Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 12/30/2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728) in view of Sato et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0227546).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly with respect to claims 16 and 20
Labuhn discloses “A system, comprising: a processor;” (See Labuhn Fig. 8, Char. 702 disclosing a processor.).
Labuhn discloses “and a memory storing: an override ascertainment module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine, during an operation of an adaptive cruise control system, that a first action, performed by an operator of an ego vehicle, is an override of the adaptive cruise control system;” (See Labuhn [0051] disclosing detecting if an accelerator pedal override of an adaptive cruise control is active, when a driver presses an accelerator pedal.).
Labuhn discloses “an intent ascertainment module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine, during the override, an intent of the operator to change a setting of a mechanism, configured to control a motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle, from a current setting to a preferred setting, the mechanism being of the adaptive cruise control system;” (See Labuhn [0059]-[0060] disclosing checking for a double press of the resume switch of the adaptive cruise control system to ensure that a deliberate driver action has occurred rather than an accidental press.).
Labuhn discloses “and an intent utilization module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to cause the adaptive cruise control system to utilize information about the intent.” (See Labuhn [0060] disclosing continuing or ending the adaptive cruise control setting based on a detection of the double press.).
Labuhn discloses all the elements of the claim 1 except “a motion-related aspect determination module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine a type, from a set of types, of a motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle associated with the override, the set of types including: a gap between the ego vehicle and a preceding vehicle, and a rate of a change of a speed of the ego vehicle;”
Sato discloses “a motion-related aspect determination module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine a type, from a set of types, of a motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle associated with the override, the set of types including: a gap between the ego vehicle and a preceding vehicle, and a rate of a change of a speed of the ego vehicle;” (See Sato [0051]-[0053] & [0061] disclosing determining that a driver intends to override an ACC setting, among two different override options, including an acceleration (rate of change of vehicle speed).).
Labuhn and Sato are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle controls. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labuhn to incorporate the teachings of Sato for enabling a driver to modify an acceleration for maintaining a distance between a host vehicle and preceding vehicle. Doing so provides a known method in the art for modifying the settings of an adaptive cruise control system, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as doing so advantageously provides customization of an adaptive cruise control system in accordance with driver preferences during a normal operation.
Regarding claim 17
Labuhn discloses “The method of claim 16, wherein the determining that the first action is the override comprises determining that the first action is performed for a duration of time greater than a threshold duration of time.” (See Labuhn [0059] disclosing using criteria that includes a predetermined length of time of the presses for detecting an override.).
Regarding claim 18
Labuhn discloses “The method of claim 16, wherein the determining that the first action is the override comprises determining that the first action is performed for a duration of time less than a threshold duration of time.” (See Labuhn [0059] disclosing using criteria that includes a predetermined length of time of the presses for detecting an override and [0060] disclosing determining that the criteria for overriding the ACC has not occurred when the double press (including the predetermined time period) is not detected.).
Claims 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728) in view of Sato et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0227546) in further view of Jardine et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0382378).
Regarding claim 2
Labuhn modified in view of Jardine discloses “The system of claim 1,” and further discloses all the elements of the claimed invention except “wherein: the motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle is the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle,”, “the current setting is for a first gap maintained, by the adaptive cruise control system, between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle,”, & “the preferred setting is for a second gap to be maintained, by the adaptive cruise control system, between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle.”.
Jardine discloses “wherein: the motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle is the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle,” (See Jardine Fig. 4, Char. 508 disclosing receiving a driver intervention to modify an inter-vehicle gap distance.).
Jardine discloses “the current setting is for a first gap maintained, by the adaptive cruise control system, between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle,” (See Jardine Fig. 4, Char. 506 disclosing a first gap.).
Jardine discloses “the preferred setting is for a second gap to be maintained, by the adaptive cruise control system, between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle,” (See Jardine Fig. 4, Char. 508 disclosing a second gap.).
Labuhn and Jardine are analogous art, because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle controls. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Labuhn to incorporate the teachings of Jardine for enabling a driver to modify a gap distance between a host vehicle and preceding vehicle. Doing so provides a known method in the art for modifying the settings of an adaptive cruise control system, incorporated with a reasonable expectation of success as doing so advantageously provides customization of an adaptive cruise control system in accordance with driver preferences, see Jardine [0092].
Regarding claim 3
Labuhn modified in view of Jardine discloses “The system of claim 2,” and further discloses all the elements of the claimed invention except “wherein the instructions to determine that the motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle is the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle include instructions to determine that the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle is less than a threshold gap.”.
Jardine discloses “wherein the instructions to determine that the motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle is the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle include instructions to determine that the gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle is less than a threshold gap.” (See Jardine [0107] disclosing a minimum stop gap and [0106] disclosing determining if a measured stop gap is less than the minimum.).
The motivation to combine is similar to the motivation to combine Labuhn and Jardine in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12
Labuhn modified in view of Jardine discloses “The system of claim 2,” and further discloses all the elements of the claimed invention except “wherein: the memory further stores a gap determination module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine if the second gap is one of less than a first threshold gap or greater than a second threshold gap,”, & “the instructions to cause the adaptive cruise control system to utilize the information about the intent include instructions to cause, in response to a determination that the second gap is: less than the first threshold gap, the adaptive cruise control system to use a value of the first threshold gap as a value of the preferred setting, and greater than the second threshold gap, the adaptive cruise control system to use a value of the second threshold gap as the value of the preferred setting.”.
Jardine discloses “wherein: the memory further stores a gap determination module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine if the second gap is one of less than a first threshold gap or greater than a second threshold gap,” (See Jardine [0106] disclosing determining if a measured stop gap is less than a minimum.).
Jardine discloses “the instructions to cause the adaptive cruise control system to utilize the information about the intent include instructions to cause, in response to a determination that the second gap is: less than the first threshold gap, the adaptive cruise control system to use a value of the first threshold gap as a value of the preferred setting, and greater than the second threshold gap, the adaptive cruise control system to use a value of the second threshold gap as the value of the preferred setting.” (See Jardine [0106] disclosing if the measured stop gap is less than the minimum, the minimum becomes the updated target stop gap.).
The motivation to combine is similar to the motivation to combine Labuhn and Jardine in the rejection of claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11, 13-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4
The recitation “The system of claim 2, wherein: the adaptive cruise control system includes a database that has records with a first field and a second field, the first field being for values of speeds of the ego vehicle, the second field being for values of settings for gaps to be maintained between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle, and the instructions to cause the adaptive cruise control system to utilize the information about the intent include: instructions to determine a value of a speed of the ego vehicle during the override, instructions to retrieve, from the database, a record, of the records, in which a value of a speed of the ego vehicle is equal to the value of the speed of the ego vehicle during the override, instructions to overwrite, in the record, a value of a setting for a gap to be maintained between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle with a value of the preferred setting, and instructions to cause a resumption of the operation of the adaptive cruise control system.” overcomes the art of record rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the methods disclosed in the closest prior art, Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728). The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to retrieving a record corresponding to a speed of the vehicle during a detected override of an adaptive cruise control system. For example, Labuhn discloses detection of the speed of the vehicle during an override, however retrieving a record corresponding to the detected speed is not disclosed or rendered obvious in view of the art of record. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Claims 5-10 are objected to by virtue of dependency of claim 4
Regarding claim 11
The recitation “and the instructions to cause the adaptive cruise control system to utilize the information about the intent include instructions to cause, in response to a determination that the second gap is the one of less than the first threshold gap or greater than the second threshold gap, the adaptive cruise control system to remain in a current status of the adaptive cruise control system.” overcomes the art of record rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the methods disclosed in the closest prior art, Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728). The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to remaining in a current status of an adaptive cruise control when a gap is greater than or less than threshold gaps. For example, Labuhn modified in view of the art of record discloses modifying settings of the adaptive cruise control based on detected gap deviations from a threshold minimum, however remaining in a current status is not disclosed or rendered obvious in view of the art of record. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 13
The recitation “The system of claim 1, wherein: the motion-related aspect of the ego vehicle is the rate of the change of the speed of the ego vehicle, the current setting is for a first rate, controlled by the adaptive cruise control system, of the change of the speed of the ego vehicle, and the preferred setting is for a second rate, to be controlled by the adaptive cruise control system, of the change of the speed of the ego vehicle.” overcomes the art of record rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the methods disclosed in the closest prior art, Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728). The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to the modification of an acceleration of the adaptive cruise control system. For example, Labuhn modified in view of the art of record discloses modification of a gap and speed of an adaptive cruise control system to override settings of the adaptive cruise control, however modifying the acceleration between a specified first and/or second value, corresponding to a rate of change of the vehicle speed, is not disclosed or rendered obvious in view of the art of record. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Regarding claim 19
The recitation “determining that the first action is the override comprises determining that the first action is, within a duration of time less than a threshold duration of time, repeated.” overcomes the art of record rendering the claims in manner specific enough to overcome the methods disclosed in the closest prior art, Labuhn et. al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0280728). The claim specifically overcomes the art of record, because of the limitation directed to detecting an override of an adaptive cruise control system when an action is less than a threshold duration. For example, Labuhn discloses using criteria that includes a predetermined length of time of the presses for detecting an override, thus teaching away from the claimed invention, and the claim limitation is not disclosed or rendered obvious in view of the art of record. The subject matter of the claims is therefore allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERROD IRVIN DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656