DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17, and 22-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakins et al. (USPUB 2013/0257346).
As to Claim 1, Jakins discloses a power station system comprising: at least one energy collector configured to collect energy from an associated ambient source (Figure 5, element 402); at least one energy generator configured to create energy (Figure 7, Element 420); at least one energy storage device configured to store energy from the at least one energy collector and the at least one energy generator (Figure 3, Element 102); at least one inverter or energy conversion device configured to convert energy from one type or format to another (Element 104); at least one output port configured to provide energy; and a controller configured: to determine input power based on energy collected by the at least one energy collector and energy generated by the at least one energy generator, to determine output power based on the energy provided to the at least one energy output connection and to control the at least one energy generator based on the input power and the output power (Paragraph 44-46).
As to Claim 2, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy generator, the controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one energy storage device has a threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 47).
As to Claim 3, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to turn off the at least one energy generator in response to the at least one energy storage device exceeding the threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 45).
As to Claim 4, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to turn on the at least one energy generator in response to the at least one energy storage device being less than the threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 45).
As to Claim 5, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the at least one inverter or energy conversion device comprises a plurality of inverter or energy conversion devices configured to work either in parallel or in series with each other (Figure 3).
As to Claim 6, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the at least one energy storage device comprises a plurality of storage devices configured for one of: simultaneous energy storage, and sequential energy storage where each is sequentially depleted (Paragraph 60).
As to Claim 7, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy generator, the controller is further configured to determine whether the input power exceeds the output power (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 8, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to turn off the at least one energy generator in response to the input power exceeding the output power (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 9, Jakins discloses the power station as in claim 1, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy conversion device, the controller is further configured to determine and adjust maximum output so as not to exceed a capacity of the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 10, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the at least one energy collector comprises at least one of: a solar panel, a hydro collector, and a wind turbine (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 12, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, further comprising at least one input port configured to receive energy from an external source, the at least one input port comprising at least on of: an AC connection, a DC connection and a USB connection (Paragraph 9).
As to Claim 13, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the at least one output port comprises at least on of: an AC connection, a DC connection and a USB connection (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 14, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the power station system is configured to simultaneously provide energy and store energy (Paragraph 26).
As to Claim 15, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the at least one energy storage device comprises at least one lithium-based battery (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 17, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate individual output ports of the at least one output port in order to, at least one of: limit output power; and maintain safe operation within individual port capacity or a capacity of the at least one inverter or energy conversion device (Paragraph 44-45).
As to Claim 22, Jakins discloses a controller for a power station system, the power station system having at least one energy collector, at least one energy generator, at least one energy storage device , at least one inverter or energy conversion device and at least one output port, the controller comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the controller to perform at least the following: to determine input power based on energy collected by the at least one energy collector and energy generated by the at least one energy generator, to determine output power based on the energy provided to the at least one energy output connection and to control the at least one energy generator based on the input power and the output power (Figure 3, Elements 102 and 104, Paragraphs 44-46).
As to Claim 23, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy generator, the controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one energy storage device has a threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 47).
As to Claim 24, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to turn off the at least one energy generator in response to the at least one energy storage device exceeding the threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 45).
As to Claim 25, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to turn on the at least one energy generator in response to the at least one energy storage device being less than the threshold percentage of capacity (Paragraph 45).
As to Claim 26, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy generator, the controller is further configured to determine whether the input power exceeds the output power (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 27, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 26, wherein the controller is further configured to turn off the at least one energy generator in response to the input power exceeding the output power (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 28, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, wherein the controller is embodied in an integrated circuit (Paragraph 43).
As to Claim 29, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, wherein the at least one energy storage device comprises a plurality of storage devices configured for one of: simultaneous energy storage, and sequential energy storage where each is sequentially depleted (Paragraph 60).
As to Claim 30, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 1, wherein, when controlling the at least one energy conversion device, the controller is further configured to determine and adjust maximum output so as not to exceed a capacity of the at least one energy storage device (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 31, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate individual output ports of the at least one output port in order to, at least one of: limit output power; and maintain safe operation within individual port capacity or a capacity of the at least one inverter or energy conversion device (Paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 20, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakins et al in view of Sherry (US 10,389,121).
As to Claim 11, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one energy generator comprises at least one propane generator. Sherry discloses at least one energy generator comprises at least one propane generator (Column 6, lines 11-27). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to use a propane generator as disclosed by Sherry as a power generation device for the system of Jakins, as propane is a readily available and transportable fuel source.
As to Claim 20, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising a wireless communication element configured to enable remote operation and monitoring of the controller. Sherry discloses a wireless communication element configured to enable remote operation and monitoring of the controller (Column 13, line 4-7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to use a wireless communication device as taught by Sherry with the system of Jakins, in order to allow for remote monitoring of the system.
As to Claim 32, Jakins discloses the controller as in claim 22, but does not expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a wireless interface to enable remote operation and monitoring of the controller. Sherry discloses a wireless communication element configured to enable remote operation and monitoring of the controller (Column 13, line 4-7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to use a wireless communication device as taught by Sherry with the system of Jakins, in order to allow for remote monitoring of the system.
Claims 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakins et al. in view of Chang et al. (US 7,839,019).
As to Claim 16, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the power station system is one of: a modular power station system and a stand-alone power station system. Chang discloses wherein the power station system is one of: a modular power station system and a stand-alone power station system (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to use a modular power station as taught by Chang and add it to the system of Jakins in order to allow for battery expansion.
As to Claim 18, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising at least one connector configured to enable modular connection and interconnection of the power station system, without respect to the assembly order and without user intervention to enable safe and proper operation. Chang discloses wherein the power station system is one of: a modular power station system and a stand-alone power station system (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to use a modular power station as taught by Chang and add it to the system of Jakins in order to allow for battery expansion.
As to Claim 19, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising: an integrated voltage conversion circuit configured to convert energy stored in the at least one energy storage device in order to power a 12 V port to charge or jump start a 12V vehicle; appropriate safety circuitry for the integrated voltage conversion circuit; and a connector having clamps to connect to the vehicle. Chang discloses an integrated voltage conversion circuit configured to convert energy stored in the at least one energy storage device in order to power a 12 V port to charge or jump start a 12V vehicle; appropriate safety circuitry for the integrated voltage conversion circuit; and a connector having clamps to connect to the vehicle (Column 4, lines 24-38 and Claim 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to add a jump start feature to the device of Jakins, as taught by Chang, in order to allow for the system to jump start a vehicle.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakins et al. in view of Parra Ortiz et al. (USPUB 2016/0023562).
As to Claim 21, Jakins discloses the power station system as in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising a fast-charging interface enabling operation and communication with electric vehicle (EV) chargers. Parra Ortiz discloses a fast-charging interface enabling operation and communication with electric vehicle (EV) chargers (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Parra Ortiz’s EV charging, and add that to the device of Jakins in order to allow for an electric vehicle to be charged.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859