DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 3, the claim appears to recite method limitations, i.e. a pressing step and a transporting step, however the claim is directed to an apparatus, therefore it is unclear how the method limitations further define the structure of the apparatus. It is noted that the limitations are being treated as an intended use/function of the press for examination purposes.
With regards to claim 6, the claim appears to be further defining an element that is not positively recited, specifically the claim is further defining the component that is formed by the press however the component is not a structural element of the press therefore it does not hold any patentable weight to the apparatus claim. For examination purposes the limitation is being treated as an intended use of the press.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuo et al (JP2003200296; cited by Applicant) in view of Fowler et al (US 2,976,753).
In reference to claim 1, Yasuo discloses a progressive press metal mold comprising
a lower mold (11) including a die having a plurality of die holes (21-25) corresponding to shapes formed by pressing [see paragraph 0022],
an upper mold (12) including punches corresponding to the respective die holes (21-25), the upper mold capable of approaching and moving away from the lower mold, the punches and the corresponding die holes forming a plurality of processing stages (S1-S5) where a belt-shaped metal material is transported sequentially to perform predetermined pressing on the belt-shaped metal material with the punches and die holes in the respective processing stages [see paragraph 0022; figures 1-3].
Yasuo further discloses a plurality of lifter components (311 to 357) disposed on the lower mold and surrounding each die hole to lift the metal material a predetermined distance from the die wherein the lifters at the final stage (S5) is designed to lift the material higher than the previous stages (S1-S4) to prevent bending of the metal material or the metal material getting caught in the die hole [see paragraphs 0006 & 0029].
Yasuo discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a magnetic element is disposed in a specific processing stage to attract the metal material to be transported.
However, Fowler et al teaches of a press mold having a magnetic element (42) disposed in an upper mold (26) to attract the metal material to the upper mold when lifted from a lower mold (22) upon completion of a pressing operation [see figure 2, col. 2 lines 19-35].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the lifters of the final stage (S5) of Yasuo with the magnetic lifter element, as taught by Fowler et al, since such a substitution would allow for the clearance of the metal material and prevent bending and catching within the die hole.
In reference to claim 2, Fowler et al further teaches the magnetic element is formed by an electromagnet that generates magnetic force, when energized, and attracts, by the magnetic force, the blet shaped metal material by being energized at a predetermined timing [see col. 2 lines 53-57].
In reference to claim 3, as best understood, the combination of Yasuo and Fowler et al further discloses the upper mold is capable of approaching the lower mold, to press the belt shaped metal material with the punches and the die holes in the processing stages, and the upper mold is capable of moving away from the lower mold to transport the belt shaped metal material sequentially to the subsequent processing stages are performed repeatedly [see Yasuo paragraph 0022], and the magnetic element attracts the belt shaped metal material to be transported in the specific process stage by being energized only during the transporting [see Fowler et al col. 2 lines 19-35].
In reference to claim 4, the specific processing stage is capable of having a plurality of sheet materials punched from the belt shaped metal material be stacked to form an integrated multilayer component, and a processing stage before the specific processing stage is capable of having an adhesive applied to parts where the sheet materials are to be stacked in the specific processing stage. It is noted that these limitations are being treated as an intended use/function since they do not further provide any structural components but rather appear to recite method step and the claim is directed to an apparatus.
In reference to claim 5, Yasuo further discloses a lifter component (311-346), that holds up the belt shaped metal material at a predetermined distance from a surface of the die in the process of transporting the belt shaped metal material sequentially to the plurality of processing stages, is disposed on the lower mold [see paragraph 0024-0029].
The combination of Yasuo and Fowler et al further discloses the lifter component (311-346) is not disposed in the specific processing stage.
In reference to claim 6, the progressive press metal mold is capable of forming a rotor or stator of a motor [see paragraph 0046].
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725