Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0080729.
Yao teaches:
7. (Original) A method for uplink data compression (UDC) based communication in a wireless communication system (UDC applied to a NR system, [0059]), the method comprising:
receiving, at a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of a network, uncompressed data packets and compressed data packets from a user equipment (UE) (compressed and uncompressed data packets are received at the PDCP layer of the network device, [0208]);
discerning, at the PDCP layer of the network during a handover event or a re- establishment event for a UDC bearer, out-of-order compressed data packets and the uncompressed data packets among the received uncompressed data packets and compressed data packets (out of order compressed and uncompressed data packets are identified, [0208]);
storing the uncompressed data packets and discarding the out-of-order compressed data packets (out-of-order uncompressed packets are processed normally, while out-of-order compressed packets are discarded, [0208]);
generating a PDCP status report that includes a NACK message and an ACK message, wherein the NACK message corresponds to the discarded out-of-order compressed data packets and the ACK message corresponds to the uncompressed data packets (a PDCP status report in the form of a bitmap is disclosed with different bit values for the received, not received, and not decoded packets, [0208] – [0209]); and
transmitting the generated PDCP status report to the UE (status report sent to UE, [0208]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0159065.
Yao teaches a method of transmitting data in a wireless communications network. Yao does not teach discarding packets. However, Kim teaches discarding packets. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teachings of Yao to incorporate the known technique of discarding packets as taught by Kim in order to obtain the predictable result of freeing memory resources.
The combination teaches:
8. (Original) The method of claim 7, comprising:
discarding duplicate compressed data packets before an update of a compression buffer and the transmission of the PDCP status report to the UE (data is considered as duplicate data and discarded immediately, [0162], Kim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 - 6 and 13 - 15 allowed.
Claims 9 - 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463