DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 lines 10-11, “and (5) and” should be replaced with “and (5)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wruck et al. US 2006/0130502 (“Wruck”).
Wruck discloses:
1. An apparatus (e.g., Fig. 1 #16, [0017]: “air handling unit (AHU) 16”), comprising:
a non-transitory, machine-readable storage medium storing instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the non-transitory, machine-readable storage medium, the at least one processor being configured to execute the instructions (e.g., Fig. 1 #54, [0021]: “controller 54”) to:
receive, from a first temperature sensor (e.g., [0023]: “return air temperature sensor (RAT)”), a first temperature of a first air flow entering a conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #30, [0018]: “return air input 30”);
receive, from a first humidity sensor, a first dew point of the first air flow (e.g., [0024]: “return air dew point sensor (RAD)”);
receive a desired temperature for a conditioned space (e.g., [0017], temperature setpoint control is inherent to residential and commercial HVAC system disclosed in [0017]);
generate adjustment data characterizing an adjustment to at least one of:
(1) an exhaust air flow, (2) a desiccant flow rate, (3) a water flow rate, (4) a total air flow rate, and (5) and a liquid desiccant concentration of the conditioner system based on at least one of the first temperature, the first dew point, and the desired temperature (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”); and transmit the adjustment data to the conditioner system to cause the adjustment (e.g., [0017]-[0027]).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive, from a second humidity sensor, second dew point of a second air flow entering the conditioner system (e.g., [0024]: “outdoor dew point sensor (OAD)”); and
generate the adjustment data based on the second dew point (e.g., [0017], [0020]-[0027]).
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive, from a second temperature sensor (e.g., [0023]: “outdoor air temperature sensor (OAT)”), a second temperature of the second air flow entering the conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #32, [0017]: “fresh outdoor air input 32”); and
generate the adjustment data based on the second temperature (e.g., [0017], [0020]-[0027]).
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first air flow is a return air flow entering the conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #30, [0018]: “return air input 30”) and the second air flow is an outside air flow entering the conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #32, [0017]: “fresh outdoor air input 32”).
5. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
determine a mixed air dew point for a mixed air flow entering the conditioner system based on the first temperature, the second temperature, the first dew point, the second dew point, and an outside air flow ratio; and
generate the adjustment data based on the mixed air dew point (e.g., [0024]).
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjustment data characterizes the adjustment to the exhaust air flow as a proportion of a supply air flow for the conditioned space (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”).
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjustment data characterizes the adjustment to the total air flow rate of the conditioner system (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”).
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the adjustment data characterizes the adjustment to at least one of the exhaust air flow, the desiccant flow rate, and the water flow rate (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”).
18. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first air flow is a return air flow entering the conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #30, [0018]: “return air input 30”).
19. A method by at least one processor, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first temperature sensor (e.g., [0023]: “return air temperature sensor (RAT)”), a first temperature of a first air flow entering a conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #30, [0018]: “return air input 30”);
receiving, from a first humidity sensor, a first dew point of the first air flow (e.g., [0024]: “return air dew point sensor (RAD)”);
receiving a desired temperature for a conditioned space (e.g., [0017], temperature setpoint control is inherent to residential and commercial HVAC system disclosed in [0017]);
generating adjustment data characterizing an adjustment to at least one of: (1) an exhaust air flow, (2) a desiccant flow rate, (3) a water flow rate, and (4) a total air flow rate of the conditioner system based on at least one of the first temperature, the first dew point, and the desired temperature (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”); and
transmitting the adjustment data to the conditioner system to cause the adjustment (e.g., [0017]-[0027]).
20. A non-transitory, computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first temperature sensor (e.g., [0023]: “return air temperature sensor (RAT)”), a first temperature of a first air flow entering a conditioner system (e.g., Fig. 1 #30, [0018]: “return air input 30”);
receiving, from a first humidity sensor, a first dew point of the first air flow (e.g., [0024]: “return air dew point sensor (RAD)”);
receiving a desired temperature for a conditioned space (e.g., [0017], temperature setpoint control is inherent to residential and commercial HVAC system disclosed in [0017]);
generating adjustment data characterizing an adjustment to at least one of: (1) an exhaust air flow, (2) a desiccant flow rate, (3) a water flow rate, and (4) a total air flow rate of the conditioner system based on at least one of the first temperature, the first dew point, and the desired temperature (e.g., [0017]-[0027]: “If the illustrative mixed air temperature (MAT) is less than the mixed air temperature threshold, the fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced, as shown at block 66. The fresh outdoor airflow 32 may be reduced by, for example, adjusting the damper 28 position to reduce the incoming fresh outdoor airflow 32. In some cases, the damper 29 position may be equally decreased and the return air damper 31 may be increased to help balance the pressure within the HVAC system 40”); and
transmitting the adjustment data to the conditioner system to cause the adjustment (e.g., [0017]-[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wruck in view of Gerber et al. US 2015/0323203 (“Gerber”).
Wruck does not explicitly disclose the features of claims 9 and 13-17.
Gerber (in combination with Wruck) discloses:
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a desired dew point for the conditioned space; and
generate the adjustment data based on the desired dew point (e.g., [0036], [0042]).
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive desiccant data characterizing a concentration of liquid desiccant entering the conditioner system; and
generate the adjustment data based on the desiccant data.
14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive desiccant data characterizing a concentration of liquid desiccant exiting the conditioner system; and
generate the adjustment data based on the desiccant data (e.g., [0036], [0038], [0042], [0054], [0059], [0094], Fig. 1).
15. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a flow rate of liquid desiccant entering the conditioner system; and
generate the adjustment data based on the flow rate of liquid desiccant (e.g., [0036], [0038], [0042], [0054], [0059], [0094], Fig. 1).
16. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a flow rate of liquid desiccant exiting the conditioner system; and
generate the adjustment data based on the flow rate of liquid desiccant (e.g., [0036], [0038], [0042], [0054], [0059], [0094], Fig. 1).
17. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjustment data further characterizes an adjustment to a liquid desiccant concentration (e.g., [0036], [0038], [0043], [0094], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wruck with Gerber since Gerber teaches that controlling liquid desiccant parameters is an efficient means for independently controlling humidity levels in distinct rooms, zones, or spaces (e.g., [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest “determine a mixed air enthalpy based on the first temperature, the second temperature, the first dew point, the second dew point, and the outside air flow ratio; determine a mixed air temperature based on the mixed air dew point and the mixed air enthalpy; and generate the adjustment data based on the mixed air temperature,” as recited in claim 6, in combination with the remaining features and elements of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 8 depend on claim 6 and are thus are also objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wallace US 2025/0085015 discloses a system controlling heating and cooling in a conditioned space that utilizes a fluid circulating in a thermally conductive structure in fluid connection with a hydronic-to-air heat exchanger and a ground heat exchanger. Air is moved past the hydronic-to-air heat exchanger, the air having fresh air supply and stale air exhaust. Sensors located throughout the conditioned space send data to a controller. User input to the controller sets the desired set point temperature and humidity. Based upon the set point temperature and humidity and sensor data, the controller sends signals to various devices to manipulate the flow of the fluid and the air in order to achieve the desired set point temperature and humidity in the conditioned space. The temperature of the fluid is kept less than the dew point at the hydronic-to-air heat exchanger and the temperature of the fluid is kept greater than the dew point at the thermally conductive structure.
/RYAN A JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
06/17/26