DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 03/22/2024 has been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application. Claims 5 and 14-22 have been cancelled. Claims 23-30 have been added. Claim 1 has been amended. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made final.
Response to Remarks
The examiner has considered Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 101 but does not find said arguments to be persuasive. The examiner submits that the pending claims recited at least a system for tracking semiconductors, which falls into one of the four statutory categories. The claims must then qualify as patent eligible subject matter. i.e., the claim must not be directed to a judicial exception unless the claim as a whole includes additional limitations amounting to significantly more than the exception. The judicial exceptions (also called "judicially recognized exceptions" or simply "exceptions") are subject matter that the courts have found to be outside of, or exceptions to, the four statutory categories of invention, and are limited to abstract ideas, laws of nature and natural phenomena (including products of nature). Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 216, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1980 (2014) (citing Ass'n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1979 (2013). See MPEP § 2106.04 for detailed information on the judicial exceptions. Because abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomenon "are the basic tools of scientific and technological work", the Supreme Court has expressed concern that monopolizing these tools by granting patent rights may impede innovation rather than promote it. See Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 216, 110 USPQ2d at 1980; Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012). However, the Court has also emphasized that an invention is not considered to be ineligible for patenting simply because it involves a judicial exception. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1980-81 (citing Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187, 209 USPQ 1, 8 (1981)). See also Thales Visionix Inc. v. United States, 850 F.3d. 1343, 1349, 121 USPQ2d 1898, 1902 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("That a mathematical equation is required to complete the claimed method and system does not doom the claims to abstraction."). Accordingly, the Court has said that integration of an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon into a practical application may be eligible for patent protection. See, e.g., Alice, 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (explaining that "in applying the §101 exception, we must distinguish between patents that claim the ‘buildin[g] block[s]’ of human ingenuity and those that integrate the building blocks into something more" (quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 89, 110 USPQ2d at 1971) and stating that Mayo "set forth a framework for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts"); Mayo, 566 U.S. at 80, 84, 101 USPQ2d at 1969, 1971. The Supreme Court in Mayo laid out a framework for determining whether an applicant is seeking to patent a judicial exception itself, or a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. See Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. 66, 101 USPQ2d 1961). This framework, which is referred to as the Mayo test or the Alice/Mayo test, is discussed in further detail in subsection III, below. The first part of the Mayo test is to determine whether the claims are directed to an abstract idea, a law of nature or a natural phenomenon (i.e., a judicial exception). Id. If the claims are directed to a judicial exception, the second part of the Mayo test is to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Id. citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966). The Supreme Court has described the second part of the test as the "search for an 'inventive concept'". Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966). The examiner does agree that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim must be established and considered in the determination of patent eligibility under 35 USC 101.
In considering the pending claims, the examiner submits the following: Claim 1 of the pending application (as well as the claims that depend therefrom) recite: A system comprising: a manufactured product comprising a semiconductor device package; a machine-readable physical identifier on the semiconductor device package, the machine-readable physical identifier to encode one or more data elements related to the manufactured product; and a computer readable storage medium comprising: a tracking file wherein the one or more data elements are matched to the manufactured product, the tracking file to be updated based on one or more supply chain operations, and instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to encode in the tracking file one or more data elements related to the manufactured product using an error correcting code.
The language of at least claim 1 is reproduced above, with the significant structural language and method steps emboldened. In considering the claims, the examiner has taken into consideration the state of the art at the time of filing consistent with Applicant’s specification, as originally filed. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1, it is clear that the pending claim 1 falls into the judicial exception category of certain methods of organizing human activity, which includes fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The aforementioned categorization is evidenced at least in the steps of: “execut[ing] the selected one or more configurable business rules using the loan data as input to validate the loan data” (claim 1 of the pending application) which constitutes a commercial interaction, and therefore places the pending claim into the category of certain methods of organizing human activity. If the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas, it is reasonable to conclude that the claim recites an abstract idea in Step 2A Prong One. The claim then requires further analysis in Step 2A Prong Two, to determine whether any additional elements in the claim integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, see MPEP § 2106.04(d). The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping as abstract ideas. In particular, in Alice, the Court concluded that the use of a third party to mediate settlement risk is a ‘‘fundamental economic practice’’ and thus an abstract idea. 573 U.S. at 219–20, 110 USPQ2d at 1982. In the aforementioned claims, the system tracks semiconductor inventory, that is being implemented on a computer processor.
The Supreme Court has long distinguished between principles themselves (which are not patent eligible) and the integration of those principles into practical applications (which are patent eligible). See, e.g., Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 80, 84, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968-69, 1970 (2012). The Federal Circuit has distinguished between claims that are ‘‘directed to’’ a judicial exception (which require further analysis to determine their eligibility) and those that are not (which are therefore patent eligible), e.g., claims that improve the functioning of a computer or other technology or technological field. See Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 209 USPQ 1 (1981); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972), MPEP 2106.06(b) (summarizing Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 118 USPQ2d 1684 (Fed. Cir. 2016), McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 120 USPQ2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and other cases that were eligible as improvements to technology or computer functionality instead of being directed to abstract ideas). Accordingly, after determining that a claim recites a judicial exception in Step 2A Prong One, examiners should evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception in Step 2A Prong Two. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception.
The Supreme Court and Federal Circuit have identified a number of considerations as relevant to the evaluation of whether the claimed additional elements demonstrate that a claim is directed to patent-eligible subject matter. The list of considerations here is not intended to be exclusive or limiting. Additional elements can often be analyzed based on more than one type of consideration and the type of consideration is of no import to the eligibility analysis. Additional discussion of these considerations, and how they were applied in particular judicial decisions, is provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a) through (c) and MPEP § 2106.05(e) through (h).
Limitations the courts have found indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application include:
• An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
• Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
• Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
• Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
• Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
The courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application:
• Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f);
• Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g); and
• Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations introduced in subsection I supra, and discussed in more detail in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.04(d)(2), 2106.05(a) through (c) and 2106.05(e) through (h).
In determining if the language of the pending claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the examiner identifies the method steps and the system components of exemplary claim 1, which are provided in bold below:
Claim 1. : A system comprising: a manufactured product comprising a semiconductor device package; a machine-readable physical identifier on the semiconductor device package, the machine-readable physical identifier to encode one or more data elements related to the manufactured product; and a computer readable storage medium comprising: a tracking file wherein the one or more data elements are matched to the manufactured product, the tracking file to be updated based on one or more supply chain operations, and instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to encode in the tracking file one or more data elements related to the manufactured product using an error correcting code.
A claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. One way to demonstrate such integration is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. The application or use of the judicial exception in this manner meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter. Such claims are eligible at Step 2A because they are not "directed to" the recited judicial exception.
The courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration but have instead illustrated how it is evaluated in numerous decisions. These decisions, and a detailed explanation of how examiners should evaluate this consideration are provided in MPEP § 2106.05(a). In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel").
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Applicant’s specification fails to identify or explicitly disclose any improvement in the function of a computer or any other technology or technological field, as evidenced by the aforementioned citations from Applicant’s specification. Applicant’s specification merely combines generic, well understood computing elements in the performance of the well understood, routine, and conventional steps. Claims 2-13 and 23-30 fail to cure the deficiencies under 35 USC 101 of the claims from which they depend and are similarly rejected for the same reasoning as applied to independent claim 1.
For the aforementioned reasoning, the claims are found to be ineligible, and the rejection of the pending claims in view of 35 USC 101 is hereby maintained and made final.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 103 in view of the applied prior art of record have been considered by the examiner, but are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under step 1 of the MPEP 2106 Guidelines, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. In the instant case, claims 1-4, 6-13, and 23-30 are directed to a system for physical identification of manufactured products, which falls within one of the four statutory categories of inventions process/apparatus). Accordingly, the claims will be further analyzed under revised step 2 of the MPEP 2106 Guidelines:
Under revised step 2A (prong 1) of the MPEP 2106 Guidelines, it must be considered whether the claims are “directed to” an abstract idea by referring to the groupings of subject matter. Under the MPEP 2106 Guidelines, certain methods of organizing human activity include fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Regarding representative independent claim 1, the claim sets forth a system for physical identification of manufactured products further comprising:
A tracking file wherein the one or more data elements are matched to the manufactured product, the tracking file to be updated based on one or more supply chain operations, and
and instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to encode in the tracking file one or more data elements related to the manufactured product using an error correcting code.
The above-recited limitations set forth an arrangement to track changes associated with a manufactured product during various operations such as shipping, manufacturing, or testing. This arrangement amounts to certain methods of organizing human activity associated with sales activities and commercial interactions involving tracking changes to a product within a manufacturing and sales process. Such concepts have been considered ineligible certain methods of organizing human activity by the Courts (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
The revised Step 2A (prong 2) of the MPEP 2106 Guidelines is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
A manufactured product further comprising a semiconductor
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, the recitations above are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-13, and 23-30 also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, dependent claims 2-15 are directed to the abstract idea itself and do not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
A manufactured product further comprising a semiconductor
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the independent claims and dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khor et al (US 9,697,402) in view of Crowell et al (US 2026/0125221).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a system comprising: a manufactured product (see at least column 2, lines 46-47 to Khor et al) comprising a semiconductor device package; a machine-readable physical identifier on the semiconductor device package(see at least column 2, lines 54-60 to Khor et al); and a computer readable storage medium comprising: a tracking file wherein the one or more data elements are matched to the manufactured product (see at least column 2, lines 60-62 to Khor et al), the tracking file to be updated based on one or more supply chain operations (see at least column 2, lines 39-45 to Khor et al).
Khor et al does not appear to explicitly disclose instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to encode in the tracking file one or more data elements related to the manufactured product using an error correcting code.
However, Crowell et al discloses a device, system, and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, further comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to encode in the tracking file one or more data elements related to the manufactured product using an error correcting code.
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, the machine-readable physical identifier to encode one or more numerical values and one or more alphanumeric values (see at least column 2, lines 65-66 and column 3, lines 1-4 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a Data Matrix code (see at least column 2, lines 52-62 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, the one or more supply chain operations comprising one or more of a manufacturing, shipping, or testing operation (see at least column 2, lines 38-67 to column 3, lines 1-34 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, the tracking file to be updated with testing results of the manufactured product (see at least column 3, lines 39-45 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 10, the tracking file comprising results of a pass/fail testing operation performed on the manufactured product by an automated test program (see at least column 2, lines 63-67 to column 3, lines 1-4 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 10, the tracking file comprising numerical results of a parametric testing operation performed on the manufactured product by an automated test program (see at least column 2, lines 63-67 to column 3, lines 1-4 to Khor et al).
Regarding claim 23, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, comprising an optical scanner to read the machine-readable physical identifier, wherein the manufactured product is to be sorted based on the one or more data elements encoded in the tracking file (see at least paragraph [0068] to Crowell et al, wherein the machine-readable code 222 may be implemented as one or more of a radiofrequency identification (RFID) device, a barcode, a QR code, a Data Matrix (DM) code, and/or the like. In one aspect, the machine-readable code 222 may be a machine-readable code that may be configured to be readable by the machine code reading device 190).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 8, the manufactured product to be sorted based on at least one testing result in the tracking file (see at least paragraph [0120] to Crowell et al, wherein data may be tested and analyzed).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1,the error correcting code comprising an ECC-200 error correcting code (see at least paragraph [0073] to Crowell et al, wherein the Data Matrix code may be implemented with the ECC-200 version of Data Matrix and include Reed-Solomon codes for error and erasure recovery).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1,the machine-readable physical identifier to encode the packaging location and packaging date of the manufactured product (see at least paragraph [0122] to Crowell et al, wherein the module device 504, the transportation system 600, components thereof, and/or the like. The device related information 560 may include date and time of particular operations date and time of dispense, machine serial number, pressures, temperatures, scripted offset data, dispense settings, dispense metrics, valve serial number, cycles, calibration data, encoder traces, cartridge serial number, cycles, consumable life, fluid lot number, pot life, syringe level, wafer serial number, and/or the like).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1,the tracking file to be updated with at least one of a shipping destination, vehicle and container (see at least paragraph [0122] to Crowell et al, wherein the module device 504, the transportation system 600, components thereof, and/or the like. The device related information 560 may include date and time of particular operations date and time of dispense, machine serial number, pressures, temperatures, scripted offset data, dispense settings, dispense metrics, valve serial number, cycles, calibration data, encoder traces, cartridge serial number, cycles, consumable life, fluid lot number, pot life, syringe level, wafer serial number, and/or the like).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art discloses the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, the tracking file to be updated with at least one of a delivery location, delivery date, delivery time and authorization information (see at least paragraph [0122] to Crowell et al, wherein the module device 504, the transportation system 600, components thereof, and/or the like. The device related information 560 may include date and time of particular operations date and time of dispense, machine serial number, pressures, temperatures, scripted offset data, dispense settings, dispense metrics, valve serial number, cycles, calibration data, encoder traces, cartridge serial number, cycles, consumable life, fluid lot number, pot life, syringe level, wafer serial number, and/or the like).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 29, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 28, the machine-readable physical identifier to be read by an optical scanner, camera or other optical sensing apparatus as part of the delivery (see at least paragraph [0073] to Crowell et al, wherein the camera device may include functionality as a Data Matrix code reader).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 30, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a 16x16 Data Matrix cell (see at least paragraph [0073] to Crowell et al, wherein Data Matrix code is a two-dimensional matrix barcode including black and white “cells” or modules arranged in either a square or rectangular pattern).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, and the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking, could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Claims 4, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khor et al (US 9,697,402) ) in view of Crowell et al (US 2026/0125221), further in view of Taylor (US 10,108,925).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but does not appear to disclose the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a Quick Response (QR) code.
However, Taylor discloses a chip tracking system and method with a marking database, further comprising the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a Quick Response (QR) code (see at least Figure 1 to Taylor).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, and the chip tracking system and method with the marking database as taught by Taylor, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking (see at least Abstract, to Taylor) could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but does not appear to disclose the machine-readable physical identifier to encode manufacturing date and lot number information of the manufactured product.
However, Taylor discloses a chip tracking system and method with a marking database, further comprising the machine-readable physical identifier to encode manufacturing date and lot number information of the manufactured product (see at least column 3, lines 21-48 to Taylor).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, and the chip tracking system and method with the marking database as taught by Taylor, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking (see at least Abstract, to Taylor) could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but does not appear to disclose the tracking file to be updated with shipping dates and locations of the manufactured product.
However, Taylor discloses a chip tracking system and method with a marking database, further comprising the tracking file to be updated with shipping dates and locations of the manufactured product (see at least column 6, lines 21-48 and column 7, lines 1-4 to Taylor).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, and the chip tracking system and method with the marking database as taught by Taylor, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking (see at least Abstract, to Taylor) could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but does not appear to disclose the manufactured product comprising a semiconductor device in an encapsulated package, and the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a Data Matrix code printed on the encapsulated package.
However, Taylor discloses a chip tracking system and method with a marking database, further comprising the manufactured product comprising a semiconductor device in an encapsulated package, and the machine-readable physical identifier comprising a Data Matrix code printed on the encapsulated package (see at least column 3, lines 21-48 to Khor et al).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing machine, as taught by Crowell et al, and the chip tracking system and method with the marking database as taught by Taylor, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking (see at least Abstract, to Taylor) could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khor et al (US 9,697,402) ) in view of Crowell et al (US 2026/0125221), Taylor (US 10,108,925) and further in view of Littlejohn (US 2017/00601201).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art discloses the system as claimed in claim 10, but does not appear to disclose the machine-readable physical identifier to encode a row location and a column location of a manufactured product in a tape-and-reel package.
However, Littlejohn discloses a system and method for horizontal infrastructure handling for integrated circuit devices, further comprising the machine-readable physical identifier to encode a row location and a column location of a manufactured product in a tape-and-reel package (see at least paragraph [0044] and [0048] to Littlejohn).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for integrated circuit handling and tracking, as disclosed by Khor et al, the system and method for automated material delivery to a dispensing device as taught by Crowell et al, and the chip tracking system and method with the marking database as taught by Taylor, further in view of the horizontal infrastructure handling system and method for integrated circuit devices, as disclosed by Littlejohn, in order to provide improved semiconductor inventory tracking (see at least Abstract, to Taylor) could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627