DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “means disposed on the body for mounting” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Based on the specification ( see paragraph 0031), the examiner is interpreting the means for mounting to be projection, clip, clamp, fastener, pin, plug, weld, adhesive, bolt, screw, surface (e.g., dovetail), rail, slide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,6,8-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dilts 20170099778.
Examiner Annotated Figure 9
Referring to claim 1, Dilts discloses a knife holder for a knife bank of an agricultural vehicle, said knife holder comprising: a deformable body (160) having opposing legs ( see Examiner annotated Figure 9 at A and B) separated by a passageway, wherein the passageway ( passageway between elements A and B) is shaped and sized for receiving a shaft to which the knife holder is mounted (see paragraph 0045); means disposed on the body for mounting the body to a knife element (172); and an opening (176) for receiving a fastener for mounting the body to the shaft such that fastening the body to the shaft causes the legs to deflect and compressively contact the shaft and thereby either prevent or limit inadvertent movement of the body relative to the shaft in a direction that is normal to a longitudinal axis of the shaft.
Referring to claim 2, Dilts discloses the passageway (space between legs and B) extends to an open side of the body.
Referring to claim 6, Dilts discloses the means for mounting ( projection 172) the body to a knife element comprises a projection that is positionable within an opening formed in the knife element.
Referring to claim 8, Dilts discloses the body (160) is unitary and monolithic.
Referring to claim 9, Dilts discloses (see fig. 7) the knife bank comprising the knife element ( 76) mounted to one side of the body by said means for mounting the body to the knife element, as well as another knife element (77) mounted to an opposing side of the body.
Referring to claim 10, Dilts discloses each knife element (76,77) has multiple sides and sharpened edges on each side (see paragraph 0051).
Referring to claim 11, Dilts discloses a counterknife assembly (see fig. 6) comprising the knife bank of claim 9 and said shaft ( 72).
Referring to claim 14, Dilts discoes wherein the knife bank includes another knife holder that is mounted to said another knife element, wherein each knife holder includes a radiused top surface defined by an axis that is substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the shaft (see figs.2 and 6, several knife holders on shaft 72) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dilts 20170099778 in view of Farley et al. 7510472.
Referring to claim 12-13, Dilts does not disclose the shaft has hexagonal and the passageway of the knife holder is sized to non-rotatably receive the hexagonal shaft such that the shaft is prevented from rotating relative to the knife holder. Farley teaches that it well known for shafts to be hexagonal and holders having a similar cross sections make making the knives easier (see col. 15, lines 5-11). Therefore, it be would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date. to modify the harvester disclosed by Dilts to have the shaft be hexagonal and the passageway of the knife holder is sized to non-rotatably receive the hexagonal shaft such that the shaft is prevented from rotating relative to the knife holder in view of the teachings of Farley because it well known for shafts to be hexagonal and holders having a similar cross sections make making the knives easier.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dilts 20170099778 in view of Isaac et al. 20140179383.
Referring to claims 15 -16, Dilts discloses a combine harvester having a threshing section ( paragraph 0038) and a counter knife assembly (see figs. 2 and 6) but does not discloses a rotary chopper element positioned adjacent the counterknife assembly and the chopper assembly is positioned downstream of the threshing section. Isaacs teaches it is well known in the art to place a rotary chopper element positioned adjacent the counterknife assembly and the chopper assembly is positioned downstream of the threshing section to transport material away from the threshing system and to treat the material (see paragraph 0002). Therefore, it be would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date. to modify the harvester disclosed by Dilts to have a rotary chopper element positioned adjacent the counterknife assembly and the chopper assembly is positioned downstream of the threshing section in view of the teachings of Isaacs with a reasonable expectation of success because it is well known in the art to place a rotary chopper element positioned adjacent the counterknife assembly and the chopper assembly is positioned downstream of the threshing section to transport material away from the threshing system and to treat the material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Referring to claim 3, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the closest prior art to Dilts to have the passageway extends to a second opening formed in the body through which a fastener is received for mounting together components of the knife bank in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Referring to claim 7, the closes prior art to Dilts does not teach or suggest the body is configured to be elastically deformed.
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672