Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2023-0038263, filed on 23 March 2023 AD.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment After Final Office Action pages 2-5, filed 22 September 2026 AD, with adding amendments after final has been granted and will be added to the indicated claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment After Final Office Action page 6, filed 22 September 2026 AD, with respect to objection of claims 1, 6, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment After Final Office Action pages 1-11, filed 22 September 2026 AD, with respect to rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Provisional in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Latest in further view of Bergstrom et al. (63/370,834) or Bergstrom Provisional for claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Provisional in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Latest in further view of Bergstrom et al. (63/370,834) or Bergstrom Provisional in further view of Li et al. (63/336,960) or Li Provisional for claims 5, 10, 15, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Provisional in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Latest in further view of Bergstrom et al. (63/370,834) or Bergstrom Provisional.
(US 20240283519 A1) consists of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Provisional’s United States Patent Application Publication. Citations will be drawn from the provisional application.
(US 20260046968 A1) consists of Bergstrom et al. (63/370,834) or Bergstrom Provisional’s United States Patent Application Publication. Citations will be drawn from the provisional application.
Claim 1
Abedini Provisional teaches,
A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) mobile termination (MT) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving side control information including a forwarding configuration;
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0121, ...the wireless repeater 205 may support various behaviors (e.g., operations or functions) depending on a state (e.g., an RRC state or mode) of the MT functionality 210. For example, when the MT functionality 210 is in an RRC_CONNECTED mode, the forwarding functionality 215 may be in an ON or OFF state following the side control information received from the network entity 105.)
Shows the wireless repeater 205 of FIG.2 or network controlled repeater MT functionality 210 of FIG. 2 following forwarding functionality or configuration from side control information received from a network entity
…initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT; and
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0143, At 330, the wireless repeater 205 (e.g., the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205) and the network entity 105 may perform a BFR procedure to attempt to recover one or more directional beams and the control link 220.)
in case that the beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed,… …a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration,
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0149, At 355, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, second control signaling indicating at least one of an updated first configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the UE 115 or an updated second configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105, or both, based on the BFR procedure.)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving second control signaling after the beam failure recovery with first configuration
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0151, ...the wireless repeater 205 may set the forwarding functionality 215 to an ON state in accordance with the second control signaling.)
Shows the wireless repeater setting the forwarding functionality to ON according to the second control signaling
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0110, ...the network entity 105 may transmit an explicit indication to the wireless repeater (e.g., the MT functionality of the wireless repeater) to indicate whether the forwarding functionality is to remain in an OFF state or switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure.)
Shows the network entity 105 transmitting an indication to the NCR MT to resume forwarding after the beam failure recovery
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…in case that a beam failure occurs, transmitting, to an NCR Fwd, a first indication to cease forwarding;…
…transmitting, by the NCR MT, to the NCR Fwd,…
Nevertheless, Bergstrom Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…in case that a beam failure occurs, transmitting, to an NCR Fwd, a first indication to cease forwarding;…
(See Bergerstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, ...performed by a first entity within the device, for instance a mobile termination part (NCR-MT), such as determining that the RLF event has occurred. In certain aspects, this module instructs or otherwise causes a second entity (e.g., a forwarding part or NCR-FWD) within the device stop performing one or more forwarding operations. This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR-MT transmitting an indication to the NCR-FWD to stop forwarding if a radio link failure occurs
…transmitting, by the NCR MT, to the NCR Fwd,…
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR MT transmitting an indication to the NCR Fwd
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a network controlled repeater or NCR mobile termination or MT in a wireless communication system receiving side control information including a forwarding configuration, initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT, and transmitting a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration if the beam failure recovery procedure successfully completes as disclosed by Abedini Provisional with the NCR MT transmitting a first indication to the NCR forwarding or Fwd to cease forwarding and transmitting to the NCR Fwd by the NCR MT as disclosed by Bergstrom Provisional to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of transmissions between the NCR MT and base station to stop the forwarding of the NCR Fwd).
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
Nevertheless, Abedini Latest, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0144, At 335, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, an indication of whether the wireless repeater 205 is to set the forwarding functionality 215 of the wireless repeater 205 to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure (e.g., after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF). In some aspects, the wireless repeater 205 may receive such an indication prior to the BFR procedure (e.g., during a connection establishment procedure or via other signaling, such as the control signaling received at 305).)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving an indication from the network entity to set the forwarding functionality to be ON or OFF after a successful beam failure recovery
Shows the wireless repeater may receive the indication as control signaling received at step 305 of FIG. 3
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0142, At 325, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure. For example, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205.)
Shows at step 325 of FIG. 3 the detection of a beam failure after step 305 of receiving the control signaling
Shows the indication utilized by the wireless repeater 205 to control the state of the forwarding functionality consists of a latest forwarding received before the beam failure
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a network controlled repeater or NCR mobile termination or MT in a wireless communication system receiving side control information including a forwarding configuration, initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT, and transmitting a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration if the beam failure recovery procedure successfully completes as disclosed by Abedini Provisional with the forwarding configuration being a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam as disclosed by Abedini Latest to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of a collision between the base station and the NCR MT transmissions).
Claim 3
Abedini Provisional teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising detecting the beam failure in a control link.
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0142, …the detected beam failure may involve one or more directional beams associated with a control link 220 between the MT functionality 210 and the network entity 105.)
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4
Abedini Provisional teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the beam failure recovery procedure includes a random access procedure.
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0143, …as part of the BFR procedure, the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may exchange random access messaging (e.g., if the BFR procedure is associated with a PCell) or the wireless repeater 205 may transmit an SR (e.g., if the BFR procedure is associated with an SCell).)
Shows the wireless repeater and network entity exchanging random access messaging for beam failure recovery
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Abedini Provisional teaches,
…receive side control information including a forwarding configuration,
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0121, ...the wireless repeater 205 may support various behaviors (e.g., operations or functions) depending on a state (e.g., an RRC state or mode) of the MT functionality 210. For example, when the MT functionality 210 is in an RRC_CONNECTED mode, the forwarding functionality 215 may be in an ON or OFF state following the side control information received from the network entity 105.)
Shows the wireless repeater 205 of FIG.2 or network controlled repeater MT functionality 210 of FIG. 2 following forwarding functionality or configuration from side control information received from a network entity
…initiate a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT; and
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0143, At 330, the wireless repeater 205 (e.g., the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205) and the network entity 105 may perform a BFR procedure to attempt to recover one or more directional beams and the control link 220.)
in case that the beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed,… …a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration,
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0149, At 355, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, second control signaling indicating at least one of an updated first configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the UE 115 or an updated second configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105, or both, based on the BFR procedure.)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving second control signaling after the beam failure recovery with first configuration
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0151, ...the wireless repeater 205 may set the forwarding functionality 215 to an ON state in accordance with the second control signaling.)
Shows the wireless repeater setting the forwarding functionality to ON according to the second control signaling
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0110, ...the network entity 105 may transmit an explicit indication to the wireless repeater (e.g., the MT functionality of the wireless repeater) to indicate whether the forwarding functionality is to remain in an OFF state or switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure.)
Shows the network entity 105 transmitting an indication to the NCR MT to resume forwarding after the beam failure recovery
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
A network controlled repeater (NCR) mobile termination (MT) in a wireless communication system, the NCR MT comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:…
…in case that a beam failure occurs, transmit, to an NCR Fwd, a first indication to cease forwarding;…
…transmitting, by the NCR MT, to the NCR Fwd,…
Nevertheless, Bergstrom Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
A network controlled repeater (NCR) mobile termination (MT) in a wireless communication system, the NCR MT comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0010, …a device, such as a repeater device or other network node (e.g., gNB), is provided that is configured to perform one or more of the methods. For example, an apparatus may comprise a receiver/transmitter and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform one or more of the methods. In some embodiments, such as network-controlled repeater embodiments, the apparatus may include a plurality of modules (e.g., a forwarding part and a mobile termination part).)
Shows a NCR MT device with a processor, transmitter, and receiver
…in case that a beam failure occurs, transmit, to an NCR Fwd, a first indication to cease forwarding;…
(See Bergerstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, ...performed by a first entity within the device, for instance a mobile termination part (NCR-MT), such as determining that the RLF event has occurred. In certain aspects, this module instructs or otherwise causes a second entity (e.g., a forwarding part or NCR-FWD) within the device stop performing one or more forwarding operations. This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR-MT transmitting an indication to the NCR-FWD to stop forwarding if a radio link failure occurs
…transmit, by the NCR MT, to the NCR Fwd,…
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR MT transmitting an indication to the NCR Fwd
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Bergstrom Provisional in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
Nevertheless, Abedini Latest, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0144, At 335, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, an indication of whether the wireless repeater 205 is to set the forwarding functionality 215 of the wireless repeater 205 to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure (e.g., after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF). In some aspects, the wireless repeater 205 may receive such an indication prior to the BFR procedure (e.g., during a connection establishment procedure or via other signaling, such as the control signaling received at 305).)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving an indication from the network entity to set the forwarding functionality to be ON or OFF after a successful beam failure recovery
Shows the wireless repeater may receive the indication as control signaling received at step 305 of FIG. 3
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0142, At 325, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure. For example, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205.)
Shows at step 325 of FIG. 3 the detection of a beam failure after step 305 of receiving the control signaling
Shows the indication utilized by the wireless repeater 205 to control the state of the forwarding functionality consists of a latest forwarding received before the beam failure
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Abedini Latest in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 8 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 9 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
Abedini Provisional teaches,
…in case that a beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed,… …a second indication to resume forwarding by using a forwarding configuration,…
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0149, At 355, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, second control signaling indicating at least one of an updated first configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the UE 115 or an updated second configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105, or both, based on the BFR procedure.)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving second control signaling after the beam failure recovery with first configuration
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0151, ...the wireless repeater 205 may set the forwarding functionality 215 to an ON state in accordance with the second control signaling.)
Shows the wireless repeater setting the forwarding functionality to ON according to the second control signaling
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0110, ...the network entity 105 may transmit an explicit indication to the wireless repeater (e.g., the MT functionality of the wireless repeater) to indicate whether the forwarding functionality is to remain in an OFF state or switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure.)
Shows the network entity 105 transmitting an indication to the NCR MT to resume forwarding after the beam failure recovery
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
A network controlled repeater (NCR) Fwd in a wireless communication system, the NCR Fwd comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:…
…in case that a beam failure occurs, receive, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding, and…
…receive, from the NCR MT,…
Nevertheless, Bergstrom Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
A network controlled repeater (NCR) Fwd in a wireless communication system, the NCR Fwd comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:…
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0010, …a device, such as a repeater device or other network node (e.g., gNB), is provided that is configured to perform one or more of the methods. For example, an apparatus may comprise a receiver/transmitter and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform one or more of the methods. In some embodiments, such as network-controlled repeater embodiments, the apparatus may include a plurality of modules (e.g., a forwarding part and a mobile termination part).)
Shows a NCR FWD device with a processor, transmitter, and receiver
…in case that a beam failure occurs, receive, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding, and
(See Bergerstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, ...performed by a first entity within the device, for instance a mobile termination part (NCR-MT), such as determining that the RLF event has occurred. In certain aspects, this module instructs or otherwise causes a second entity (e.g., a forwarding part or NCR-FWD) within the device stop performing one or more forwarding operations. This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows NCR-FWD receiving an indication from the NCR-MT to stop forwarding a if a radio link failure occurs
…receive, from the NCR MT,…
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR-FWD receiving an indication from the NCR-MT
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Bergstrom Provisional in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure,
wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
Nevertheless, Abedini Latest, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure,
wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0144, At 335, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, an indication of whether the wireless repeater 205 is to set the forwarding functionality 215 of the wireless repeater 205 to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure (e.g., after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF). In some aspects, the wireless repeater 205 may receive such an indication prior to the BFR procedure (e.g., during a connection establishment procedure or via other signaling, such as the control signaling received at 305).)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving an indication from the network entity to set the forwarding functionality to be ON or OFF after a successful beam failure recovery
Shows the wireless repeater may receive the indication as control signaling received at step 305 of FIG. 3
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0142, At 325, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure. For example, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205.)
Shows at step 325 of FIG. 3 the detection of a beam failure after step 305 of receiving the control signaling
Shows the indication utilized by the wireless repeater 205 to control the state of the forwarding functionality consists of a latest forwarding received before the beam failure
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Abedini Latest in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Abedini Provisional teaches,
A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) forwarding in a wireless communication system, the method comprising,…
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0003, …a wireless repeater is able to set a forwarding functionality of the wireless repeater to either an ON state or an OFF state…)
Shows a forwarding functionality of a wireless repeater
…in case that a beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed,… …a second indication to resume forwarding by using a forwarding configuration,…
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0149, At 355, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, second control signaling indicating at least one of an updated first configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the UE 115 or an updated second configuration for directional communications between the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105, or both, based on the BFR procedure.)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving second control signaling after the beam failure recovery with first configuration
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0151, ...the wireless repeater 205 may set the forwarding functionality 215 to an ON state in accordance with the second control signaling.)
Shows the wireless repeater setting the forwarding functionality to ON according to the second control signaling
(See Abedini Provisional paragraph 0110, ...the network entity 105 may transmit an explicit indication to the wireless repeater (e.g., the MT functionality of the wireless repeater) to indicate whether the forwarding functionality is to remain in an OFF state or switch to an ON state after the BFR procedure.)
Shows the network entity 105 transmitting an indication to the NCR MT to resume forwarding after the beam failure recovery
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…in case that a beam failure occurs, receiving, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding, and…
…receive, from the NCR MT,…
Nevertheless, Bergstrom Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…in case that a beam failure occurs, receiving, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding, and
(See Bergerstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, ...performed by a first entity within the device, for instance a mobile termination part (NCR-MT), such as determining that the RLF event has occurred. In certain aspects, this module instructs or otherwise causes a second entity (e.g., a forwarding part or NCR-FWD) within the device stop performing one or more forwarding operations. This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows NCR-FWD receiving an indication from the NCR-MT to stop forwarding a if a radio link failure occurs
…receiving, from the NCR MT,…
(See Bergstrom Provisional paragraph 0027, This could be achieved by the first entity sending an indication to the second entity. The indication may be sent either directly or indirectly (via a third entity). In some embodiments, the second entity (e.g., NCR-FWD) is configured by the first entity (e.g., NCR-MT).)
Shows the NCR-FWD receiving an indication from the NCR-MT
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Bergstrom Provisional in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Abedini Provisional, fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure,
wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
Nevertheless, Abedini Latest, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure,
wherein the forwarding configuration is a latest forwarding configuration received before the beam failure.
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0144, At 335, the wireless repeater 205 may receive, from the network entity 105 at the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205, an indication of whether the wireless repeater 205 is to set the forwarding functionality 215 of the wireless repeater 205 to the ON state or the OFF state after the BFR procedure (e.g., after a successful BFR procedure, such as a BFR procedure that results in an identification of a directional beam and avoids RLF). In some aspects, the wireless repeater 205 may receive such an indication prior to the BFR procedure (e.g., during a connection establishment procedure or via other signaling, such as the control signaling received at 305).)
Shows the wireless repeater receiving an indication from the network entity to set the forwarding functionality to be ON or OFF after a successful beam failure recovery
Shows the wireless repeater may receive the indication as control signaling received at step 305 of FIG. 3
(See Abedini Latest paragraph 0142, At 325, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure. For example, one or both of the wireless repeater 205 and the network entity 105 may detect a beam failure associated with the MT functionality 210 of the wireless repeater 205.)
Shows at step 325 of FIG. 3 the detection of a beam failure after step 305 of receiving the control signaling
Shows the indication utilized by the wireless repeater 205 to control the state of the forwarding functionality consists of a latest forwarding received before the beam failure
The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional and Abedini Latest in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, and Abedini Latest in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Provisional in view of Abedini et al. (63/485,841) or Abedini Latest in further view of Bergstrom et al. (63/370,834) or Bergstrom Provisional in further view of Li et al. (63/336,960) or Li Provisional.
(US 20230268982 A1) consists of Li et al. (63/336,960) or Li Provisional’s United States Patent Application Publication. Citations will be drawn from the provisional application.
Claim 5
Abedini Provisional fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. Nevertheless, Li Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the NCR MT includes a medium access control (MAC) entity,…
(See Li Provisional page 8 paragraph 1, NCR's RU is a simple amplify-and-forward radio unit, while NCR's MT consists of PHY and MAC layer which are responsible for receiving and processing side control information from gNB,…)
Shows the NCR MT with a MAC layer
and wherein the first indication is transmitted by the MAC entity.
(See Li provisional page 6 last paragraph, If NCR wants to turn on/off by itself, NCR can also send a MAC CE to gNB, indicating it's going to turn on or off.)
Shows the NCR sending a MAC CE to the gNB indicating on or off
(See Li Provisional page 8 paragraph 1, …while NCR's MT consists of PHY and MAC layer which are responsible for receiving and processing side control information from gNB, as well as send power-on indication to gNB for initial access.)
Shows NCR MT’s MAC and PHY layer responsible for sending a power-on indication to the gNB
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a network controlled repeater or NCR mobile termination or MT in a wireless communication system receiving side control information including a forwarding configuration, initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT, and transmitting a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration if the beam failure recovery procedure successfully completes as disclosed by Abedini Provisional with the NCR MT including a medium access control or MAC entity and the first indication transmitted by the MAC entity as disclosed by Li Provisional to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the number of simultaneous transmissions between the NCR MT and the NCR Fwd).
Claim 10
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. However, Abedini Provisional fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Li Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, Abedini Latest, and Li Provisional in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 15
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. However, Abedini Provisional fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Li Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, Abedini Latest, and Li Provisional in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 20
Abedini Provisional teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. However, Abedini Provisional fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Li Provisional, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Abedini Provisional, Bergstrom Provisional, Abedini Latest, and Li Provisional in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang et al. (US 20250088259 A1) or Jiang teaches a repeater receiving a first and second beam indication.
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414