Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2023-0038263, filed on 23 March 2023 AD.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 22 March 2024 AD and 23 September 2024 AD were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20250185110 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20250185110 A1) or Jiang.
Claim 1
Fujishiro teaches,
A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) mobile termination (MT) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving side control information including a forwarding configuration;
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0187, In step S501, the NCR-MT 520A establishes an RRC connection to the gNB 200 and is brought into an RRC connected state. The gNB 200 may transmit an NCR control signal (L1/L2 signal) over the control link to the NCR-MT 520A. The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A according to the NCR control signal.)
in case that a beam failure occurs, transmitting, to an NCR forwarding, a first indication to cease forwarding;
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0198, When a failure in the control link is determined to be detected (step S503: YES), in step S504, the NCR-MT 520A (or NCR apparatus 500A) stops the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A (i.e., the relay operation of the radio signal).)
Shows indication to cease forwarding by the NCR-MT stopping the operation of the NCR-FWD
…in case that the beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed, transmitting, to the NCR forwarding, a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200. The gNB 200 may perform configuration and control on the NCR apparatus 500A again in response to receiving the notification. The gNB 200 may control the NCR apparatus 500A to restore the previous configuration and control state (i.e., to reactivate the NCR-Fwd 510A).)
Shows the gNB restoring the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0088, When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the mode control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the mode control information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the NCR-Fwd 510A via the NCR-MT 520A.)
Shows the gNB indicates the control mode of the NCR-FWD using the NCR-MT
However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach,
…initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT; and…
Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…initiating a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT; and…
(See Jiang paragraph 0183, 402: the NCR-MT performs BFR in case of beam failure;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the Z1 as disclosed by X1 with the Z2 as disclosed by X2 to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce/increase Y1).
Claim 2
Fujishiro teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the second indication includes an indication to use a latest forwarding configuration before the beam failure.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200. The gNB 200 may perform configuration and control on the NCR apparatus 500A again in response to receiving the notification. The gNB 200 may control the NCR apparatus 500A to restore the previous configuration and control state (i.e., to reactivate the NCR-Fwd 510A).)
Shows the gNB restoring the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0088, When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the mode control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the mode control information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the NCR-Fwd 510A via the NCR-MT 520A.)
Shows the gNB indicates the control mode of the NCR-FWD using the NCR-MT
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3
Fujishiro teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising detecting the beam failure in a control link.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0189, In step S503, the NCR-MT 520A determines whether a failure in the control link is detected.)
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4
Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. However, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the beam failure recovery procedure includes a random access procedure.
(See Jiang paragraph 0067, ...in case of beam failure (such as including when a beam failure is detected and/or after a beam failure is detected (in the first cell), which shall not be repeated below any further), the method may further include: the repeater (NCR/NCR-MT) performs beam failure recovery (BFR), such as performing BFR for the first cell.)
Shows the NCR-MT performs beam failure recovery
(See Jiang paragraph 0068, ... the beam failure recovery includes: performing random access, such as performing random access on the first cell,..)
Shows the beam failure recovery includes performing random access
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5
Fujishiro teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the NCR MT includes a medium access control (MAC) entity,…
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0072, The NCR-MT 520A includes at least one layer (entity) selected from the group consisting of PHY, MAC, RRC, and F1-AP (Application Protocol).)
However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach,
…and wherein the first indication is transmitted by the MAC entity.
Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…and wherein the first indication is transmitted by the MAC entity.
(See Jiang paragraph 0207, After a beam failure is detected for the BFD-RS set of the serving cell (the first cell), the NCR triggers beam failure recovery by initiating transmission of BFR MAC CEs for the BFD-RS set,...)
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Fujishiro teaches,
A network controlled repeater (NCR) mobile termination (MT) in a wireless communication system, the NCR MT comprising:
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0075, The NCR-MT 520A includes a receiver 521, a transmitter 522, and a controller 523.)
…at least one processor configured to:…
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0075, The controller 523 includes at least one processor and at least one memory.)
Shows the controller includes at least one processor
receive side control information including a forwarding configuration,
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0187, In step S501, the NCR-MT 520A establishes an RRC connection to the gNB 200 and is brought into an RRC connected state. The gNB 200 may transmit an NCR control signal (L1/L2 signal) over the control link to the NCR-MT 520A. The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A according to the NCR control signal.)
in case that a beam failure occurs, transmit, to an NCR forwarding, a first indication to cease forwarding,…
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0198, When a failure in the control link is determined to be detected (step S503: YES), in step S504, the NCR-MT 520A (or NCR apparatus 500A) stops the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A (i.e., the relay operation of the radio signal).)
Shows indication to cease forwarding by the NCR-MT stopping the operation of the NCR-FWD
…in case that the beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed, transmit, to the NCR forwarding, a second indication to resume forwarding by using the forwarding configuration.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200. The gNB 200 may perform configuration and control on the NCR apparatus 500A again in response to receiving the notification. The gNB 200 may control the NCR apparatus 500A to restore the previous configuration and control state (i.e., to reactivate the NCR-Fwd 510A).)
Shows the gNB restoring the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0088, When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the mode control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the mode control information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the NCR-Fwd 510A via the NCR-MT 520A.)
Shows the gNB indicates the control mode of the NCR-FWD using the NCR-MT
However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach,
…a transceiver; and…
…initiate a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT, and…
Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a transceiver (See Jiang FIG. 6 [640] [transceiver]); and…
…initiate a beam failure recovery procedure for the NCR MT, and…
(See Jiang paragraph 0183, 402: the NCR-MT performs BFR in case of beam failure;)
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 7 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 8 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. However, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 9 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14
Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
A network controlled repeater (NCR) forwarding in a wireless communication system, the NCR forwarding comprising:…
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0074, The NCR-Fwd 510A includes a radio unit 511A and an NCR controller 512A.)
…at least one processor configured to:
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0074, The NCR controller 512A may include at least one processor.)
in case that a beam failure occurs, receive, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding, and
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200.)
Shows the NCR-MT transmitting an indication to the gNB indicating the NCR-FWD is being stopped
in case that a beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed, receive, from the NCR MT, a second indication to resume forwarding by using a forwarding configuration, wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200. The gNB 200 may perform configuration and control on the NCR apparatus 500A again in response to receiving the notification. The gNB 200 may control the NCR apparatus 500A to restore the previous configuration and control state (i.e., to reactivate the NCR-Fwd 510A).)
Shows the gNB restoring the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0187, In step S501, the NCR-MT 520A establishes an RRC connection to the gNB 200 and is brought into an RRC connected state. The gNB 200 may transmit an NCR control signal (L1/L2 signal) over the control link to the NCR-MT 520A. The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A according to the NCR control signal.)
Shows the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD before the beam failure
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0088, When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the mode control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the mode control information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the NCR-Fwd 510A via the NCR-MT 520A.)
Shows the gNB indicates the control mode of the NCR-FWD using the NCR-MT
However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach,
…a transceiver; and…
Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a transceiver (See Jiang FIG. 6 [640] [transceiver]); and…
The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. However, Fujishiro fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Jiang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Fujishiro and Jiang in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro (US 20250185110 A1).
Claim 11
A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) forwarding in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
in case that a beam failure occurs, receiving, from an NCR mobile termination (MT), a first indication to cease forwarding; and
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200.)
Shows the NCR-MT transmitting an indication to the gNB indicating the NCR-FWD is being stopped
in case that a beam failure recovery procedure is successfully completed, receiving, from the NCR MT, a second indication to resume forwarding by using a forwarding configuration, wherein the forwarding configuration is received before the beam failure.
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0200, When the failure in the control link is determined to have been resolved (step S505: YES), in step S506, the NCR-MT 520A may transmit a notification indicating that the operation of the NCR-Fwd 510A is being stopped to the gNB 200. The gNB 200 may perform configuration and control on the NCR apparatus 500A again in response to receiving the notification. The gNB 200 may control the NCR apparatus 500A to restore the previous configuration and control state (i.e., to reactivate the NCR-Fwd 510A).)
Shows the gNB restoring the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0187, In step S501, the NCR-MT 520A establishes an RRC connection to the gNB 200 and is brought into an RRC connected state. The gNB 200 may transmit an NCR control signal (L1/L2 signal) over the control link to the NCR-MT 520A. The NCR-MT 520A controls the NCR-Fwd 510A according to the NCR control signal.)
Shows the previous configuration of the NCR-FWD before the beam failure
(See Fujishiro paragraph 0088, When the NCR control signal received from the gNB 200 includes the mode control information, the NCR-MT 520A (controller 523) controls the NCR-Fwd 510A such that the NCR-Fwd 510A operates in the operation mode indicated by the mode control information (step S2A). Since the NCR control signal includes the mode control information, the gNB 200 can designate the operation mode of the NCR-Fwd 510A via the NCR-MT 520A.)
Shows the gNB indicates the control mode of the NCR-FWD using the NCR-MT
Claim 12
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2.
Claim 13
Fujishiro teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fang et al. (US 20240057084 A1) or Fang teaches a repeater receiving information from a base station to forward information or to not forward information.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414