DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (WO 2023/272711 A1, hereinafter “Yuan”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Yuan discloses receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages indicating two or more reference signal resource sets for a cell
(see para. 0095, receiving one or more SRS resource sets; claim 24, "A method for wireless communication at a user equipment, UE, comprising: receiving an indication of one or more sounding reference signal, SRS, resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission”; see claim 25, "receiving an indication of two SRS resource sets associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission", according to the disclosed method, the wireless device receives a message or an indication, indicating two or more reference signal resource sets for the cell); receiving a control command indicating a single transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the cell (see para. 0073, the UE 115-1 receives signaling activating a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state associated with the first resource set… as such, the control signaling 220 identify a valid TCI state with the first resource set, it is explicit that the device receives a control signaling indicating a single TCI state); receiving downlink control information (DCI), configured to schedule a communication via the cell, comprising a reference signal resource set indicator field having a value (see para. 0075, BS 105-a may transmit DCI including and SRS resource set dynamic selection field that indicate the first resource set or the second resource set; para. 0079, one or more components of the BS 105-a may transmit DCI including an SRI field that indicates an SRS resource of the one SRS resource set; para. 0081, the BS 105-a may indicate via an SRI,… that the UE 115-1 is to use first panel or an SRS resource associated with a relatively greater or larger number of SRS ports to indicate that the UE 115-a is to use second panel. In some examples, the indication of which panel to use for the uplink transmission 225 may apply for PUSCH transmission if a scheduling DCI includes such an SRS resource set ID or SRI; a value to indicate which panel to use in SRI indicator; the base station transmits and terminal receives, the DCI that scheduling the communication, containing a reference resource set indicator field with a value); based on the control command indicating the single TCI state for the cell, determining a default reference signal resource set from the two or more reference signal resource sets (see para. 0073, "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling"; para. 0076, "the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set"; it is explicit the control signaling indicating the single TCI state for the cell, selects the default SRS set from at least two SRS resource sets; see also claims 4 and 6); and sending, based on default reference signal resource set, the communication via the cell (see para. 0097-0098, control signal indicating a first panel of the set of asymmetric panels of the UE 115-c, valid SRS resource set for uplink transmission; see claims 24 and 26).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on the value (see para. 0073 and 0076, "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on the one or more messages indicating the two or more reference signal resource sets (see para. 0073 and 0076, "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on a previous reference signal resource set used for a previous communication via the cell (see para. 0073 and 0076, . "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on a default index of two or more indexes corresponding to the two or more reference signal resource sets (see para. 0073 and 0076, . "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses wherein the two or more reference signal resource sets are two or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (see para. 0073 and 0076, . "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 11, Yuan discloses wherein the communication comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (see para. 0068,0073, 0075 and 0082, SRS over PUSCH).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a control command indicating a single transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a cell (see para. 0073, the UE 115-1 receives signaling activating a transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state associated with the first resource set… as such, the control signaling 220 identify a valid TCI state with the first resource set, it is explicit that the device receives a control signaling indicating a single TCI state); receiving downlink control information (DCI), configured to schedule a communication via the cell, comprising a reference signal resource set indicator field having a value (see para. 0075, BS 105-a may transmit DCI including and SRS resource set dynamic selection field that indicate the first resource set or the second resource set; para. 0079, one or more components of the BS 105-a may transmit DCI including an SRI field that indicates an SRS resource of the one SRS resource set; para. 0081, the BS 105-a may indicate via an SRI,… that the UE 115-1 is to use first panel or an SRS resource associated with a relatively greater or larger number of SRS ports to indicate that the UE 115-a is to use second panel. In some examples, the indication of which panel to use for the uplink transmission 225 may apply for PUSCH transmission if a scheduling DCI includes such an SRS resource set ID or SRI; a value to indicate which panel to use in SRI indicator; the base station transmits and terminal receives, the DCI that scheduling the communication, containing a reference resource set indicator field with a value); based on the control command indicating the single TCI state for the cell, determining a default reference signal resource set based on the value (see para. 0073, "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling"; para. 0076, "the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set"; it is explicit the control signaling indicating the single TCI state for the cell, selects the default SRS set from at least two SRS resource sets; see also claims 4 and 6); and sending, based on the default reference signal resource set, the communication via the cell (see para. 0097-0098, control signal indicating a first panel of the set of asymmetric panels of the UE 115-c, valid SRS resource set for uplink transmission; see claims 24 and 26).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, one or more messages indicating two or more reference signal resource sets for the cell (see para. 0095, receiving one or more SRS resource sets; claim 24, "A method for wireless communication at a user equipment, UE, comprising: receiving an indication of one or more sounding reference signal, SRS, resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission”; see claim 25, "receiving an indication of two SRS resource sets associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission", according to the disclosed method, the wireless device receives a message or an indication, indicating two or more reference signal resource sets for the cell), wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining, from the two or more reference signal resource sets, the default reference signal resource set (see para. 0073 and 0076, "different SRI fields or different SRS resource set selection fields may correspond to different SRS resource sets, such as one of the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set, and the BS 105-a may activate an SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set by activating a corresponding SRI field or SRS resource set selection field. As such, the control signaling 220 may include any one or more of such TCI state activation signaling" the control signaling 220, which may include one or both of the SRS resource set dynamic selection field in DCI or the TCI state activation signaling, may indicate either the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set").
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses a first value that indicates the communication is associated with a first reference signal resource set of the two or more reference signal resource sets; a second value that indicates the communication is associated with a second reference signal resource set of the two or more reference signal resource sets; a third value that indicates the communication is associated with the first reference signal resource set and the second reference signal resource set; or a fourth value that indicates the communication is associated with the first reference signal resource set and the second reference signal resource set (see para. 0079, different SRIs may indicate SRS resource of different number of SRS ports).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Gao et al. (WO 2021/209979 A1, hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claims 4, 18 and 19, Yuan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the control command indicating the single TCI state for the cell indicates a single-communication point mode for the cell, However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the control command indicating the single TCI state for the cell indicates a single-communication point mode for the cell (see para. 0077, 0093, 0099, 0114, 0122 and 0138, single TRP mode and multi-TRP mode). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Gao single-point mode communication into Yuan communication scheme. The method can be implemented in a TCI. The motivation of doing this is to provide better coverage.
Regarding claims 5, and 15, Yuan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the value indicates a multi-communication point mode. However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the value indicates a multi-communication point mode (see para. 0077, 0122 and 0138). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Gao single-point mode communication into Yuan communication scheme. The method can be implemented in a TCI. The motivation of doing this is to provide better coverage.
Regarding claims 6, and 16, Yuan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on a least significant bit of the value. However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the determining the default reference signal resource set comprises determining the default reference signal resource set based on a least significant bit of the value (see para.0102, and 0122). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Gao single-point mode communication into Yuan communication scheme. The method can be implemented in a TCI. The motivation of doing this is to provide better coverage.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention further comprising: receiving a second control command indicating two TCI states for a second cell, wherein the DCI is further configured to schedule a second communication via the second cell; and sending, based on the resource signal resource set indicator field, the second communication via the second cell. However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprising: receiving a second control command indicating two TCI states for a second cell, wherein the DCI is further configured to schedule a second communication via the second cell; and sending, based on the resource signal resource set indicator field, the second communication via the second cell. However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses comprising: receiving a second control command indicating two TCI states for a second cell, wherein the DCI is further configured to schedule a second communication via the second cell; and sending, based on the resource signal resource set indicator field, the second communication via the second cell . However, Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprising: receiving a second control command indicating two TCI states for a second cell , wherein the DCI is further configured to schedule a second communication via the second cell (see para. 0077 and 0093, independent DCIs for each TRP, two or more TCI states); and sending, based on the resource signal resource set indicator field, the second communication via the second cell (see para. 0138, two SRS resource sets). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Gao single-point mode communication into Yuan communication scheme. The method can be implemented in a TCI. The motivation of doing this is to provide better coverage.
Conclusion
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463