, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 8, wherein the relay wireless communication terminal transfers the broadcast or multicast traffic for the broadcast or multicast service from the network to the one of the remote wireless communication terminals via the unicast communication between the one of the remote wireless communication terminals and the relay wireless communication terminal; (relay UE device 106 receives the MBMS service of interest from base station 102 and transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device 110 with either broadcast delivery or unicast delivery [Chang: 0059; 0066]).
With regard to Claims 10, 12-18, & 20, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1 & 3-9 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 10, 12-18, & 20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1 & 3-9.
Claims 2, 11, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2022/0338291 A1) in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0100325 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 10, & 18 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0015618 A1).
With regard to Claim 2, Hong-Chang teaches:
The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the remote wireless communication terminals release the unicast communications between the relay wireless communication terminal and the remote wireless communication terminal; (once the UE receives data through the switched MBS Radio Bearer (MRB), the UE may release the unicast radio bearer (DRB) for the corresponding service [Hong: 0226-28]).
However, Hong-Chang does not explicitly teach that the relay terminal sends a disconnect request to the remote terminal. In other words, Hong-Chang does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
the relay wireless communication terminal transmits a disconnect request to the remote wireless communication terminals to release the unicast communications between the relay wireless communication terminal and the remote wireless communication terminal.
In a similar field of endeavor involving switching a terminal device from a unicast delivery mode to a multicast delivery mode, Chen discloses:
the relay wireless communication terminal transmits a disconnect request to the remote wireless communication terminals to release the unicast communications between the relay wireless communication terminal and the remote wireless communication terminal; (the network device transmits a second message (i.e. an RRC release message) to the first terminal to indicate switching information for the first terminal to switch from a unicast mode to a multicast mode, wherein after successfully receiving services in the multicast mode the first terminal may then receive, from the network device, a further radio resource control reconfiguration message to remove unicast configuration information about services served in the unicast mode [Chen: 0123-125; Figs. 6-7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong-Chang in view of Chen in order to provide a network device sending a disconnect request to the remote terminal in the system of Hong-Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hong-Chang with Chen as doing so would allow the network relay device to recover resources by determining when to release redundant connections.
With regard to Claims 11 & 19, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 2 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claims 11 & 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al. (US 2013/0294321 A1) which teaches techniques for smooth transition between broadcast/multicast transmission and unicast transmission based on whether an aggregate demand for a content provided via dedicated unicast transmissions exceeds a threshold.
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446