DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, and 17-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,6,7,5,4,13,1,2,6,1,7,5,22,23,27, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,973,539 B2 to Fathololoumi et al. (‘539) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the ‘539 patent.
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,3,5,6,7,10,11,1,2,3,4,5,6, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,446 B2 to Fathololoumi et al (‘446). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the ‘446 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Jackel discloses an optical transceiver (Fig. 4, 1400), comprising:
a plurality of lasers including a first laser and a second laser (Fig. 4, 1st laser (1410) and 2nd laser (1411));
multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 4, beam combiner (1440)); and
switching circuitry coupled between the plurality of lasers and the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 4, switch (1415) between lasers (1410 and 1411) and mux (1440)),
wherein the switching circuitry is to couple an output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry or an output of the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 4, switch (1415) selects output of lasers (1410 and 1411); ¶ 335.)
Regarding Claim 7, Jackel discloses a photodetector (¶ 298, fiber is tapped for detectors.)
Regarding Claim 8, Jackel discloses a fiber optic cable connector (¶ 340, elements connected with optical fiber connections.)
Regarding Claim 9, Jackel discloses wherein the optical transceiver is co-packaged with a plurality of other optical transceivers (¶ 282, lasers are aggregated into arrays.)
Regarding Claim 10, Jackel discloses an optical transceiver (Fig. 4, 1400), comprising:
a first laser (Fig. 4, 1st laser (1410));
a second laser (Fig. 4, 2nd laser (1411));
modulator circuitry (Fig. 4, modulators (1450)); and
switching circuitry to couple an output of the first laser to the modulator circuitry or an output of the second laser to the modulator circuitry (Fig. 4, switch (1415) selects between lasers.)
Regarding Claim 13, Jackel discloses wherein the modulator includes multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 4, beam combiner (1440)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0249395 A1 to Pezeshki et al. and United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al.
Regarding Claim 17, Pezeshki discloses an integrated circuit device, comprising:
a die (Fig. 4A, all sources are integrated on same die; ¶ 38), comprising:
an optical output path (Fig. 4A, output path at right), and
switch circuitry, comprising one or more multiplexers, to couple an output of a first laser, an output of a second laser, an output of a third laser, an output of a fourth laser to the optical output path (Fig. 4A, circuitry controlling lasers, waveguides, and splitters couple the signal from the lasers to the output on the right.)
Pezeshki does not expressly disclose the switching circuitry couples one of the lasers to the output.
Jackel discloses a system where a switch couples one of the laser outputs to the optical output path.
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the switch disclosed by Jackel in place of the coupler used by Pezeshki. The proposed modification represents the simple substitution one component for another that performs the same function with predictable results.
Jackel and Pezeshki are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 18, Pezeshki discloses wherein the output path is a first optical output path, the switching circuitry is first switching circuitry (Fig. 4C, 1st output path at right and 1st switching circuitry), and the die further includes:
a second optical output path (Fig. 4C, 2nd output path at right); and
second switching circuitry, to couple the output of the third laser to the second optical output path or the output of the fourth laser to the second optical output path (Fig. 4C, 2nd switching circuitry for 3rd and 4th lasers).
Claim(s) 2,5,11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al. and United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0249395 A1 to Pezeshki et al.
Regarding Claim 2, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the first laser includes indium and phosphorous.
Pezeshki discloses wherein the first laser includes indium and phosphorous (¶ 38.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a first laser including indium and phosphorous (as disclosed by Pezeshki) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The proposed modification represents the simple substitution one component for another that performs the same function with predictable results.
Jackel and Pezeshki are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 5, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry includes multiple switches.
Pezeshki discloses a system where a 4x4 device is realized as a cascade of 1x2 devices (Fig. 4H.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a cascade of 1X2 devices as disclosed by Pezeshki in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use smaller count components where port-to-port uniformity is easier the realize.
Regarding Claim 11, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the first laser includes indium and phosphorous.
Pezeshki discloses wherein the first laser includes indium and phosphorous (¶ 38.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a first laser including indium and phosphorous (as disclosed by Pezeshki) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The proposed modification represents the simple substitution one component for another that performs the same function with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry includes multiple switches.
Pezeshki discloses a system where a 4x4 device is realized as a cascade of 1x2 devices (Fig. 4H.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a cascade of 1X2 devices as disclosed by Pezeshki in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use smaller count components where port-to-port uniformity is easier the realize.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al. and United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0294621 A1 to Schrans et al.
Regarding Claim 3, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry.
Schrans discloses wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 2, ¶ 30, monitor photodiode is used in bias current setting loop detects failure, upon failure the other lasers are activated.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use wherein the switching circuitry to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (as disclosed by Schrans) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the system to overcome a laser failure or degradation.
Jackel and Schrans are from the same art with respect to optical communications are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 12, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry.
Schrans discloses wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 2, ¶ 30, monitor photodiode is used in bias current setting loop detects failure, upon failure the other lasers are activated.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use wherein the switching circuitry to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (as disclosed by Schrans) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the system to overcome a laser failure or degradation.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0249395 A1 to Pezeshki et al. and United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al., and United States Patent Application Publication 2018/0294621 A1 to Schrans et al.
Regarding Claim 19, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry.
Schrans discloses wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 2, ¶ 30, monitor photodiode is used in bias current setting loop detects failure, upon failure the other lasers are activated.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use wherein the switching circuitry to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (as disclosed by Schrans) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the system to overcome a laser failure or degradation.
Jackel, Pezeshki, and Schrans are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 20, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry.
Schrans discloses wherein the switching circuitry is to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (Fig. 2, ¶ 30, monitor photodiode is used in bias current setting loop detects failure, upon failure the other lasers are activated.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use wherein the switching circuitry to couple the output of the first laser to the multiplexer circuitry and, upon detection of a power of the first laser being below a threshold, to couple the output to the second laser to the multiplexer circuitry (as disclosed by Schrans) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow the system to overcome a laser failure or degradation.
Jackel, Pezeshki, and Schrans are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Claim(s) 4,6, 14, and 16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0208473 A1 to Jackel et al. and United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0205285 A1 to Nagarajan et al.
Regarding Claim 4, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry includes a Mach-Zehnder switch.
Nagarajan discloses wherein the switching circuitry includes a MZ switch (Fig. 10, MZ switch.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an MZ switch in place of the switch disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a solid-state switch with fast switching time.
Jackel and Nagarajan are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 6, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the first laser is a hybrid silicon laser.
Nagarajan discloses wherein the first laser is a hybrid silicon laser (Fig. 2A, ¶¶ 46-48, laser with silicon layer and type III-V active layer.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a hybrid silicon laser (as disclosed by Nagarajan) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The proposed modification represents the simple substitution of one component for another component that performs the same function with predictable results.
Jackel and Nagarajan are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 14, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the switching circuitry includes a Mach-Zehnder switch.
Nagarajan discloses wherein the switching circuitry includes a MZ switch (Fig. 10, MZ switch.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an MZ switch in place of the switch disclosed by Jackel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a solid-state switch with fast switching time.
Jackel and Nagarajan are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 6, Jackel does not expressly disclose wherein the first laser is a hybrid silicon laser.
Nagarajan discloses wherein the first laser is a hybrid silicon laser (Fig. 2A, ¶¶ 46-48, laser with silicon layer and type III-V active layer.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a hybrid silicon laser (as disclosed by Nagarajan) in the system disclosed by Jackel. The proposed modification represents the simple substitution of one component for another component that performs the same function with predictable results.
Jackel and Nagarajan are from the same art with respect to optical communication, and are therefore analogous art.
Conclusion
/DANIEL G DOBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634
02/07/2026